DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed May 10th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 6-11, and 14-18 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-9, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han (US 20230243949 A1 - claiming foreign priority to CN 202080005145.4 A).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 17, Han teaches a target detection method, LiDAR, and non-transitory computer readable medium, comprising:
obtaining an echo signal, wherein the echo signal is obtained by sampling an echo laser beam received by the LiDAR ([0113] to the receiver 131 to the receiver 13N, a first echo signal that is of the first radar signal and that is received from the first field of view.);
performing a matching operation on the echo signal and a preamble signal, to obtain a valid echo signal for a target object, wherein the preamble signal is obtained by sampling an echo laser beam corresponding to a window ([0064] In a possible implementation, the radar ranging apparatus may adjust delay time of the first spurious echo signal a plurality of times to obtain a plurality of first adjusted signals...determine the target spurious echo signal based on the plurality of second adjusted signals and the first echo signal.);
determining a threshold for the valid echo signal ([0067] It should be noted that, if an amplitude of the target spurious echo signal at a sampling moment exceeds a saturation value of the target spurious echo signal, the radar ranging apparatus may use the saturation value of the target spurious echo signal as an amplitude at the sampling moment.);
determining a leading edge moment and a trailing edge moment based on the threshold ([0160] For example, the at least one first signal parameter includes an amplitude A1 of a leading edge of a spurious echo signal shown in FIG. 8 at a first sampling moment t2, an amplitude Amax at a wave peak of the spurious echo signal at a first sampling moment t3, and an amplitude A2 of a trailing edge of the spurious echo signal at a first sampling moment t4.); and
determining a distance between the LiDAR and the target object based on the leading edge moment and the trailing edge moment ([0121] The signal processing apparatus 110 may measure first duration from a time point at which the radar ranging apparatus 100 sends the first radar signal to a time point at which the radar ranging apparatus 100 receives the echo signal of the first target. A product of half of the first duration (that is, duration in which the laser is transmitted by the radar ranging apparatus 100 to the first target) and a speed of light is understood as a distance between the radar ranging apparatus 100 and the first target.),
wherein performing the matching operation on the echo signal and the preamble signal comprises: obtaining a preamble signal corresponding to the echo signal ([0138] In a current technology, when a radar ranging apparatus performs ranging on a target, because a scattering phenomenon may occur in a propagation process of a radar signal sent by a transmitter, a part of scattered signals may be reflected by an inner wall, a window, a circuit, and the like inside the radar ranging apparatus, to generate a spurious echo signal, and the spurious echo signal causes interference to an echo signal of the target. In other words, a first echo signal received by a receiver corresponding to the transmitter may include both the echo signal of the target and the spurious echo signal.);
performing the matching operation on the echo signal and the preamble signal, to obtain an intersection point of the echo signal and the preamble signal ([0064] In a possible implementation, the radar ranging apparatus may adjust delay time of the first spurious echo signal a plurality of times to obtain a plurality of first adjusted signals...determine the target spurious echo signal based on the plurality of second adjusted signals and the first echo signal.); and
obtaining the valid echo signal based on the intersection point ([0220] For example, a processing result corresponding to K2f(t−Δt) has a smallest value in the plurality of processing results, and the radar ranging apparatus may determine the second adjusted signal K2f(t−Δt) as a target spurious echo signal, cancels the target spurious echo signal K2f(t−Δt) from the first echo signal s(t), to obtain an echo signal n(t)=s(t)−K2f(t−Δt) of the first target, and performs ranging processing on the first target based on n(t).), wherein obtaining the preamble signal corresponding to the echo signal comprises:
determining an emission power for an outgoing laser beam corresponding to the echo signal ([Fig. 9]; [0169] The first radar signal transmitted by the radar ranging apparatus from the first field of view through the first radar channel may be shown in (a) in FIG. 9 . The first echo signal received by the radar ranging apparatus may be shown in (b) in FIG. 9 . The first echo signal may include the echo signal of the first target and the spurious echo signal.); and
obtaining a preamble signal corresponding to the emission power ([0144] and the at least one first signal parameter includes at least one of an amplitude at at least one first sampling moment and first delay time; [0169] The radar ranging apparatus may obtain, based on the at least one first signal parameter, a spurious echo signal shown in (c) in FIG. 9), wherein obtaining a preamble signal corresponding to the emission power comprises:
obtaining a fitting coefficient corresponding to the emission power ([0213] determine a ratio of an amplitude of the first echo signal at a first sampling moment to an amplitude of each of the plurality of first adjusted signals at the first sampling moment as an amplitude coefficient of each first adjusted signal); and
