DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-8 are pending and have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits. As of the date of this communication, no Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) has been filed with this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Number 4,497,242 to Moyer in view of US Patent Number 5,433,377 to Sodo and further in view of US Patent Publication Number 2016/0273791 A1 to Packingham.
A) As per Claim 1, Moyer teaches an air balancer system (Moyer: Figure 1), comprising:
an HVAC control module (Moyer: Figure 1, Item 23) operationally coupled to and adapted for use with an HVAC unit (Moyer: Figure 1, Items 1-8) configured in a room or living space, wherein the HVAC control module is adapted to control an outside air intake fan (Moyer: Figure 1, Item 1) of the HVAC unit;
a Room Air Balancer Trigger Module (Moyer: Figure 1, Item 18) operationally coupled to and adapted for use with an air exhausting facility (Moyer: Figure 1, Items 12 & 14-15) of an attached facility present in the room or living space, the RABTM is adapted for continually monitoring a pressure in the air exhausting facility, and operating mode of the air exhausting facility;
wherein, the RABTM is communicatively linked to the HVAC control module to continually communicate the pressure in the air exhausting facility, and/or the operating mode of the air exhausting facility to the HVAC control module so as to control the outside air intake of the HVAC unit to create a balanced airflow within the room or living space irrespective of the fan's speed in the air exhausting facility, and operating mode of the air exhausting facility; and wherein the operation of the RABTM and HVAC control module ensures any negative air pressure created within the room or living space at any point in time is equally compensated to achieve balanced air pressure and quality within the room or living space (Moyer: Col. 2, lines 15-17).
Moyer does not teach that the HVAC has an ERV or HRV.
However, Sodo teaches an HRV (Sodo: Figure 1, Item 20).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Moyer by adding an HRV, as taught by Sodo, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Moyer with these aforementioned teachings of Sodo with the motivation of reducing energy consumption.
Moyer in view of Sodo does not teach that the exhaust sensor includes monitoring a fan's speed in the air exhausting facility.
However, Packingham teaches monitoring a fan's speed in the air exhausting facility and the speed of the intake fan (Packingham: Abstract).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Moyer in view of Sodo by adding a fan speed sensor and control, as taught by Packingham, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Moyer in view of Sodo with these aforementioned teachings of Packingham with the motivation of further monitoring the exhausting operation.
B) As per Claim 2, Moyer in view of Sodo and Packingham teaches that the attached facility present in the room or living space is at least a bathroom or a kitchen (Moyer: rooms can be used as bathroom/kitchen).
C) As per Claim 3, Moyer in view of Sodo and Packingham teaches that the air exhausting facility is an exhaust fan (Moyer: Figure 1, Item 15) installed in the bathroom or a chimney or kitchen hood installed in the kitchen.
D) As per Claim 4, Moyer in view of Sodo and Packingham teaches that the RABTM comprises one or more sensors adapted for monitoring and/or detecting a fan's speed in the air exhausting facility, and operating mode of the air exhausting facility (Packingham: Abstract).
E) As per Claim 5, Moyer in view of Sodo and Packingham teaches that the operating mode of the air exhausting facility detected by the one or more sensors is at least an activation mode (ON state) or a deactivation mode (OFF state) (Packingham: Abstract).
F) As per Claim 6, Moyer in view of Sodo and Packingham teaches that upon detecting the activation mode, a controller/microprocessor of the RABTM relays a message to the ERV or HRV control module to speed up the outside air intake fan of the ERV or HRV unit in order to compensate for the airflow entering the attached facility from the room or living space (Packingham: Abstract).
G) As per Claim 7, Moyer in view of Sodo and Packingham teaches that upon detecting the deactivation mode, the controller/microprocessor of the RABTM relays a message to the ERV or HRV control module to slow down the outside air intake fan of the ERV or HRV unit because during this point the fan of the air exhausting facility is not intaking any air from the living space or room (Packingham: Abstract).
H) As per Claim 8, Moyer in view of Sodo and Packingham teaches that, upon monitoring and detecting the fan's speed in the air exhausting facility by the one or more sensors, the controller/microprocessor of the RABTM communicates with the microprocessor/microcontroller of the ERV or HRV control module for controlling the speed of the outside air intake fan to maintain the airflow balanced within the room or living space (Packingham: Abstract).
Conclusion
/Allen R. B. Schult/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762