DETAILED ACTION
PATH TO ALLOWANCE
Examiner respectfully suggests Applicant telephone Examiner Adams (571-270-3688) prior to filing a response to the instant office action to discuss minor claim clarifications in a scheduled interview to move the instant application in a Condition for Allowance.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
35 U.S.C. § 112(f)
MPEP 2181(I) discloses that a claim limitation will be presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) if it meets the following 3-prong analysis:
the claim limitation uses the phrase “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder;
the phrase “means” or “step” or the substitute term is modified by functional language, typically linked by the transition word “for” or another linking word; and
the phrase “means” or “step” or the substitute term is not modified by sufficient structure or material for performing the claimed function.
Claims 1-20 disclose limitations which are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as said limitations meet said 3-prong analysis.
Regarding Claims 1-20, a laser source configured to generate is considered to read on Fig. 5 unit 202; an acousto-optic modulator…is configured to generate is considered to read on Fig. 5 unit 302; a first transceiver…is configured to transmit is considered to read on Fig. 5 unit 204; a detector… configured to receive is considered to read on Fig. 2 unit 208.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 10-12, 14, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STOCHINO (Pub. No: US 2020-0003900) in view of ENGLERT et al. (Pub. No: US 2011-0222048) in view of WIEGMAN (Pub. No.: 2023-0155195).
As per Claim 1 STOCHINO discloses A doppler lidar system comprising (Figs. 5A-B system 100 LIDAR and Doppler shift [0018]):
a doppler lidar unit comprising (Figs. 5A-B system 100 LIDAR unit circuit 115 with components 130B, 140B 120B [0063-0064] [0088]):
a laser source configured to generate output light (Figs. 5A-B laser 110B [0088-0090]); a detector (Figs. 5A-B detector 130B [0090]); and one or more processors (Figs. 5A-B circuit 115B [0088-0090]); an acousto-optic modulator coupled to the laser source (Figs. 5A-B - AOM incorporated into FS 140B coupled to laser 110B as depicted in Fig. 5B [0088-0090]); wherein the acousto-optic modulator is configured to generate a frequency-shifted light by frequency shifting the output light (Figs. 5A-B - AOM incorporated into FS frequency shifter 140B for the transmitted light [0088-0090] Fig. 5C [0091]);
and a first transceiver coupled to the acousto-optic modulator (Figs. 5A-D transceiver 120D/130D [0092]); wherein the first transceiver is configured to transmit the frequency-shifted light and receive a return light (Figs. 5A-D transceiver 120D and receiver 130D for return light [0092]);
wherein the frequency shifting by the acousto-optic modulator simulates a Doppler effect (Figs. 5A-D, Fig. 13 AOM from FS 140B and doppler shift effects and frequency shifts [0018, 0022] [0063-0064] [0072-0073]); wherein the detector is coupled to the first transceiver and configured to receive the return light (Figs. 5A-D detector 130D [detector 130B of Fig. 5B] incorporated into transceiver [0059, 0063] [0088-0092]); wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute program instructions causing the one or more processors (Figs. 5A-B circuit 115B [0088-0090])
STOCHINO does not disclose but ENGLERT discloses wherein the detector detects a frequency of the return light (Figs. 3-5, 7, 8A detector 410 for spatial frequency detection for return backscattered light [0069-0070]); calibrate the doppler lidar system based on the frequency of the return light detected the detector (Figs. 1B, 2-5, 7, 8B calibrate lidar 700 - Doppler shift 200 of the light return signal 130 - wavenumber dependent spatial frequencies superimposed onto the light return signal… determining simultaneous calibration information [0069-0070])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the detector detects a frequency of the return light; calibrate the doppler lidar system based on the frequency of the return light detected the detector as taught by ENGLERT into the system of STOCHINO because of the benefit taught by ENGLERT to expand upon the doppler lidar system of STOCHINO by extending calibration features using return light whereby STOCHINO benefits from the incorporation of additional related features in the same field of endeavor.
STOCHINO and ENGLERT do not disclose but WIEGMAN discloses narrowband output light (Fig. 2 [0047])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include narrowband output light as taught by WIEGMAN into the system of STOCHINO and ENGLERT because of the benefit taught by WIEGMAN to provide analysis and detection of at least one additional classification of light which benefits the lidar systems of STOCHINO and ENGLERT by providing for additional detection and analysis capabilities.
As per Claim 3 STOCHINO discloses The doppler lidar system of claim 1, wherein the frequency of the return light is based on a frequency of the output light (Figs. 5A-D transmit 120B at a frequency to be returned [0064] [0088-0090]) and the frequency shifting of the acousto-optic modulator (Figs. 5A-B - AOM incorporated into FS frequency shifter 140B for the transmitted light [0088-0090] Fig. 5C [0091])
STOCHINO and ENGLERT do not disclose but WIEGMAN discloses narrowband output light (See said analysis for Claim 1)
As per Claim 10 STOCHINO discloses The doppler lidar system of claim 1, wherein the acousto-optic modulator is one of fiber-coupled (Figs. 5A-D 170A coupler [0061]) or free-space coupled to the laser source (either or).
