Status of Application
This action is in reply to the application filed April 13, 2023.
Claims 1-2,4-14 and 16-20 are pending and elected for examination.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular paragraphs (or columns and lines) in the references as applied to Applicant’s claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The prompt development of a clear issue requires that the replies of the Applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims. Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP §2163.06. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. See MPEP §2111.01.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claims 3 & 15 are missing from the original claims. The remaining claims need to be renumbered accordingly.
Claims 1 and 6 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites: instructions that when performed by the monitoring system, cause the monitoring system to: receive data from the plurality of building sensors; analyzing the received data to determine if a fire is present; identify the location of the fire this reflects inconsistent verb forms and appears that the term “analyzing” should be changed to “analyze”
Claim 6 recites: comprising instructions that cause the hazard mitigation robot to receive additional data from one of the plurality of sensors comprises by the hazard mitigation robot after the fire suppressant has been applied the verb comprise appears duplicated with the term “comprises” appearing to be redundantly placed such that the limitation should read without it.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2007/0296570 A1, hereinafter Barrieau.
1. Barrieau teaches A system for detecting and fighting fires, the system comprising: a plurality of building sensors (see at least Barrieau P0007: sensor readings sent back from installed smoke, heat, CO and other alarm devices installed in a building); a monitoring system that receives data from the plurality of building sensors, the monitoring system comprising a receiver and a transmitter (see at least Barrieau P0018: If the smoke level (or other condition) is confirmed as reported, robot 16 can send a verification report to FACP 12 the examiner interprets sending verification reports from the dispatched robot as an example of a receiver and transmitter); a hazard mitigation robot, the robot comprising: a drive system configured to move the robot from a first location to a second location (see at least Barrieau P0006: The method includes detecting a signal from a sensor capable of providing information about local atmospheric conditions in a room, dispatching a mobile robot to a room in which a signal was received from the sensor before a pre-set alarm trip point is reached, and using mobile sensors on the robot to confirm that a hazardous or potentially hazardous condition exists the examiner interprets dispatching of a robot as an example of moving to a second location); a processor (see at least Barrieau P0013: one or more of the functional blocks (e.g., processors or memories) may be implemented); a plurality of sensors; a receiver/transmitter in communication with the monitoring system (see at least Barrieau P0031: FACP 12 communicates with all detection devices 26 at block 102. Robot 16 may also answer attendance and status polls from FACP 12 at block 102 in some configurations); instructions that when performed by the monitoring system, cause the monitoring system to: receive data from the plurality of building sensors; analyzing the received data to determine if a fire is present; identify the location of the fire (see at least Barrieau P0004: a mobile robot addressable and dispatchable by the fire alarm control panel (FACP) to an area indicated by sensors that are detecting a hazardous or potentially hazardous condition. The robot has mobile sensors that are configured to obtain verification of the hazardous or potentially hazardous condition and the robot is further configured to communicate the verification to the FACP); provide instructions to the hazard mitigation robot; instructions that when performed by the processor of the hazard mitigation robot, cause the hazard mitigation robot to: receive navigation instructions from the monitoring system which comprise the location of the fire; navigate to the location of the fire (see at least Barrieau P0025: When dispatched, robot 16 disengages from the wired interfaces 18 and 22 and proceeds as directed. Robot 16, in some configurations, may use the installed fire alarm system 10 as an aid in navigating to a suspected fire source, thus increasing the speed at which robot 16 could travel to the source, and reducing the level of autonomy required of robot 16) ; receive data from a condition sensor; analyze the received condition sensor data and apply a fire suppressant based on the results of the analysis of the received condition sensor data (see at least Barrieau P0024: If heat is present, robot 16 can contact FACP 12 so that an alarm would be initiated. Once inside room 38, robot 16 could extinguish a small fire).
2. Barrieau teaches The system of claim 1, further comprising instructions that cause the hazard mitigation robot to receive data from an occupancy sensor and transmit occupancy data to the monitoring system (see at least Barrieau P0024: robot 16 may be programmed to rouse a sleeping or passed-out occupant 42 the examiner interprets identification for rousing a room occupant as an example of an occupancy sensor).
4. Barrieau teaches The system of claim 2, wherein the hazard mitigation robot further comprises a flame sensor configured to detect the source of a fire (see at least Barrieau P0019: Robot 16 brings additional detection and verification capability right to the source of the hazardous or potentially hazardous condition and P0020: An infrared sensor and/or a carbon monoxide (CO) sensor 39, for example, can be used to find the source of combustion 41).
