DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 30 January 2026.
Claims 1-6, 8-16 and 18-20 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 11 and 19-20 are amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 is a machine claim that refers to a process claim 11. The body of claim 11 recites a list of processes. It is unclear whether claim 20 refers to the entire claim 11 including all recited steps or is merely making a reference to “DRX determining method”. Thus, claim 20 is ambiguous.
Moreover, machine claim 20 has no structure recited in the body of the claim, and thus it is also suggested to insert a colon after “comprising:” (e.g., …comprising: a processor…).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (KR 10-2020-0087687), hereinafter Kim, where English Language of the convenient translation of (US 2022/0022279 A1), per MPEP 901.05, in view of Li et al (WO 2022/082488 A1), hereinafter Li ‘488, where English Language of the convenient translation of (US 2023/0309016 A1), per MPEP 901.05, and further in view of Li et al (US 2023/0309016), hereinafter Li ‘016.
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses a discontinuous reception (DRX) determining method (see paragraphs 2 and 15; a discontinuous reception (DRX)/SL-DRX determining method/method), performed by a first terminal (see Figure 8 and paragraph 177; performed/performed by a first terminal/terminal 802), wherein the method comprises:
transmitting first information to a second terminal (see Figure 8, step S811 and paragraph 177; transmitting/(transmits in step S811) first information/(DRX configuration information transfer/request S811) to a second terminal/terminal 803), wherein the first information is used for indicating N sets of sidelink (SL) DRX configuration (see Figure 8, step S811 and paragraph 181; wherein the first information/(DRX configuration information transfer/request S811) is used for indicating N sets/(one set among the sets) of sidelink (SL) DRX configuration/SL-DRX configuration), and N is a positive integer (see paragraph 181; and N is a positive integer/one set among the sets); and
receiving feedback information transmitted by the second terminal for the first information (see Figure 8, step S812 and paragraph 177; receiving/(terminal 802 receives in step S812) feedback information/(PC5-RRC connection response) transmitted/(terminal 803 transmits in step S812) by the second terminal/(terminal 803) for the first information/DRX configuration information transfer/request S811).
Although Kim discloses a discontinuous reception (DRX) determining method as set forth above,
Kim does not explicitly disclose “in response to the feedback information indicating rejection of the N sets of SL DRX configuration, performing a second operation”.
However, Li ‘488 discloses a discontinuous reception (DRX) determining method, in response to the feedback information indicating rejection of the N sets of SL DRX configuration (see Figure 8, step 5A and paragraph 75; in response to the feedback information/(RRCReconfigurationFailureSidelink) indicating/indicating rejection/reject of the N sets/(sl-drx-config1 or sl-drx-config-id1/sl-drx-config-index1) of SL DRX configuration/SL DRX configuration), performing a second operation (see Figure 8A, step 6A and paragraph 75; performing a second operation/RRCReconfigurationSidelink).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “in response to the feedback information indicating rejection of the N sets of SL DRX configuration, performing a second operation” as taught by Li ‘488 in the system of Kim to provide techniques for sidelink communication (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Li ‘488).
Although the combination of Kim and Li ‘488 discloses a discontinuous reception (DRX) determining method as set forth above,
The combination of Kim and Li ‘488 does not explicitly disclose “wherein the second operation comprises: stopping transmitting and receiving data between the first terminal and the second terminal in a DRX mode”.
However, Li ‘016 discontinuous reception (DRX) determining method comprising:
wherein the second operation comprises:
stopping using a DRX mode for transmitting and receiving data between the first terminal and the second terminal (see paragraph 90; stopping/end using a DRX mode/(SL DRX On duration) for transmitting/sidelink and receiving/sidelink data/(PC5 MAC CE) between the first terminal/(scheduling UE) and the second terminal/Tx UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the second operation comprises: stopping using a DRX mode for transmitting and receiving data between the first terminal and the second terminal” as taught by Li ‘016 in the combined system of Kim and Li ‘488 for improving the UE power efficiency (see page 2, paragraphs 22-23 of Li ‘016).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim discloses the method, the first information comprises at least one of the following:
the N sets of SL DRX configuration (see paragraph 181; the first information comprises at least one of the following: the N sets/(one set among the sets) of SL DRX configuration/SL-DRX configuration), a logical channel identifier (see paragraph 195; a logical channel identifier/sidelink logical channel identifier).
