DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 9-12 of the remarks, in regards to claim 1, the applicant submits that Park fails to teach or suggest the limitation of “triggering, based on the first sidelink message, a first scheduling request to a network node”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Park discloses at least in paragraphs [0236]-[0258] and Fig. 10, the TX UE may trigger the first SR and the TX UE may trigger the second SR based on the trigger procedure related to SL CSI reporting MAC CE interpreted as first sidelink message. Therefore, Park teaches the above limitation.
On pages 9-12 of the remarks, in regards to claim 1, the applicant submits that Park fails to teach or suggest the limitation of “wherein the first signaling comprises at least one of: first information associated with the first destination”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Park discloses at least in paragraph [0242] and Fig. 10, the TX UE may transmit the first SR for requesting, to the base station, the first resource interpreted as first information. Therefore, Park teaches the above limitation.
On pages 12-15 of the remarks, in regards to claim 10, the applicant submits that Park fails to teach or suggest the limitation of “receiving, from the network node, a second information associated with configuring one or more scheduling request resources for requesting sidelink resources”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Park discloses at least in paragraphs [0070]-[0074], [0236]-[0258] and Figs. 4 &10, the TX UE may obtain the second SR configuration for SL DRX command MAC CE. For example, the TX UE may receive a second SR configuration (e.g., an RRC message including the second SR configuration (e.g., RRC setup message, RRC resume message, RRC suspend message, etc.)) for SL DRX command MAC CE from the base station. Therefore, Park teaches the above limitation.
On pages 12-15 of the remarks, in regards to claim 10, the applicant submits that Park fails to teach or suggest the limitation of “wherein the second information comprises a first scheduling request configuration associated with at least one of: a first destination”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Park discloses at least in paragraphs [0241]-[0242] and Fig. 10, the TX UE may trigger the first SR. For example, the TX UE may trigger the second SR. The TX UE may transmit the first SR for requesting the first resource to the base station (e.g., based on the first SR configuration for SL CSI reporting MAC CE). For example, the TX UE may transmit a second SR for requesting a second resource to the base station (e.g., based on the second SR configuration for the SL DRX command MAC CE). Therefore, Park teaches the above limitation.
On pages 9-15 of the remarks, in regards to dependent claims, the applicant submits that dependent claims are allowable, due to the previously alleged deficiencies of the references as applied to independent claims 1 and 10, as described above.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner kindly directs the applicant to the reasoning detailed above.
Applicant' s arguments, see pages 15-18 of the remarks, filed on 12/30/2025, with respect to 35 U.S.C. § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection or objection of claims 17-20 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 20230156859, Park hereinafter).
As to claim 1: Park discloses a method of a first device configured with a plurality of at least one of carriers or cells for sidelink communication, the method comprising:
determining a first sidelink message for transmission to a first destination associated with a first set of at least one of carriers or cells of the plurality of at least one of carriers or cells (see at least paragraphs [0070]-[0074], [0236]-[0258] and Figs. 4 &10, the TX UE may trigger a procedure related to SL CSI reporting MAC CE (interpreted as first sidelink message). For example, a TX UE may measure a channel state for an RX UE (interpreted as first destination) based on CSI-RS. Where BWP or subcarriers is a set of carriers or cells (see Fig. 4).);
triggering, based on the first sidelink message, a first scheduling request to a network node (see at least paragraphs [0236]-[0241] the TX UE may trigger the first SR and the TX UE may trigger the second SR.); and
upon triggering the first scheduling request based on the first sidelink message, transmitting a first signaling of the first scheduling request to the network node (see at least paragraph [0242] and Fig. 10, the TX UE may transmit the first SR (interpreted as first signaling) for requesting the first resource to the base station. see also Fig. 10 step S1070 is perform after triggering of first and second SR.),
wherein the first signaling comprises at least one of:
first information associated with the first destination (see at least paragraph [0242] and Fig. 10, the TX UE may transmit the first SR for requesting the first resource (interpreted as first information for first destination) to the base station.), or
or second information associated with the first set of at least one of carriers or cells (see at least paragraphs [0070]-[0074] and Fig. 4, BWP or subcarriers (interpreted as second information) is a set of carriers or cells.).
As to claim 2: Park discloses the method of claim 1. Park further discloses wherein at least one of: a first scheduling request configuration associated with at least one of the first destination or the first set of at least one of carriers or cells (see at least paragraph [0242] and Fig. 10, the TX UE may transmit the first SR for requesting the first resource to the base station (e.g., based on the first SR configuration for SL CSI reporting MAC CE).).
As to claim 3: Park discloses the method of claim 1. Park further discloses wherein at least one of: the first sidelink message is a sidelink Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) (see at least paragraph [0243] and Fig. 10, the TX UE may transmit the SL CSI report MAC CE to the RX UE. For example, the TX UE may report channel state information (CSI) to the RX UE based on the SL CSI reporting MAC CE.).
