Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/23/20258 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive as one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Applicant’s further arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 USC 101 because the claimed invention is directed towards nonstatutory subject matter.
The determining step of claim 2 is directed to the abstract idea of mental processes, namely, data gathering.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim(s) include(s) additional elements such as “sending, to one or more first user devices, a message…”. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements simply merely perform generic functions executing the functions on a machine where the machine is used as a mere tool.
The additional limitations are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered alone and in combination do not add significantly more (i.e. do not at an inventive concept) to the exception. The remaining independent claims are addressed by similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7, 9, 12-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9,351,193 to Raleigh in view of US 20180375856 to Chen in view of US 20210007014 to Desai.
Regarding claim 2,
Raleigh teaches a method comprising:
determining, by a computing device, a first condition at a network component that sends content based on content requests received from a plurality of user devices (col. 228:47-67, determination of network conditions, network usage, QoS policy enforcement)
wherein the content requests indicate a first type of Quality of Service (QoS) parameter (col. 74:60-67, user request indicating QoS parameter);
sending, to the one or more first user devices selected based on the first condition, a message comprising information indicating one or more first user devices to reduce the first type of QoS parameter indicated in the future requests for the content (col. 228:47-67, col. 229:1-55, transmission of notification regarding reduction; see also col. 74:60-67, col. 37:30-50, col. 231:60-60).
Raleigh fails to teach sending information indicating a proportion of devices to reduce. However, Chan teaches sending information indicating a proportion of devices to reduce (¶ 24, 30, 34, 56, sending instruction to reduce QoS for a proportion of user devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Chen. The motivation to do so is that the teachings of Chen would have been advantageous in terms of facilitating traffic management and congestion control (Chen, ¶ 11).
Raleigh fails to teach that the message indicates that the reducing the first type of QoS parameter is optional. However, Desai teaches a message indicating that the reducing the first type of QoS parameter is optional (claim 2, ¶ 40-48, message sent to group of devices; indication of optional reduction of QoS parameter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Desai. The motivation to do so is that the teachings of Desai would have been advantageous in terms of facilitating the efficient and optimal balancing of resources (Desai, ¶ 3).
Regarding claim 3,
Raleigh teaches:
permitting one or more second user devices, of the plurality of user devices and other than the one or more first user devices, to send future requests, for the content, that do not reduce the first type of QoS parameter (col. 228:47-67, col. 229:1-55, permitted devices).
Regarding claim 4,
Raleigh teaches:
wherein the information indicates a degree of reduction of a bit rate (col. 231:30-60, indication of degree of reduced bit rates; see also col. 37:30-50).
Regarding claim 5,
Raleigh teaches:
wherein the information indicates a degree of reduction of a content resolution (col. 231:35-60, available resolutions to satisfy network/QoS requirements; see col. 228:47-67, col. 229:1-55).
Regarding claim 6,
Raleigh teaches:
wherein the information indicates a change in a format of the content (col. 231:35-60, resolutions; see also col. 120:45-55).
Regarding claim 7,
Raleigh teaches:
wherein the information indicates a second network component that sends content based on the content requests received from a plurality of user devices (col. 227:1-25, messaging including indication of secondary network element to support service activity; see also col. 229:1-30, col. 232:25-35, col. 226:1-5)
Claims 9 and 16 are addressed by similar rationale as claim 2
Regarding claim 12,
Raleigh teaches:
sending a plurality of different messages, each indicating: a different degree of requested reduction of the QoS parameter (col. 231:35-60; col. 228:47-67, col. 229:1-55, sending plurality of messages according to device level or subscription and QoS policy). Chen teaches: sending a plurality of different messages, each indicating: a different percentage of user devices (¶ 24, 30, 34, 56, sending instruction to reduce QoS for a percentage of user devices).Motivation to include Chen is the same as presented above.
Regarding claim 13,
Raleigh teaches:
wherein the information further indicates a second percentage of downgrade of the QoS parameter (¶ 34-36; see also ¶ 24, 30, and 56). Motivation to include Chen is the same as presented above.
Regarding claim 14,
Raleigh teaches:
sending a second message to a second plurality of user devices, wherein the second message comprises an indication to force one or more of the second plurality of user devices to reduce the QoS parameter indicated in future requests for the content (col. 228:47-67, col. 229:1-55, col. 230:1-50).
Regarding claim 15,
Raleigh teaches:
wherein the first condition is an overload condition (col. 228:47-67, col. 229:1-55).
Regarding claim 17,
Raleigh teaches:
wherein the information allows the computing device to probabilistically determine whether to reduce the QoS parameter (col. 229:1-55).
Raleigh fails to teach but Chen teaches wherein the information includes a proportion (¶ 24, 30, 34, 56, sending instruction to reduce QoS for a percentage of user devices). Motivation to include Chen is the same as presented above.
Regarding claim 18
Raleigh teaches:
wherein the message is comprised in content previously requested by the computing device (col. 127:5-35, messages regarding previously requested content).
Regarding claim 19,
Raleigh teaches:
wherein the message is based on an overload in a network component that serves content requests from the plurality of devices (col. 228:47-67).
Regarding claim 21,
Raleigh teaches:
determining, based on the information and a service level associated with the computing device, to reduce QoS parameter (col. 228:47-67, determination of network conditions, network usage, QoS policy enforcement).
Claim 8, 10-11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raleigh and Chen in view of US 20110170410 to Zhao.
Regarding claim 8, 10,
Raleigh fails to teach but Zhao teaches:
wherein the message is added in a content packet previously requested by the plurality of user devices (¶ 97, 104-105, 113-114, marking of content data packets).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Zhao. The motivation to do so is that the teachings of Zhao would have been advantageous in terms of facilitating response actions to network congestion (Zhao, abstract).
Regarding claim 11, 20,
Raleigh fails to teach but Zhao teaches:
wherein the message is added in a video packet previously requested by the plurality of user devices (¶ 7, 24, 97, 104-105, 113-114). Motivation to include Zhao is the same as presented above.
CONCLUSION
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RYAN J JAKOVAC whose telephone number is (571)270-5003. The examiner can normally be reached on 8-4 PM EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Oscar A. Louie can be reached on 572-270-1684. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/RYAN J JAKOVAC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445