DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application filed 01/15/2026.
Claim 1-20 is pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 10-11, 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsui (US 2022/0279535 A1) in view of Babaei et al. (US 11,765,555 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Tsui discloses a cellular network system for collecting data regarding operations in the cellular network ([0152]: the system 162a may be configured to perform additional adjustments to the DL transmit power for the UE 501 and/or perform adjustments to the DL transmit power for the UE 503, based on measurement data (e.g., provided by the UE 503). For instance, in a case where measurement data indicates a decrease in signal quality), the cellular network system comprising:
a core network ([0051]: the system 160 may include a RAN 162a communicatively coupled to a core network 190. The core network 190 can include a 5G network, an evolved packet core (EPC) network);
a plurality of cell sites ([0575]: The embodiments (e.g., in connection with automatically identifying acquired cell sites that provide a maximum value/benefit after addition to an existing communications network) can employ various AI-based schemes for carrying out various embodiments thereof. Moreover, the classifier can be employed to determine a ranking or priority of each cell site of the acquired network);
a series of clusters comprising a first cluster and a second cluster ([0107]: the vDUs 166c (or vCU 174a or RIC portion(s) 164a-1, 2) may cluster the obtained SRS data, and process the SRS data for one or more (e.g., each) of the PRBs 540, which may involve cross-correlating the SRS data with known reference tones),
wherein the first cluster comprises: a distributed unit (DU) configured to transmit a first plurality of data transport streams to a plurality of network components, the transmission of the data transport streams occurring in parallel ([0148]: the RU/DU and the RIC/CU, etc. may allow a resident DU scheduler to accept inputs and take affirmative actions to incorporate the parallelism afforded by Mu-MIMO scheduling opportunities identified by the RIC from all sources. [0166]: the system 162a (e.g., the vDUs 166a and/or the vCUs 174a) may adjust the number of parallel streams (e.g., that overlap in frequency and time) or existing connections for a group of UEs in Mu-MIMO mode based on measurements relating to channel quality of individual UEs in the group of UEs. [0221]: obtaining, by a cluster of virtual distributed units (vDUs) including a plurality of processors, pilot signals from each antenna element of each modular antenna array of a combination of coherent modular antenna arrays);
wherein the second cluster comprises: a central unit (CU) configured to transmit a second plurality of data transport streams to the plurality of network components, the transmission of the data transport streams occurring in parallel ([0052]: The RIC 164a may include a RIC portion 164a-2 having a control or centralized unit (CU) 174a (e.g., a base station CU, such as a gNodeB (gNB) CU or the like) that provides a CU applications layer 176a as well as a CU control plane CU-CP and a CU user plane CU-UP (e.g., represented as CU-CP & CU-UP 178a. [0166]: the system 162a (e.g., the vDUs 166a and/or the vCUs 174a) may adjust the number of parallel streams (e.g., that overlap in frequency and time) or existing connections for a group of UEs in Mu-MIMO mode);
at least one processor; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory having computer-executable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the cellular network system to: generate the series of clusters based on the plurality of cell sites, wherein at least one DU or at least one CU are associated with each cell site of the plurality of cell sites ([0107]: the vDUs 166c (or vCU 174a or RIC portion(s) 164a-1, 2) may cluster the obtained SRS data, and process the SRS data for one or more (e.g., each) of the PRBs 540, which may involve cross-correlating the SRS data with known reference tones. As depicted, each array/panel may be associated with a set of PRBs 540 (e.g., 16 in a case where an array/panel supports 16 layers. [0153]: identify whether pilots may be reused, which can increase orthogonality, avoid pilot contamination amongst a cluster of cells, and/or avoid inter-base station DL and UL interference in a cluster of cells in which Mu-MIMO, for example, may be employed. [0166]: the system 162a (e.g., the vDUs 166a and/or the vCUs 174a) may adjust the number of parallel streams (e.g., that overlap in frequency and time) or existing connections for a group of UEs in Mu-MIMO mode based on measurements relating to channel quality of individual UEs in the group of UEs).
