DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made to Applicants claim amendments received 15 June 2026. Claims 1, 3-13, 15, 16, 21 and 22 are currently pending. Claims 2, 14 and 17-20 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, 6, 8, 9 and 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 4, the claim recites an anode catalyst material. However, claim 1, upon which claim 4 is dependent, already introduces the limitation of an anode catalyst material. Therefore, it is unclear as to if the limitation of claim 4 intends to refer back to that of claim 1 or to a new and separate limitation. For the purpose of Examination, the claim has been broadly interpreted to include, at least, both of the above interpretations.
As to claim 8, 9 and 10, the claims recite an anode ionomer material. However, claim 1, upon which claims 8, 9 and 10 are dependent, already introduces the limitation of an ionomer material. Therefore, it is unclear as to if the limitation of claims 8, 9 and 10 intend to refer back to that of claim 1 or to a new and separate limitation. For the purpose of Examination, the claim has been broadly interpreted to include, at least, both of the above interpretations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0307141 A1 to Hegge et al. (Hegge).
As to claims 1 and 8, Hegge teaches an electrolysis cell for electrolyzing water into hydrogen and oxygen, the electrolysis cell comprising a polymer electrolyte membrane (7), a porous transport layer (11) including a surface facing the PEM (7) and including a surface morphology comprising PTL pores, and an anode catalyst layer (9) deposited on the PTL (11) surface morphology to form a porous transport electrode including a PTE surface morphology, the anode catalyst layer sprayed on to the PTL from an ink comprising the catalyst material and an ionomer, thus forming an infiltrated PTE wherein the catalyst and ionomer at least partially infiltrate the PTL pore of the surface morphology, the infiltrated PTE bound to the PEM (Paragraphs 0028-0041, 0097, 0120, 0171-0174 and 0207; Figures 2 and 3).
As to claims 4, 5 and 7, Hegge teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Hegge further teaches that the anode catalyst layer includes an anode catalyst material, such as iridium, thus essentially iridium, supported on an anode catalyst support, such as titanium nanofibers (Paragraphs 0028-0034 and 0134-0137).
As to claim 6, Hegge teaches the apparatus of claim 4. Hegge further teaches that a weight percent of the catalyst material to the anode catalyst support is between 5 and 100 weight percent (ratio of, for example 1:0.5) (Paragraph 0052).
As to claim 9, Hegge teaches the apparatus of claim 8. Hegge further teaches that the ionomer material, the polymer membrane material is a perfluorinated sulfonic acid ionomer, Nafion (Paragraph 0207).
As to claim 11, Hegge teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Hegge further teaches that the PTL (11) surface morphology includes pores with a larger pore size than the pores of the PTE (9) surface morphology (Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hegge as applied to claim 1, and further in view of EP 3 686 318 A1 to Buechi et al. (Buechi).
As to claim 3, Hegge teaches the apparatus of claim 1. However, Hegge fails to further teach that there is a microporous layer forming at least a portion of the PTL surface. However, Buechi also discusses electrolysis cells with porous transport layers and teaches that the surface towards the catalyst/membrane should be formed as a microporous layer in order to improve efficiency and durability (Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the PTL of Hegge with a PTL surface comprising a microporous layer in order to improve efficiency and durability as taught by Buechi.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hegge as applied to claim 8, and further in view of US 2023/0287587 A1 to Rojas Herrera et al. (Rojas).
As to claim 10, Hegge teaches the apparatus of claim 8. However, Hegge fails to teach a percentage of ionomer material that should be formed in the anode catalyst layer. However, Rojas also discusses water electrolysis with iridium anode catalysts formed with an ionomer and teaches that the ionomer percentage should be below 40% (Paragraph 0105). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the ionomer to the anode catalyst at less than 40%, i.e. between 0 and 40%, with the reasonable expectation of effectively forming the anode catalyst layer as taught by Rojas.
Claims 12, 13, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hegge in view of “Novel Nafion composite membranes with mesoporous silica nanospheres as inorganic fillers” to Jin et al. (Jin).