As to claim 4: Park discloses the method of claim 3. Park further discloses wherein at least one of: the method comprises generating the sidelink report based on at least one of a measurement or a sensing result associated with a first sidelink resource pool in at least one of a first carrier or a first cell of the first set of at least one of carriers or cells (see at least paragraphs [0240]-[0243] and Fig. 10, the TX UE may transmit the SL CSI report MAC CE to the RX UE. For example, the TX UE may report channel state information (CSI) to the RX UE based on the SL CSI reporting MAC CE based on measurement of a channel state for an RX UE based on CSI-RS.); or
the first sidelink message comprises the sidelink report and at least one of: information associated with at least one of the first carrier or the first cell; or information associated with the first sidelink resource pool (see at least paragraphs [0070]-[0074] and Fig. 4, BWP or subcarriers is a set of carriers or cells.).
As to claim 5: Park discloses the method of claim 1. Park further discloses wherein at least one of: the first set of at least one of carriers or cells comprises at least one of a first carrier or a first cell (see at least paragraphs [0070]-[0074], [0236]-[0258] and Figs. 4 &10, BWP or subcarriers is a set of carriers or cells (see Fig. 4).).
As to claim 6: Park discloses the method of claim 1. Park further discloses wherein: at least one of triggering the first scheduling request or transmitting the first signaling is performed based on the first device not having one or more available sidelink resources for transmitting the first sidelink message to the first destination (see at least paragraph [0241] the TX UE may trigger the first SR and the TX UE may trigger the second SR.).
As to claim 7: Park discloses the method of claim 1. Park further discloses comprising: determining a second sidelink message for transmission to a second destination associated with a second set of at least one of carriers or cells (see at least paragraphs [0070]-[0074], [0236]-[0258] and Figs. 4 &10, the TX UE may trigger a procedure related to SL CSI reporting MAC CE (interpreted as first message). For example, a TX UE may measure a channel state for an RX UE (interpreted as first destination) based on CSI-RS. Where BWP or subcarriers is a set of carriers or cells (see Fig. 4).);
triggering, based on the second sidelink message, a second scheduling request to the network node (see at least paragraph [0241] the TX UE may trigger the first SR and the TX UE may trigger the second SR.); and
transmitting a second signaling of the second scheduling request to the network node (see at least paragraph [0242] and Fig. 10, the TX UE may transmit the first SR (interpreted as first signaling) for requesting the first resource to the base station.), wherein the second signaling comprises at least one of: third information associated with the second destination (see at least paragraph [0242] and Fig. 10, the TX UE may transmit the first SR for requesting the first resource (interpreted as first information for first destination) to the base station.); or fourth information associated with the second set of at least one of carriers or cells (see at least paragraphs [0070]-[0074] and Fig. 4, BWP or subcarriers (interpreted as second information) is a set of carriers or cells.).
As to claim 8: Park discloses the method of claim 7. Park further discloses wherein at least one of: the method comprises determining a second uplink resource of the second signaling based on at least one of: the second destination (see at least paragraph [0242] and Fig. 10, the TX UE may transmit a second SR for requesting a second resource to the base station (e.g., based on the second SR configuration for the SL DRX command MAC CE).).
As to claim 9: Park discloses the method of claim 1. Park further discloses comprising: determining a sidelink buffer status report for transmission to the network node (see at least paragraph [0231], a TX UE may trigger a BSR.);
triggering, based on the sidelink buffer status report, a third scheduling request to the network node (see at least paragraph [0231], TX UE may trigger SR to be allocated BSR MAC CE transmission resources.); and
transmitting a third signaling of the third scheduling request to the network node, wherein the third signaling does not comprise information associated with at least one of carriers or cells (see at least paragraph [0231], TX UE may transmit the SR to the base station. The base station may allocate mode 1 resources to the TX UE based on the BSR.).