As per Claim 11 STOCHINO discloses The doppler lidar system of claim 1, wherein the first transceiver is one of fiber-coupled (Figs. 5A-D fiber coupling disclosed [0058-0059]) or free-space coupled to the acousto-optic modulator (either or).
As per Claim 12 STOCHINO discloses The doppler lidar system of claim 1, wherein STOCHINO and ENGLERT do not disclose but WIEGMAN discloses the detector is a gas cell (Fig. 2 [0030] [0039] [0048]) (The motivation that applied in Claim 1 applies equally to Claim 12).
As per Claim 14 STOCHINO discloses A doppler lidar system comprising (See said analysis for Claim 1):
a doppler lidar unit comprising (See said analysis for Claim 1): a laser source configured to generate output light (See said analysis for Claim 1); a detector (See said analysis for Claim 1); and one or more processors (See said analysis for Claim 1); a first transceiver coupled to the laser source (Figs. 5A-D transceiver 120B/130B coupled to laser 110 [0064, 0088]);
wherein the first transceiver is configured to transmit the output light and receive a return light (Figs. 5A-D transmit 120B and receiver 130B [0064] [0088-0090]); and an acousto-optic modulator coupled to the transceiver (Figs. 5A-B - AOM incorporated into FS 140B coupled to laser transceiver 120/130 as depicted in Fig. 5B [0088-0090]); wherein the acousto-optic modulator is configured to generate a frequency-shifted return light by frequency shifting the return light (Figs. 5A-B - AOM incorporated into FS frequency shifter 140B for the transmitted light [0088-0090] Fig. 5C [0091]); wherein the frequency shifting by the acousto-optic modulator simulates a Doppler effect (See said analysis for Claim 1); wherein the detector is coupled to the first transceiver and configured to receive the frequency-shifted return light (Figs. 5A-D detector 130D [detector 130B of Fig. 5B] incorporated into transceiver [0059, 0063] [0088-0092]); wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute program instructions causing the one or more processors (See said analysis for Claim 1)
STOCHINO does not disclose but ENGLERT discloses wherein the detector detects a frequency of the frequency-shifted return light (Figs. 3-5, 7, 8A detector 410 for spatial frequency detection for return light previously frequency shifted [0069-0070]); calibrate the doppler lidar system based on the frequency of the frequency-shifted return light detected the detector (Figs. 1B, 2-5, 7, 8B calibrate lidar 700 - Doppler shift 200 of the backscattered light return signal 130 - return light previously frequency shifted and determining simultaneous calibration information [0069-0070]) (The motivation that applied in Claim 1 applies equally to Claim 14)
STOCHINO and ENGLERT do not disclose but WIEGMAN discloses narrowband output light (See said analysis for Claim 1)
As per Claim 16 STOCHINO discloses The doppler lidar system of claim 14, wherein a frequency of the return light is a frequency of the output light (Figs. 5A-D transmit 120B at a frequency to be returned [0064] [0088-0090])
STOCHINO and ENGLERT do not disclose but WIEGMAN discloses narrowband output light (See said analysis for Claim 1)
As per Claim 17 STOCHINO discloses The doppler lidar system of claim 16, wherein the frequency of the frequency-shifted return light is based on the frequency of the return light (Figs. 5A-D transmit 120B at a frequency to be returned [0064] [0088-0090]) and the frequency shifting of the acousto-optic modulator(Figs. 5A-B - AOM incorporated into FS frequency shifter 140B for the transmitted light [0088-0090] Fig. 5C [0091])
Claims 4, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STOCHINO (Pub. No: US 2020-0003900) in view of ENGLERT et al. (Pub. No: US 2011-0222048) in view of WIEGMAN (Pub. No.: 2023-0155195), as applied in Claims 1, 3, 10-12, 14, 16-17, and further in view of TSUCHIDA (Pub. No.: 2021-0405194)
As per Claim 4 STOCHINO discloses The doppler lidar system of claim 1, wherein the frequency-shifted light is light transmitted through the acousto-optic modulator (Figs. 5A-B - AOM incorporated into FS frequency shifter 140B for the transmitted light [0088-0090] Fig. 5C [0091])
STOCHINO ENGLERT WIEGMAN do not disclose but TSUCHIDA discloses frequency-shifted light is first order light (acousto-optic modulator 23 [0100])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include frequency-shifted light is first order light as taught by TSUCHIDA into the system of STOCHINO ENGLERT WIEGMAN because of the benefit taught by TSUCHIDA to include an additional classification of light which is crucial to the systems of STOCHINO ENGLERT and WIEGMAN for operation and analysis outcome by allowing for inclusion of different types of light for processing and analysis.