5. Barrieau teaches The system of claim 4, wherein the hazard mitigation robot applies the fire suppressant using the flame sensor such that the fire suppressant is directed at the source of the flame (see at least Barrieau P0030: locate the fire or smoldering embers, and at block 112, expelling the extinguishing agent from the robot in the direction of the fire or the smoldering embers and Claim 5: a mobile sensor configured to find a source of combustion, and said robot is configured to extinguish the source of combustion using said extinguishing agent).
9. Barrieau teaches The system of claim 1, wherein the hazard mitigation robot transmits sensor information to the monitoring system as the hazard mitigation robot navigates to the location of the fire (see at least Barrieau P0031: FACP 12 communicates with all detection devices 26 at block 102. Robot 16 may also answer attendance and status polls from FACP 12 at block 102 in some configurations and P0016: Mobile fire alarm robot 16 is an addressable component of the fire alarm system, and robot 16 has its own mobile sensors that can be carried from a central, standby location to a location in a building where hazardous or potentially hazardous conditions are sensed).
10. Barrieau teaches The system of claim 9, wherein the monitoring system comprises instructions that when executed, cause the monitoring system to analyze the sensor information transmitted by the hazard mitigation robot, detect a second hazardous condition, and transmit the location of the second hazardous condition to a receiving station (see at least Barrieau P0029: robot 16 can be dispatched back to its standby position at block 111, while FACP 12 continues to monitor signals from the sensors in case subsequent signals from sensor 26 indicate an actual situation that could not be detected by robot 16, or another condition needing robot 16 for confirmation the examiner interprets another condition needing robot 16 for confirmation as an example of a second hazardous condition).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Barrieau + Hofmann
Claims 6, 7, 8, 11 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barrieau in view of US 11,009,877 B2, hereinafter Hofmann.
6. Barrieau teaches The system of claim 1, further comprising instructions that cause the hazard mitigation robot to receive additional data from one of the plurality of sensors comprises by the hazard mitigation robot after the fire suppressant has been applied and transmit fire status data to the monitoring system that indicates the sensor detected a continued presence of one of fire or combustion (see at least Barrieau P0029: mobile sensors on robot 16 are used to confirm that a hazardous or potentially hazardous condition does or does not exist… robot 16 can be dispatched back to its standby position at block 111, while FACP 12 continues to monitor signals from the sensors in case subsequent signals from sensor 26 indicate an actual situation that could not be detected by robot 16, or another condition needing robot 16 for confirmation).
Barrieau teaches continued monitoring for subsequent fires or hazards but does not explicitly teach monitoring after the suppressant is applied. However Hofmann teaches cause the hazard mitigation robot to receive additional data from one of the plurality of sensors comprises by the hazard mitigation robot after the fire suppressant has been applied and transmit fire status data to the monitoring system that indicates the sensor detected a continued presence of one of fire or combustion (see at least Hofmann C26 Ln40: the vehicle can re-detect the fire parameter by means of the vehicle sensor unit. This re-detected fire parameter therefore provides information on whether or not the fire in the fire detector monitoring region has the been extinguished by the extinguishing medium).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Barrieau to incorporate the method of Hofmann in the same field of invention to monitor particularly after the suppressant is applied for the advantage of ensuring combustion is prevented from developing further and can be re-extinguished (see at least Hofmann C26 Ln57).
7. The combination of Barrieau and Hofmann teaches The system of claim 6, further comprising instructions that cause the monitoring system to transmit the continued presence of fire or combustion to a receiving station (see at least Hofmann C25 Ln62: the vehicle is designed and/or configured for transmitting a signal, which represents a triggering point, at which the triggering unit releases the extinguishing medium flow, and/or a triggering period of the released extinguishing medium flow, to a central unit and C26 Ln57: If a fire is not extinguished yet after the discharge of the extinguishing medium, for example, the predefined time period may serve as such a limitation that the combustion process is prevented from developing further until the fire parameter is re-detected. Another advantageous embodiment of the vehicle is characterized in that the vehicle is designed for re-generating the triggering signal such that the triggering unit once again releases an extinguishing medium flow to the nozzle and/or the output connector if the re-detected fire parameter represents a fire, a preliminary fire stage and/or a smoldering fire).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Barrieau to incorporate the method of Hofmann in the same field of invention to monitor and transmit information particularly after the suppressant is applied for the advantage of ensuring combustion is prevented from developing further and can be re-extinguished (see at least Hofmann C26 Ln57).
8. The combination of Barrieau and Hofmann teaches The system of claim 7, comprising instructions that cause the monitoring system to receive instructions from the receiving station that cause the hazard mitigation robot to transmit image data to the receiving station (see at least Barrieau F0024: robot 16 can be equipped with a camera 44 having video or still photography capabilities to record all or some of its actions).
