DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment filed on 6/9/2026 in which claims 1, 6, 9, 11, and 16-19 were amended, claims 7 and 13 cancelled, and new claim 20 added. The USC 101 rejection has been overcome. Claims 1-6, 8-12, and 14-20 are pending examination below.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered. Applicant argues that Chow fails to disclose a “use time duration”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Chow’s disclosure of “remaining energy” reasonably reads on the claimed “use time duration” since the remaining energy (which can be represented in kWh) explicitly embeds the timeframe hours, and a person of ordinary skill knows that a finite amount of energy dictates the available operational time frame of use of the battery/energy storage device. Further, applicant appears to argue the references individually, where the amended claim 1 brings limitations in from claim 11 which is rejected by the combination of Chow in view of Yi, and it is Yi who further discloses the use time durations comprising a charging time duration. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-12, 14-15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chow et al. US 20200381923 in view of Yi US 20210300197.
With regards to claims 1 and 18 Chow discloses, a method for determining at least one use parameter [fig 7] for at least one rechargeable battery pack [fig 3 battery modules 390a-c] for using a charger device that charges user-exchangeable rechargeable battery packs for driving at least one mobile device [fig 3 vehicle battery system 100 and fig 5 smart device 510], wherein a means of transport [fig 3 vehicle 105] comprises the charger device [fig 3 converter 322 and ¶42 “the converter 322 may also convert voltages flowing back into the battery 190 (e.g., from regenerative braking), such that an available voltage flowing from vehicle systems is converted into a demand voltage suitable for recharging the battery modules 390”], the method comprising the steps of:
a) ascertaining state and rated variables of the rechargeable battery packs relating to a charging of the rechargeable battery packs via the charger device [fig 7 and ¶43 “The removable vehicle battery system 100 further comprises a battery management controller (BMC) 184. The BMC 184 regulates the charging and discharging of the battery 190. The BMC 184 may read voltages from the battery 190 or battery modules 390. The BMC 184 may also read data from sensors including but not limited to a temperature sensor 230, battery load sensor or (e.g., voltmeter or ammeter) 280”];
b) ascertaining use time durations of the rechargeable battery packs for using the charger device relating to a charging of the rechargeable battery packs via the charger device [¶73 “In step 796, the BMC 184 is available, and communicates with all available battery modules 390 and/or converters 322, in order to track their usage as assets of the removable vehicle battery system 100. Such asset tracking may include, but is not limited to, locations, tool assignments, remaining energy (e.g., in kWh), operating temperature, signal strength, output voltage, and output current of each of the battery modules 390 and converters 322. In some embodiments, asset tracking may further include tracking of the same or similar parameters for smart devices 510, 520, or 530, or other smart devices including but not limited to other vehicles” where remaining energy in kWh reasonably reads on “use time durations”],
c) determining the at least one use parameter for at least one of the rechargeable battery packs for using the charger device to charge the at least one rechargeable battery pack via the charger device by linking the ascertained state and rated variables and the ascertained use time durations taking into account at least one use limit of the charger device [¶8 “The system where the information regarding the store of energy includes one or more of a quantity of energy, a maximum available current, a maximum available power, or a range of available voltages. The system where the information regarding the usable format includes a at least one of a voltage requirement, a current requirement, or a power requirement”]; and
d) charging the at least one rechargeable battery pack utilizing the charger device in accordance with the determined at least one use parameter [abstract discloses charging of the energy storage module];
wherein the at least one use limit of the charger device comprises and/or corresponds to a maximum number of power output interfaces, where the power output interfaces are rechargeable battery pack receptacles and/or rechargeable battery pack shafts [fig 3 reasonably discloses the power output interfaces/receptacles, where plural batteries are connected to be charged]; and
wherein the at least one use parameter comprises and/or corresponds to one or more of: the at least one rechargeable battery pack for using the charger device at least one cooling power for cooling and/or at least one heating power for heating the at least one rechargeable battery pack [¶39 “the battery 190 or battery management controller (BMC) 184 or battery management system (BMS) 184 may include thermal management systems including but not limited to fans, radiators, liquid coolant systems, pumps, heaters, and thermoelectric heating/cooling junctions, and temperature sensors on the battery 190 or on terminals or cables connected to the battery. In such cases, monitoring and management of battery temperature may also be a function of the BMC 184, which may be capable of activating battery heating or cooling systems when battery temperature and other conditions make this advisable” which discloses cooling and heating powers being required to control the temperature of the system], or at least one charging current and/or at least one electrical charging power for charging the at least one rechargeable battery pack [¶8 “The system where the information regarding the store of energy includes one or more of a quantity of energy, a maximum available current, a maximum available power, or a range of available voltages. The system where the information regarding the usable format includes a at least one of a voltage requirement, a current requirement, or a power requirement”].