fitting the preamble signal under a standard power based on the fitting coefficient corresponding to the emission power to obtain a fitted preamble signal, wherein the fitted preamble signal is the preamble signal corresponding to the emission power ([0213] multiply each first adjusted signal and the amplitude coefficient of each first adjusted signal to obtain a plurality of second adjusted signals, and determine the target spurious echo signal based on the plurality of second adjusted signals and the first echo signal.).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Han teaches the target detection method and LiDAR according to claims 1 and 9 respectively, wherein determining the threshold for the valid echo signal comprises:
determining a signal strength of the valid echo signal ([0183] The echo signal of the first target may include the P sampling moments and the Q sampling moments. The P sampling moments correspond to P target amplitudes on the echo signal of the first target,);
determining a number of thresholds based on the signal strength of the valid echo signal ([Table 1]; [0169] shown in Table 1 by using the identifier 001 and the first field of view 14.5 degrees (°), to obtain that the at least one first signal parameter includes the amplitude 99 at the sampling moment t1, the amplitude 121 at the sampling moment t2, and the amplitude 87 at the sampling moment t3, and that the delay time (t0 to t4) is 100 nanoseconds (ns).); and
determining the threshold for the valid echo signal based on a peak value of the valid echo signal, an extreme value of the valid echo signal and the number of thresholds ([0155] It should be noted that the at least one first signal parameter may include at least one of the amplitude at the at least one first sampling moment and the first delay time. [0183] The echo signal of the first target may include the P sampling moments and the Q sampling moments. The P sampling moments correspond to P target amplitudes on the echo signal of the first target, and a target amplitude corresponding to each of the P sampling moments is a difference between a first amplitude and a second amplitude. The Q sampling moments correspond to the Q third amplitudes on the echo signal of the first target.).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Han teaches the target detection method and LiDAR according to claims 1 and 9, wherein determining the leading edge moment and the trailing edge moment based on the threshold comprises:
determining, from the valid echo signal, a first sampling point that is earlier than a peak value and a second sampling point that is later than the peak value, wherein a difference between the first sampling point and the threshold is within a first preset mange and a difference between the second sampling point and the threshold is within a second preset range ([Fig. 8]; [0160] For example, the at least one first signal parameter includes an amplitude A1 of a leading edge of a spurious echo signal shown in FIG. 8 at a first sampling moment t2, an amplitude Amax at a wave peak of the spurious echo signal at a first sampling moment t3, and an amplitude A2 of a trailing edge of the spurious echo signal at a first sampling moment t4. The radar ranging apparatus may calculate a difference based on amplitudes at the three first sampling moments, determine an amplitude of the spurious echo signal at a first sampling moment other than the first sampling moment t2, the first sampling moment t3, and the first sampling moment t4, to determine the spurious echo signal.); and
performing an interpolation operation on a moment corresponding to the first sampling point to obtain the leading edge moment, and performing an interpolation operation on a moment corresponding to the second sampling point to obtain the trailing edge moment ([Fig. 8]; [0226] the preset first sampling interval may be a sampling interval on the leading edge of the second spurious echo signal).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Han teaches the target detection method and LiDAR according to claims 1 and 9 respectively, wherein performing the matching operation on the echo signal and the preamble signal comprises:
correcting the preamble signal based on environment information when the echo signal is received, to obtain a corrected preamble signal ([Fig. 15]; [0219] The first echo signal received by the radar ranging apparatus through the first receiver may be shown in (b) in FIG. 15; [0220] The radar ranging apparatus may adjust the delay time of the first spurious echo signal a plurality of times based on a preset delay time difference Δt, to obtain a plurality of first adjusted signals...The plurality of second adjusted signals are, for example, K1f(t−2Δt), K2f(t−Δt), K3f(t), and K4f(t+Δt) shown in (e) in FIG. 15.); and
performing the matching operation on the echo signal and the corrected preamble signal, to obtain the valid echo signal for the target object ([0220] For example, a processing result corresponding to K2f(t−Δt) has a smallest value in the plurality of processing results, and the radar ranging apparatus may determine the second adjusted signal K2f(t−Δt) as a target spurious echo signal, cancels the target spurious echo signal K2f(t−Δt) from the first echo signal s(t), to obtain an echo signal n(t)=s(t)−K2f(t−Δt) of the first target, and performs ranging processing on the first target based on n(t).).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 20230243949 A1), as applied to Claims 1, 9 and 17 above, and further in view of Mandai (US 20180081061 A1).