Barrieau does not explicitly teach transmitting the image to the control system. However, Hofmann teaches instructions that cause the monitoring system to receive instructions from the receiving station that cause the hazard mitigation robot to transmit image data to the receiving station (see at least Hofmann C2 Ln49: The fire extinguishing robot can communicate with trapped and injured persons in the region of the fire and transmits video and audio information on the source of the fire to a control, C25 Ln15: The vehicle communication unit may furthermore serve for receiving control signals that are transmitted from the central unit to the vehicle communication unit. The control signals may also serve for at least partially navigating the vehicle to the target location and C25 Ln62: the vehicle is designed and/or configured for transmitting a signal, which represents a triggering point, at which the triggering unit releases the extinguishing medium flow, and/or a triggering period of the released extinguishing medium flow, to a central unit. The signal link, particularly the wireless signal link, between the vehicle and the central unit may be used for this purpose).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Barrieau to incorporate the method of Hofmann in the same field of invention to transmit images for the advantage of processing signals of trigger points at the central unit (see at least Hofmann C26 Ln3).
11. Barrieau teaches A method of mitigating a hazardous condition comprising: receiving from a monitoring system an indication that a first hazardous condition is present (see at least Barrieau P0027: detecting a hazardous or potentially hazardous condition in accordance with at least one embodiment. The FACP 12), the monitoring system comprising a plurality of sensors (see at least Barrieau P0007: sensor readings sent back from installed smoke, heat, CO and other alarm devices installed in a building); determining the location of the first hazardous condition using known locations of the plurality of sensors; providing an instruction to a hazardous condition mitigation robot that notifies the hazardous condition robot of the location of the first hazardous condition; traveling to by the hazardous condition mitigation robot to the location of the first hazardous condition (see at least Barrieau P0006: The method includes detecting a signal from a sensor capable of providing information about local atmospheric conditions in a room, dispatching a mobile robot to a room in which a signal was received from the sensor before a pre-set alarm trip point is reached, and using mobile sensors on the robot to confirm that a hazardous or potentially hazardous condition exists); performing an action by the hazardous condition mitigation robot that reduces the severity of the first hazardous condition (see at least Barrieau P0024: If heat is present, robot 16 can contact FACP 12 so that an alarm would be initiated. Once inside room 38, robot 16 could extinguish a small fire); reporting by the hazardous condition mitigation robot, the severity of the first hazardous condition after performance of the action to reduce the severity of the first hazardous condition (see at least Barrieau P0028: By dispatching robot 16 at this early stage, it may be possible to confirm the existence of a fire at a time when it is less hazardous and can easily be put out, or confirm that there is no fire and avoid having to issue a false alarm).
Barrieau does not explicitly teach monitoring severity after robot action. However Hofmann teaches reporting by the hazardous condition mitigation robot, the severity of the first hazardous condition after performance of the action to reduce the severity of the first hazardous condition (see at least Hofmann C26 Ln40: the vehicle can re-detect the fire parameter by means of the vehicle sensor unit. This re-detected fire parameter therefore provides information on whether or not the fire in the fire detector monitoring region has the been extinguished by the extinguishing medium and C4 Ln19: A fire parameter may basically represent and/or characterize at least one physical and/or chemical property of a combustion process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Barrieau to incorporate the method of Hofmann in the same field of invention to monitor and transmit fire information particularly after the suppressant is applied for the advantage of ensuring combustion is prevented from developing further and can be re-extinguished (see at least Hofmann C26 Ln57).
12. The combination of Barrieau and Hofmann teaches The method of claim 11, wherein the hazardous condition mitigation robot collects data representing conditions along its path of travel and transmits the collected data to the monitoring system fire (see at least Barrieau P0031: FACP 12 communicates with all detection devices 26 at block 102. Robot 16 may also answer attendance and status polls from FACP 12 at block 102 in some configurations and P0016: Mobile fire alarm robot 16 is an addressable component of the fire alarm system, and robot 16 has its own mobile sensors that can be carried from a central, standby location to a location in a building where hazardous or potentially hazardous conditions are sensed).
13. The combination of Barrieau and Hofmann teaches The method of claim 12, wherein the monitoring system analyzes the data transmitted by the hazardous condition mitigation robot representing conditions along its path of travel and provides instructions to the hazardous condition mitigation robot to mitigate a second hazardous condition determined by the analysis of the data (see at least Barrieau P0029: robot 16 can be dispatched back to its standby position at block 111, while FACP 12 continues to monitor signals from the sensors in case subsequent signals from sensor 26 indicate an actual situation that could not be detected by robot 16, or another condition needing robot 16 for confirmation the examiner interprets another condition needing robot 16 for confirmation as an example of a second hazardous condition).
