DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 2/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varshney et al. (WO-0130407-A1).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 5
Varshney discloses a method of making a hydrogel comprising preparing an aqueous solution (i.e., water as the solvent) of polyvinyl alcohol, agar and one or more natural polymers from a short finite list with predictable results such as carrageenan, making the use of carrageenan obvious.
Varshney then discloses heating this solution at 70-80 C, followed by irradiation at room temperature (i.e., which would necessitate cooling before irradiation) to form the hydrogel (claim 1).
Varshney discloses that the irradiation used for crosslinking can be an electron beam (abstract).
Although Varshney is silent as to the results of the heating step (B) and the cooling step (C), Varshney uses identical steps and identical materials, and would be expected to have the same results.
Regarding claim 3
Varshney discloses the use of 0.5 to 5 wt % of agar and 0 to 4.5 wt % of other natural polymer (i.e., carageenan) (claim 4).
As the amounts of the polysaccharide of the reference overlap the claimed amount the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q. 549.
Regarding claim 4
Varshney discloses the use of distilled water (abstract).
Regarding claim 7
Varshney discloses gamma radiation may be used (abstract).
Regarding claim 8
Varshney discloses controlling the amount of radiation (abstract).
Regarding claim 9
Varshney discloses pouring the solution into a mold (abstract), which would necessarily have a predetermined shape.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varshney et al. (WO-0130407-A1), as applied to claims 1-5 and 7-9 above, in view of Taguchi et al. (WO-2020004646-A1).
Regarding claim 6
Although Varshney does not disclose thew claimed electron beam energy or dose, Varshney does disclose the use of an electron beam. However, Taguchi directed to similar hydrogels and discloses that the electron beam may be 2 MeV and a dose rate of 10 kGy (example 5). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention top add to the teachings of Varshney by using an electron beam having 2 MeV and a dose rate of 10 kGy, with a reasonable expectation of success in forming a useful hydrogel, as suggested by Taguchi.
Conclusion
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734