DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-9 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/24/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiels et al., (US 2019/0167732 A1, June 06, 2019) (hereinafter Shiels).
Shiels discloses methods and compositions based on microvesicles for the treatment of various diseases, disorders and conditions, recognizing that microvesicles contain specific microRNAs which may function as intercellular regulators involved in cell or tissue regeneration, remodeling, reconstruction, reprogramming or transdifferentiation and provide more predictable and effective therapeutic results ([0006]). The invention provides a method of treating a disease, disorder or condition comprising administering to a patient in need of treatment a therapeutically effective amount of microvesicles ([0007]). The term “microvesicle” refers to an exosome ([0060]). Microvesicles are obtained from the milk of a living mammal ([0081]). Examples of diseases, disorders or conditions of the integumentary system that may be treated by the methods and medicaments of the invention include hair loss ([0149]) and autoimmune diseases, such as alopecia ([0127]). The term “treat,” “treatment,” or “treating” refers to any method used to partially or completely inhibit one or more symptoms or features of a particular disease, disorder, and/or condition ([0069]). Suitable microvesicles are isolated or purified by differential ultracentrifugationand/or by precipitation ([0012]).
Shiels discloses a method of treating a disease, disorder or condition comprising administering to a patient in need of treatment a therapeutically effective amount of microvesicles ([0007]), which are exosomes ([0060]) obtained from the milk of a living mammal ([0081]), wherein the treatment includes inhibiting ([0069]) hair loss ([0149]). The prior art is not anticipatory insofar as these combinations must be selected from various lists/locations in the reference. It would have been obvious, however, to make the combination since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claims 3-7, as discussed above, Shiels discloses a milk-derived exosome used for hair loss isolated and purified by differential ultracentrifugation and precipitation. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), see MPEP 2113. The final product disclosed in the instant application holds no patentably distinct structural differences from the final product disclosed by Shiels.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiels et al., (US 2019/0167732 A1, June 06, 2019) (hereinafter Shiels) in view of Koopaei et al., (WO 2021/016368 A1, priority to U.S. Provisional Patent Application Serial No. 62/877, 155, filed July 22, 2019) (hereinafter Koopaei).
As discussed above, Shiels makes obvious the limitations of claim 1 but does not teach wherein the milk is raw milk, cow milk, goat milk, or colostrum.
However, Koopaei discloses the use of exosomes derived from milk or goat milk comprising an active ingredient in a cosmetic composition for hair loss ([0004]) to be applied to skin according to a predefined treatment protocol ([00139]). Exosomes may be bovine milk derived or any other exosome type suitable for the delivery purposes described herein that may be loaded by different methods or used as their natural form ([0025]). The hair loss treatment comprises bovine raw milk exosomes ([0054]).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. Shiels discloses wherein the composition comprises exosomes isolated from milk. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated exosomes isolated from bovine raw milk into the composition of Shiels since they are known and effective milk exosomes used in hair loss treatments as taught by Koopaei.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiels et al., (US 2019/0167732 A1, June 06, 2019) (hereinafter Shiels) in view of Lim (US 2017/0135915 A1, May 18, 2017) (cited by Examiner of Form 892 dated 11/24/2024) (hereinafter Lim).
As discussed above, Shiels makes obvious the limitations of claim 1 but does not teach wherein the exosomes are formulated in a shampoo formulation.
However, Lim discloses the use of an exosome for the preparation of a pharmaceutical composition to promote or enhance would healing or hair growth, or both, in an individual (Abstract). The exosome composition may be applied to skin and hair using any suitable treatment regime ([0075]) and for the treatment or prevention of hair loss and/or the promotion of hair regrowth on the head, a user may wash their hair with a shampoo and then use a conditioner, both the shampoo and the conditioner constituting exosome compositions, the user massaging each product into their scalp before rinsing ([0080]).
As discussed above, Shiels discloses a method of treating and inhibiting hair loss comprising administration of a therapeutically effective amount of exosomes. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the exosomes used in the method of Shiels in a shampoo since this is a known and effective formulation of exosomes for hair loss as taught by Lim.
Claims 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiels et al., (US 2019/0167732 A1, June 06, 2019) (hereinafter Shiels) in view of Izumi et al., (EP 3192518 A1, July 19, 2017) Morinaga Milk Industry, cited by applicant on IDS), hereinafter Izumi, Bolen et al., 2018 (US 2018/0193270 A1, July 12, 2018) (cited by examiner on Form 892 dated 11/25/2024), hereinafter Bolen, and Thery et al. (2018) (cited by examiner on Form 892 dated 11/25/2024), hereinafter Thery.
Instant claims 3-7 have been rejected as being anticipated by Shiel, as set forth supra. However, purely arguendo, for the purposes of complete prosecution, and for the purposes of this ground of rejection only, instant claims 3-7 would be interpreted as not being anticipated by Shiel.
