Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the tenon and head which does not form an electrical connection, as recited in claims 2 and 4, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Here, claims 2 and 4 recite that the second positioning tenon is inserted and positioned in the third connector female head “without forming electrical connection.” Applicant cites the specification which states that the tenon 222 “may be a plastic structure” as supporting this amended language.
The amended claim language is new matter. The recitation that the tenon is plastic does not reasonably convey that the tenon does not form electrical connection. The disclosure discusses and shows the tenon 222 as a USB connector, which forms electrical connection with a corresponding female head. Furthermore, connector structures, including USB structures, utilize plastic in their construction and thus the mention of plastic is not dispositive of an electrical connector.
Claims 3 and 6 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Here, the claims recite that the connectors are without electrical connection, but then recite the connectors are USB connectors. The claims thus irreparably conflict with themselves. For the purposes of examination, the limitations stating that there is no electrical connection formed will be ignored when examining claims 3 and 6 in the prior art rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. No. 6,669,513 (“Huang”).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a hub power device, comprising:
a power supply (1), comprising a first combination surface (surface within 16), wherein the first combination surface comprises a first connector female head (161) and a second connector female head (162); and
a hub (2), comprising a first expansion surface (see the lateral surface with connectors, such as USB connectors of 25, in Figure 2) and a second combination surface (the lower surface meeting 161/162; Fig. 4), wherein the first expansion surface comprises a first connection port (see ports of 2), the second combination surface comprises a connector male head and a first positioning tenon (each box 2 has connectors for mating with 161/162, the connectors of 2 are inherently male because the connectors of 1 are shown as female, see col. 2, lns. 38 – 44);
wherein when the hub (2) is assembled with the power supply (1; cable 14 connects to power), the second combination surface is attached to the first combination surface (see Fig. 1), the connector male head is inserted and electrically connected to the first connector female head, and the first positioning tenon is inserted and positioned in the second connector female head (the male connectors of 2, discussed above, enter 161 and 162).
Regarding claim 8, Huang discloses the first connection port is a USB-A port (see USB-A ports on hub 25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of U.S. Pat. No. 10,468,842 (“Sun”) and U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0143582 (“Hengel”).
Regarding claim 2, Huang discloses the first positioning tenon and the second connector female head are connectors matching with each other (the male connectors of 2, discussed above, enter 161 and 162), but does not disclose the connector male head and the first connector female head are a USB-C connector assembly matching with each other. However, Sun teaches utilizing a USB-C connector to connect a power supply to a hub (see power supply 100 with female USC-C 134 which connects to male USB-C 222 of hub 200). It would have been obvious to make the connector male head and first connector female head of Huang as a USB-C structure as taught by Sun, because this is a reliable and widely manufactured electrical connector.
Furthermore, while Huang discloses the first positioning tenon and second connector female head are connectors matching with each other, Huang does not disclose this connection as without forming electrical connection. However, Hengel teaches a connector device with electrical connector mating structures (male connectors 221, 232, 22 and female connectors 321, 332, 32) on connectors facing each other, and also teaches a positioning tenon (216) and matching connector female head (316) which connect and match with each other without forming electrical connection (see [0030]). It would have been obvious to include a tenon and female head as a first positioning tenon and second connector female head on the device of Huang which connects but does not form an electrical connection, because this structure acts as a guiding member and helps mechanically stabilize the connection between the two connectors when the connectors are mated together.
Claim 3, interpreted as discussed above, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of U.S. Pat. No. 10,468,842 (“Sun”).
Regarding claim 3, Huang discloses the first positioning tenon and the second connector female head are connectors matching with each other (the male connectors of 2, discussed above, enter 161 and 162), but does not disclose the connector male head and the first connector female head are a USB-C connector assembly matching with each other. However, Sun teaches utilizing a USB-C connector to connect a power supply to a hub (see power supply 100 with female USC-C 134 which connects to male USB-C 222 of hub 200). It would have been obvious to make the connector male head and first connector female head of Huang as a USB-C structure as taught by Sun, because this is a reliable and widely manufactured electrical connector.