Regarding Claim 3, Although Kim discloses the method as set forth above,
Kim does not explicitly disclose “wherein SL DRX configuration comprises at least one of the following items of SL DRX: a cycle, an offset relative to a target reference time point, an on duration, a running duration of an inactivity timer, a running duration of a round trip time (RTT) timer related to a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process, or a running duration of a retransmission timer, wherein the target reference time point is a reference time point at which the SL DRX configuration takes effect”.
However, Li ‘488 discloses the method, wherein SL DRX configuration comprises at least one of the following items of SL DRX:
a cycle, an on duration (see Figure 8 and paragraph 73; wherein SL DRX configuration/(SL DRX configuration) comprises at least one of the following items of SL DRX: a cycle/SL DRX cycle length, an on duration/on duration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein SL DRX configuration comprises at least one of the following items of SL DRX: a cycle, an on duration” as taught by Li ‘488 in the system of Kim to provide techniques for sidelink communication (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Li ‘488).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim discloses the method, wherein the first information is carried in any one of the following:
and an SL DRX configuration request message (see Figure 8, step S811 and paragraphs 13 and 177; wherein the first information/(DRX configuration information transfer/request S811) is carried in any one of the following: an SL DRX configuration request message/SL DRX configuration information transfer/request).
Regarding Claim 5, Kim discloses the method, wherein the feedback information comprises any one of the following:
wherein the first parameter (see paragraph 181; wherein the first parameter/(SL-DRX parameter) is any one of the following:
a parameter that is in the first SL DRX configuration and that is accepted by the second terminal (see paragraph 181; a parameter/(SL-DRX parameter) that is in the first SL DRX configuration/(SL-DRX configuration) and that is accepted/receive by the second terminal/transmitting terminal or terminal 803); or
the feedback information (see Figure 8, step S812 and paragraph 177; the feedback information/(PCG-RRC connection response) is carried in any one of the following:
an SL DRX configuration response message (see Figure 8, step S812 and paragraph 177; the feedback information/(PCG-RRC connection response) is carried in any one of the following: an SL DRX configuration response message/SL DRX configuration response).
Regarding Claim 6, Although Kim discloses the method as set forth above,
Kim does not explicitly disclose “transmitting second information to the second terminal, wherein the second information is used for indicating that SL DRX configuration negotiation between the first terminal and the second terminal fails”.
However, Li ‘488 discloses the method, wherein in a case that the feedback information meets a first condition, after receiving the feedback information transmitted by the second terminal for the first information, the method further comprises:
transmitting second information to the second terminal (see Figure 8, step 6A and paragraph 75; transmitting second information/(RRCReconfigurationSidelink) to the second terminal/UE2 804), wherein the second information is used for indicating that SL DRX configuration negotiation between the first terminal and the second terminal fails (see Figure 8, steps 5A and 6A and paragraph 75; wherein the second information/(RRCReconfigurationSidelink) is used for indicating that SL DRX configuration/(SL DRX configuration) negotiation/(steps 3, 5A and 6A) between the first terminal/(UE1 802) and the second terminal/(UE1 804) fails/failure, step 5A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “transmitting second information to the second terminal, wherein the second information is used for indicating that SL DRX configuration negotiation between the first terminal and the second terminal fails” as taught by Li ‘488 in the system of Kim to provide techniques for sidelink communication (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Li ‘488).
Regarding Claim 8, Although Kim discloses the method as set forth above,
Kim does not explicitly disclose “the second operation further comprises any one of the following: transmitting second information to the second terminal, wherein the second information is used for indicating that SL DRX configuration negotiation between the first terminal and the second terminal fails”.
However, Li ‘488 discloses the method, wherein in a case that the feedback information meets a first condition, after receiving the feedback information transmitted by the second terminal for the first information, the method further comprises:
transmitting second information to the second terminal (see Figure 8, step 6A and paragraph 75; transmitting second information/(RRCReconfigurationSidelink) to the second terminal/UE2 804), wherein the second information is used for indicating that SL DRX configuration negotiation between the first terminal and the second terminal fails (see Figure 8, steps 3, 5A and 6A and paragraph 75; wherein the second information/(RRCReconfigurationSidelink) is used for indicating that SL DRX configuration/(SL DRX configuration) negotiation/(steps 3, 5A and 6A) between the first terminal/(UE1 802) and the second terminal/(UE1 804) fails/failure, step 5A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “the second operation further comprises any one of the following: transmitting second information to the second terminal, wherein the second information is used for indicating that SL DRX configuration negotiation between the first terminal and the second terminal fails” as taught by Li ‘488 in the system of Kim to provide techniques for sidelink communication (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Li ‘488).