However, Tsui does not disclose a first data transport stream of the first plurality of data transport streams transmitting a first set of data from the DU to the first network component of the plurality of network components; and a second data transport stream of the first plurality of data transport streams transmitting a second set of data from the DU to a second network component of the plurality of network components, wherein the first set of data includes the same data as the second set of data, such that the same data included in the first set of data and the second set of data are transmitted to the first network component and the second network component in parallel; and a third data transport stream of the second plurality of data transport streams transmitting a third set of data from the CU to a third network component of the plurality of network components; and a fourth data transport stream of the second plurality of data transport streams transmitting a fourth set of data from the CU to a fourth network component of the plurality of network components, wherein the third set of data includes the same data as the fourth set of data, such that the same data included in the first set of data and the second set of data are transmitted to the first network component and the second network component in parallel.
In an analogous art, Babaei discloses a first data transport stream of the first plurality of data transport streams transmitting a first set of data from the DU to the first network component of the plurality of network components; and a second data transport stream of the first plurality of data transport streams transmitting a second set of data from the DU to a second network component of the plurality of network components, wherein the first set of data includes the same data as the second set of data, such that the same data included in the first set of data and the second set of data are transmitted to the first network component and the second network component in parallel (fig. 21B, column 27, 27-30: PDCP duplication and multi-connectivity with a common PDCP for all UEs in one DU. Column 29, 44-49: the gNB may establish a first MAC entity associated with the first RLC entity at the first DU and a second MAC entity associated with the second RLC entity at the second DU. The first MAC entity may perform scheduling functions for one or more first UEs served by the first DU); and a third data transport stream of the second plurality of data transport streams transmitting a third set of data from the CU to a third network component of the plurality of network components; and a fourth data transport stream of the second plurality of data transport streams transmitting a fourth set of data from the CU to a fourth network component of the plurality of network components, wherein the third set of data includes the same data as the fourth set of data, such that the same data included in the third set of data and the fourth set of data are transmitted to the first network component and the second network component in parallel (column 26, 63-67: A common PDCP may be configured per MRB and the PDCP within CU of a gNB may duplicate PDCP service data units (SDUs) associated with a MBS service flow to all DUs. Column 28, 54-59: The PDCP entity at the CU may utilize a PDCP duplication process to generate a PDCP PDU and a duplicate of the PDCP PDU. The PDCP entity at the CU may forward the PDCP PDU associated with the MRB to the first DU and the duplicate of the PDCP PDU to the second DU (e.g. same data). The forwarding of the PDCP PDUs to the DUs may be based on F1 interfaces between the CU and the Dus).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Tsui to comprise “a first data transport stream of the first plurality of data transport streams transmitting a first set of data from the DU to the first network component of the plurality of network components; and a second data transport stream of the first plurality of data transport streams transmitting a second set of data from the DU to a second network component of the plurality of network components, wherein the first set of data includes the same data as the second set of data; and a third data transport stream of the second plurality of data transport streams transmitting a third set of data from the CU to a third network component of the plurality of network components; and a fourth data transport stream of the second plurality of data transport streams transmitting a fourth set of data from the CU to a fourth network component of the plurality of network components, wherein the third set of data includes the same data as the fourth set of data” taught by Babaei.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it would have enabled a common PDCP to be configured for transmission of multicast data associated with an multicast MRB (Babaei, column 27, 4-9).
