DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 22, 24, 30, 31, 32, 35, 39, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manova-Elssibony (US 20150171658) in view of Adams (US 20170149270).
Regarding claim 21, Manova-Elssibony teaches a charger (figures 1A-1B charging device 101, Figure 2A charging device 20),
comprising: an enclosure at least partially encompassing a cavity (Figure 1A and paragraph [0049] discloses wherein the enclosure, housing 100, defines an inner cavity 102)
a RF transmitter configured to generate an RF charge signal within the cavity (figures 1A-1B item 110 [0047] discloses an RF transmitter configured to generate and RF charge signal) , the RF charge signal configured to wirelessly charge a device within the cavity ([0004] discloses wherein RF wireless charging techniques known as RF energy harvesting is used to charge a device. Paragraph [0029] discloses charging a device within a cavity or a closed space by RF charging. Paragraph [0042] discloses wireless charging based on RF transmitting or RF energy harvesting. Paragraph [0052] discloses wherein the device 190 is charged by the RF wireless charging); and
a switchable antenna coupled to the enclosure and configured to selectively pass an RF communication signal through the enclosure (paragraph [0057] discloses wherein the device being charged is configured to communicate data with the charging device 101. Paragraphs [0061] and discloses wherein a safety sensor detects opening and proper closing of the lid and communicates with the control unit to switch off or deactivate the RF antennas from transmitting charge. The RF transmitting is only operable when the lid or seal is properly closed. Paragraph [0089] discloses communication between a sensor and the control unit within the housing is performed wirelessly with Bluetooth, infrared, or ZigBee or other wired means).
The Manova-Elssibony system does not explicitly teach wherein a switchable antenna is used to communicate through the enclosure. The Manova-Elssibony system teaches wireless communication through the enclosure with a sensor and control unit to communicate to proper opening and closing of the lid which activates switching on or off of the RF transmission, but does not explicitly teach wherein this communication is performed by a switchable antenna.
Adams teaches wireless communication with an antenna in paragraph [0034] wherein communication is performed with a Bluetooth or ZigBee antenna.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Manova-Elssibony reference with the antenna system of the Adams reference so that proper communication between the charging device and mobile device within the case body.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Adams reference in paragraph [0034] wherein communication between the charging device and mobile device is taught.
Manova-Elssibony Figure 1B shows a charging device item 101 with a housing item 100 with RF transmitters 110 and 120 to provide charge and communication to electronic device 190
Regarding claim 22, Manova-Elssibony teaches the charger of claim 21, wherein the switchable antenna is configured to selectively pass the RF communication signal through the enclosure as a function of a transmission state of the RF transmitter (defined in paragraph [0061] wherein a signal is passed through the enclosure to prevent the activation of the RF transmitter when the lid is open).
Adams teaches wireless communication with an antenna in paragraph [0034] wherein communication is performed with a Bluetooth or ZigBee antenna.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Manova-Elssibony reference with the antenna system of the Adams reference so that proper communication between the charging device and mobile device within the case body.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Adams reference in paragraph [0034] wherein communication between the charging device and mobile device is taught.
Regarding claim 24, Manova-Elssibony teaches the charger of claim 21, wherein the RF charge signal has a first frequency and the RF communication signal has a different second frequency (paragraphs [0056] – [0058] discloses wherein several frequencies are used by the RF charging and communication).
Regarding claim 30, Manova-Elssibony teaches the charger of claim 21, wherein the enclosure includes a lid and a switch configured to detect when the lid is closed, wherein the RF transmitter is configured to generate the RF charge signal when the lid is closed (Figure 1A item 170 and paragraphs [0015] and [0049] defines a lid as a removeable lid. Paragraph [0024] discloses wherein the antennas are connected to a switching unit to operate the antennas. Paragraph [0061] wherein a sensor detects when the lid is closed and communicates with the switches, via a control unit to generate the RF transmitter when the lid is closed and to stop generation with the lid is open).