As to claims 12, 13, 15 and 16, Hegge teaches an electrolysis cell for electrolyzing water into hydrogen and oxygen, the electrolysis cell comprising a polymer electrolyte membrane (7) comprising an ionomer material comprising a perfluorinated sulfonic acid ionomer, a porous transport layer (11) including a surface facing the PEM (7) and including a surface morphology comprising PTL pores, and an anode catalyst layer (9) deposited on the PTL (11) surface morphology to form a porous transport electrode including a PTE surface morphology, the polymer electrolyte membrane pressed to the PTE surface morphology such that at least a portion of the ionomer of the PEM infiltrates the PTE surface morphology such that the ionomer material at least partially coats/occupies the PTL pores (Paragraphs 0028-0041, 0097, 0120, 0147 and 0171-0174; Figures 2 and 3). However, Hegge fails to further teach that the ionomer of the PEM comprises a filler material bound to the ionomer.
However, Jin also discusses proton exchange membranes for electrolysis formed of perfluorosulfonic acid and teaches that the inclusion of silica nanospheres improves water retention in the membrane (Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the membrane of Jin with the inclusion of silica nanospheres in order to improve the water retention as taught by Jin.
Claims 12, 13, 16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hegge in view of “Monolayer Hexagonal Boron Nitride Nanosheets as Proton-Conductive Gas Barriers for Polymer Electrolyte Membrane Water Electrolysis” to Kim et al. (Kim).
As to claims 12, 13, 16 and 21, Hegge teaches an electrolysis cell for electrolyzing water into hydrogen and oxygen, the electrolysis cell comprising a polymer electrolyte membrane (7) comprising an ionomer material comprising a perfluorinated sulfonic acid ionomer, a porous transport layer (11) including a surface facing the PEM (7) and including a surface morphology comprising PTL pores, and an anode catalyst layer (9) deposited on the PTL (11) surface morphology to form a porous transport electrode including a PTE surface morphology, the polymer electrolyte membrane pressed to the PTE surface morphology such that at least a portion of the ionomer of the PEM infiltrates the PTE surface morphology such that the ionomer material at least partially coats/occupies the PTL pores (Paragraphs 0028-0041, 0097, 0120, 0147 and 0171-0174; Figures 2 and 3). However, Hegge fails to further teach that the ionomer of the PEM comprises a filler material bound to the ionomer.
However, Kim also discusses proton exchange membranes for water electrolysis formed of perfluorosulfonic acid and teaches that the inclusion of boronitride flakes improves the hydrogen gas barrier and mechanical stability of the membrane (Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the membrane of Hegge with boronitride flakes in order to improves the hydrogen gas barrier and mechanical stability of the membrane as taught by Kim.
Claims 12, 13, 16 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hegge in view of US 2023/0369612 A1 to Azra et al. (Azra).
As to claims 12, 13, 16 and 22, Hegge teaches an electrolysis cell for electrolyzing water into hydrogen and oxygen, the electrolysis cell comprising a polymer electrolyte membrane (7) comprising an ionomer material comprising a perfluorinated sulfonic acid ionomer, a porous transport layer (11) including a surface facing the PEM (7) and including a surface morphology comprising PTL pores, and an anode catalyst layer (9) deposited on the PTL (11) surface morphology to form a porous transport electrode including a PTE surface morphology, the polymer electrolyte membrane pressed to the PTE surface morphology such that at least a portion of the ionomer of the PEM infiltrates the PTE surface morphology such that the ionomer material at least partially coats/occupies the PTL pores (Paragraphs 0028-0041, 0097, 0120, 0147 and 0171-0174; Figures 2 and 3). However, Hegge fails to further teach that the ionomer of the PEM comprises a filler material bound to the ionomer.
However, Azra also discusses electrolysis membranes and teaches that incorporated graphene oxide particles (considered flakes) into the ionomer material imparts additional ion conductivity (Abstract; Claims 1 and 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the membrane of Hegge with the addition of graphene oxide flakes in order to impart additional conductivity as taught by Azra.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 15 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argue that Hegge fails to teach a separate ionomer material infiltrated into the PTE surface morphology, instead teaching only a PEM. However, the Examiner disagrees, Hegge specifically teaches that the catalyst ink comprises an ionomer material that can be sprayed directly onto the porous PTL, as discussed above.
The remaining arguments do not apply to the combination of references utilized above, which are newly rejected as necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794