Regarding claim 3, Tsui-Babaei discloses the cellular network system of claim 1, wherein the first data transport stream and second data transport stream are separate from each other and are independent from each other (Babaei, fig. 21B, column 27, 27-30: PDCP duplication and multi-connectivity with a common PDCP for all UEs in one DU (i.e. separate streams). The same rationale applies as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Tsui-Babaei discloses the cellular network system of claim 1, wherein the first and second data transport streams are scraping data and metrics from the DU, and wherein the third and fourth data transport streams are scraping data and metrics from the CU (Babaei, column 28, 38-45: The configuration parameters of the MRB may comprise one or more of an MRB identifier, parameters associated with the quality of service (QoS) requirements of the MRB, security parameters, PDCP configuration parameters associated with the MRB, etc. The UE may receive the configuration parameters from a base station (gNB) that comprises a central unit (CU) and a plurality of distributed units (DUs) comprising a first DU and a second DU). The same rationale applies as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Tsui discloses method for operations in a cellular network system for collecting data on the cellular network system ([0152]: the system 162a may be configured to perform additional adjustments to the DL transmit power for the UE 501 and/or perform adjustments to the DL transmit power for the UE 503, based on measurement data (e.g., provided by the UE 503). For instance, in a case where measurement data indicates a decrease in signal quality), the method comprising:
identifying a plurality of cell sites ([0576]: the classifier(s) can be used to automatically learn and perform a number of functions, including but not limited to determining according to predetermined criteria which of the acquired cell sites will benefit a maximum number of subscribers and/or which of the acquired cell sites will add minimum value to the existing communications network coverage, etc.);
generating one or more clusters based on the plurality of cell sites, wherein each cluster comprises at least one distributed unit (DU) configured to transmit a first plurality of data transport streams to a plurality of network components, the transmission of the data transport streams occurring in parallel or at least one central unit (CU), the at least one DU or at least one CU being associated with a cell site of the plurality of cell sites ([0107]: the vDUs 166c (or vCU 174a or RIC portion(s) 164a-1, 2) may cluster the obtained SRS data, and process the SRS data for one or more (e.g., each) of the PRBs 540, which may involve cross-correlating the SRS data with known reference tones. As depicted, each array/panel may be associated with a set of PRBs 540 (e.g., 16 in a case where an array/panel supports 16 layers. [0153]: identify whether pilots may be reused, which can increase orthogonality, avoid pilot contamination amongst a cluster of cells, and/or avoid inter-base station DL and UL interference in a cluster of cells in which Mu-MIMO, for example, may be employed. [0166]: the system 162a (e.g., the vDUs 166a and/or the vCUs 174a) may adjust the number of parallel streams (e.g., that overlap in frequency and time) or existing connections for a group of UEs in Mu-MIMO mode based on measurements relating to channel quality of individual UEs in the group of UEs).
However, Tsui does not disclose transmitting, via a first data transport stream of the first plurality of data transport streams, a first set of data from a DU to a first network component and, via a second data transport stream of the first plurality of data transport streams, a second set of data from the DU to a second network component, wherein the first set of data includes the same data as the second set of data, such that the same data included in the first set of data and the second set of data area transmitted to the first network component and the second network component in parallel; and transmitting, via a third data transport stream, a third set of data from a CU and, via a fourth data transport stream, a fourth set of data from the CU, wherein the third set of data includes the same data as the fourth set of data, such that the same data included in the third set of data and fourth set of data are transmitted to a third network component and a fourth network component in parallel.
In an analogous art, Babaei discloses transmitting, via a first data transport stream of the first plurality of data transport streams, a first set of data from a DU to a first network component and, via a second data transport stream of the first plurality of data transport streams, a second set of data from the DU to a second network component, wherein the first set of data includes the same data as the second set of data, such that the same data included in the first set of data and the second set of data area transmitted to the first network component and the second network component in parallel (fig. 21B, column 27, 27-30: PDCP duplication and multi-connectivity with a common PDCP for all UEs in one DU. Column 29, 44-49: the gNB may establish a first MAC entity associated with the first RLC entity at the first DU and a second MAC entity associated with the second RLC entity at the second DU. The first MAC entity may perform scheduling functions for one or more first UEs served by the first DU); transmitting, via a third data transport stream, a third set of data from a CU and, via a fourth data transport stream, a fourth set of data from the CU, wherein the third set of data includes the same data as the fourth set of data, such that the same data included in the third set of data and fourth set of data are transmitted to a third network component and a fourth network component in parallel (column 26, 63-67: A common PDCP may be configured per MRB and the PDCP within CU of a gNB may duplicate PDCP service data units (SDUs) associated with a MBS service flow to all DUs. Column 28, 54-59: The PDCP entity at the CU may utilize a PDCP duplication process to generate a PDCP PDU and a duplicate of the PDCP PDU. The PDCP entity at the CU may forward the PDCP PDU associated with the MRB to the first DU and the duplicate of the PDCP PDU to the second DU (e.g. same data). The forwarding of the PDCP PDUs to the DUs may be based on F1 interfaces between the CU and the Dus).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Tsui to comprise “transmitting, via a first data transport stream of the first plurality of data transport streams, a first set of data from a DU to a first network component and, via a second data transport stream of the first plurality of data transport streams, a second set of data from the DU to a second network component, wherein the first set of data includes the same data as the second set of data, such that the same data included in the first set of data and the second set of data area transmitted to the first network component and the second network component in parallel” taught by Babaei.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it would have enabled a common PDCP to be configured for transmission of multicast data associated with an multicast MRB (Babaei, column 27, 4-9).
