DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Takahashi does not teach “a via hole extending from one surface of the body and having a bottom surface exposing the coil…, wherein the via electrode fills at least a portion of the via hole, and the external electrode fills at least a remaining portion of the via hole” as claimed. Applicant asserts that Takahashi teaches only concaved portion associated with exposed lead conductors and or recessed surface of the body, not the amended limitation.
After careful consideration without passion or prejudice, the argument is not persuasive, respectfully. In Takahashi, the body 10 has a hole that penetrates from the bottom surface 12 toward the upper surface 14. The lead conductor 54 and or 56 is inserted in the hole. This hole is equivalent to the claimed “via hole” as amended. The upper ends 54a and 56a (annotated FIG. 3A) of the lead conductor 54 and 56, respectively, are connected to the ends of the coil conductor 52, and the lower ends 54b and 56b of the lead conductor 54 and 56, respectively, are connected the electrodes 70 and 72. As seen in annotated FIG. 3A, the lower end 54b of the lead conductor 54 is in contact with electrode 70 at a region inside the body 10. Similarly, the lower end 56b of the lead conductor 56 is in contact with the electrode 72 inside the body 10. Accordingly, the lead conductor 54 and 56 only partially fill the hole, and a least a portion of the remaining of the hole of the body is filled by the electrode 70 and 72. Accordingly, Takahashi still teaches “a via hole extending from one surface of the body and having a bottom surface exposing the coil…, wherein the via electrode fills at least a portion of the via hole, and the external electrode fills at least a remaining portion of the via hole” as amended claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "at least one recess" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 9 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2020/0281078 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Takahashi teaches a coil component 500 (FIGs. 2A-3D), comprising:
a body 10;
a coil 50 disposed in the body;
a via hole extending from one surface of the body and having a bottom surface exposing the coil;
an external electrode70 and or 72 disposed on one surface 12 of the body and including at least one recess 80 and or 82; and
a via electrode 54 and or 56 disposed ion the bottom surface of the via hole and connecting the coil to the external electrode,
wherein the via electrode fills at least a portion of the via hole, and the external electrode fills at least a remaining portion of the via hole (para. [0083], [0090] and [0104]).
With respect to claim 3, Takahashi teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein the body includes a first surface 16a and a second surface 16b opposing each other in a first direction (length direction), and a third surface 12 and a fourth surface 14 opposing each other in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and
wherein the via electrode is disposed nearer to the third surface than to the fourth surface (paras. [0049]-[0051] and [0090]).
With respect to claim 4, Takahashi teaches the coil component of claim 1,
wherein the external electrode includes an internal side (surface (side surface in contact with the bottom surface of the body) facing the body, and an external side surface (outer side) opposing the internal side surface, and
wherein the at least one recess is disposed in a region of the external side surface opposing a region in which the internal side surface is in contact with the via electrode (para. [0090]).
With respect to claim 5, Takahashi teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein the external electrode and the via electrode are integrally formed (para. [0090]).
With respect to claim 9. Takahashi teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein a cross-sectional area of the recess decreases from an external side to an internal side of the external electrode (para. [0090]).
With respect to claim 18, Takahashi teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein the external electrode includes at least two recesses (para. [0114]).
With respect to claim 19, Takahashi teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein the external electrode includes only two recesses (para. [0114]).
With respect to claim 20, Takahashi teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein the external electrode includes a single recess (para. [0090]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Chong et al. (KR 10-2018-116604).
With respect to claim 2, Takahashi teaches the coil component of claim 1. Takahashi does not expressly teach a cross-sectional area of the via electrode decreases from an external side to an internal side of the body.
Chong et al., hereinafter referred to as “Chong,” teaches a coil component 100 (FIGs. 1 and 2), wherein a cross-sectional area of the via electrode81a and or 82a decreases from an external side (outer side) to an internal side (inner side) of the body 50 (Abstract). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the cross-sectional areas of the via electrode as taught by Chong to the coil component of Takahashi to reduce parasitic capacitance (abstract).
Claims 6-8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi, as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Park (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2015/0137929 A1).
With respect to claim 6, Takahashi teaches the coil component of claim 1. Takahashi does not expressly teach
a pole portion disposed in the body, connected to the external electrode, and spaced apart from the coil and the via electrode.
Park teaches a coil component 100 (FIG. 1) comprising:
a pole portion 141-145 disposed in the body 10, connected to the external electrode 131 and or 132, and spaced apart from the coil 121-123 and the via electrode (lead-out connection to electrode 131) (paras. [0036], [0049] and [0073]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the pole portion as taught by Park to the coil component of Takahashi to improve adhesion of the external electrode (para. [0083]).
With respect to claim 7, Takahashi in view of Park teaches the coil component of claim 6,
wherein the external electrode includes an internal side surface (side in contact with the bottom surface of the body) facing the body, and an external side surface (outer side) opposing the internal side surface, and
wherein the at least one recess is disposed in a region of the external side surface opposing a region in which the internal side surface is in contact with the pole portion (Takahashi, para. [0090], Park, para. [0073]).
With respect to claim 8, Takahashi in view of Park teaches the coil component of claim 6, wherein the external electrode and the pole portion are integrally formed (Park, para. [0073]).
