DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has amended the independent claims to recite “votes are cast by selecting one of a plurality of actions provided by a host”. The Examiner notes Paragraph 0041 of Sais explicitly teaches that “choices are generated based on input from the multicasting user” and “During the live multicast session, the multicasting user may solicit from viewer users an action”. Therefore, this limitation is taught by Sais.
Applicant has further amended the independent claims to recite “the casted votes are submitted to a database associated with the selected one of the plurality of actions, and based on the casted votes across a group of voters simultaneously viewing the selected active live stream session”. The Examiner notes that Paragraphs 0023 and 0025 of Sais describe that the social networking system comprises multiple databases to store data from users of the social networking system, which includes the generation and viewing of the live multicast session and the voting event. Paragraphs 0040 and 0042 describe that the viewers cast votes during a voting event of the live multicast session generated by the social networking system. The results/votes are received until the end of the voting period and the result of the votes are calculated and then revealed to all users, therefore the votes are stored and processed in order to generate the result presented to all users. Further, Paragraph 0041 teaches that the voting event is monitored for the duration of the live multicast session, wherein the live multicast session is provided by the multicast client device and viewing simultaneously by the viewing users. Therefore, Sais teaches that “the casted votes are submitted to a database associated with the selected one of the plurality of actions, and based on the casted votes across a group of voters simultaneously viewing the selected active live stream session”. See the updated rejection below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-9 and 15-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-7, 9-10, 13-16, 18 and 20 of copending Application No. 18/134,537 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant application are broader than the claims in the ‘537 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Referring to claims 1 and 3-9 of the instant application, see claims 1, 3-7, 9 and 20 of the ‘537 application.
Referring to claims 15-20 of the instant application, see claims 10, 13-16 and 18 of the ‘537 application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silberman-Sais et al. (U.S. Patent No. 2022/0159314, herein referred to as Sais) in view of Booz et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0279774).
Referring to claim 1, Said discloses selecting a channel display an active live stream session via an application on a user computing device (see Figure 4 and Paragraph 0040 for selecting a live stream channel from a trending list or home page of a website).
Sais also discloses viewing the selected live session (see Paragraph 0041 for viewing the live multicast session in step 404 of Figure 4).
Sais also discloses that based on the viewed selected active live stream session, casting one or more votes by interacting with the application (see Paragraph 0041 and step 404 for allowing users to vote while viewing the live multicast session), wherein the votes are cast by selection one of a plurality of actions provided by a host (see Paragraph 0041 and the Examiner’s rebuttal above) and the casted votes are submitted to a database associated with the selected one of the plurality of actions, and based on the casted votes across a group of voters simultaneously viewing the selected active live stream session (The Examiner notes that Paragraphs 0023 and 0025 of Sais describe that the social networking system comprises multiple databases to store data from users of the social networking system, which includes the generation and viewing of the live multicast session and the voting event. Paragraphs 0040 and 0042 describe that the viewers cast votes during a voting event of the live multicast session generated by the social networking system. The results/votes are received until the end of the voting period and the result of the votes are calculated and then revealed to all users, therefore the votes are stored and processed in order to generate the result presented to all users. Further, Paragraph 0041 teaches that the voting event is monitored for the duration of the live multicast session, wherein the live multicast session is provided by the multicast client device and viewing simultaneously by the viewing users. Therefore, Sais teaches that “the casted votes are submitted to a database associated with the selected one of the plurality of actions, and based on the casted votes across a group of voters simultaneously viewing the selected active live stream session”), determining at least one of the plurality of actions to be performed by the host of the active live stream session (see Paragraphs 0041-0043).
Sais fails to teach that the one or more votes are placed in escrow pending the host performing the actions, wherein upon completion of the action, the one or more votes are released from escrow, converted to tokens and the tokens are provided to the host as a commission.
Booz discloses voting by interacting with the application, submitting the vote to a remote computing network, saving the vote in a database (see Paragraph 0055 and Figure 5).
Booz also discloses that the casted one or more votes are placed in escrow pending the host performing the first of the plurality of actions (see Paragraph 0004 for the system executing multiple smart contracts), and upon completion of the determined at least one of the plurality of actions by the host via the active live stream session, the one or more votes case for the determined at least one of the plurality of actions that is completed configured to become payment to the host as a commission (see Paragraphs 0053 for setting up an escrow and Paragraph 0057 for executing a software module based on the instructions in the smart contract and once the execution has finished and the smart contract 112 has been completed the tokens in escrow are released to the party that provided the service, wherein Paragraph 0021 states that video feeds can be provided to a host device 102 and again note Paragraph 0004 for multiple smart contracts being executed by the system).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the live stream selection system, as taught by Sais, using the voting functionality, as taught by Booz, for the purpose of providing a decentralized public ledger for tracking transactions involving smart self-executing contracts in a publicly transparent publicly verifiable manner (see Paragraph 0002 of Booz).
Referring to claim 3, Sais discloses that one or more votes are cast using a voting device (see client devices 210 in Figure 2).
Referring to claim 4, Booz discloses sending a message to the host (see Paragraphs 0055 and 0059 for communicating with the host device via peer-to-peer messaging).
Referring to claim 5, Booz discloses that the sending occurs with the casting of the one or more votes (see Paragraphs 0055 and 0059 for receiving a vote while communicating with the host device to determine if proposal 508).
Referring to claim 6, Sais discloses receiving a message from the host (see Paragraph 0038 for sending a message from the host to the user regarding if the host will wear a particular dress or eat a hot pepper instead of a salad).
Referring to claim 7, Sais discloses that the receiving occurs while the requested action is completed (see Paragraph 0038 for performing the action based on the decision of the host to perform the action or not).
Referring to claim 8, Sais discloses interacting with the host via a live chat (see Paragraph 0035).
Referring to claim 9, Sais discloses determining at least one of the plurality of requested actions to be performed by a host of the active live stream session is based on meta data in the votes cast (see Paragraph 0042-0043).
Referring to claim 10, Sais discloses that the databased is a cloud based micro-service (see Paragraph 0022).
Referring to claim 11, Sais discloses that the database is centralized (see Paragraphs 0022 and 0024).
Referring to claim 12, Sais discloses that the group consensus telemetry is configured to allow a group of voters to make a decision on an action (see Paragraphs 0026, 0035 and 0039).
Referring to claim 13, Sais discloses that the decision is transformed into reality based on the host and the devices (see Paragraph 0042).
Referring to claim 14, Sais discloses that the group of voters makes a decision based on a series of individual votes that are tallied to determine the determined action (see Paragraphs 0041-0042).
Referring to claims 15-20, see the rejection of claims 1 and 4-8, respectively. In regards to the additional architecture presented in independent claim 10, see Figures 1-2 and Paragraphs 0019-0035.
Conclusion
/Jason Salce/Senior Examiner, Art Unit 2421
Jason P Salce
Senior Examiner
Art Unit 2421
January 14, 2026