Regarding claim 11, Tsui-Babaei discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the first data transport stream and second data transport stream are separate from each other and are independent from each other (Babaei, fig. 21B, column 27, 27-30: PDCP duplication and multi-connectivity with a common PDCP for all UEs in one DU. Column 29, 44-49: the gNB may establish a first MAC entity associated with the first RLC entity at the first DU and a second MAC entity associated with the second RLC entity at the second DU. The first MAC entity may perform scheduling functions for one or more first UEs served by the first DU). The same rationale applies as in claim 10.
Regarding claim 15, Tsui discloses a cellular network system for collecting data regarding operations in the cellular network ([0152]: the system 162a may be configured to perform additional adjustments to the DL transmit power for the UE 501 and/or perform adjustments to the DL transmit power for the UE 503, based on measurement data (e.g., provided by the UE 503). For instance, in a case where measurement data indicates a decrease in signal quality), the cellular network system comprising:
a plurality of cell sites ([0575]: The embodiments (e.g., in connection with automatically identifying acquired cell sites that provide a maximum value/benefit after addition to an existing communications network) can employ various AI-based schemes for carrying out various embodiments thereof. Moreover, the classifier can be employed to determine a ranking or priority of each cell site of the acquired network);
a series of clusters comprising a first cluster and a second cluster ([0107]: the vDUs 166c (or vCU 174a or RIC portion(s) 164a-1, 2) may cluster the obtained SRS data, and process the SRS data for one or more (e.g., each) of the PRBs 540, which may involve cross-correlating the SRS data with known reference tones), wherein the first cluster comprises:
a distributed unit (DU) configured to transmit a first plurality of data transport streams to a plurality of network components, the transmission of the data transport streams occurring in parallel ([0148]: the RU/DU and the RIC/CU, etc. may allow a resident DU scheduler to accept inputs and take affirmative actions to incorporate the parallelism afforded by Mu-MIMO scheduling opportunities identified by the RIC from all sources. [0166]: the system 162a (e.g., the vDUs 166a and/or the vCUs 174a) may adjust the number of parallel streams (e.g., that overlap in frequency and time) or existing connections for a group of UEs in Mu-MIMO mode based on measurements relating to channel quality of individual UEs in the group of UEs. [0221]: obtaining, by a cluster of virtual distributed units (vDUs) including a plurality of processors, pilot signals from each antenna element of each modular antenna array of a combination of coherent modular antenna arrays); and
at least one processor; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory having computer- executable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the cellular network system to: generate the series of clusters based on the plurality of cell sites, wherein at least one DU is associated with one or more cell sites of the plurality of cell sites ([0107]: the vDUs 166c (or vCU 174a or RIC portion(s) 164a-1, 2) may cluster the obtained SRS data, and process the SRS data for one or more (e.g., each) of the PRBs 540, which may involve cross-correlating the SRS data with known reference tones. As depicted, each array/panel may be associated with a set of PRBs 540 (e.g., 16 in a case where an array/panel supports 16 layers. [0153]: identify whether pilots may be reused, which can increase orthogonality, avoid pilot contamination amongst a cluster of cells, and/or avoid inter-base station DL and UL interference in a cluster of cells in which Mu-MIMO, for example, may be employed. [0166]: the system 162a (e.g., the vDUs 166a and/or the vCUs 174a) may adjust the number of parallel streams (e.g., that overlap in frequency and time) or existing connections for a group of UEs in Mu-MIMO mode based on measurements relating to channel quality of individual UEs in the group of UEs).
