DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Office Action is responsive to the Amendment filed 15 July 2026. Claims 1-20 are now pending. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 1-8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12, 14, 15, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zayfert (US 20100010371 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zayfert teaches a system for providing automated behavior monitoring and modification in a patient (“the program will enable clinical decisions to be guided by an array of parameters indicative of patients’ mental state, including physiological and behavioral measures”, paragraph [0112]), the system comprising:
An audio/visual device configured to present audible and/or visual content comprising dynamically variable sensory elements (“I/O devices 16…provide a video screen for displaying a graphical environment and a speaker for delivering sound for communicating with the patient 65”, paragraph [0039]) to a patient exhibiting one or more disruptive behaviors associated with a mental state (“exposure therapy…varied in correspondence to the monitored mental state of the patient”, paragraph [0009])
One or more sensors configured to continuously capture patient activity data (“the exemplary embodiment may also use a variety of sensors to track the current health and/or mental status of the patient”, paragraph [0039]) during presentation of an audible and/or visual content, the patient activity data comprising at least one of patient motion (“monitoring…restlessness, and shifting in chair”, paragraph [0015]), vocalization (“monitoring of the speech of the patient”, paragraph [0056]), and physiological readings (“monitoring…at least one biological or physiological characteristic”, paragraph [0015])
A computing system operably associated with the audio/visual device and configured to control an output of the audible and/or visual content therefrom based, at least in part, on the patient activity data (“any computer system…computer-implemented techniques may be employed for generating control signals to any of various stimuli generators that may be employed at the patient communication module 110, or for receiving feedback from any of various input devices that may be employed at the patient monitoring module 120”, paragraph [0104]; software 100, Fig. 2), wherein the computing system is configured to:
Receive and analyze, in real time, patient activity data from the one or more sensors;
Determine a quantitative indication of a current level of the one or more disruptive behaviors, wherein the quantitative indication is derived from a change in patient activity over a period of time (“the patient monitoring module 120 integrate, compare, contrast, reconcile, or otherwise reflect the results of monitoring from the various mans employed before generating a mental state metric indicative of the mental state of the patient 65”, paragraph [0060]; patient monitoring module 120, Fig. 2); and
Dynamically adjust one or more parameters of the output of the audible and/or visual content, wherein a variation in the quantitative indication produces a corresponding graded adjustment in the one or more parameters to thereby adjust the variable sensory elements to guide the patient to a reduced level of disruptive behavior (“navigation module 140 to adjust the intensity with which a stimulus 156 is played back to the patient 65…playback intensity as used herein refers to any parameter affecting playback that can be varied so as to increase or decrease the psychological impact…examples of such parameters include audio volume, video contrast, color saturation, frequency”, paragraph [0091]; navigation module 140, Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 2 and claims 5, Zayfert teaches the change in patient activity comprising at least one of increased/decreased patient motion, vocalization, and levels of physiological readings respectively (“playback that can be varied so as to increase or decrease the psychological impact”, paragraph [0091]). The patient activity would increase if the detected patient motion, vocalization, or levels of physiological readings increased.
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Zayfert teaches the computing system being configured to increase/decrease a level of output of audible and/or visual content to correspond to the increase/decrease in patient activity respectively (“the intensity module 144 in one embodiment might cause playback intensity for a stimulus to be set to increasingly higher levels until it is determined that the patient 65 has habituated sufficiently to that stimulus”, paragraph [0064], “intensity module 144 optionally adjusts playback intensity to what is expected to be a suitable level based on patient mental state”, paragraph [0097]; intensity module 144, Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 4 and claims 7, Zayfert teaches the increased/decreased level of output of audible and/or visual content comprising at least one of: a(n) increase/decrease in an amount of visual content presented to the patient; a(n) increase/decrease in a type of visual content presented to the patient (“the computer may provide or direct the visual and the audio exposure responsive to the level of sensed anxiety or distress”, paragraph [0010]); and a(n) increase/decrease in frequency and/or tone of audible content presented to the patient (“playback intensity as used herein refers to any parameter affecting playback that can be varied so as to increase or decrease the psychological impact, particularly the level of anxiety or distress…examples of such parameters…frequency response or range, monaural versus stereo”, paragraph [0091]).
