DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made of application #18/133,729 filed on 04/12/2023 in which claims 1-20 have been presented for prosecution in a first action on the merits.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P. 201.14(e), acknowledgement is made of applicant's claim for priority based on US provisional applications #63/330,195, filed on 04/12/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-9,16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for claims 8-9,18 and 19 for the staggering configuration of multiple solar-powered charging devices and conductive power transfer between solar-powered charging devices via the use of connectors, does not reasonably provide enablement as to how the wireless power transfer or the inductive power transfer is achieved and performed since having two coils is just not enough to have a wireless and/or inductive power transfer without having a time varying magnetic field. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. Having a varying magnetic field generated by some sort of AC signal or inverter that invert the DC power from the solar panels to a high frequency or oscillating magnetic field is necessary to have a wireless or inductive power transfer.
These rejections applied to claims 2,16,17 and 20 and there dependent claims therefrom.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Salzinger et al., (Salzinger) USPAT 9,255,675 B1.
Regarding claim 1: Salzinger at least discloses and shows in Figs. 6A,7A-7B: A solar-powered charging device(600/700), comprising: a housing(702,704,706)(note- device 700 may comprise a housing that includes a first wall 702, a second wall 704, and one or more side walls 706); a rechargeable battery disposed within the housing(there is a battery inside the device 700; see col. 18, lines 7-12); and a solar panel(760) positioned along an exterior of the housing, the solar panel(760) is electrically connected to the rechargeable battery(via electric connector 745a; see col. 18, lines 10-12); wherein the solar panel(760) is configured to generate electrical power and the rechargeable battery is configured to store the generated electrical power to charge(via connector port 645a/745a)(see col. 17, line 27 to col. 18, line 35 and Figs. 6A,7A-7B) an external electronic device(such as mobile phone, tablet device mp3 player, and/or other portable electronic devices; see col. 17, lines 27-41) electrically connected to the device.
Regarding claim 10: Salzinger discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Salzinger discloses, further comprising an electrical connector (electric connector 745a; see col. 18, lines 10-12) disposed within the housing, the electrical connector(645a/745a) is electrically connected(via cord 644/a744a)(see col. 18, lines 10-12) to the rechargeable battery, and configured to electrically connect the rechargeable battery to the external electronic device(see col. 17, lines 36-43).
Regarding claim 11: Salzinger discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 10. Salzinger discloses, wherein the device is configured to charge the external electronic device(such as mobile phone, tablet device mp3 player, and/or other portable electronic devices; see col. 17, lines 27-41)via the electrical connector(645a/745a) using the electrical power generated by the solar panel(660/760) and stored in the rechargeable battery(see col. 17, lines 36-43).
Regarding claim 12: Salzinger discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 10. Salzinger discloses, wherein the device is configured to charge the rechargeable battery with the electrical power from the external electronic device electrically connected thereto via the electrical connector(645a/745a)(see col. 17, lines 36-43).
Regarding claim 13: Salzinger discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 10. Salzinger discloses, wherein the electrical connector is a first electrical connector(745a), and the housing includes a plurality of electrical connectors(745a,745b) disposed within the housing and electrically connected to the rechargeable battery, each of the plurality of electrical connectors is configured to receive a different electrical input(inherently since the connectors may be different, they are taking different inputs; see col. 18, lines 28-35).
Regarding claim 14, Salzinger discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 13. Salzinger further teaches, wherein the device is configured to charge a plurality of external electronic devices(as connected to different connectors 745a,745b; see col. 18, lines 28-35) electrically connected to the rechargeable battery via the plurality of electrical connectors(see col. 17, lines 36-43); wherein the device is configured to charge the rechargeable battery with electrical power from one or more of the plurality of external electronic devices electrically connected thereto via one of the corresponding plurality of electrical connectors(see col. 17, lines 36-43; col. 18, lines 28-35).
Claim(s) 1,10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rybkiewicz USPAT 9,800,084 B2.
Regarding claim 1: Rybkiewicz at least discloses and shows in Fig. 1: A solar-powered charging device(100), comprising: a housing(102)(col. 3, lines 36-47); a rechargeable battery(115) disposed within the housing(102); and a solar panel(112) positioned along an exterior of the housing(102)(see col. 3, lines 59-67), the solar panel(112) is electrically connected to the rechargeable battery(col. 3, line 67 to col. 4, line 30); wherein the solar panel(112) is configured to generate electrical power and the rechargeable battery(115) is configured to store the generated electrical power to charge(via output jack 116)(see col. 4, lines 31-41) an external electronic device(118) electrically connected to the device(100)(see col. 4, lines 31-41).
Regarding claim 10: Rybkiewicz discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Rybkiewicz discloses, further comprising an electrical connector (output jack 116; see col. 4, lines 31-41) disposed within the housing(102), the electrical connector(116) is electrically connected(via wire; see Fig. 1)(see col. 4, lines 31-41) to the rechargeable battery(115), and configured to electrically connect the rechargeable battery to the external electronic device(118)(see col. 4, lines 31-41).
Regarding claim 11: Rybkiewicz discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 10. Rybkiewicz discloses, wherein the device(100) is configured to charge the external electronic device(118 see col. 3, line 67 to col. 4, lines 41)via the electrical connector(The housing 102 may include built-in electrical connectors that act as contacts allowing the energy producing circuitry of the case to be connected to the charging circuitry of the portable device. The solar panel 112 and the circuit board 114 are integrally attached by electrical connectors to receive electrical power converted from solar energy by the solar panels 112. The solar energy is then converted to electrical energy and stored in an internal battery 115 on the circuit board 114; see col. 4, lines 13-21) using the electrical power generated by the solar panel(112) and stored in the rechargeable battery(115)(see col. 4, lines 17-41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-17,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bell US 2022/0224277 A1
Regarding claim 16: Bell at least discloses and shows in Figs. 1-3: A solar-powered charging device(100)(see Figs. 1-3), comprising: a housing(charging base 105 has a housing; see [0023]); a rechargeable battery(rechargeable power supply not shown; see [0023]) disposed within the housing; and a solar panel(110a,110b)([0023],[0026]) positioned along an exterior of the housing(see Figs. 1-3), the solar panel is electrically connected(via retractable cord 135) to the rechargeable battery([0027]).
As per the limitations of: “wherein the device is configured to transfer electrical power generated by the solar panel and stored in the rechargeable battery to a second solar-powered charging device when the housing is positioned adjacent to the second solar-powered charging device”, absent a showing of time changing magnetic field, transferring charge by proximity is not possible and thus no patentable weight is given.
The same analysis applies to claims 17 and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salzinger et al., (Salzinger) USPAT 9,255,675 B1 in view of Bell US 2022/0224277 A1.
Regarding claim 15, Salzinger discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1 but fails to expressly teach, wherein the solar panel is expandable from a first position to a second position, and has a greater surface area when in the second position relative to the first position.
However, Bell teaches factual evidence of a deployable hybrid solar power charger, wherein the solar panel(110) is expandable from a first position(Fig. 3) to a second position(Figs. 1-2)(total surface of panels 110a and 110b), and has a greater surface area when in the second position relative to the first position.
Salzinger and Bell are solar power charger analogous art. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bell into the device of Salzinger by having, wherein the solar panel is expandable from a first position to a second position, and has a greater surface area when in the second position relative to the first position, as recited, to have a larger combined panel surface and thereby capturing the most energy from the sun.
Accordingly claim 15 would have been obvious.
Conclusion
M'BAYE DIAO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/M BAYE DIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 January 30, 2026