However, Tsui does not disclose a first data transport stream of the first plurality of data transport streams transmitting a first set of data from the DU to a first network component; and a second data transport stream of the first plurality of data transport streams transmitting a second set of data from the DU, wherein the first set of data includes the same data as the second set of data to a second network component, such that the same data included in the first set of data and the second set of data are transmitted to the first network component and the second network component in parallel.
In an analogous art, Babaei discloses a first data transport stream of the first plurality of data transport streams transmitting a first set of data from the DU to a first network component; and a second data transport stream of the first plurality of data transport streams transmitting a second set of data from the DU, wherein the first set of data includes the same data as the second set of data to a second network component, such that the same data included in the first set of data and the second set of data are transmitted to the first network component and the second network component in parallel (fig. 21B, column 27, 27-30: PDCP duplication and multi-connectivity with a common PDCP for all UEs in one DU. Column 29, 44-49: the gNB may establish a first MAC entity associated with the first RLC entity at the first DU and a second MAC entity associated with the second RLC entity at the second DU. The first MAC entity may perform scheduling functions for one or more first UEs served by the first DU. column 26, 63-67: PDCP entity at the CU may forward the PDCP PDU associated with the MRB to the first DU and the duplicate of the PDCP PDU to the second DU (e.g. same data). The forwarding of the PDCP PDUs to the DUs may be based on F1 interfaces between the CU and the Dus).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Tsui to comprise “a first data transport stream of the first plurality of data transport streams transmitting a first set of data from the DU to a first network component; and a second data transport stream of the first plurality of data transport streams transmitting a second set of data from the DU, wherein the first set of data includes the same data as the second set of data to a second network component, such that the same data included in the first set of data and the second set of data are transmitted to the first network component and the second network component in parallel” taught by Babaei.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it would have enabled a common PDCP to be configured for transmission of multicast data associated with an multicast MRB (Babaei, column 27, 4-9).
Regarding claim 16, Tsui-Babaei discloses the cellular network system of claim 15. Tsui discloses wherein the second cluster comprises a central unit (CU) ([0052]: The RIC 164a may include a RIC portion 164a-2 having a control or centralized unit (CU) 174a (e.g., a base station CU, such as a gNodeB (gNB) CU or the like) that provides a CU applications layer 176a as well as a CU control plane CU-CP and a CU user plane CU-UP (e.g., represented as CU-CP & CU-UP 178a. [0166]: the system 162a (e.g., the vDUs 166a and/or the vCUs 174a) may adjust the number of parallel streams (e.g., that overlap in frequency and time) or existing connections for a group of UEs in Mu-MIMO mode).
In an analogous art, Babaei discloses wherein the cellular network system further comprises a third data transport stream transmitting a third set of data from the CU; and a fourth data transport stream transmitting a fourth set of data from the CU, wherein the third set of data includes the same data as the fourth set of data (column 26, 63-67: A common PDCP may be configured per MRB and the PDCP within CU of a gNB may duplicate PDCP service data units (SDUs) associated with a MBS service flow to all DUs. Column 28, 54-59: The PDCP entity at the CU may utilize a PDCP duplication process to generate a PDCP PDU and a duplicate of the PDCP PDU. The PDCP entity at the CU may forward the PDCP PDU associated with the MRB to the first DU and the duplicate of the PDCP PDU to the second DU (e.g. same data). The forwarding of the PDCP PDUs to the DUs may be based on F1 interfaces between the CU and the Dus).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Tsui to comprise “wherein the cellular network system further comprises a third data transport stream transmitting a third set of data from the CU; and a fourth data transport stream transmitting a fourth set of data from the CU, wherein the third set of data includes the same data as the fourth set of data.” taught by Babaei.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it would have enabled a common PDCP to be configured for transmission of multicast data associated with an multicast MRB (Babaei, column 27, 4-9).