14. The combination of Barrieau and Hofmann teaches The method of claim 11, wherein the hazardous condition mitigation robot determines the source of the first hazardous condition using sensors contained by the hazardous condition mitigation robot (see at least Barrieau P0019: Robot 16 brings additional detection and verification capability right to the source of the hazardous or potentially hazardous condition and P0020: An infrared sensor and/or a carbon monoxide (CO) sensor 39, for example, can be used to find the source of combustion 41).
Barrieau + Baroudi
Claims 16 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barrieau in view of US 2017/0246742 A1, hereinafter Baroudi.
16. Barrieau teaches A system for reducing the severity of a hazardous condition, the system comprising: a monitoring system that receives data from a plurality of building sensors (see at least Barrieau P0007: sensor readings sent back from installed smoke, heat, CO and other alarm devices installed in a building), the monitoring system comprising a receiver and a transmitter (see at least Barrieau P0018: If the smoke level (or other condition) is confirmed as reported, robot 16 can send a verification report to FACP 12 the examiner interprets sending verification reports from the dispatched robot as an example of a receiver and transmitter); a hazard mitigation robot, the robot comprising: a drive system configured to move the robot from a first location to a second location (see at least Barrieau P0006: The method includes detecting a signal from a sensor capable of providing information about local atmospheric conditions in a room, dispatching a mobile robot to a room in which a signal was received from the sensor before a pre-set alarm trip point is reached, and using mobile sensors on the robot to confirm that a hazardous or potentially hazardous condition exists the examiner interprets dispatching of a robot as an example of moving to a second location); a processor (see at least Barrieau P0013: one or more of the functional blocks (e.g., processors or memories) may be implemented); a plurality of sensors; a receiver/transmitter in communication with the monitoring system; a plurality of sensor beacons; a beacon dispenser (see at least Barrieau P0033: robot 16 could activate reed switches along its route to send information to FACP 12 the examiner interprets activation of reed switches as an example of dispensing sensor beacons); instructions that when performed by the monitoring system, cause the monitoring system to: identify a first hazardous condition and determine its location from data received from a plurality of building sensors (see at least Barrieau P0004: a mobile robot addressable and dispatchable by the fire alarm control panel (FACP) to an area indicated by sensors that are detecting a hazardous or potentially hazardous condition. The robot has mobile sensors that are configured to obtain verification of the hazardous or potentially hazardous condition and the robot is further configured to communicate the verification to the FACP); provide instructions to the hazard mitigation robot that cause the processor of the hazard mitigation robot to navigate to the location of the first hazardous condition while receiving data from the plurality of sensors comprised by the hazard mitigation robot (see at least Barrieau P0025: When dispatched, robot 16 disengages from the wired interfaces 18 and 22 and proceeds as directed and Abstract: The robot has mobile sensors that are configured to obtain verification of the hazardous or potentially hazardous condition and the robot is further configured to communicate the verification to the FACP); … instructions that when performed by the monitoring system, cause the monitoring system to: receive data from a deployed sensor beacon comprising the location of the sensor beacon and conditions detected by the sensor beacon (see at least Barrieau P0033: robot 16 could activate reed switches along its route to send information to FACP 12 the examiner interprets activation of reed switches as an example of receiving data from deployed sensor beacons); receive data from the data from the plurality of sensors comprised by the hazard mitigation robot; analyze received data from the deployed sensor beacon and plurality of sensors comprised by the hazard mitigation robot to determine if a second hazardous condition is present; and provide additional instructions to the hazard mitigation robot to cause the hazard mitigation robot to travel to a location of the second hazardous condition (see at least Barrieau P0029: robot 16 can be dispatched back to its standby position at block 111, while FACP 12 continues to monitor signals from the sensors in case subsequent signals from sensor 26 indicate an actual situation that could not be detected by robot 16, or another condition needing robot 16 for confirmation the examiner interprets another condition needing robot 16 for confirmation as an example of a second hazardous condition).
Barrieau does not explicitly teach deploying beacon sensors by the robot. However, Baroudi teaches instructions that when performed by the processor of the hazard mitigation robot, cause the hazard mitigation robot to deploy at least one of the plurality of sensor beacons using the beacon dispenser (see at least Baroudi P0051: in opportunistic-SCAN, the robot explores the intended area and installs the sensors whenever possible and further remains in that region to cover as much of the region as possible);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Barrieau to incorporate the method of Baroudi in the robotic scanning and monitoring field of invention to dispense additional sensor beacons for the advantage of more complete monitoring of hazards in areas where human intervention is difficult (see at least Baroudi P0051).