Furthermore, Huang discloses the first positioning tenon and second female head are electrical connectors, but does not disclose wherein the first positioning tenon and the second connector female head are a USB-C connector assembly matching with each other. However, as already discussed Sun teaches utilizing USB-C connectors for mating a power supply and Hub. It would have been obvious to make each connector 161/162 of Huang into USB-C connectors, because this is a reliable and widely manufactured electrical connector.
Claims 4 – 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Hengel.
Regarding claim 4, Huang does not disclose the first combination surface further comprising a third connector female head, and the second combination surface further comprising a second positioning tenon, when the hub is assembled with the power supply, the second positioning tenon is inserted and positioned in the third connector female head without forming electrical connection.
However, Hengel teaches a connector device with electrical connector mating structures (male connectors 221, 232, 22 and female connectors 321, 332, 32) on connectors facing each other, and also teaches a positioning tenon (216) and matching connector female head (316) which connect and match with each other without forming electrical connection (see [0030]). It would have been obvious to include a tenon and female head as a second positioning tenon and third connector female head on the device of Huang which connects but does not form an electrical connection, because this structure acts as a guiding member and helps mechanically stabilize the connection between the two connectors when the connectors are mated together.
Regarding claim 5, Huang as modified as discussed in claim 4, above, results in wherein the second positioning tenon and the third connector female head are connectors matching with each other.
Regarding claim 7, Huang discloses the female connectors heads 161/162 arranged parallelly within slot 16 because the connectors face along an insertion direction and are spaced and thus are parallel along the insertion direction, and therefore the matching connectors on 2 are similarly arranged parallelly along the insertion direction, therefore Huang teaches placing female connectors and corresponding tenons parallelly to enable smooth connection of each connector structure. Furthermore, Hengel teaches tenon 216 arranged running parallel to the electrical connectors placed elsewhere on the connector body. It would have been obvious to make all the tenons be arranged parallel on the combination surface because this ensures that the tenons all smoothly mate with the respective female heads.
Claim 6, interpreted as discussed above, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang.
Regarding claim 6, Huang does not disclose the first combination surface further comprising a third connector female head, and the second combination surface further comprising a second positioning tenon, when the hub is assembled with the power supply, the second positioning tenon is inserted and positioned in the third connector female head. It would have been obvious to include a third connector and tenon, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977). Here, Huang already discloses multiple female connectors and corresponding tenon, so modifying Huang to have a third female connector and corresponding second male connector tenon would have been an obvious duplication of parts, allowing the power supply to supply power and data to the hub through an increased number of connector structures.
Furthermore, Huang teaches that USB-A connectors and corresponding tenons (see 161 and col. 2, lns. 38 – 44) are used to connect the power supply and hub, thus it would have been obvious to make the second positioning tenon and third connector female head a USB-A connector assembly for mating each other when the power supply mates with the hub, because this is a reliable and widely manufactured electrical connector.
Claims 9 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0061964 (“Cheng”).
Regarding claims 9, 10, and 11, Huang does not disclose second or third expansion surfaces, however Cheng teaches providing three expansion surfaces (102, 103, 104) on the sides of a rectangular hub member, including surfaces which include an SD port 18 and all USB ports 52. It would have been obvious to provide additional expansion surfaces on the sides of hub 2 of Huang, and include ports on those surfaces as taught by Cheng, because this increases the ability of the hub to connect to addition and/or more diverse devices as requires by a user.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of U.S. Pat. No. 10,082,853 (“Sun ‘853”).
Regarding claim 12, Huang does not disclose wherein the hub (2) comprises a power and signal transmitting cable. However, Huang does disclose the hub 2 as having USB ports (see 25). Sun ‘853 teaches that USB ports can connect to a cable and carry power and data signal transmissions (see the abstract and col. 1, lns. 21 – 31). It would have been obvious to provide a power and data signal cable connected to the hub of Huang as taught by Sun ‘852, because this allows a user to connect an electronic device to the hub and interface with the power supply/hub system as needed by a user to power the device and transmit data to other devices connected to the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Applicant’s power supply 10 provides sufficient power to hub 20, and thus a cable is not needed, distinguishing the presently claimed invention from the prior art. Examiner notes that there is no claim language directed to a lack of a cable between a hub and power supply, and in any event the assembly of Huang does not utilize a cable between members 1 and 2.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAUL D BAILLARGEON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2833
/renee s luebke/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2833