Regarding claim 8, Zayfert teaches the computing system being configured to dynamically adjust the one or more parameters of the output of the audible and/or visual content based on adjustable predefined ratios applied to patient activity data (“stimuli are being indexed by mental state metric and organized into a hierarchy, this initial value of the mental state metric for each stimulus can serve as a baseline”, paragraph [0072], “a therapist 55 might determine that a patient 65 had habituated when the mental state metric values stored in the form of a monitoring history 158 indicate a consistent trend indicative of steadily decreasing anxiety”, paragraph [0096]).
Regarding claim 9, Zayfert teaches the patient motion comprising facial expressions, (“monitoring of the facial expressions of the patient 65 by the audiovisual monitoring module 124”, paragraph [0057]; audiovisual monitoring module 124, Fig. 2) physical movement, and/or physical gestures (“patient might wear an actigraph or actimetry sensor…for measuring motion”, paragraph [0114]).
Regarding claim 10, Zayfert teaches the physiological readings comprising at least one of the patient’s: body temperature, heart rate, heart rate variability, blood pressure, respiratory rate, respirator depth, and skin conductance (“the at least one biological or physiological characteristic may include at least one species chosen from among the group consisting of breathing, heart rate, blood pressure, peripheral resistance, skin temperature, skin conductance”, paragraph [0015]).
Regarding claim 11, Zayfert teaches the one or more disruptive behaviors comprising carrying levels of distress associated with the mental state (“monitoring by the physiologic module 126 in the context of embodiments of the present invention are phenomena indicative of nervousness, stress, anxiety, distress, or similar emotional state”, paragraph [0058]; physiologic module 126, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Zayfert teaches the disruptive behaviors being associated with any mental state or mental disorder, such as delirium. (“person to whom treatment is administered by the device…persons having any of a variety of types of emotional distress, including, without limitation, anxiety disorders…or stress-related problems or other psychosocial problems or conditions”, paragraph [0028]).
Regarding claim 14, Zayfert teaches the one or more sensors comprising one or more cameras (“audiovisual monitoring module 124…include a webcam setup or other such equipment for monitoring the speech and/or facial expressions”, paragraph [0055]), one or more motion sensors (), one or more microphones (“microphone could be employed to record the oral description of the patient”, paragraph [0076]), and/or one or more biometric sensors (“the I/O devices 16 may include input devices…biosensor”, paragraph [0037]; audiovisual monitoring module 124, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Zayfert teaches the audible and/or visual content presented to the patient comprising sounds and/or images. (“the patient might be exposed to stimuli associated with the traumatic event, such as, but not limited to, objects, clothing, persons, smells, sounds, pictures, or locations that elicit emotional distress due to their association with the traumatic event”, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 18, Zayfert teaches the content in the images being synchronized to the time of day in which the images are presented to the patient (“indexing module 134…for associating with a stimulus the mental state metric generated by the patient monitoring module 130 at the time that the stimulus is being experienced…history of times at which the stimuli were recorded”, paragraph [0063]; indexing module 134, patient monitoring module 130, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Zayfert teaches wherein the computing system is further configured to:
Process the patient activity data by applying one or more signal processing operations (“in a machine-readable storage device or in a propagated signal, for execution by, or to control the operation of, a communications processing apparatus”, paragraph [0103]) comprising accumulation of the patient activity data over successive time intervals to capture changes in the patient activity and computation of averaged activity values for at least one of the one or more disruptive behaviors (“the processor may furthermore be configured by the memory to perform the step of varying the intensity of at least one stimuli…based on correspondence to the second mental state metric value until the second mental state metric value indicates habituation of the patient as compared with the first mental state metric value”, paragraph [0012]);
Normalize the averaged activity values to a bounded numerical range representing a relative level of the one or more disruptive behaviors (“patient monitoring module 120 may furthermore include functionality for generating a mental state metric indicative of the monitored mental state of the patient…mental state metric may be a number or set of numbers”, paragraph [0059]); and
Apply one or more weighting or scaling functions to the normalized activity values (“current mental state…indicated on a subjective units of distress scale…a range from 1 to 10 and be in answer to a question such as, ‘How much anxiety are you currently feeling?’”, paragraph [0054]) to generate the quantitative indication, and to determine the one or more output parameters (“navigation module 140 to adjust the intensity with which a stimulus 156 is played back to the patient 65…playback intensity as used herein refers to any parameter affecting playback that can be varied so as to increase or decrease the psychological impact…examples of such parameters include audio volume, video contrast, color saturation, frequency”, paragraph [0091]; navigation module 140, Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zayfert in view of Palmer (US 20110091544 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Zayfert teaches all the limitations of claim 12, but does not teach associating the levels of distress with the Richmond Agitation Sedation Score and/or Delirium Score.