Regarding claim 17; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Claims 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsui in view of Babaei, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Ranganath et al. (US 2024/0259879 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Tsui-Babaei discloses the cellular network system of claim 1.
However, Tsui-Babaei does not disclose wherein the series of clusters are Kubernetes clusters.
In an analogous art, Ranganath discloses wherein the series of clusters are Kubernetes clusters ([0053]: For example, individual RANFs and/or CU/DU/RU functions may be operated within individual VMs 3c31 and/or containers 3c33 (e.g. clusters). [0305]: using a suitable OS-level virtualization technology such as Docker® containers, Kubernetes® containers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Tsui-Babaei to comprise “wherein the series of clusters are Kubernetes clusters” taught by Ranganath.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it would have enabled analysis of platform telemetry data as well as measurements collected by user equipment and access network infrastructure elements (Ranganath, [0023]).
Claims 5, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsui in view of Babaei, as applied to claims 1 and 15, in further view of Sambandan et al. (US 2023/0101566 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Tsui-Babaei discloses the cellular network system of claim 1.
However, Tsui-Babaei does not disclose wherein the DU is in a private network, and the CU is in a public network.
In an analogous art, Sambandan discloses wherein the DU is in a private network ([0086]: any virtual entity needed to provide the wireless service at the site using the private radio access network comprises at least one of: a 5G NR central unit (CU); and a 5G NR distributed unit (DU), and the CU is in a public network. ([0027]: each CU 132 is configured to communicate with the 5G core network (not shown) of the associated wireless operator using an appropriate backhaul network (typically, a public wide area network 122 such as the Internet).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Tsui-Babaei to comprise “wherein the DU is in a private network, and the CU is in a public network” taught by Sambandan.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it would have enabled a private enterprise to subscribe to wireless service provided at a site of the private enterprise using a private radio access network comprising one or more physical entities deployed at the site (Sambandan, [0003]).
Regarding claim 18; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsui in view of Babaei, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Cao et al. (US 2023/0189057 A1)
Regarding claim 6, Tsui-Babaei discloses the cellular network system of claim 1.
However, Tsui-Babaei does not disclose wherein the first and second data streams transmit data from the DU to a networked data center (NDC).
In an analogous art, Cao discloses wherein the first and second data streams transmit data from the DU to a networked data center (NDC) ([0086]: the radio access intelligent controller subscribes to required performance data from the DU based on a traffic steering policy requirement, and calculates QoE of UE on the current radio access network device based on the performance data obtained from the DU).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Tsui-Babaei to comprise “wherein the first and second data streams transmit data from the DU to a networked data center (NDC)” taught by Cao.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it would have enabled to provide traffic steering in order to improve user experience (Cao, [0005]).
Regarding claim 19; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Claims 7-9, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsui in view of Babaei in view of Cao, as applied to claim 6, in view of Yeh et al. (US 2022/0014963 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Tsui-Babaei-Cao discloses the cellular network system of claim 6.
However, Tsui-Babaei-Cao does not disclose wherein there are a same amount of data streams streaming data from the DU that there are applications in the NDC requesting such data.
In an analogous art, Yeh discloses wherein there are a same amount of data streams streaming data from the DU that there are applications in the NDC requesting such data ([0267]: MEC service architecture 1900 includes the MEC service 1905, ME platform 1910 (corresponding to MEC platform 1832), and applications (Apps) 1 to N (where N is a number). As an example, the App 1 may be a CDN app/service hosting 1 to n sessions (where n is a number that is the same or different than N).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Tsui-Babaei-Cao to comprise “wherein there are a same amount of data streams streaming data from the DU that there are applications in the NDC requesting such data” taught by Yeh.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it would have enabled to trigger a traffic management strategy update based on the measurements obtained from a distributed unit (DU) (Yeh, [0067], [0068]).
