DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 13, 20, 23 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rahav et al. (U.S. 20230038841, hereafter referred to as Rahav).
Regarding claim 1, Rahav teaches a transducer structure comprising: at least one mechanical restraint (582, see figure 5A; step 1304, see figure 13), the at least one mechanical restraint being shaped to receive a transducer (see para. 0103; step 1306, see figure 13) such that the at least one mechanical restraint at least partially limits the positioning of the transducer on the transducer structure, wherein the at least one mechanical restraint pins at least a portion of the transducer in at least two degrees of freedom when the transducer is positioned on the transducer structure (see figure 4B).
Regarding claim 13, Rahav further teaches the use of an adhesive which based on at least para. 0072 would be placed in the region of the recessed surface 590 in order to fix strain gauges 160 to the beam element 120.
Regarding claim 20, Rahav further teaches wherein the transducer is flexible such that the transducer is conformable to a curved surface (see figure 4A).
Regarding claim 23, Rahav teaches a method of adhering a transducer to a transducer structure, the transducer structure having at least one mechanical restraint, the method comprising: applying an adhesive to a region of the transducer structure (see para. 0037); and positioning a portion of the transducer in the region such that the at least one mechanical restraint 582 pins at least a portion of the transducer in at least two degrees of freedom.
Regarding claim 27, Rahav further teaches a plurality of mechanical restraints (582, 584).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 10, 11, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feng et al. (CN 106442723, hereafter referred to as Feng).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Feng teaches a transducer structure comprising: at least one mechanical restraint (see figure 4), the at least one mechanical restraint being shaped to receive a transducer 1 such that the at least one mechanical restraint at least partially limits the positioning of the transducer on the transducer structure, wherein the at least one mechanical restraint pins at least a portion of the transducer in at least two degrees of freedom when the transducer is positioned on the transducer structure (see figure 4).
Regarding claim 4, Feng further teaches wherein the mechanical restraint includes an elongate member (see figure 4; the area is not labeled however it is located between transducer 1 and acoustic wave unit 2).
Regarding claim 6, Feng further teaches wherein the at least one mechanical restraint includes at least one corner that restrains the transducer in a cartesian plane and a rotational plane (the recess is the shape of an octagon so there are restraints in a cartesian plane and a rotational plane).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Feng further teaches wherein the at least one mechanical restraint is positioned on a first surface and the transducer extends parallel the first surface when positioned on the transducer structure (see figure 4); wherein the at least one mechanical restraint pins the transducer in a plurality of degrees of freedom along the first surface when the transducer is positioned on the transducer structure (see figure 4).
Regarding claim 17, Feng further teaches wherein the transducer structure 1 is a monolithic structure (see figure 3a).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Feng further teaches wherein the at least one mechanical restraint is matingly shaped to receive the transducer such that the shape of the at least one mechanical restraint substantially limits the positioning of the transducer on the transducer structure (see figure 4); and wherein the at least one mechanical restraint surrounds at least a portion of a perimeter of the transducer when the transducer is positioned on the transducer structure (see figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng.
Regarding claim 7-9, Feng further teaches wherein the at least one mechanical restraint includes a groove having a plurality of walls extending from a base (recess that receives transducer 1, see figure 4).
However, Feng does not explicitly teach that the groove has a groove height extending from the base to a top of each wall in the plurality of walls; wherein the groove height is greater than a thickness of the transducer; or wherein the groove height is variable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Feng since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 21, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Feng since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 23 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng in view of Rahav.
Feng teaches a transducer structure comprising: at least one mechanical restraint (see figure 4), the at least one mechanical restraint being shaped to receive a transducer 1 such that the at least one mechanical restraint at least partially limits the positioning of the transducer on the transducer structure, wherein the at least one mechanical restraint pins at least a portion of the transducer in at least two degrees of freedom when the transducer is positioned on the transducer structure (see figure 4).
However, Feng does not explicitly teach the use of an adhesive to attach the transducer to its corresponding structure.
Rahav teach the use of adhesives to attach a strain gauge to a corresponding structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Feng with the teaching of Rahav in order to provide a secure attachment means.
Regarding claim 29, Feng further teaches wherein the mechanical restraint includes an elongate member (see figure 4; the area is not labeled however it is located between transducer 1 and acoustic wave unit 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 12, 14-16, 22, 24-26, 28, 30 and 31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JAMEL E WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855