DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-10, 19-20) in the reply filed on 12/8/25 is acknowledged. Claims 11-18 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The recitation in claims 1 and 19 of “wherein the circumferential ridge surface is arranged in parallel with an upper surface of the dice plate” is indefinite. Paragraph [0013] of the specification teaches that the dice plate 10 “aligns” with the circumferential ridge surface 40. Fig.’s 2-3 appear to show these surfaces aligned and concentric, not necessarily parallel. Aligned surfaces are not generally considered parallel. Moreover, parallelism is defined between straight lines, not curved surfaces. Since the dice plate is taught to be reciprocated, it is also unclear when the circumferential ridge surface is required to be parallel. Applicant should provide clarity to these discrepancies. For examining purposes, a broad and reasonable view of “parallel” will be taken commensurate with applicant’s specification. Claims 2-10 and 20 are rejected based on their respective dependencies to 1 and 19.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The recitation in claim 6 reciting the first position of the upper surface of the dice plate to be arranged “in parallel or above the circumferential ridge surface” is unclear and indefinite. A person ordinary skill in the art cannot ascertain the metes and bounds of this phrasing because when the upper surface is above the circumferential ridge surface, it will still be in parallel arrangement. Claim 7 is rejected based on its dependency to 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Robert (US Pat. No. 1,626,148).
With respect to claims 1-2 and 19, Robert teaches a dice shaker device arranged to provide a randomized state of a die, said dice shaker device comprising: a dice plate 23; a dice plate actuator 21/29/32 configured to apply a reciprocating force to the dice plate 23 (lines 38-57; 82-94); a casing 17; a circumferential ridge surface 15 extending around an outer perimeter of the dice plate 23; and a dice rolling space that is at least partly defined by the casing 17, the dice plate 23, and the circumferential ridge surface 15 (Fig. 1); wherein the circumferential ridge surface 15 is arranged in parallel with an upper surface of the dice plate 23 (best seen in Fig. 1 – See also interpretation of “parallel” set forth above; See also lines 44-46 – “The floating platform when in a position of rest, normally lies level with the flange 15”).
Per MPEP 2114 - a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). If a prior art structure is inherently capable of performing the intended use as recited, then it shifts the burden to applicant to establish that the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Here, no width of the die is being positively claimed and there can be a die sized such that the dice shaker structure of Robert is capable of randomizing a die that has a width that satisfies the following: the width of the circumferential ridge surface is less than 50% of the Die width and greater than 36% of the Die width.
With respect to claim 3, Robert teaches wherein the circumferential ridge surface 15 extends from the casing 17 and towards the dice plate 23 (Fig. 1).
With respect to claims 4 and 20, Robert teaches wherein the dice plate 23 and the circumferential ridge surface 13 are arranged to form a gap between the dice plate 23 and the circumferential ridge surface 13 (Fig. 1).
With respect to claims 5-7, Robert teaches wherein the dice plate actuator 21/29/32 is configured to apply the reciprocating force to the dice plate 23 such that the dice plate is movable between a first position (i.e. rested/uncompressed position) and a second position (i.e. spring is compressed), wherein the first position is such that the upper surface of the dice plate is arranged in parallel with (Fig. 1 – lines 44-46 – “The floating platform when in a position of rest, normally lies level with the flange 15”) or above the circumferential ridge surface, wherein the second position is such that the upper surface of the dice plate 23 is arranged below the circumferential ridge surface 15. See MPEP 2114 - In re Schreiber.
With respect to claim 8, Robert teaches wherein the circumferential ridge surface 15 is arranged perpendicular to a lower portion of the casing 17 (Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 9, Robert teaches wherein the circumferential ridge surface 15 is an integral part of a device frame to which the casing 17 and the dice plate actuator 21/29/32 are connected (i.e. ridge surface 15 is statically connected to frame 16 which holds in place casing 17, each being connected to the actuator). Examiner notes the Federal Court has set forth wherein "connected to" includes being joined together, but can also be broader than that, wherein two things can be "connected" to each other by way of their common connection to something else. See Kreis AG v. American Hospital Supply Corp. (DC NIII) 192 USPQ 585.
With respect to claim 10, Robert teaches wherein the casing 17 has a cylindrical lower portion (shown via Figures 1-2; See also “annular base plate”, “annular wall”, a rim that “encircles”, “annular pad” – column 1).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL D DENNIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711