As per Claim 18 STOCHINO discloses The doppler lidar system of claim 14, wherein the frequency-shifted return light is transmitted through the acousto-optic modulator (See said analysis for Claim 4)
STOCHINO ENGLERT WIEGMAN do not disclose but TSUCHIDA discloses frequency-shifted light is first order light (See said analysis for Claim 4)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5-9, 13, 15, 19-20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon the rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 2, 5-9, 13, 15, 19-20 is/are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
As per Claim 2 the prior art of record either alone or in reasonable combination fails to teach or suggest “The doppler lidar system of claim 1, wherein a transmit path is formed by the laser source, the acousto-optic modulator, and the first transceiver; wherein a receive path is formed by the first transceiver and the detector; wherein the narrowband output light and the frequency-shifted light are maintained on the transmit path; wherein the return light is maintained on the receive path; wherein the narrowband output light and the frequency-shifted light are not mixed with the return light" These limitations in combination with the other limitations of the independent claim are thus deemed allowable.
As per Claim 5 the prior art of record either alone or in reasonable combination fails to teach or suggest “The doppler lidar system of claim 1, wherein the laser source is configured to decouple from the acousto-optic modulator and couple to the first transceiver; wherein the first transceiver is configured to transmit the narrowband output light when the laser source is coupled to the first transceiver" These limitations in combination with the other limitations of the independent claim are thus deemed allowable.
As per Claim 6 the prior art of record either alone or in reasonable combination fails to teach or suggest “The doppler lidar system of claim 5, comprising at least the first transceiver, a second transceiver, and a third transceiver" These limitations in combination with the other limitations of the independent claim are thus deemed allowable.
As per Claim 7 the prior art of record either alone or in reasonable combination fails to teach or suggest “The doppler lidar system of claim 6, wherein the doppler lidar system is a laser air data sensor configured to mount to an aircraft; wherein the laser air data sensor is configured to measure an airspeed, an angle of attack, and a sideslip of the aircraft when the laser source is coupled to the first transceiver" These limitations in combination with the other limitations of the independent claim are thus deemed allowable.
As per Claim 8 the prior art of record either alone or in reasonable combination fails to teach or suggest “The doppler lidar system of claim 1, wherein the first transceiver is configured to transmit the frequency-shifted light toward a target and receive the return light from the target; wherein the target is stationary relative to the first transceiver; wherein the frequency shifting by the acousto-optic modulator simulates the Doppler effect of moving the target relative to the first transceiver" These limitations in combination with the other limitations of the independent claim are thus deemed allowable.
As per Claim 9 the prior art of record either alone or in reasonable combination fails to teach or suggest “The doppler lidar system of claim 8, wherein the return light is configured to backscatter from the target; wherein the target comprises one of hard target, aerosol, atmospheric molecules" These limitations in combination with the other limitations of the independent claim are thus deemed allowable.
As per Claim 13 the prior art of record either alone or in reasonable combination fails to teach or suggest “The doppler lidar system of claim 1, wherein the program instructions cause the one or more processors to calibrate a line-of-sight velocity of the doppler lidar system based on the frequency of the return light detected the detector" These limitations in combination with the other limitations of the independent claim are thus deemed allowable.
As per Claim 15 the prior art of record either alone or in reasonable combination fails to teach or suggest “The doppler lidar system of claim 14, wherein a transmit path is formed by the laser source and the first transceiver; wherein a receive path is formed by the first transceiver, the acousto-optic modulator, and the detector; wherein the narrowband output light is maintained on the transmit path; wherein the return light and the frequency-shifted return light is maintained on the receive path; wherein the narrowband output light is not mixed with the return light and the frequency-shifted return light" These limitations in combination with the other limitations of the independent claim are thus deemed allowable.
As per Claim 19 the prior art of record either alone or in reasonable combination fails to teach or suggest “The doppler lidar system of claim 14, wherein the first transceiver is configured to decouple from the acousto-optic modulator and couple to the detector; wherein the detector is configured to receive the return light when coupled to the first transceiver" These limitations in combination with the other limitations of the independent claim are thus deemed allowable.
As per Claim 20 the prior art of record either alone or in reasonable combination fails to teach or suggest “The doppler lidar system of claim 14, wherein the first transceiver is configured to transmit the narrowband output light toward a target and receive the return light from the target; wherein the target is stationary relative to the first transceiver; wherein the frequency shifting by the acousto-optic modulator simulates the Doppler effect of moving the target relative to the first transceiver" These limitations in combination with the other limitations of the independent claim are thus deemed allowable.
The closest prior art of record STOCHINO (Pub. No: US 2020-0003900) for Claims 2, 5-9, 13, 15, 19-20 does not teach all the elements in combination with the other limitations of the independent claim. STOCHINO only discloses a doppler lidar system that includes a doppler lidar unit containing a laser source configured to generate output light, a detector, and a first transceiver coupled to the laser source wherein the first transceiver is configured to transmit the output light and receive a return light. The prior art also includes an acousto-optic modulator coupled to the transceiver configured to generate a frequency-shifted return light by frequency shifting the return light such that the frequency shifting by the acousto-optic modulator simulates a Doppler effect; wherein the detector is coupled to the first transceiver and configured to receive the frequency-shifted return light.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Eileen Adams whose telephone number is 571-270-3688. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:30-5:00 EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, William Vaughn can be reached on (571) 272-3922. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-270-4688.
/EILEEN M ADAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481