Regarding claim 31, Manova-Elssibony teaches a system (figures 1A-1B charging device 101, Figure 2A charging device 20),
comprising: a device configured to generate an RF communication signal (paragraph [0088] teaches wherein an RF communication or data signal is generated by the charging device);
an enclosure at least partially encompassing a cavity receiving the device (Figure 1A and paragraph [0049] discloses wherein the enclosure, housing 100, defines an inner cavity 102);
a RF transmitter configured to generate an RF charge signal within the cavity (figures 1A-1B item 110 [0047] discloses an RF transmitter configured to generate and RF charge signal), the RF charge signal configured to wirelessly charge the device within the cavity ([0004] discloses wherein RF wireless charging techniques known as RF energy harvesting is used to charge a device. Paragraph [0029] discloses charging a device within a cavity or a closed space by RF charging. Paragraph [0042] discloses wireless charging based on RF transmitting or RF energy harvesting. Paragraph [0052] discloses wherein the device 190 is charged by the RF wireless charging); and
a switchable antenna coupled to the enclosure and configured to selectively pass the RF communication signal from the device through the enclosure (paragraph [0057] discloses wherein the device being charged is configured to communicate data with the charging device 101. Paragraphs [0061] and discloses wherein a safety sensor detects opening and proper closing of the lid and communicates with the control unit to switch off or deactivate the RF antennas from transmitting charge. The RF transmitting is only operable when the lid or seal is properly closed. Paragraph [0089] discloses communication between a sensor and the control unit within the housing is performed wirelessly with Bluetooth, infrared, or ZigBee or other wired means).
The Manova-Elssibony system does not explicitly teach wherein a switchable antenna is used to communicate through the enclosure. The Manova-Elssibony system teaches wireless communication through the enclosure with a sensor and control unit to communicate to proper opening and closing of the lid which activates switching on or off of the RF transmission, but does not explicitly teach wherein this communication is performed by a switchable antenna.
Adams teaches wireless communication with an antenna (in paragraph [0034] wherein communication is performed with a Bluetooth or ZigBee antenna).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Manova-Elssibony reference with the antenna system of the Adams reference so that proper communication between the charging device and mobile device within the case body.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Adams reference in paragraph [0034] wherein communication between the charging device and mobile device is taught.
Regarding claim 35, Manova-Elssibony teaches the method of claim 32, wherein the RF charge signal has a first frequency and the RF communication signal has a different second frequency (paragraphs [0056] – [0058] discloses wherein several frequencies are used by the RF charging and communication).
Regarding claim 39, Manova-Elssibony teaches the method of claim 32, wherein the enclosure includes a lid and a switch detecting when the lid is closed, further comprising: detecting when the lid is closed; determining if the device is in the cavity when the lid is closed; and RF charging the device when the device is detected in the cavity (Figure 1A item 170 and paragraphs [0015] and [0049] defines a lid as a removeable lid. Paragraph [0024] discloses wherein the antennas are connected to a switching unit to operate the antennas. Paragraph [0061] wherein a sensor detects when the lid is closed and communicates with the switches, via a control unit to generate the RF transmitter when the lid is closed and to stop generation with the lid is open).
Regarding claim 40, Manova-Elssibony teaches the method of claim 39, wherein the device is determined to be in the cavity by the RF transmitter sending the charge signal for a predetermined time period and receiving a response signal within another predetermined time period (paragraph [0098] teaches wherein the device is detected and charged in the cavity during predetermined time periods).
Claims 23, 32, 33, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manova-Elssibony (US 20150171658) in view of Adams (US 20170149270) as applied to claim 21 and in further view of Clevenger (WO 2009151732).
Regarding claim 23, Manova-Elssibony and Adams teaches the charger of claim 21, but does not explicitly teach wherein the RF transmitter is configured to generate the RF charge signal and control the switchable antenna to prevent communication of the RF communication signal through the switchable antenna in a first mode, and wherein the RF transmitter is configured to not generate the RF charge signal and control the switchable antenna to permit communication of the RF communication signal through the switchable antenna in a second mode.