Regarding Claim 9, Although Kim discloses the method as set forth above,
Kim does not explicitly disclose “determining the N sets of SL DRX configuration based on third information, wherein the third information is used for indicating at least one of the following: an upper threshold of SL DRX active time duration”.
However, Li ‘488 discloses the method, wherein before transmitting the first information to the second terminal, the method further comprises:
determining the N sets of SL DRX configuration based on third information (see Figure 8 and paragraphs 73-74; determining the N sets of SL DRX configuration/(SL DRX configuration) based on third information/DRX on duration), wherein the third information is used for indicating at least one of the following: an upper threshold of SL DRX active time duration, or a lower threshold of SL DRX active time duration (see Figures 4 and 8 and paragraphs 51 and 73-74; wherein the third information/(DRX on duration) is used for indicating at least one of the following: an upper threshold of SL DRX active time duration/SL DRX on duration 402, 404).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “determining the N sets of SL DRX configuration based on third information, wherein the third information is used for indicating at least one of the following: an upper threshold of SL DRX active time duration” as taught by Li ‘488 in the system of Kim to provide techniques for sidelink communication (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Li ‘488).
Regarding Claim 10, Although Kim discloses the method as set forth above,
Kim does not explicitly disclose “a first parameter in first SL DRX configuration”.
However, Li ‘488 discloses the method, wherein in a case that the feedback information meets a first condition, after receiving the feedback information transmitted by the second terminal for the first information, the method further comprises:
a first parameter in first SL DRX configuration (see paragraph 78; a first parameter/(SL DRX cycle length) in first SL DRX configuration/SL DRX configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “a first parameter in first SL DRX configuration” as taught by Li ‘488 in the system of Kim to provide techniques for sidelink communication (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Li ‘488).
Regarding Claim 11, Kim discloses a DRX determining method (see paragraphs 2 and 15; a discontinuous reception (DRX)/SL-DRX determining method/method), performed by a second terminal (see Figure 8 and paragraph 177; performed/performed by a second terminal/terminal 803), wherein the method comprises:
receiving first information transmitted by a first terminal (see Figure 8, step S811 and paragraph 177; receiving/(terminal 803 receives in step S811) first information/(DRX configuration information transfer/(request S811) transmitted/(terminal 802 transmits in step S811) by a first terminal/terminal 802), wherein the first information is used for indicating N sets of sidelink (SL) DRX configuration (see Figure 8, step S811 and paragraph 181; wherein the first information/(DRX configuration information transfer/request S811) is used for indicating N sets/(one set among the sets) of sidelink (SL) DRX configuration/SL-DRX configuration), and N is a positive integer (see paragraph 181; and N is a positive integer/one set among the sets); and
transmitting (see Figure 8, step S812 and paragraph 177; transmitting/terminal 803 transmits in step S812), to the first terminal (see Figure 8, step S812 and paragraph 177; to the terminal/terminal 802), feedback information for the first information (see Figure 8, step S812 and paragraph 177; feedback information/(PC5-RRC connection response) for the first information/DRX configuration information transfer/request S811).
Although Kim discloses a DRX determining method as set forth above,
Kim does not explicitly disclose “in response to the feedback information indicating rejection of the N sets of SL DRX configuration”.
However, Li ‘488 discloses a discontinuous reception (DRX) determining method, in response to the feedback information indicating rejection of the N sets of SL DRX configuration (see Figure 8, step 5A and paragraph 75; in response to the feedback information/(RRCReconfigurationFailureSidelink) indicating/indicating rejection/reject of the N sets/(sl-drx-config1 or sl-drx-config-id1/sl-drx-config-index1) of SL DRX configuration/SL DRX configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “in response to the feedback information indicating rejection of the N sets of SL DRX configuration” as taught by Li ‘488 in the system of Kim to provide techniques for sidelink communication (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Li ‘488).
Although the combination of Kim and Li ‘488 discloses a DRX determining method as set forth above,
The combination of Kim and Li ‘488 does not explicitly disclose “stopping transmitting and receiving data between the first terminal and the second terminal in a DRX mode”.