With respect to claim 17, Takahashi teaches the coil component of claim 3, further comprising:
a pole portion disposed in the body, connected to the external electrode, and spaced apart from the coil and the via electrode, wherein the pole portion is disposed nearer to the fourth surface than to the third surface.
Park teaches a coil component 100 (FIG. 1) comprising:
a pole portion 141-146 disposed in the body 10, connected to the external electrode 131 and or 132, and spaced apart from the coil and the via electrode (lead-out connection to electrode 131), wherein the pole portion is disposed nearer to the fourth surface S1 than to the third surface S2 (paras. [0036], [0049] and [0073]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the pole portion as taught by Park to the coil component of Takahashi to improve adhesion of the external electrode (para. [0083]).
Claims 10-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Yang et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2020/0027647 A1).
With respect to claim 10, Takahashi teaches the coil component of claim 1. Takahashi does not expressly teach
a support member disposed in the body and supporting the coil.
Yang et al., hereinafter referred to as “Yang,” teaches a coil component 1000 (FIGs. 1-6) comprising:
a support member IL disposed in the body 100 and supporting the coil 200 (para. [0046]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the support member as taught by Yang to the coil component of Takahashi to support the coil, thereby improving the mechanical stability of the coil (para. [0046]).
With respect to claim 11, Takahashi in view of Yang teaches the coil component of claim 10, wherein the coil includes a first coil pattern 211 disposed on one surface (lower surface) of the support member, a second coil pattern 212 disposed on the other surface (upper surface) of the support member, a first via 221 connecting the first and second coil patterns to each other, and first and second lead-out pads 231 and 242 extending from ends of outermost turns of the first and second coil patterns, respectively (Yang, paras. [0051] and [0053]).
With respect to claim 12, Takahashi in view of Yang teaches the coil component of claim 11, wherein the external electrode includes first and second external electrodes 300 and 400 disposed on one surface 106 of the body and spaced apart from each other, and
wherein the via electrode includes a first via electrode 610 connecting the first lead-out pad to the first external electrode, and a second via electrode 620 connecting the second lead-out pad to the second external electrode (Yang, paras. [0051] and [0064]).
With respect to claim 14, Takahashi in view of Yang teaches the coil component of claim 12, wherein the coil further includes a connection pad 232 spaced apart from the first coil pattern on [the] one surface of the support member and connected to the second via electrode, and a second via 223 connecting the second lead-out pad to the connection pad (Yang, para. [0053]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi in view of Yang, as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Tawa (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2010/0328009 A1).
With respect to claim 15, Takahashi in view of Yang teaches the coil component of claim 14. Takahashi in view of Yang does not expressly teach, in the first coil pattern, a region adjacent to the connection pad is curved toward a center of the first coil pattern.
Tawa teaches a coil component (FIGs. 1-4), wherein, in the first coil pattern 18j, a region E adjacent to the connection pad v9 is curved r4 toward a center of the first coil pattern (para. [0035]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the curved portion as taught by Tawa to the coil component of Takahashi in view of Yang to provide maximum proximity distance between the first coil pattern and the connection pad (para. [0035]).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi in view of Yang, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2015/0035640 A1).
With respect to claim 13, Takahashi in view of Yang teaches the coil component of claim 12. Takahashi in view of Yang does not expressly teach the second via electrode penetrates through the support member and is connected to the second lead-out pad.
Wang et al., hereinafter referred to as “Wang,” teaches a coil component (FIG. 3), wherein the second via electrode 35 and 37 penetrates through the support member 30 and is connected to the second lead-out pad (outer end of coil 32) (para. [0027]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the second via electrode penetrating through the support member and connected to the second lead-out pad as taught by Wang to the coil component of Takahashi in view of Yang to facilitate manufacturing.
With respect to claim 16, Takahashi in view of Yang and Wang teaches the coil component of claim 13, wherein the second via electrode is directly connected to the second lead-out pad (Wang, para. [0027]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2020/0365312 A1).
With respect to claim 21, Takahashi teaches the coil component of claim 1. Takahashi does not expressly teach
a pole portion disposed in the body, connected to the external electrode, and spaced apart from the coil and the via electrode,
wherein the at least one recess overlaps the pole portion in a thickness direction of the coil component,
wherein the coil includes a plurality of turns,
wherein, in a direction parallel to the one surface of the body, turns among the plurality of turns are adjacent to each other, and
wherein a cross-sectional area of the pole portion decreases from an external side to an internal side of the body.
Kim teaches a coil component 100 (FIG. 1) comprising:
a pole portion 63 disposed in the body 50, connected to the external electrode 521, and spaced apart from the coil 43 and or 44 and the via electrode 62,
wherein the at least one recess H2 overlaps the pole portion in a thickness direction of the coil component,
wherein the coil includes a plurality of turns,
wherein, in a direction parallel to the one surface o1103 f the body, turns among the plurality of turns are adjacent to each other, and
wherein a cross-sectional area (cross-sectional area at surface 103) of the pole portion decreases from an external side to an internal side of the body (paras. [0067] and [0073]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have incorporate the pole portion as taught by Kim to the coil component of Takahashi to improve the adhesion force of the external electrode to the body (para. [0073]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837