Chow fails to disclose, where the use time durations comprise a charging time duration.
However, Yi discloses, where the use time durations comprise a charging time duration [¶18 “a method of controlling a system estimating a charging time of a vehicle battery includes: measuring a temperature and voltage of a battery; predicting, when a charging current according to the measured temperature and voltage of the battery is applied to the battery, at least one of a terminal voltage of the battery after an amount of unit time has changed, a state of charge (SOC), or an amount of heat generated; predicting the temperature of the battery after the amount of unit time has changed over time of the battery and coolant according to the charging current and the amount of heat generated; and determining an estimated charging time of the vehicle based on at least one of the predicted terminal voltage, the SOC, the amount of heat generated, or the temperature of the battery after the amount of unit time has changed over time”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the charging systems of Chow with Yi to predict charging time duration in order to provide a more accurate total charging time and to improve battery charging efficiency.
With regards to claim 2 the combination discloses, the method according to claim 1, wherein at least one rated variable comprises and/or corresponds to:
a maximum charging and/or drive current, and/or a maximum electrical charging and/or drive power, and/or a maximum electrical energy content [Chow ¶8 above],
and/or a maximum charging and/or drive temperature, and/or a minimum charging and/or drive temperature [Chow ¶43 “The BMC 184 may read voltages from the battery 190 or battery modules 390. The BMC 184 may also read data from sensors including but not limited to a temperature sensor 230, battery load sensor or (e.g., voltmeter or ammeter) 280”].
With regards to claim 4 the combination discloses, the method according to claim 1, wherein the rechargeable battery packs are for driving mobile devices, and/or wherein the at least one mobile device is ground- and/or hand-guided and/or is a garden, forestry, construction and/or groundwork device comprising one of: a saw, a pole-mounted pruner, a hedge trimmer, a hedge cutter, a wood cutter, a lopper, an angle grinder, a blower, a leafblower, a suction device, a leaf vacuum, a cleaning device, a high-pressure cleaner, a sweeper, a sweeping roller, a sweeping brush, a lawnmower, a grass trimmer, a brushcutter, or a scarifier [Chow fig 5 smart device 510 is a hand-guided saw and ¶50 “capable of powering smart power tools 510 and smart home appliances 520”].
With regards to claim 5 the combination discloses, the method according to claim 1, wherein the means of transport is a vehicle, a land vehicle, a road vehicle, a motor vehicle, an automobile, a two-wheeler vehicle, or a trailer [Chow fig 3 vehicle 105].
With regards to claim 6 the combination discloses, the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one use limit of the charger device further comprises and/or corresponds to: a variable maximum total charging current and/or a variable maximum electrical total charging power for charging the at least one rechargeable battery pack [Chow ¶8 “The system where the information regarding the usable format includes a at least one of a voltage requirement, a current requirement, or a power requirement”], and/or
a variable maximum cooling power for cooling the at least one rechargeable battery pack and/or a variable maximum heating power for heating the at least one rechargeable battery pack [¶39 “monitoring and management of battery temperature may also be a function of the BMC 184, which may be capable of activating battery heating or cooling systems when battery temperature and other conditions make this advisable” which reasonably read son the max powers for cooling and heating as the system is disclosed as managing the heating/cooling functions which would include maximum powers for both].
With regards to claim 8 the combination discloses, the method according to claim 1, wherein the means of transport comprises one or more of: a radiation energy conversion device, a fuel cell, or an energy store, for supplying the charger device with electrical power [Chow ¶45 “one or more aspects of the vehicle may continue to operate by means of secondary batteries, controllers, or converters, or through power provided by an internal combustion engine or other power source (e.g., photovoltaic panels)”].
With regards to claim 9 the combination discloses, the method according to claim 8, wherein the radiation energy conversion device is a solar cell, and/or the energy store is a battery [Chow ¶45 above includes photovoltaic panels and other secondary batteries].
With regards to claim 10 the combination discloses, the method according to claim 2, wherein the at least one state variable comprises and/or corresponds to: a state of charge [Chow ¶59 “the text-based interface 605 includes status windows 610 that report the current status of components such as battery modules 390, converter 322, and BMC 184”¶75 “devices receive information about the current availability, charge state, capacity, and capabilities of the removable vehicle power system and its components”],
and/or a temperature [¶39 “monitoring and management of battery temperature may also be a function of the BMC 184, which may be capable of activating battery heating or cooling systems when battery temperature and other conditions make this advisable” and fig 2 temperature sensor 230].