17. The combination of Barrieau and Baroudi teaches The system of claim 16, further comprising instructions that cause the monitoring system to track the location of the hazard mitigation robot and create a report of conditions detected by the sensors of the hazard mitigation robot as the robot navigates to a location at which a hazardous condition is detected (see at least Barrieau P0028: By dispatching robot 16 at this early stage, it may be possible to confirm the existence of a fire at a time when it is less hazardous and can easily be put out, or confirm that there is no fire and avoid having to issue a false alarm).
18. The combination of Barrieau and Baroudi teaches The system of claim 16, further comprising instructions that cause the hazard mitigation robot to: receive sensor data when the robot is at the location of the first hazardous condition; analyze the received sensor condition to determine if the first hazardous condition is present when the robot arrives at the location of the first hazardous condition (see at least Barrieau P0027: see at least Barrieau P0027: detecting a hazardous or potentially hazardous condition in accordance with at least one embodiment. The FACP 12 detects a signal from a sensor 26 at block 102 and P0028: By dispatching robot 16 at this early stage, it may be possible to confirm the existence of a fire at a time when it is less hazardous and can easily be put out, or confirm that there is no fire and avoid having to issue a false alarm).
Barrieau + Baroudi + Hofmann
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barrieau in view of Baroudi and Hofmann.
19. The combination of Barrieau and Baroudi teaches The system of claim 18, further comprising instructions that cause the hazard mitigation robot to determine if the severity of the first hazardous condition has changed since it was identified by the monitoring system (see at least Barrieau P0028: By dispatching robot 16 at this early stage, it may be possible to confirm the existence of a fire at a time when it is less hazardous and can easily be put out, or confirm that there is no fire and avoid having to issue a false alarm).
Hofmann further teaches severity in a fire parameter by teaching determine if the severity of the first hazardous condition has changed since it was identified by the monitoring system (see at least Hofmann C26 Ln40: the vehicle can re-detect the fire parameter by means of the vehicle sensor unit. This re-detected fire parameter therefore provides information on whether or not the fire in the fire detector monitoring region has the been extinguished by the extinguishing medium and C6 Ln13: the detection of the fire parameter by means of the vehicle sensor unit may be controlled by the vehicle and/or take place continuously or discretely, for example in predefined time intervals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Barrieau and Baroudi to incorporate the method of Hofmann in the same field of invention to monitor particularly after the suppressant is applied for the advantage of ensuring combustion is prevented from developing further and can be re-extinguished (see at least Hofmann C26 Ln57).
20. The combination of Barrieau and Baroudi teaches The system of claim 16, comprising instructions that cause the monitoring system to receive instructions from a receiving station that cause the hazard mitigation robot to transmit image data representing an image of the hazardous condition to the receiving station (see at least Barrieau F0024: robot 16 can be equipped with a camera 44 having video or still photography capabilities to record all or some of its actions).
Barrieau does not explicitly teach transmitting the image to the control system. However, Hofmann teaches cause the hazard mitigation robot to transmit image data representing an image of the hazardous condition to the receiving station (see at least Hofmann C2 Ln49: The fire extinguishing robot can communicate with trapped and injured persons in the region of the fire and transmits video and audio information on the source of the fire to a control, C25 Ln15: The vehicle communication unit may furthermore serve for receiving control signals that are transmitted from the central unit to the vehicle communication unit. The control signals may also serve for at least partially navigating the vehicle to the target location and C25 Ln62: the vehicle is designed and/or configured for transmitting a signal, which represents a triggering point, at which the triggering unit releases the extinguishing medium flow, and/or a triggering period of the released extinguishing medium flow, to a central unit. The signal link, particularly the wireless signal link, between the vehicle and the central unit may be used for this purpose).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Barrieau and Baroudi to incorporate the method of Hofmann in the same field of invention to transmit images for the advantage of processing signals of trigger points at the central unit (see at least Hofmann C26 Ln3).
Conclusion
Related References
The related art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20230233890-A1 by Chandler teaches a home monitoring system for detecting and extinguishing small fires using a machine learning detection system to classify fire embers.
US-20050139363-A1 by Thomas teaches a fire suppression robotic system for building and closed area monitoring and extinguishing.
US-11449064-B1 by Ebrahimi teaches a wheeled fire extinguisher for developing a map of the environment and planning movement throughout the space.
US-20070271011-A1 by Lee teaches a beacon placement system for a robotic map-building system that can move sensor beacons to better map and monitor the space.
Information
ROSE . RIDDER
Examiner
Art Unit 3664
/R.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664