Clevenger teach wherein the RF transmitter is configured to generate the RF charge signal and control the switchable antenna to prevent communication of the RF communication signal through the switchable antenna in a first mode, and wherein the RF transmitter is configured to not generate the RF charge signal and control the switchable antenna to permit communication of the RF communication signal through the switchable antenna in a second mode (paragraph [0018] discloses wherein, a switchable antenna device switched to receive wireless data communication signals from or transmit wireless data communication signals to the wirelessly networked device in a first operation mode, and switched to transmit the RF power signals for powering a wirelessly networked device in a second operation mode. Paragraph [0021] discloses wherein communication is prevented or data can be put on hold while the battery at the wireless device is charging).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Manova-Elssibony and Adams reference with the charging system of the Clevenger reference so that the charging may be maintained at a proper level.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Clevenger reference in [0019] wherein charging is maintained at a proper level.
Regarding claim 32, Manova-Elssibony teaches a method of RF charging a device in a charger (figures 1A-1B charging device 101, Figure 2A charging device 20),
comprising an enclosure at least partially encompassing a cavity (Figure 1A and paragraph [0049] discloses wherein the enclosure, housing 100, defines an inner cavity 102),
a RF transmitter configured to generate an RF charge signal within the cavity (figures 1A-1B item 110 [0047] discloses an RF transmitter configured to generate and RF charge signal), the RF charge signal configured to wirelessly charge a device within the cavity ([0004] discloses wherein RF wireless charging techniques known as RF energy harvesting is used to charge a device. Paragraph [0029] discloses charging a device within a cavity or a closed space by RF charging. Paragraph [0042] discloses wireless charging based on RF transmitting or RF energy harvesting. Paragraph [0052] discloses wherein the device 190 is charged by the RF wireless charging), and
a switchable antenna coupled to the enclosure and configured to selectively pass an RF communication signal through the enclosure, (paragraph [0057] discloses wherein the device being charged is configured to communicate data with the charging device 101. Paragraphs [0061] and discloses wherein a safety sensor detects opening and proper closing of the lid and communicates with the control unit to switch off or deactivate the RF antennas from transmitting charge. The RF transmitting is only operable when the lid or seal is properly closed. Paragraph [0089] discloses communication between a sensor and the control unit within the housing is performed wirelessly with Bluetooth, infrared, or ZigBee or other wired means).
The Manova-Elssibony system does not explicitly teach wherein a switchable antenna is used to communicate through the enclosure. The Manova-Elssibony system teaches wireless communication through the enclosure with a sensor and control unit to communicate to proper opening and closing of the lid which activates switching on or off of the RF transmission, but does not explicitly teach wherein this communication is performed by a switchable antenna.
Adams teaches wireless communication with an antenna in paragraph [0034] wherein communication is performed with a Bluetooth or ZigBee antenna.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Manova-Elssibony reference with the antenna system of the Adams reference so that proper communication between the charging device and mobile device within the case body.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Adams reference in paragraph [0034] wherein communication between the charging device and mobile device is taught.
Manova-Elssibony and Adams do not explicitly teach comprising the steps of: selectively allowing communication of the RF communication signal through the switchable antenna during a first time period; and RF charging the device in the enclosure during a second time period that is different than the first time period.
Clevanger teaches comprising the steps of: selectively allowing communication of the RF communication signal through the switchable antenna during a first time period; and RF charging the device in the enclosure during a second time period that is different than the first time period (paragraph [0018] discloses wherein, a switchable antenna device switched to receive wireless data communication signals from or transmit wireless data communication signals to the wirelessly networked device in a first operation mode (a first time period), and switched to transmit the RF power signals for powering a wirelessly networked device in a second operation mode (as second time period). Paragraph [0021] discloses wherein communication is prevented or data can be put on hold while the battery at the wireless device is charging).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Manova-Elssibony and Adams reference with the charging system of the Clevenger reference so that the charging may be maintained at a proper level.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Clevenger reference in [0019] wherein charging is maintained at a proper level.