However, Li ‘016 a discontinuous reception (DRX) determining method comprising:
stopping using a DRX mode for transmitting and receiving data between the first terminal and the second terminal (see paragraph 90; stopping/end using a DRX mode/(SL DRX On duration) for transmitting/sidelink and receiving/sidelink data/(PC5 MAC CE) between the first terminal/(scheduling UE) and the second terminal/Tx UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “stopping using a DRX mode for transmitting and receiving data between the first terminal and the second terminal” as taught by Li ‘016 in the combined system of Kim and Li ‘488 to provide a system of improving the UE power efficiency (see page 2, paragraphs 22-23 of Li ‘016).
Regarding Claim 12, Kim discloses the method, the first information comprises at least one of the following:
the N sets of SL DRX configuration (see paragraph 181; the first information comprises at least one of the following: the N sets/(one set among the sets) of SL DRX configuration/SL-DRX configuration);
wherein a feature information group comprises at least one of the following:
a logical channel identifier (see paragraph 195; a logical channel identifier/sidelink logical channel identifier).
Regarding Claim 13, Although Kim discloses the method as set forth above,
Kim does not explicitly disclose “wherein SL DRX configuration comprises at least one of the following items of SL DRX: a cycle, an on duration”.
However, Li ‘488 discloses the method, wherein SL DRX configuration comprises at least one of the following items of SL DRX:
a cycle, an on duration (see Figure 8 and paragraph 73; wherein SL DRX configuration/(SL DRX configuration) comprises at least one of the following items of SL DRX: a cycle/SL DRX cycle length, an on duration/on duration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein SL DRX configuration comprises at least one of the following items of SL DRX: a cycle, an on duration” as taught by Li ‘488 in the system of Kim to provide techniques for sidelink communication (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Li ‘488).
Regarding Claim 14, Kim discloses the method, wherein the first information is carried in any one of the following:
and an SL DRX configuration request message (see Figure 8, step S811 and paragraphs 13 and 177; wherein the first information/(DRX configuration information transfer/request S811) is carried in any one of the following: an SL DRX configuration request message/SL DRX configuration information transfer/request).
Regarding Claim 15, Kim discloses the method, wherein the feedback information comprises any one of the following:
wherein the first parameter (see paragraph 181; wherein the first parameter/(SL-DRX parameter) is any one of the following:
a parameter that is in the first SL DRX configuration and that is accepted by the second terminal (see paragraph 181; a parameter/(SL-DRX parameter) that is in the first SL DRX configuration/(SL-DRX configuration) and that is accepted/receive by the second terminal/transmitting terminal or terminal 803); or
the feedback information is carried in any one of the following:
an SL DRX configuration response message (see Figure 8, step S812 and paragraph 177; the feedback information/(PCG-RRC connection response) is carried in any one of the following: an SL DRX configuration response message/SL DRX configuration response).
Regarding Claim 16, Although Kim discloses the method as set forth above,
Kim does not explicitly disclose “transmitting second information to the second terminal, wherein the second information is used for indicating that SL DRX configuration negotiation between the first terminal and the second terminal fails”.
However, Li ‘488 discloses the method, wherein in a case that the feedback information meets a first condition, after receiving the feedback information transmitted by the second terminal for the first information, the method further comprises:
transmitting second information to the second terminal (see Figure 8, step 6A and paragraph 75; transmitting second information/(RRCReconfigurationSidelink) to the second terminal/UE2 804), wherein the second information is used for indicating that SL DRX configuration negotiation between the first terminal and the second terminal fails (see Figure 8, steps 5A and 6A and paragraph 75; wherein the second information/(RRCReconfigurationSidelink) is used for indicating that SL DRX configuration/(SL DRX configuration) negotiation/(steps 3, 5A and 6A) between the first terminal/(UE1 802) and the second terminal/(UE1 804) fails/failure, step 5A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “transmitting second information to the second terminal, wherein the second information is used for indicating that SL DRX configuration negotiation between the first terminal and the second terminal fails” as taught by Li ‘488 in the system of Kim to provide techniques for sidelink communication (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Li ‘488).
Regarding Claim 18, Although Kim discloses the method as set forth above,
Kim does not explicitly disclose “receiving second information transmitted by the first terminal, wherein the second information is used for indicating that SL DRX configuration negotiation between the first terminal and the second terminal fails”.