However, Palmer teaches a system that utilizes measuring the varying levels of agitation and distress with the Richmond Agitation Sedation Score (“using the validated, objective Richmond Agitation-Sedation Scale (RASS; +4 for highly agitated to -5 for unarousable”, paragraph [0178], “RASS values once the procedure began, indicating patient anxiety and restlessness”, paragraph [0221]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Zayfert. in view of Palmer and utilize the Richmond Agitation Sedation Score in order to follow an objective baseline of how to rate a patient’s levels of agitation and/or distress when determining the level of stimulus for treatment.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zayfert. in view of Divine (US 20180247024 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Zayfert teaches all the limitations of claim 15, but does not teach comprising two-dimensional (2D) and three-dimensional (3D) video-layered animations.
However, Divine teaches a system identifying an area, gathering two-dimensional (2D) images and video-layering with three-dimensional (3D) animations (“overlay data can be displayed in a manner such that it appears spatially situated (e.g., in two-dimensional (2D) or three-dimensional (3D) space)”, paragraph [0035], “overlay data can include but is not limited to: text, a symbol, a marker, a tag, an image, a video, an animation”, paragraph [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Zayfert with the system of Divine in order to layer 3D animations over real-world videos and images (“AR device can further render the overlay data via the display of the AR device over the live view (e.g., either real or video/image) of the environment also presented on or viewed through the display”, paragraph [0034]) in order to match with a patient’s mental and physical state, or needs for treatment (“the system can generate overlay data that indicates the incorrect placement of the IV needle…relative to the patient’s IV site”, paragraph [0035]).
Claims 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zayfert in view of Tzvieli (US 20170367651 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Zayfert teaches all the limitations of claim 15, but does not teach images comprising nature-based imagery.
However, Tzvieli teaches a device that measures the levels of stress in a patient and providing images for a physiological response (“help determine the amount of stress a person is feeling”, paragraph [0003], “user is presented a visual cue”, paragraph [0351]), the images comprising nature-based imagery (“in response to detecting an elevated stress level, the computer may display calming video (e.g., tranquil nature scenes)”, paragraph [0574]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Zayfert with the system of Tzvieli and provide nature-based imagery as one of the visual content displayed to the patient for treatment, as it can reduce levels of distress.
Regarding claim 19, Zayfert teaches all the limitations of claim 15, but does not teach the sounds being noise-cancelling and/or noise-masking.
However, Tzvieli teaches the sounds being noise-cancelling (“there are various methods that may be used to process the raw values…noise cancellation”, paragraph [1187]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Zayfert with the system of Tzvieli in order to configure the sounds to be noise-cancelling, selecting sounds at a frequency that enhances calming and anxiety-reducing effects.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed 15 July 2026, with respect to the claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments. The objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see page 6, filed 15 July 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the Applicant argues that Zayfert does not teach the claimed system’s closed-loop, sensor-driven control architecture that directly maps a continuously updated quantitative signal to output parameter values. The Applicant also argues that Zayfert does not disclose determining a quantitative indication derived from changes in patient activity over a period of time, nor using such an indication to directly determine output parameter values such that variations in the indication produce corresponding grading adjustments. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zayfert teaches a system that is capable of mapping a continuously updated quantitative signal to output parameter values (“outputs being transmitted to the client computer…by transmitting stimuli…to monitor participation and progress of the patient 65, such as, in real time or at regular intervals”, paragraph [0104]). Zayfert also does teach determining a quantitative indication derived from changes over a period of time (“the hierarchy navigation module 140 might at this time select the stimulus 156 that was most anxiety-producing for the patient 65 as determined from the mental state metric values associated with the stimuli 156”, paragraph [0090]). Zayfert does teach a system for providing automated behavior monitoring and modification in a patient, and comprises of a computing system that is capable of executing these functions.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.L.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /ALEX M VALVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791