Regarding claim 33, Manova-Elssibony teaches the method of claim 32, teach wherein the switchable antenna selectively passes the RF communication signal through the enclosure as a function of a transmission state of the RF transmitter (defined in paragraph [0061] wherein a signal is passed through the enclosure to prevent the activation of the RF transmitter when the lid is open).
Adams teaches wireless communication with an antenna in paragraph [0034] wherein communication is performed with a Bluetooth or ZigBee antenna.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Manova-Elssibony reference with the antenna system of the Adams reference so that proper communication between the charging device and mobile device within the case body.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Adams reference in paragraph [0034] wherein communication between the charging device and mobile device is taught.
Regarding claim 34, Manova-Elssibony teaches the method of claim 32, but does not explicitly teach wherein the RF transmitter generates the RF charge signal and controls the switchable antenna to prevent communication of the RF communication signal through the switchable antenna in a first mode, and wherein the RF transmitter does not generate the RF charge signal and controls the switchable antenna to permit communication of the RF communication signal through the switchable antenna in a second mode.
Clevenger teaches wherein the RF transmitter generates the RF charge signal and controls the switchable antenna to prevent communication of the RF communication signal through the switchable antenna in a first mode, and wherein the RF transmitter does not generate the RF charge signal and controls the switchable antenna to permit communication of the RF communication signal through the switchable antenna in a second mode (paragraph [0018] discloses wherein, a switchable antenna device switched to receive wireless data communication signals from or transmit wireless data communication signals to the wirelessly networked device in a first operation mode (a first time period), and switched to transmit the RF power signals for powering a wirelessly networked device in a second operation mode (as second time period). Paragraph [0021] discloses wherein communication is prevented or data can be put on hold while the battery at the wireless device is charging).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Manova-Elssibony and Adams reference with the charging system of the Clevenger reference so that the charging may be maintained at a proper level.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Clevenger reference in [0019] wherein charging is maintained at a proper level.
Claims 25 - 28, 36, and 38, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manova-Elssibony (US 20150171658) in view of Adams (US 20170149270) as applied to claim 21, and in further view of Kanasugi (US 20120194125).
Regarding claim 25, Manova-Elssibony and Adams teaches the charger of claim 21, but does not explicitly teach wherein the switchable antenna extends through a wall of the enclosure.
Kanasugi teaches wherein the switchable antenna extends through a wall of the enclosure (figure 2 item 16 defined in paragraph [0045] as a coaxial cable which extends through the wall of the enclosure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Manova-Elssibony and Adams reference with the charging system of the Kanasugi reference so that communication may pass thorough the exterior of the charging device
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kanasugi reference in [0014] wherein communication to the outside of the housing is taught.
Kanasugi Figure 2 shows wherein an antenna extends through wall
Regarding claim 26, Manova-Elssibony and Adams teaches the charger of claim 25, but does not explicitly teach wherein the switchable antenna comprises a first antenna and a second antenna.
Kanasugi teaches wherein the switchable antenna comprises a first antenna and a second antenna (figures 2 and 3 show a first antenna 17a with pattern 21 and a second antenna 17b with pattern 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Manova-Elssibony and Adams reference with the charging system of the Kanasugi reference so that communication may pass thorough the exterior of the charging device
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kanasugi reference in [0014] wherein communication to the outside of the housing is taught.
Regarding claim 27, Manova-Elssibony and Adams teaches the charger of claim 26, but does not explicitly teach wherein the first antenna is exposed to the cavity and the second antenna is exposed to outside the enclosure.
Kanasugi teaches wherein the first antenna is exposed to the cavity and the second antenna is exposed to outside the enclosure (figure 4 shows an internal antenna 17 exposed to the cavity and an external antenna 18 exposed to the outside of the enclosure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Manova-Elssibony and Adams reference with the charging system of the Kanasugi reference so that communication may pass thorough the exterior of the charging device
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kanasugi reference in [0014] wherein communication to the outside of the housing is taught.
Regarding claim 28, Manova-Elssibony teaches the charger of claim 26, wherein the first antenna and the second antenna are impedance matched and configured to be selectively coupled to each other.