With regards to claim 11 the combination discloses, the method according to claim 10, wherein step c) comprises: determining cooling time durations for cooling and/or heating time durations for heating the rechargeable battery packs on the basis of the ascertained maximum charging temperature and/or the ascertained minimum charging temperature and also the ascertained temperature [Yi ¶16 “The thermal behavior predictor may be configured to predict the amount of temperature change over time of the coolant using the amount of heat exchanged with the coolant, an amount of heat supplied from a heater, and an amount of heat removed from a chiller” and Chow fig 2 temperature sensor 230], taking account of a maximum cooling power and/or a maximum heating power [Chow ¶39 “monitoring and management of battery temperature may also be a function of the BMC 184, which may be capable of activating battery heating or cooling systems when battery temperature and other conditions make this advisable” where the system controls the power required for heating/cooling which is inclusive of a maximum heating/cooling power];
determining charging time durations for charging the rechargeable battery packs on the basis of the determined cooling time durations and/or the determined heating time durations and also the ascertained use time durations [Yi ¶18 “a method of controlling a system estimating a charging time of a vehicle battery includes: measuring a temperature and voltage of a battery; predicting, when a charging current according to the measured temperature and voltage of the battery is applied to the battery, at least one of a terminal voltage of the battery after an amount of unit time has changed, a state of charge (SOC), or an amount of heat generated; predicting the temperature of the battery after the amount of unit time has changed over time of the battery and coolant according to the charging current and the amount of heat generated; and determining an estimated charging time of the vehicle based on at least one of the predicted terminal voltage, the SOC, the amount of heat generated, or the temperature of the battery after the amount of unit time has changed over time”];
determining electrical charging energy amounts of the rechargeable battery packs on the basis of the determined charging time durations and also the ascertained maximum charging current and/or the ascertained maximum charging power, and the ascertained maximum electrical energy content and/or the ascertained states of charge and/or taking account of a maximum total charging current and/or a maximum electrical total charging power [Chow ¶52 “the battery module 390, converter 322, or BMC 184 are able to communicate information to the smart tool 510, smart appliance 520, smart building 530, or other smart device, such information including but not limited to available stored energy (e.g., in amp-hours), available output voltages and connector types, maximum available current draw, overtemperature warnings, low charge warnings, and estimated time remaining to charge depletion at present power draw levels”], and
determining the at least one use parameter on the basis of the determined charging energy amounts, beginning with a largest charging energy amount and/or taking account of a maximum number of power output interfaces [Chow fig 7 730 device states power requirements and 740 battery module or converter determine power availability and ¶64 “In step 740, the battery module 390 or converter 322 determines its power availability. This information may include available voltages (or a range of available voltages), available connector types, a maximum available current or power, and total available stored energy (e.g., in kilowatt-hours)”].
With regards to claim 12 the combination discloses, the method according to claim 1, wherein step c) comprises: determining the at least one use parameter on the basis of an optimization criterion, wherein the optimization criterion is a largest charging energy amount of the at least one rechargeable battery pack [Chow ¶52 “the battery module 390, converter 322, or BMC 184 are able to communicate information to the smart tool 510, smart appliance 520, smart building 530, or other smart device, such information including but not limited to available stored energy (e.g., in amp-hours), available output voltages and connector types, maximum available current draw, overtemperature warnings, low charge warnings, and estimated time remaining to charge depletion at present power draw levels”].
With regards to claim 14 the combination discloses, the method according to claim 1, the method further comprising the step of: d) outputting user-perceivable information about the at least one determined use parameter for using the charger device [Chow fig 6 discloses state of charge information and current and power output capability information being displayed to a user].
With regards to claim 15 the combination discloses, the method according to claim 1, wherein step a) comprises: wirelessly transmitting the at least one state variable from at least one of the rechargeable battery packs in a manner not using the charger device [Chow ¶10 “The removable vehicle battery system also includes a wireless communication link between the external device and one or more of the removable energy storage modules, wherein the one or more removable energy storage modules and one or more converters may be removed from the vehicle and used to power the external device, wherein the wireless communication link is configured to communicate information from regarding the store of energy and the format usable by the external device, and wherein the one or more removable energy storage modules and one or more converters provide energy to the external device based on whether the store of energy can be provided in the format usable by the external device”].
With regards to claim 19 the combination discloses, the system according to claim 18, further comprising one or more of: the rechargeable battery packs [Chow fig 3 battery modules 390a-c], the at least one mobile device [fig 3 converter 322] or, the means of transport [fig 3 vehicle 105].
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chow et al. US 20200381923 in view of Yi US 20210300197 further in view of Yen US 20200403416.
With regards to claim 3 the combination discloses, the method according to claim 2, wherein at least one of: the maximum charging and/or drive current is one of: a minimum of200 mA, a minimum of 1A, or a maximum of 200A, the maximum electrical charging and/or drive power is one of: a minimum of 200 W, a minimum of 1 kW, a maximum of 10 kW, or a maximum of 5 kW, the maximum electrical energy content is one of: a minimum of 1 Wh, a maximum of 8 kWh, or is 4 kWh [Chow fig 6 discloses battery module 1 at 2.1amps and 1.3 kWh with 26% charge and battery module 2 at 200amps and 4.9 kWh with 98% charge, which reads within the ranges claimed].