However, Li ‘488 discloses the method, wherein after transmitting, to the first terminal, the feedback information for the first information, the method further comprises:
receiving second information transmitted by the first terminal (see Figure 8, step 6A and paragraph 75; receiving/(UE2 804 receives) second information/(RRCReconfigurationSidelink) to the second terminal/UE2 804), wherein the second information is used for indicating that SL DRX configuration negotiation between the first terminal and the second terminal fails (see Figure 8, steps 5A and 6A and paragraph 75; wherein the second information/(RRCReconfigurationSidelink) is used for indicating that SL DRX configuration/(SL DRX configuration) negotiation/(steps 3, 5A and 6A) between the first terminal/(UE1 802) and the second terminal/(UE1 804) fails/failure, step 5A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “receiving second information transmitted by the first terminal, wherein the second information is used for indicating that SL DRX configuration negotiation between the first terminal and the second terminal fails” as taught by Li ‘488 in the system of Kim to provide techniques for sidelink communication (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Li ‘488).
Regarding Claim 19, Kim discloses a terminal (see Figure 8 and paragraph 177; a terminal/terminal 802), the terminal being a first terminal (see Figure 8 and paragraph 177; the terminal/(terminal 802) being a first terminal/terminal 802), the first terminal comprising a processor (see Figure 8 and paragraph 177; the first terminal/(terminal 802) comprising a processor/terminal 802 contains a processor), a memory (see Figure 8 and paragraphs 232-233; a memory/ROM, RAM and flash memory), and a program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor (see Figure 8 and paragraphs 177 and 232-233; and a program/program or instructions/instructions stored/store in the memory/(ROM, RAM and flash memory) and executable/execute on the processor/terminal 802 contains a processor), wherein the program or the instructions (see Figure 8 and paragraphs 232-233; wherein the program/program or instructions/instructions), when executed by the processor (see Figure 8 and paragraphs 177 and 232-233; when executed/execute by the processor/terminal 802 contains a processor), cause the first terminal to perform:
transmitting first information to a second terminal (see Figure 8, step S811 and paragraph 177; transmitting/(transmits in step S811) first information/(DRX configuration information transfer/request S811) to a second terminal/terminal 803), wherein the first information is used for indicating N sets of sidelink (SL) DRX configuration (see Figure 8, step S811 and paragraph 181; wherein the first information/(DRX configuration information transfer/request S811) is used for indicating N sets/(one set among the sets) of sidelink (SL) DRX configuration/SL-DRX configuration), and N is a positive integer (see paragraph 181; and N is a positive integer/one set among the sets); and
receiving feedback information transmitted by the second terminal for the first information (see Figure 8, step S812 and paragraph 177; receiving/(terminal 802 receives in step S812) feedback information/(PC5-RRC connection response) transmitted/(terminal 803 transmits in step S812) by the second terminal/(terminal 803) for the first information/DRX configuration information transfer/request S811).
Although Kim discloses a terminal as set forth above,
Kim does not explicitly disclose “in response to the feedback information indicating rejection of the N sets of SL DRX configuration, performing a second operation”.
However, Li ‘488 discloses a terminal, the terminal being a first terminal, the first terminal comprising:
in response to the feedback information indicating rejection of the N sets of SL DRX configuration (see Figure 8, step 5A and paragraph 75; in response to the feedback information/(RRCReconfigurationFailureSidelink) indicating/indicating rejection/reject of the N sets/(sl-drx-config1 or sl-drx-config-id1/sl-drx-config-index1) of SL DRX configuration/SL DRX configuration), performing a second operation (see Figure 8A, step 6A and paragraph 75; performing a second operation/RRCReconfigurationSidelink).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “in response to the feedback information indicating rejection of the N sets of SL DRX configuration, performing a second operation” as taught by Li ‘488 in the system of Kim to provide techniques for sidelink communication (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Li ‘488).
Although the combination of Kim and Li ‘488 discloses a discontinuous reception (DRX) determining method as set forth above,
The combination of Kim and Li ‘488 does not explicitly disclose “wherein the second operation comprises: stopping transmitting and receiving data between the first terminal and the second terminal in a DRX mode”.
However, Li ‘016 a discontinuous reception (DRX) determining method comprising:
wherein the second operation comprises:
stopping using a DRX mode for transmitting and receiving data between the first terminal and the second terminal (see paragraph 90; stopping/end using a DRX mode/(SL DRX On duration) for transmitting/sidelink and receiving/sidelink data/(PC5 MAC CE) between/sidelink the first terminal/(scheduling UE) and the second terminal/Tx UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the second operation comprises: stopping using a DRX mode for transmitting and receiving data between the first terminal and the second terminal” as taught by Li ‘016 in the combined system of Kim and Li ‘488 for improving the UE power efficiency (see page 2, paragraphs 22-23 of Li ‘016).