Kanasugi teaches wherein the first antenna and the second antenna are impedance matched and configured to be selectively coupled to each other (paragraphs [0049] and [0046] wherein the first and second antennas are impedance matched).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Manova-Elssibony and Adams reference with the charging system of the Kanasugi reference so that communication may pass thorough the exterior of the charging device
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kanasugi reference in [0014] wherein communication to the outside of the housing is taught.
Regarding claim 36, Manova-Elssibony and Adams teach the method of claim 32, but does not explicitly teach wherein the switchable antenna extends through a wall of the enclosure.
Kanasugi teaches wherein the switchable antenna extends through a wall of the enclosure (figure 2 item 16 defined in paragraph [0045] as a coaxial cable which extends through the wall of the enclosure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Manova-Elssibony and Adams reference with the charging system of the Kanasugi reference so that communication may pass thorough the exterior of the charging device
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kanasugi reference in [0014] wherein communication to the outside of the housing is taught.
Regarding claim 38, Manova-Elssibony and Adam teach the method of claim 37, but does not explicitly teach wherein the first antenna is exposed to the cavity and the second antenna is exposed to outside the enclosure.
Kanasugi teaches wherein the first antenna is exposed to the cavity and the second antenna is exposed to outside the enclosure (figure 4 shows an internal antenna 17 exposed to the cavity and an external antenna 18 exposed to the outside of the enclosure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Manova-Elssibony and Adams reference with the charging system of the Kanasugi reference so that communication may pass thorough the exterior of the charging device
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Kanasugi reference in [0014] wherein communication to the outside of the housing is taught.
Claims 29 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manova-Elssibony (US 20150171658) in view of Adams (US 20170149270) and in further view of Kanasugi (US 20120194125) as applied to claim 26 and in further view of Jiang (US 10651670).
Regarding claim 29, Manova-Elssibony, Adams and Kanasugi teaches the charger of claim 26, but does not explicitly teach wherein the first antenna and the second antenna are passive.
Jiang teaches wherein the first antenna and the second antenna are passive (defined in column 5 lines 4 – 29 wherein passive RF components are used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Manova-Elssibony, Adams and Kanasugi references with the charging system of the Jiang reference to allow for a robust antenna which would communicate and charge multiple devices.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Jiang reference in Abstract wherein charging multiple devices is taught.
Regarding claim 37, Manova-Elssibony, Adams and Kanasugi teach the method of claim 36, wherein the switchable antenna comprises a first antenna and a second antenna selectively coupled to each other.
Jiang teaches wherein the switchable antenna comprises a first antenna and a second antenna selectively coupled to each other (defined in column 11 lines 34 – 43 wherein the first antenna and second antenna are selectively coupled to each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Manova-Elssibony, Adams and Kanasugi references with the charging system of the Jiang reference to allow for a robust antenna which would communicate and charge multiple devices.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Jiang reference in Abstract wherein charging multiple devices is taught.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20150371771 A1 Wireless Power Transfer Systems Abu Qahouq; Jaber A.
Us 20160087483 A1 Antenna Array Wireless Charging Hietala; Alexander Wayne
Us 20190245389 A1 Detecting Wireless Power Receivers Johnston; Cesar Et Al.
Us 20160079799 A1 Method For Wireless Charging Power Control Khlat; Nadim
Us 20100201312 A1 Wireless Power Transfer Kirby; Miles Alexander Lyell Et Al.
Us 20040145342 A1 Adaptive Charger System And Method Lyon, Geoff M.
Us 20090303693 A1 Wireless Power Transmitting Apparatus Mao; Shau-Gang
Us 20160056664 A1 Charging With A Plurality Of Protocols Partovi; Afshin
Us 7477039 B2 Charging A Portable Device Rodarte; Luis Ernesto Elizalde
Us 20050156560 A1 Charging Apparatus Shimaoka, Motohiro Et Al.
Us 8013567 B2 Portable Power And Utility System Windsor; Michael E.
Us 20190036360 A1 Mobile Charging Station Zilles; Renatus Et Al.
Us 20100315045 A1 Wireless Power Transmission System Zeine; Hatem
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859