Regarding claim 8, Tsui-Babaei-Cao-Yeh discloses the cellular network system of claim 7, wherein the first data stream is used for observability (Cao, [0073]: The TS function determines, based on the obtained performance information corresponding to the service flows of the plurality of terminal devices that have accessed the current radio access network device, terminal devices whose performance information does not meet a requirement or actual quality of experience does not meet target quality of experience, so as to determine a set of identifiers of the terminal devices that need to be handed over to another radio access network device) and the second data stream is used for analytics (Cao, [0080]: The QP function receives the second response message, and calculates, based on the performance data information in the second response message, service quality of experience of a service flow corresponding to the terminal device that needs to be handed over to another radio access network device). The same rationale applies as in claim 1.
Regarding 9, Tsui-Babaei-Cao-Yeh discloses the cellular network system of claim 7, wherein the third and fourth data streams transmit data from the CU to the NDC (Cao, [0056]: Radio access intelligent controller: controls and optimizes RAN functional network elements such as the CU-CP and resources based on data collection and operation instructions over R2/R3/R4 interfaces). The same rationale applies as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 20; the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsui in view of Babaei, as applied to claims 10, in further view of Sambandan et al. (US 2023/0101566 A1) in further view of Cao et al. (US 2023/0189057 A1)
Regarding claim 12, Tsui-Babaei discloses the method of claim 10.
However, Tsui-Babaei does not disclose wherein the DU is in a private network, and the CU is in a public network.
In an analogous art, Sambandan discloses wherein the DU is in a private network ([0086]: any virtual entity needed to provide the wireless service at the site using the private radio access network comprises at least one of: a 5G NR central unit (CU); and a 5G NR distributed unit (DU), and the CU is in a public network. ([0027]: each CU 132 is configured to communicate with the 5G core network (not shown) of the associated wireless operator using an appropriate backhaul network (typically, a public wide area network 122 such as the Internet).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Tsui-Babaei to comprise “wherein the DU is in a private network, and the CU is in a public network” taught by Sambandan.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it would have enabled a private enterprise to subscribe to wireless service provided at a site of the private enterprise using a private radio access network comprising one or more physical entities deployed at the site (Sambandan, [0003]).
However, Tsui-Babaei-Sambandan does not disclose wherein the first and second data streams transmit data from the DU to a networked data center (NDC).
In an analogous art, Cao discloses wherein the first and second data streams transmit data from the DU to a networked data center (NDC) ([0086]: the radio access intelligent controller subscribes to required performance data from the DU based on a traffic steering policy requirement, and calculates QoE of UE on the current radio access network device based on the performance data obtained from the DU).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Tsui-Babaei-Sambandan to comprise “wherein the first and second data streams transmit data from the DU to a networked data center (NDC)” taught by Cao.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated because it would have enabled to provide traffic steering in order to improve user experience (Cao, [0005]).
Regarding claim 13, Tsui-Babaei-Sambandan-Cao discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the first data stream is used for observability (Cao, [0073]: The TS function determines, based on the obtained performance information corresponding to the service flows of the plurality of terminal devices that have accessed the current radio access network device, terminal devices whose performance information does not meet a requirement or actual quality of experience does not meet target quality of experience, so as to determine a set of identifiers of the terminal devices that need to be handed over to another radio access network device) and the second data stream is used for analytics (Cao, [0080]: The QP function receives the second response message, and calculates, based on the performance data information in the second response message, service quality of experience of a service flow corresponding to the terminal device that needs to be handed over to another radio access network device). The same rationale applies as in claim 12.
Regarding claim 14, Tsui-Babaei-Sambandan-Cao discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the third and fourth data streams transmit data from the CU to the NDC (Cao, [0056]: Radio access intelligent controller: controls and optimizes RAN functional network elements such as the CU-CP and resources based on data collection and operation instructions over R2/R3/R4 interfaces). The same rationale applies as in claim 12.
Additional References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants disclosure.
Huang, US 2023/0292291 A1: Method, Device and Radio Access Network for Adjusting Resources of Radio Access Network.
Kwon et al., US 2023/0189077 A1: Network Performing Distributed Unit Scaling and Method for Operating the Same.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.C.T/Examiner, Art Unit 2446
/BRIAN J. GILLIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446