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 18, Han teaches the target detection method according to claim 1, wherein before performing the matching operation on the echo signal and the preamble signal, the method further comprises:
determining whether a signal strength of the echo signal is greater than a first preset value ([0221] It should be noted that, if an amplitude of the target spurious echo signal K2f(t−Δt) at a sampling moment exceeds a saturation value of the target spurious echo signal, the radar ranging apparatus may use the saturation value of the target spurious echo signal as an amplitude at the sampling moment.);
Han fails to teach reducing an emission power for an outgoing laser beam of the LiDAR, and obtaining an echo signal again, when it is determined that the signal strength of the echo signal is greater than the first preset value
However, Mandai teaches reducing an emission power for an outgoing laser beam of the LiDAR, and obtaining an echo signal again, when it is determined that the signal strength of the echo signal is greater than the first preset value ([0020] Thus, when the number of detectors outputting signals in response to a given pulse is greater than a predefined threshold, the controller reduces the power of subsequent pulses in the sequence in order to mitigate the saturation and thus achieve a more accurate ToF measurement.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Han to comprise the system that reduces emission power if a signal is greater than a first preset value similar to Mandai, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of achieving a more accurate distance measurement by ensuring the subsequent signals are below the threshold limit.
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 20230243949 A1), as applied to Claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Chawla (US 20220206115A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Han teaches the target detection method according to claim 1, wherein before performing the matching operation on the echo signal and the preamble signal, the method further comprises:
determining a measured distance corresponding to the echo signal ([0121] A product of half of the first duration (that is, duration in which the laser is transmitted by the radar ranging apparatus 100 to the first target) and a speed of light is understood as a distance between the radar ranging apparatus 100 and the first target.);
performing the matching operation on the echo signal and the preamble signal, when the similarity value is less than a third preset value ([0061]Optionally, the radar ranging apparatus may determine, based on the first spurious echo signal, the target spurious echo signal corresponding to the obstacle, where the target spurious echo signal may be considered to be the most similar to the target spurious echo signal in the first echo signal; and cancel the target spurious echo signal from the first echo signal to obtain the echo signal of the first target.)
Han fails to teach determining a similarity value between the echo signal and the preamble signal, when it is determined that the measured distance is less than a second preset value;
However, Chawla teaches determining a similarity value between the echo signal and the preamble signal, when it is determined that the measured distance is less than a second preset value ([0038] The detection and ranging operation for a nearby object that is in a close proximity to the observer (e.g., an object within one meter from the observer) can be especially susceptible to saturation.; [0043] The controller can determine whether the second light signal includes the reflected first light signal and the scatter signal using various techniques. In one example, the controller can compare the width of the pre-processed second light signal with a threshold width. The threshold width can represent the width of a standalone pre-processed reflected first light signal, the width of a standalone pre-processed scatter signal, etc.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Han to comprise the similarity matching in a close proximity mode similar to Chawla, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of incorporating a known method of distance determination given a close range sensor configuration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 10th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the applicants arguments that the prior art of Han fails to teach determining an emission power for an outgoing laser beam corresponding to an echo signal, and then obtaining a preamble signal corresponding to that emission power, the applicants arguments are not found to be persuasive. Further clarification has been added for the sake of compact prosecution and to better fit the amended claims as currently presented, however within the scope of the original rejection, Han points to the at least one first signal parameters including both what is argued by the applicant as well as the amplitude, which is directly connected to the emitted power and as such teaches this claim limitation as previously presented. This would be obvious under the broadest reasonable interpretation of one of ordinary skill in the art, and as such the rejection is maintained in this Final Office Action.
Regarding the arguments that the prior art fails to teach the amended claims as currently presented, while a rejection was not previously made on these limitations, this is due only to their absence in the previous correspondence. Such deficiencies have been rectified as necessitated by the amendments made and the prior art of Han has been examined and understood to likewise teach these amended limitations as presented above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT W VASQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645