Regarding Claim 20, Kim discloses a terminal (see Figure 8 and paragraph 177; a terminal/terminal 803), the terminal being the second terminal (see Figure 8 and paragraph 177; the terminal/(terminal 803) being a first terminal/terminal 803), the second terminal comprising a processor (see Figure 8 and paragraph 177; the second terminal/(terminal 803) comprising a processor/terminal 803 contains a processor), a memory (see Figure 8 and paragraphs 232-233; a memory/ROM, RAM and flash memory), and a program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor (see Figure 8 and paragraphs 177 and 232-233; and a program/program or instructions/instructions stored/store in the memory/(ROM, RAM and flash memory) and executable/execute on the processor/terminal 802 contains a processor), wherein when the program or the instructions are executed by the processor (see Figure 8 and paragraphs 177 and 232-233; wherein when the program/program or the instructions/instructions are executed/execute by the processor/terminal 803 contains a processor), the following steps of the DRX determining method according to claim 11 is implemented:
receiving first information transmitted by a first terminal (see Figure 8, step S811 and paragraph 177; receiving/(terminal 803 receives in step S811) first information/(DRX configuration information transfer/(request S811) transmitted/(terminal 802 transmits in step S811) by a first terminal/terminal 802), wherein the first information is used for indicating N sets of sidelink (SL) DRX configuration (see Figure 8, step S811 and paragraph 181; wherein the first information/(DRX configuration information transfer/request S811) is used for indicating N sets/(one set among the sets) of sidelink (SL) DRX configuration/SL-DRX configuration), and N is a positive integer (see paragraph 181; and N is a positive integer/one set among the sets); and
transmitting (see Figure 8, step S812 and paragraph 177; transmitting/terminal 803 transmits in step S812), to the first terminal (see Figure 8, step S812 and paragraph 177; to the terminal/terminal 802), feedback information for the first information (see Figure 8, step S812 and paragraph 177; feedback information/(PC5-RRC connection response) for the first information/DRX configuration information transfer/request S811).
Although Kim discloses a terminal as set forth above,
Kim does not explicitly disclose “in response to the feedback information indicating rejection of the N sets of SL DRX configuration”.
However, Li ‘488 discloses a terminal, the terminal being the second terminal, the second terminal comprising:
in response to the feedback information indicating rejection of the N sets of SL DRX configuration (see Figure 8, step 5A and paragraph 75; in response to the feedback information/(RRCReconfigurationFailureSidelink) indicating/indicating rejection/reject of the N sets/(sl-drx-config1 or sl-drx-config-id1/sl-drx-config-index1) of SL DRX configuration/SL DRX configuration), performing a second operation (see Figure 8A, step 6A and paragraph 75; performing a second operation/RRCReconfigurationSidelink).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “in response to the feedback information indicating rejection of the N sets of SL DRX configuration” as taught by Li ‘488 in the system of Kim to provide techniques for sidelink communication (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Li ‘488).
Although the combination of Kim and Li ‘488 discloses a discontinuous reception (DRX) determining method as set forth above,
The combination of Kim and Li ‘488 does not explicitly disclose “wherein the second operation comprises: stopping transmitting and receiving data between the first terminal and the second terminal in a DRX mode”.
However, Li ‘016 a terminal, the terminal being the second terminal, the second terminal comprising:
stopping using a DRX mode for transmitting and receiving data between the first terminal and the second terminal (see paragraph 90; stopping/end using a DRX mode/(SL DRX On duration) for transmitting/sidelink and receiving/sidelink data/(PC5 MAC CE) between/sidelink the first terminal/(scheduling UE) and the second terminal/Tx UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “stopping using a DRX mode for transmitting and receiving data between the first terminal and the second terminal” as taught by Li ‘016 in the combined system of Kim and Li ‘488 for improving the UE power efficiency (see page 2, paragraphs 22-23 of Li ‘016).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jang et al (US 2022/0183101 A1) discloses Method and Apparatus for Performing Communication In Wireless Communication System. Specifically, see paragraphs 59-61.
/L.A.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2469 /Ian N Moore/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469