DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Additionally, the examiner notes that for compact prosecution all limitations have been addressed however the BRI of the claims do not include intended uses such as:
“configured by an IAB donor for the first node”. Claim 1 is limited in scope to the “apparatus, configured in a first node” as explicitly recited on line 1. Therefore actions performed by an IAB donor for the first node are considered intended uses outside the scope of the claim.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Lines 12-13 recite the limitation “a BH RLC channel” then line 14 again recites “a BH RLC channel”; and
Line 16 recites the limitation “a routing identity” then lines 17-18 again recite “a Lines 12-13 recite the limitation “a routing identity”. It is suggested that (in each case) the second “a” be changed to --the-- to maintain consistency with the specification. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the local re-routing" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the local re-routing" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "routing reselection" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuo et al. (2023/0044810) hereinafter “Zhuo” and Samsung (“Discussion on local decision make for routing” / 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #107bis R2-1913810), hereinafter “Samsung”.
As to claim 1, (Currently Amended) A routing selection apparatus, configured in a first node (first IAB node), the apparatus comprising:
a receiver (inherent to 5G devices, see also [0041]: “a receiving unit, configured to receive first information from a second IAB node, where the first information indicates buffer statuses…”) confiqured to receive first flow control feedback (uplink flow feedback information) information from a third (second) node, the first flow control feedback information indicatinq that data conqestion (buffer % or size exceeds threshold) occurs in the third node (see [0041: “… in the second IAB node” and [0169]-[0180]); and
processor circuitry (inherent to 5G devices, see also [0041]: “… and a processing unit, configured to perform uplink flow control based on the first information“) configured to:
re-route (see [0033],[0034],[0046], [0191]):
a BAP packet intended to be mapped to a BH RLC (the M RLC CH) channel if the first flow control feedback information indicates that an available buffer size of a BH RLC channel is less than a first threshold [[confiqured by an IAB donor for the first node]] (see [0009], [0013],[0014],[0187]); or
a BAP packet whose BAP header includes a routing identity if the first flow control feedback information indicates that an available buffer size for a routing identity is less than a second threshold [[configured by an IAB donor for the first node]] (see [0183]).
In an analogous art, Samsung discloses wherein it was advantageous for the IAB donor node to configure the threshold in order to control rerouting. See section 2, Proposal 2: “the IAB donor CU can configure some conditions to trigger the local decision… threshold information for triggering local decision… ”. Also see section 3, proposal 2. Before the effective filing date of the instant invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhuo such that the threshold information is configured by the IAB donor as taught by Samsung for the purpose of enabling the donor to make the decisions.
As to claim 4, (Original) The combination of Zhuo and Samsung discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, Zhuo discloses wherein the local re-routing comprises a route reselection, or selecting a route that is different from the routing ID in a BAP header. (See [0046] “… select a logical channel LCH that corresponds to a BAP routing identifier other than the N BAP routing identifiers and/or an LCH that corresponds to an RLC CH other than the M RLC CHs when assembling an uplink data packet”).
As to claim 6, (Currently Amended) The combination of Zhuo and Samsung discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, Zhuo discloses, further comprising a receiver configured to receive the first flow control feedback information from the third node, wherein the processor circuitry performs local re-routing when the first flow control feedback information is received from the third node comprises that:
the processor circuitry reselects a route for a BAP packet intended to be mapped to a BH RLC channel if the first flow control feedback information indicates that an available buffer size of the BH RLC channel is less than a first threshold (See [0046] “… select a logical channel LCH and/or an LCH that corresponds to an RLC CH other than the M RLC CHs when assembling an uplink data packet”); and/or
the processor circuitry reselects a route for a BAP packet containing a routing identity in a BAP header if the first flow control feedback information indicates that an available buffer size for the routing identity is less than a second threshold (See [0046] “… select a logical channel LCH that corresponds to a BAP routing identifier other than the N BAP routing identifiers … when assembling an uplink data packet”).
As to claim 9, (Previously Presented) The combination of Zhuo and Samsung discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, Zhuo discloses, wherein after the processor circuitry performs routing reselection when the first flow control feedback information is received, the processor circuitry stops the routing reselection for an original route if at least one of the following conditions is satisfied that:
a timer started when the data congestion occurs expires (see [0015]); and
second flow control feedback information is received (see [0015]), and the second flow control feedback information indicates that no data congestion occurs in the original route.
Conclusion
LESTER G. KINCAID
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2649
/LESTER G KINCAID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649