Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/134,241 (reference application) in view of Rebar et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0117288. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claims a radiation shielding material and composition comprising heavy metals in a matrix polymer. While the claims of 18/134,241 are free of lead while the instant claims require lead, Rebar teaches that it was known to both include and exclude lead from radiation-shielding compositions. See paragraph 0009.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have selected to have included or excluded lead in view of the teaching of Rebar that both lead-free and lead-including compositions were known in the art to be useful for radiation shielding compositions.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Rebar et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0117288.
Rebar discloses a filled composition for radiation shielding. The composition can be used to form garments. See paragraph 0002. The garments can comprise a filled composition including at least one polymer and one metal containing filler. See paragraph 0005. The polymers can be polyolefins including polyolefin copolymers and elastomeric polyolefins. See paragraph 0005. The metal filler can comprise Sb, W, Ba, Pb, Bi, and alloys, oxides and salt thereof or can be substantially free of Pb. See paragraph 0009. The polymer component can be from 0.4-35 Wt% and the metal containing filler can comprise 50-95.5 wt%. See paragraph 0011. The composition can further comprise additives paraffinic oil, aromatic oil, antioxidants, compatibilizers, adhesion promoters and processing aids. See paragraph 0014. When the composition is formed into a garment, the structure can further comprise at least one layer of fabric. See paragraph 0015. The composition can be crosslinked or uncrosslinked. See paragraph 0015. The fabric can nylon or polyester. See paragraph 0030. The layer of fabric can have a thickness of15-25 mils. See paragraph 0030. The metal containing fillers can be combined, for example Sb and Bi, Sb and W, Sb and BaSO4, Bi and BaSO4 and any other mixture. See paragraph 0047. The particles size can be 0.1-74 microns. Note that a 0.1 micron particle is construed as having nano dimensions. See paragraph 0047. The garments can block X-rays. See paragraph 0076. The structure can comprise a plurality of layers to provide improved properties. See paragraph 0072. The heavy metals have a Z number of greater than 50. See paragraph 0046.
With regard to the claims as amended 11/17/25, the particles can have a range of sizes. See examples, especially paragraphs 0082-0086.
The composition can further comprise fiber fillers such as microfibers of nylon, polyester or PTFE which corresponds to the limitations of claim 6. See paragraph 0051.
With regard to claim 7, either the filler fibers or the fabric onto which the composition is applied can correspond to a fiber onto which the heavy metal particles are coated.
With regard to the limitation that the composition provides protection from both primary and scatter x-rays, since Rebar teaches providing protection from x-rays generally and teaches the same structure, it is reasonable to expect that the composition of Rebar provides protection from primary and scatter x-rays, or, in the alternative, it would have been obvious to have selected the appropriate composition and mixture which produced the desired protection.
Claim(s) 2, 10, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rebar as applied to claims above, and further in view of Khandkar et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0083941.
Rebar discloses a radiation shielding composition as set forth above.
Rebar does not disclose that the matrix can be PVC and does not disclose providing the particles so as to form a gradient.
However, Khandkar discloses radiation shielding systems. See abstract. The systems can include heavy metal particles disposed in an polymeric binder combined with fabrics or other reinforcing materials. The particles can include metals having a X number, of 56 or greater and include the claimed types of metals. See paragraph 0059. The binder can include polyvinyl chloride or polyurethane. See paragraph 0060. The binder may be present in amounts of 3- 25% while the heavy metal particles are present in amounts of up to 97%. See paragraph 0061. The particles can be uniformly dispersed or dispersed so as to form a gradient. See paragraph 0047.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have employed PVC as a matrix in Rebar, in view of the teaching of Khandkar of the suitability of PVC for this purpose and to have provided the particles in either a gradient or in a uniform dispersion depending on whether uniform protection or gradient protection was desired in the final product.
Claim(s) 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rebar et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0117288.
Rebar discloses a composition as set forth above.
Rebar differs from the claimed invention because while it teaches forming blends of more than one of the lead free metal particles, it does not teach the claimed proportions.
However, since Rebar teaches forming blends generally, it would have been obvious to have formed blends as taught by Rebar and varied the relative proportions of the components in order to arrive at a protective material which provided the desired level of protection.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the obviousness-type double patenting rejection should be withdrawn because US ‘241 does not include lead particles. However, Rebar teaches that it was known to include or exclude lead particles in radiation protective garments.
With regard to the art rejections, Applicant argues that the applied art does not teach the specific arrangement of materials. However, the claims do not include particular structural details regarding the arrangement of any materials and the specification does not teach any special method of arranging the at least two metals other than mix, blending or compounding, which are the same methods used in the prior art.
Applicant’s amendments have overcome the 112 rejections.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789