Claims 1-20, 41-46 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20, 25-30 of copending Application No. 18/134,243 (reference application) in view of Rebar et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0117288. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claims a radiation shielding material and composition comprising heavy metals in a matrix polymer. With regard to the limitations regarding being lead free or including lead, Rebar teaches that x ray shielding structures can either include or exclude lead as one of the metals. See paragraph 0009. Therefore, it would have been obvious to either include or exclude lead as one of the metals in the structure as taught by Rebar.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 11-20, 42-43, 45-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Rebar et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0117288 in view of Liu et al, U.S. 2012/0012793.
Rebar discloses a filled composition for radiation shielding. The composition can be used to form garments. See paragraph 0002. The garments can comprise a filled composition including at least one polymer and one metal containing filler. See paragraph 0005. The polymers can be polyolefins including polyolefin copolymers and elastomeric polyolefins. See paragraph 0005. The metal filler can comprise Sb, W, Ba, Pb, Bi, and alloys, oxides and salt thereof or can be substantially free of Pb. See paragraph 0009. The polymer component can be from 0.4-35 Wt% and the metal containing filler can comprise 50-95.5 wt%. See paragraph 0011. The composition can further comprise additives paraffinic oil, aromatic oil, antioxidants, compatibilizers, adhesion promoters and processing aids. See paragraph 0014. When the composition is formed into a garment, the structure can further comprise at least one layer of fabric. See paragraph 0015. The composition can be crosslinked or uncrosslinked. See paragraph 0015. The fabric can nylon or polyester. See paragraph 0030. The layer of fabric can have a thickness of15-25 mils. See paragraph 0030. The metal containing fillers can be combined, for example Sb and Bi, Sb and W, Sb and BaSO4, Bi and BaSO4 and any other mixture. See paragraph 0047. The particles size can be 0.1-74 microns. Note that a 0.1 micron particle is construed as having nano dimensions. See paragraph 0047. The garments can block X-rays. See paragraph 0076. The structure can comprise a plurality of layers to provide improved properties. See paragraph 0072. The heavy metals have a Z number of greater than 50. See paragraph 0046. The particles can have a range of sizes. See examples. The composition can further comprise fiber fillers such as microfibers of nylon, polyester or PTFE which corresponds to the limitations of claim 6. See paragraph 0051.
With regard to claim 7, either the filler fibers or the fabric onto which the composition is applied can correspond to a fiber onto which the heavy metal particles are coated.
With regard to the limitation that the composition provides protection from both primary and scatter x-rays, since Rebar teaches providing protection from x-rays generally and teaches the same structure, it is reasonable to expect that the composition of Rebar provides protection from primary and scatter x-rays, or, in the alternative, it would have been obvious to have selected the appropriate composition and mixture which produced the desired protection.
Additionally, if it is considered that Rebar does not disclose protection over primary and scatter x-rays within the claimed energy range, Liu teaches selecting particular metals for use in a polymeric matrix to provide shielding over the range of 40-170kV. See paragraph 0015.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected particular metals as taught by Liu to the composition of Rebar in order to provide the desired protection over particular energy levels. Further, since Rebar teaches forming blends generally, it would have been obvious to have formed blends as taught by Rebar and varied the relative proportions of the components in order to arrive at a protective material which provided the desired level of protection.
Claim(s) 2, 9-10, 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rebar in view of Liu as applied to claims above, and further in view of obvious over Khandkar et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0083941.
Rebar does not disclose that the polymer matrix can be PVC and does not disclose providing the particles in a gradient.
However, Khandkar discloses radiation shielding systems. See abstract. The systems can include heavy metal particles disposed in an polymeric binder combined with fabrics or other reinforcing materials. The particles can include metals having a X number, of 56 or greater and include the claimed types of metals. See paragraph 0059. The binder can include polyvinyl chloride or polyurethane. See paragraph 0060. The binder may be present in amounts of 3- 25% while the heavy metal particles are present in amounts of up to 97%. See paragraph 0061. The particles can be uniformly dispersed or dispersed so as to form a gradient. See paragraph 0047.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have employed PVC as the polymeric matrix and to have supplied the particles either uniformly or in a gradient in Rebar as taught by Khandkar in view of the art recognized suitability of PVC as a polymeric matrix for an x-ray shielding material and for the particles to be disposed either uniformly or in a gradient depending on how the protective material will be used and which provides the best protection.
Claim(s) 41, 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rebar in view of Liu as applied to claims above, and further in view of “Superior X ray radiation shielding of biocompatible platform based on reinforced polyaniline by decorated graphene oxide with interconnected tungsten-bismusth-tin complex”, herein after “Superior”.
Rebar in view of Liu does not teach that the metal particles form a metal complex.
However, Superior teaches that forming a metal complex provides improved x-ray shielding. The metal complex is equated with a 3D metal network and/or metal organic framework.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have employed the metal complex as taught by Superior in the structure of Rebar in order to provide improved x ray protection.
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed 7/6/26 have been fully considered and are sufficient to overcome the previous rejections. New rejections are set forth above.
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789