However, Izumi discloses a method for isolating exosomes from milk, comprising: a centrifugation step of centrifuging raw milk so as to remove fat and cells at 4 degrees Celsius; a step of removing centrifuged fat and cells; a step of adjusting the pH to 4.6 by adding 10% acetic acid and precipitating casein; a step of centrifuging the milk in which casein is precipitated at 4,500 × g and 4°C for 30 minutes, and collecting a supernatant; and a step of filtering the collected supernatant by using a 0.22 µm filter ([0046]), reading on claims 3-4 and 6-7.
Bolen teaches methods of producing exosomes (Abstract) from milk ([0009]) by a first step of centrifugation ([0970] – [0972]), then a first filtration step to further remove fat and cells therefrom ([0973 – 0979]), then a dilution step of adding distilled water to the filtered milk as needed (approximately 10 mL) in order to satisfy manufacturer instructions for properly filled/balanced tubes ([0980]), reading on claim 3.
Thery teaches that for the separation of extracellular vesicles (i.e. exosomes), there is no single optimal separation method, so choose based on the downstream applications and scientific question (Table 1, page 13). Thery et al. teaches the k factor can be determined from the rotor type, tube/adapter, and centrifuge speed and must sometimes be adjusted (Table 1, subparagraph a). Thery et al. teaches for filtration techniques; one must take care to remove cells and other large membranous structures prior to ultrafiltration and that the pore size of the matrix should be taken into account (Table 1 subparagraph b). Thery et al., teaches that time and temperature are also factors that may require adjustment during the exosome separation process (Table 1, Examples for classical technique). A person of ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, would have been able to adjust the k factor and time of the first centrifugation step to encompass 4,000 to 6,000 x g for 20 to 40 minutes as recited in claim 4, the desired mesh size of the strainer to 20 to 60 µm or 30 to 50 µm as recited in claims 3 and 5, an equal amount of distilled water added to the filtered milk or goat milk as recited in claim 3, and the temperature to room temperature as recited in claim 7 in the instant application with repeated experimentation and a reasonable expectation of success based on the teachings of Thery.
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the exosome preparation processes of Izumi and Bolen to prepare the exosomes taught by Shiel motivated by the desire to optimize the separation process according to the downstream application of the exosomes (Thery, Table 1) and to adjust the volume of liquid in the tubes in order to satisfy manufacturer instructions for properly filled/balanced tubes (Bolen, ([0980]).
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because new rejections necessitated by Applicant’s amendments have been made.
New Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14-15 and 21-39 of co-pending Application No. 17780391 in view of Shiels et al., (US 2019/0167732 A1, June 06, 2019) (hereinafter Shiels).
Co-pending application claims 14, 26, and 33 teach a method comprising applying a therapeutically effective amount of exosomes isolated from milk or goat milk to the skin of the subject but do not teach a method of preventing or treating hair loss of a subject, as recited in instant claim 1.
Shiels discloses a method of treating a disease, disorder or condition comprising administering to a patient in need of treatment a therapeutically effective amount of microvesicles ([0007]), which are exosomes ([0060]) obtained from the milk of a living mammal ([0081]), wherein the treatment includes inhibiting ([0069]) hair loss ([0149]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize exosomes derived from milk for the intended use of inhibiting hair loss of a subject, with a reasonable expectation of success according to the teachings of Shiels since Shiels teaches that milk exosomes are effective for inhibiting hair loss.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-7 of co-pending Application No. 18/133,886 in view of Shiels et al., (US 2019/0167732 A1, June 06, 2019) (hereinafter Shiels).
Co-pending application claim 1 teaches a method comprising applying a therapeutically effective amount of exosomes isolated from milk or goat milk to the subject but does not teach a method of preventing or treating hair loss of a subject, as recited in instant claim 1.
Shiels discloses a method of treating a disease, disorder or condition comprising administering to a patient in need of treatment a therapeutically effective amount of microvesicles ([0007]), which are exosomes ([0060]) obtained from the milk of a living mammal ([0081]), wherein the treatment includes inhibiting ([0069]) hair loss ([0149]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize exosomes derived from milk for the intended use of inhibiting hair loss of a subject, with a reasonable expectation of success according to the teachings of Shiels since Shiels teaches that milk exosomes are effective for inhibiting hair loss.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-7 of co-pending Application No. 18133918 in view Shiels et al., (US 2019/0167732 A1, June 06, 2019) (hereinafter Shiels).
Co-pending application claim 1 teaches a method comprising applying a therapeutically effective amount of exosomes isolated from milk or goat milk to the skin of the subject but does not teach a method of preventing or treating hair loss of a subject, as recited in instant claim 1.
Shiels discloses a method of treating a disease, disorder or condition comprising administering to a patient in need of treatment a therapeutically effective amount of microvesicles ([0007]), which are exosomes ([0060]) obtained from the milk of a living mammal ([0081]), wherein the treatment includes inhibiting ([0069]) hair loss ([0149]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize exosomes derived from milk for the intended use of inhibiting hair loss of a subject, with a reasonable expectation of success according to the teachings of Shiels since Shiels teaches that milk exosomes are effective for inhibiting hair loss.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because new rejections necessitated by Applicant’s amendments have been made.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1614
/TRACY LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614