Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed December 9, 2025 has been entered and the references cited therein have been considered by the examiner.
Previously Set Forth Rejections
All of the rejections set forth in the final Office action (mailed October 10, 2025) are hereby withdrawn.
The following new grounds of rejection are set forth:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-11 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cosman, Jr. et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0330153 – hereinafter Cosman 2020) in view of Cosman, Jr. et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0049513 – hereinafter Cosman 2017).
In regard to claims 1, 2, 9 and 10 Cosman 2020 teaches an apparatus for NF ablation of tissue within a patient comprised of a generator 800 having a controller 840 and a power supply 850 where the power supply 850 includes an RF source (RF) and a nerve-stimulation source (Stim) (see Fig. 8). The RF source can generate a sinusoidal voltage across its + and – poles, with frequency in the radiofrequency range (see para. 0199). Stimulation source is configured to generate a nerve stimulation signal across its + and – poles, such as a waveform including biphasic square pulses (see para. 0199). The stimulation source can produce stimulation signal with biphasic pulses in the range 1 kHz – 50 kHz (see para. 0199). Thus, RF source and stimulation source constitute first and second voltage sources. Cosman 2020 teaches a plurality of electrodes 861, 862, 863, 864, 865, 866 and ground pads 835, 836 (see Fig. 8 and para. 0198). Switching unit 860 can connect and disconnect each of the electrodes to the RF output pole, the stimulation output pole and the reference output pole (see Fig. 8 and para. 0200). Figure 8 shows that for each electrode, there are three switches, each couplable to one of RF connection, stimulation connection and reference output connection. Cosman 2020 teaches that the HF generator 100 (equivalent to generator 800) can be an irreversible electroporation (IRE) ablation apparatus (see paras. 0090-0091). In such as situation, generator 800 would inherently be capable of containing a first voltage source for generating pulses for electroporation procedures and a second voltage source for generating pulses for electroporation procedures. Cosman 2020 is silent as to a plurality of isolation switches, each coupled between one of the three switches and the associated electrode. However, Cosman 2020 does teach that the switches in unit 860 can be mechanical switches (see Fig. 8 and para. 0200). Cosman 2017 teaches a similar RF generator 2011 that can be connected to multiple electrodes E1, E2, E3 (see Fig. 28) with switches S1, S2, S3 for controlling the power to the respective electrodes (see para. 0159). Switches S1, S2, S3 act as isolation switches to control the power to each electrode. Cosman 2017 thus demonstrates that the use of isolation switches to control the power to individual electrodes was well known in the art in order to control the sequence and timing of treatment by the multiple electrodes. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the device of Cosman 2020 with the isolation switches taught by Cosman 2017, where the isolation switches are coupled between the one of the first, second and third switches and the associated electrode in order to control the sequence and timing of treatment by the multiple electrodes. Furthermore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to made these isolation switches electro-mechanical switches, as Cosman 2020 teaches that the switches in unit 860 can be mechanical switches (see Fig. 8 and para. 0200). With further respect to claim 9, Cosman et al. teach ablation probe 150 that constitutes a catheter (see Fig. 1). In regard to claims 3 and 11, any combination of switches within switching unit 860 can constitute a “module” (see also para. 0201 noting that the controller 840 can operate the switches in unit 860 to produce a sequence of switching states, among other capabilities). In regard to claims 17-19, see the above rejection for claims 1-3 and 9-11. With further respect to claims 17, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the catheter and electrodes of Cosman 2020 and couple the electrodes to the generator 800 (with its components including the controller 840, the power supply 850 and the switching unit 860.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 12, 13, 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cosman, Jr. et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0330153 – hereinafter Cosman 2020) in view of Cosman, Jr. et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0049513 – hereinafter Cosman 2017) and further in view of Neal et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0071014).
In regard to claims 4, 5, 12, 13, 20 and 21, Cosman 2020 is silent as to current limiting resistors coupled between the voltage source and the switch. Neal et al. teach a similar electroporation system 1 comprised of a probe 2 and a power distribution unit 14 with multiple switches to control the signal (see Fig. 14). Neal et al. disclose that when the switch is in a second position, the system moves through a high impedance resistor to drop the voltage and prevent damage to tissue (see para. 0114). Neal et al. thus demonstrate that the use of resistors on switches to decrease voltage and prevent damage to tissue are well known in the art. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the device of Cosman 2020 with the impedance resistors, in the manner disclosed by Neal et al., for the purpose of lowering the voltage and preventing damage to tissue.
Claim(s) 6, 7 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cosman, Jr. et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0330153 – hereinafter Cosman 2020) in view of Cosman, Jr. et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0049513 – hereinafter Cosman 2017) and further in view of Forsyth et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0289185).
In regard to claims 6, 7 and 14-16, Cosman 2020 is silent as to the type of switches used in the device. However, Forsyth et al. teach a similar ablation device with switch arrays 620 where the switches may be relays, high power mosfets, silicon controlled rectifiers, other transistors, or multi-part switches (see para. 0119). Forsyth et al. thus demonstrate that the art is well aware of the use of multiple types of switches in ablation devices. Accordingly, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice, for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, to make the switches of Cosman 2020 different types of transistors.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 and 9-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
/BEVERLY M FLANAGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794