DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varshney et al. (WO-0130407-A1).
Regarding claim 23
Varshney discloses a method of making a hydrogel comprising preparing an aqueous solution (i.e., water as the solvent) of polyvinyl alcohol, agar and one or more natural polymers from a short finite list with predictable results such as carrageenan, making the use of carrageenan obvious.
Varshney then discloses heating this solution at 70-80 C, followed by irradiation at room temperature (i.e., which would necessitate cooling before irradiation) to form the hydrogel (claim 1).
Varshney discloses that the irradiation used for crosslinking can be accomplished an electron beam (i.e., high energy) and controlling the amount of radiation (abstract).
Although Varshney is silent as to the results of the heating step (B), the cooling step (C) and the irradiation step (D), Varshney uses identical steps and identical materials, and would be expected to have the same results. When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § § 2112- 2112.02.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue against the prior art rejections.
Applicants amendments to the claims places all previously rejected claims and all new claims, except for claim 23, into condition for allowance, making these arguments moot.
Applicants argue against new claim 23.
Applicants argue that the examiner has not identified any disclosure of irradiating a previously formed natural-polysaccharide IPN structure for the purpose of modifying that structure. This is not persuasive as Varshney discloses forming a mixture of the polysaccharides, heating (which would for the IPN), and then irradiating at room temperature (which requires cooling).
Applicants argue that none of the references cited teach or suggest using radiation to achieve controlled chain scission. This is not persuasive as the reference discloses identical methods with identical materials, and as such would be expected to provide the same results.
Applicants argue that none of the references cited teach or suggest using radiation to enlarge mesh size in a previously formed IPN while preserving network continuity. This is not persuasive as the reference discloses identical methods with identical materials, and as such would be expected to provide the same results.
The remaining arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the same reasons given above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734