The combination fails to disclose the maximum charging and/or drive temperature is 120°C, or the minimum charging and/or drive temperature is - 20°C.
However, Yen discloses the maximum charging and/or drive temperature is 120°C, or the minimum charging and/or drive temperature is - 20°C [¶25 “a charging temperature of the battery unit 110 could be substantially range from 0 degrees Celsius to 60 degrees Celsius”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the battery charging systems of Chow and Yi with Yen to limit the temperature range of the batteries in order to optimize charging and life span of the battery.
Claims 16-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chow et al. US 20200381923 in view of Yi US 20210300197 further in view of Takatsuka et al. US 20180260887.
With regards to claim 16 the combination discloses at least one of the rechargeable battery packs onboard the means of transport [Chow fig 3 battery modules 390a-c which is on board the vehicle].
The combination fails to disclose, wherein at least one of the possible use time durations comprises and/or corresponds to: a residence time duration.
However, Takatsuka disclose, the method according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the use time durations comprises and/or corresponds to: a possible residence time duration of at least one of the rechargeable battery packs onboard the means of transport [¶17 “The exchange completion time calculator calculates the exchange completion time on the basis of the travel time, the required charge amount, the remaining battery charge, and the charging speed” and ¶18 “Here, the travel time to each battery station is calculated on the basis of the distance from the current position of the user to a battery station where the battery exchange is performed, and the exchange completion time is calculated on the basis of the travel time, the required charge amount, the remaining battery charge, and the charging speed”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the battery charging systems of Chow and Yi with Takatsuka to utilize a “residence time duration” to charge the batteries of the system during a time while the vehicle is traveling to a destination in order to improve the users experience so that charging of the batteries can be performed during the travel time.
With regards to claim 17 the combination discloses, the method according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the use time durations comprises and/or corresponds to: a transport time duration of the means of transport to a drive location of at least one of the rechargeable battery packs [Takatsuka ¶17 and ¶18 above].
With regards to claim 20 the combination discloses, a method for determining at least one use parameter [Chow fig 7] for at least one rechargeable battery pack [fig 3 battery modules 390a-c] for using a charger device that charges user-exchangeable rechargeable battery packs for driving at least one mobile device [fig 3 vehicle battery system 100 and fig 5 smart device 510], wherein a means of transport [fig 3 vehicle 105] comprises the charger device [fig 3 converter 322 and ¶42 “the converter 322 may also convert voltages flowing back into the battery 190 (e.g., from regenerative braking), such that an available voltage flowing from vehicle systems is converted into a demand voltage suitable for recharging the battery modules 390”], the method comprising the steps of:
a) ascertaining state and rated variables of the rechargeable battery packs relating to a charging of the rechargeable battery packs via the charger device [fig 7 and ¶43 “The removable vehicle battery system 100 further comprises a battery management controller (BMC) 184. The BMC 184 regulates the charging and discharging of the battery 190. The BMC 184 may read voltages from the battery 190 or battery modules 390. The BMC 184 may also read data from sensors including but not limited to a temperature sensor 230, battery load sensor or (e.g., voltmeter or ammeter) 280”];
b) ascertaining use time durations of the rechargeable battery packs for possibly using the charger device relating to a charging of the rechargeable battery packs via the charger device [¶73 “In step 796, the BMC 184 is available, and communicates with all available battery modules 390 and/or converters 322, in order to track their usage as assets of the removable vehicle battery system 100. Such asset tracking may include, but is not limited to, locations, tool assignments, remaining energy (e.g., in kWh), operating temperature, signal strength, output voltage, and output current of each of the battery modules 390 and converters 322. In some embodiments, asset tracking may further include tracking of the same or similar parameters for smart devices 510, 520, or 530, or other smart devices including but not limited to other vehicles” where remaining energy in kWh reasonably reads on “use time durations”];
c) determining the at least one use parameter for at least one of the rechargeable battery packs for using the charger device to charge the at least one rechargeable battery pack via the charger device by linking the ascertained state and rated variables and the ascertained use time durations taking into account at least one use limit of the charger device [¶8 “The system where the information regarding the store of energy includes one or more of a quantity of energy, a maximum available current, a maximum available power, or a range of available voltages. The system where the information regarding the usable format includes a at least one of a voltage requirement, a current requirement, or a power requirement”]; and
d) charging the at least one rechargeable battery pack utilizing the charger device in accordance with the determined at least one use parameter [abstract discloses charging of the energy storage module]; wherein at least one of the use time durations comprises and/or corresponds to a residence time duration of at least one of the rechargeable battery packs onboard the means of transport [Takatsuka ¶17 and ¶18 above].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN J INSTONE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859