DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-5 and 8-9 in the reply filed on 12/31/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/31/2025.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-9 are currently pending in the application, of claims 6-7 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-5 and 8-9 are being examined on the merits in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yasuo et al. (CN1836347A).
The Examiner has provided a machine translation of CN1836347A. The citation of the prior art in this rejection refer to the machine translation.
Regarding claims 1-2 and 8-9, Yasou teaches a lithium ion secondar battery (page 1, line 14) comprising:
a positive electrode (page 1, line 21);
a negative electrode (page 1, line 21); and
an electrolytic solution including a solvent (page 4, line 48-50) and an electrolyte salt (page 4, line 38), wherein the solvent further comprises one or more of α-angelica lactone which conforms to formula 4 and formulas 21-22, and divinyl sulfone which conforms to formula 5 (page 4, lines 18-20) (see below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuo et al. (CN1836347A).
Regarding claim 3, Yasuo teaches the content of the first and second unsaturated compound is 0.01 weight percent to 10 weight percent (page 2, lines 40-45, Examples 1-14). It is noted that Yasuo differ in the exact same content range as recited in the instant claim however, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the content range of Yasuo overlap the instant claimed range and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It has been held in the courts that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 4, Yasuo teaches the solvent including a high-dielectric-constant solvent and a lactone (i.e., α-angelica lactone) (page 2, lines 40-45; page 4, lines 18-20).
Yasuo does not teach the specifics of the proportion of the weight of the lactone to a weight of the high-dielectric-constant solvent as recited in the instant claim. However, a material with high dielectric constant is known to have the ability to store electrical charge and increase capacity. Therefore, absent criticality of the claimed range, one of ordinary skill in the art could have consider adding different concentrations to include the ones claimed in order to optimize the solvent’s ability to store electrical charge and achieve an optimal battery capacity.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuo et al. (CN1836347A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kawasumi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0161707).
Regarding claim 5, Yasuo teaches the battery as described above in claim 1 to include the electrolytic solution.
Yasuo does not teach the specifics of the electrolytic solution further includes an unsaturated cyclic carbonic acid ester, a halogenated cyclic carbonic acid ester, or both.
Kawasumi, also directed to an electrolytic solution (abstract), teaches an electrolytic solution having at least one of a cyclic carbonic acid ester and halogenated cyclic carbonic acid ester (paragraph [0193]). Kawasumi teaches such improve the chemical stability of the electrolytic solution and consequently a higher effect is achieved (paragraph [0193]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yasuo electrolytic solution to further include at least one of a cyclic carbonic acid ester and halogenated cyclic carbonic acid ester in order to at least one of a cyclic carbonic acid ester and halogenated cyclic carbonic acid ester as suggested by Kawasumi.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Frischmann et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0326578). Frischmann teaches an electrolytic solution having α-angelica lactone which conforms to formula 4 and formulas 21-22, and divinyl sulfone which conforms to formula 5 (paragraph [0008])
Correspondence
/CHRISTIAN ROLDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723