As to claim 10: Park discloses a method of a first device, the method comprising:
receiving, from a network node, first information associated with configuring a plurality of at least one of carriers or cells for sidelink communication (see at least paragraphs [0070]-[0074], [0236]-[0258] and Figs. 4 &10, a TX UE may obtain a first SR (scheduling request) configuration for SL CSI reporting MAC CE. For example, the TX UE receives a first SR configuration for SL CSI reporting MAC CE (e.g., an RRC message including the first SR configuration (e.g., RRC setup message, RRC resume message, RRC suspend message)) from the base station. Where BWP or subcarriers is a set of carriers or cells (see Fig. 4).);
receiving, from the network node, a second information associated with configuring one or more scheduling request resources for requesting sidelink resources (see at least paragraphs [0070]-[0074], [0236]-[0258] and Figs. 4 &10, the TX UE may obtain the second SR configuration for SL DRX command MAC CE. For example, the TX UE may receive a second SR configuration (e.g., an RRC message including the second SR configuration (e.g., RRC setup message, RRC resume message, RRC suspend message, etc.)) for SL DRX command MAC CE from the base station.),
wherein the second information comprises a first scheduling request configuration associated with at least one of: a first destination (see at least paragraphs [0241]-[0242] and Fig. 10, the TX UE may trigger the first SR. For example, the TX UE may trigger the second SR. The TX UE may transmit the first SR for requesting the first resource to the base station (e.g., based on the first SR configuration for SL CSI reporting MAC CE). For example, the TX UE may transmit a second SR for requesting a second resource to the base station (e.g., based on the second SR configuration for the SL DRX command MAC CE).), or a first set of at least one of carriers or cells of the plurality of at least one of carriers or cells (see at least paragraphs [0070]-[0074] and Fig. 4, BWP or subcarriers is a set of carriers or cells.);
when the first device has a first sidelink Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) available for transmission on at least one of a carrier or a cell of the first set of at least one of carriers or cells to the first destination (see at least paragraphs [0070]-[0074], [0236]-[0258] and Figs. 4 &10, the TX UE may trigger a procedure related to SL CSI reporting MAC CE (interpreted as first sidelink Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) available for transmission). For example, a TX UE may measure a channel state for an RX UE (interpreted as first destination) based on CSI-RS. Where BWP or subcarriers is a set of carriers or cells (see Fig. 4),
transmitting, using the first scheduling request configuration, a first signaling of a first scheduling request to the network node (see at least paragraph [0242] and Fig. 10, the TX UE may transmit the first SR for requesting the first resource to the base station.);
receiving, from the network node, a sidelink grant scheduling a first sidelink resource on at least one of a first carrier or a first cell of the first set of at least one of carriers or cells (see at least paragraph [0242] and Fig. 10, the TX UE may receive information related to the first resource from the base station (e.g., based on sidelink resource allocation mode 1 OR the TX UE may receive information related to the second resource from the base station (e.g., based on sidelink resource allocation mode 1).); and
transmitting the first sidelink MAC CE to the first destination on the first sidelink resource (see at least paragraph [0243] and Fig. 10, the TX UE may transmit the SL CSI report MAC CE to the RX UE. For example, the TX UE may report channel state information (CSI) to the RX UE based on the SL CSI reporting MAC CE.).
As to claim 11: Park discloses the method of claim 10. Park further discloses wherein at least one of: the first information comprises at least one of a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message or first system information; the first information is broadcasted by the network node (see at least paragraph [0236], a TX UE may obtain a first SR (scheduling request) configuration for SL CSI reporting MAC CE. For example, the TX UE receives a first SR configuration for SL CSI reporting MAC CE (e.g., an RRC message including the first SR configuration (e.g., RRC setup message, RRC resume message, RRC suspend message)) from the base station.).
As to claim 12: Park discloses the method of claim 10. Park further discloses wherein at least one of: the first sidelink MAC CE comprises at least one of a sidelink report, a sidelink request, or a sidelink command; or the first sidelink MAC CE comprises at least one of a sidelink Channel State Information (CSI) report (see at least paragraph [0243] and Fig. 10, the TX UE may transmit the SL CSI report MAC CE to the RX UE. For example, the TX UE may report channel state information (CSI) to the RX UE based on the SL CSI reporting MAC CE.).
As to claim 13: Park discloses the method of claim 12. Park further discloses wherein at least one of: the method comprises generating the sidelink report based on at least one of a measurement or a sensing result associated with a first sidelink resource pool in at least one of a second carrier or a second cell of the first set of at least one of carriers or cells (see at least paragraphs [0240]-[0243] and Fig. 10, the TX UE may transmit the SL CSI report MAC CE to the RX UE. For example, the TX UE may report channel state information (CSI) to the RX UE based on the SL CSI reporting MAC CE based on measurement of a channel state for an RX UE based on CSI-RS.).
As to claim 14: Park discloses the method of claim 10. Park further discloses wherein at least one of: the first destination is associated with the first set of at least one of carriers or cells (see at least paragraphs [0070]-[0074], [0236]-[0258] and Figs. 4 &10, RX UE is associated with BWP or subcarriers is a set of carriers or cells.).
As to claim 15: Park discloses the method of claim 10. Park further discloses wherein: transmitting the first signaling is performed based on the first device not having one or more available sidelink resources for transmitting the first sidelink MAC CE to the first destination (see at least paragraph [0241] the TX UE may trigger the first SR and the TX UE may trigger the second SR.).
As to claim 16: Park discloses the method of claim 10. Park further discloses comprising: determining a sidelink buffer status report for transmission to the network node (see at least paragraph [0231], a TX UE may trigger a BSR.); and in response to the sidelink buffer status report, transmitting, using a third scheduling request configuration, a third signaling of a third scheduling request to the network node (see at least paragraph [0231], TX UE may trigger SR to be allocated BSR MAC CE transmission resources.), wherein the third signaling is not associated with at least one of a destination, carriers or cells (see at least paragraph [0231], TX UE may transmit the SR to the base station. The base station may allocate mode 1 resources to the TX UE based on the BSR.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K. J./
Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464