DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 2, claims 5-18 in the reply filed on 6/4/26 is acknowledged. Applicant has amended claims 1-4 to depend on claim 5. No claims are therefore withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 5 recites “a cover disposed on the body and movable independent of the tamper indicator.” The instant specification does not support this feature and it is new to this continuation application. All of the embodiments of the instant disclosure explicitly state that the cover’s movement is dependent on the tamper indicator as detailed in: page 1, lines 16-18; page 3, lines 23-30; page 4, lines 6-10; and so forth. Typically, as stated in MPEP 2163.06 I, “The examiner should still consider the subject matter added to the claim in making rejections based on prior art since the new matter rejection may be overcome by applicant.” However, in this particular situation, the limitation directly contradicts the instant speciation and at least claim 9 which contradicts the limitation. The limitation as therefore not been given patentable weight. Claims 1-4 and 6-20 depend on claim 5.
Double Patenting
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5, 6, and 13-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,676,476 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims encompass all of the limitations of the instant claim including that the tamper indictor can move both pivotally and along a linear path.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5-13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sharpe (US 2004/0229113 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Sharpe discloses an apparatus comprising: a body 16 capable of receiving and holding a battery via 12 (see Figure 2); and a tamper indictor mounted to the body and capable of both pivoting (paragraph 39) and along a linear path between two positions (paragraph 61). As stated in the USC 112 rejections above, the limitation of “a cover disposed on the body and movable independent of the tamper indicator” is not given patentable weight as it contradicts the manner in which the tamper indictor functions according to the instant specification and claims.
Regarding claim 6, Sharpe discloses that the cover is part of a detector mount capable of being secured to a surface and to support the smoke detector on the surface (paragraph 36).
Regarding claim 7, Sharpe discloses that the detector mount includes a base 19 capable of being secured to the surface and the cover 18 is an intermediate component of the detector mount capable of releasably engaging with both the base and the detector body (paragraph 36).
Regarding claim 8, Sharpe discloses that the cover is capable of engaging with the detector body via rotation about an engagement axis (paragraph 36) and the tamper indicator is capable of pivoting about a pivot axis that is parallel to the engagement axis (paragraph 39).
Regarding claim 9, Sharpe discloses that the cover is capable of engaging with the detector body via rotation about an engagement axis (paragraph 36), and the tamper indicator is capable of preventing rotation of the cover about the engagement axis for engagement with the detector body when in the second position (paragraph 55).
Regarding claim 10, Sharpe discloses that the tamper indicator is capable of pivoting between the first and second positions about a pivot axis that is oriented along a direction in which the battery is received at the battery location (paragraph 40).
Regarding claim 11, Sharpe discloses that the detector body has an upper surface arranged in a plane and the tamper indicator is capable of pivoting between the first and second positions about a pivot axis that is oriented perpendicular to the plane (see Figure 5).
Regarding claim 12, Sharpe discloses that tamper indicator is capable of both pivoting about a pivot axis (paragraph 39) and sliding along (paragraph 61) the pivot axis in movement between the first and second positions.
Regarding claim 13, Sharpe discloses that the tamper indicator is capable of pivoting within the battery location about a pivot axis between the first and second positions and to have a portion that extends out of the battery location when the tamper indicator is in the second position (paragraph 40).
Regarding claim 15, Sharpe discloses that the tamper indicator is resiliently biased to move toward the second position and is capable such that a battery at the battery location holds the tamper indicator at the first position (paragraph 41).
Regarding claim 16, Sharpe discloses that the tamper indicator in the second position is capable of preventing positioning of the cover suitably adjacent the detector body for engagement of the detector body with the cover (paragraph 47).
Regarding claim 16, Sharpe discloses a detector mount capable of being secured to a surface and to engage the detector body 19 to support the smoke detector on the surface (paragraph 36), wherein the detector mount includes a sidewall with openings to permit air flow into a space defined by the detector mount and to a detector component of the detector body (see Figure 10).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Sharpe discloses that the tamper indicator includes an opening capable of receiving a shaft 46 of the detector body on which the tamper indicator is pivotally or slidably movable (see Figure 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharpe as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Yoon Sam-Gi (KR 100313337 B1). A machine translation of Yoon Sam-Gi is provided herewith for citation purposes. It should be noted that no paragraph numbers are present.
Sharpe discloses a cam follower (paragraph 42) but does not disclose a spiral ramp. Yoon Sam-Gi—in an invention for a smoke detector with tamper indicator—discloses the use of a spiral screw portion that allows the cover to turn and fit the body integrally in step-wise fashion (see Figures 5 & 6 and respective descriptions). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use a spiral ramp for the tamper indicator of Sharpe so as to have metered positions for the reasons recommended in Yoon Sam-Gi.
Conclusion
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725