DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 17 December 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11, 12, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0307141 A1 to Hegge et al. (Hegge).
As to claim 1, Hegge teaches an electrolysis cell for electrolyzing water into hydrogen and oxygen, the electrolysis cell comprising a polymer electrolyte membrane (7), a porous transport layer (11) including a surface facing the PEM (7) and a surface morphology, and an anode catalyst layer (9) deposited on the PTL (11) surface morphology to form a porous transport electrode including a PTE surface morphology (Paragraphs 0028-0041; Figures 2 and 3).
As to claim 2, Hegge teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Hegge teaches that the PTL surface layer includes pores, i.e. the material is porous, and that the catalyst material can be coated on to the PTL, and thus that the anode catalyst material at least partially coats and occupies the PTL pores (Paragraphs 0047, 0120 and 0171-0174).
As to claims 4 and 5, Hegge teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Hegge further teaches that the anode catalyst layer includes an anode catalyst, such as iridium, supported on an anode catalyst support, such as titanium nanofibers (Paragraphs 0028-0034 and 0134-0137).
As to claim 6, Hegge teaches the apparatus of claim 4. Hegge further teaches that a weight percent of the catalyst material to the anode catalyst support is between 5 and 100 weight percent (ratio of, for example 1:0.5) (Paragraph 0052).
As to claim 7, Hegge teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Hegge further teaches that the anode catalyst layer can consist essentially of an anode catalyst, i.e. does not include the nanofiber, comprising, for example, iridium (Paragraphs 0032, 0051 and 0082).
As to claims 8 and 9, Hegge teaches the apparatus of claim 4. Hegge further teaches that the anode catalyst material includes an anode ionomer material, the polymer membrane material, for example, a perfluorinated sulfonic acid ionomer (Paragraphs 0145 and 0166-0168).
As to claim 11, Hegge teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Hegge further teaches that the PTL (11) surface morphology includes pores with a larger pore size than the pores of the PTE (9) surface morphology (Figure 2).
As to claims 12 and 16, Hegge teaches an electrolysis cell for electrolyzing water into hydrogen and oxygen, the electrolysis cell comprising, a polymer electrolyte membrane (7) comprising an ionomer material, for example a perfluorinated sulfonic acid ionomer, a porous transport layer (11) including a surface facing the PEM (7) and a surface morphology, and an anode catalyst layer (9) comprising a mixture comprising the same ionomer material as the electrolyte membrane and deposited on the PTL (11) surface morphology to form a porous transport electrode including a PTE surface morphology, the ionomer material of the catalyst layer thus infiltrating the surface of the PTE surface morphology (Paragraphs 0028-0041, 0145 and 0171-0174; Figures 2 and 3).
As to claim 13, Hegge teaches the apparatus of claim 12. Hegge teaches that the PTL surface layer includes pores, i.e. the material is porous, and that the catalyst material including the ionomer material can be coated on to the PTL, and thus that the ionomer material at least partially coats and occupies the PTL pores (Paragraphs 0047, 0120 and 0171-0174).
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 3 686 318 A1 to Buechi et al. (Buechi).
As to claim 1, Buechi teaches an electrolysis cell for electrolyzing water into hydrogen and oxygen, the electrolysis cell comprising a polymer electrolyte membrane, and a porous transport layer (2) including a surface facing the PEM and a surface morphology, and an anode catalyst layer deposited on the PTL surface morphology to form a porous transport electrode including a PTE surface morphology (Paragraphs 0002, 0017, 0021, 0022 and 0024; Figure 2).
As to claim 3, Buechi teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Buechi further teaches that the surface of the PTL can comprise a microporous layer (Paragraphs 0017, 0021 and 0022).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hegge as applied to claims 8 and 12 above, and further in view of US 2023/0287587 A1 to Rojas Herrera et al. (Rojas).
As to claim 10, Hegge teaches the apparatus of claim 8. However, Hegge fails to teach a percentage of ionomer material that should be formed in the anode catalyst layer. However, Rojas also discusses water electrolysis with iridium anode catalysts formed with an ionomer and teaches that the ionomer percentage should be below 40% (Paragraph 0105). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the ionomer to the anode catalyst at less than 40%, i.e. between 0 and 40%, with the reasonable expectation of effectively forming the anode catalyst layer as taught by Rojas.
As to claims 14 and 15, Hegge teaches the apparatus of claim 12. However, Hegge fails to further teach that the catalyst layer comprises a filler material bound to the ionomer. However, Rojas also discusses water electrolysis anode catalysts comprising iridium catalyst materials and ionomer and teaches that the catalyst should also comprises a filler material, such as a PTFE additive, in order to modify the mechanical properties of the catalyst layer (Paragraph 0047). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the catalyst layer with a PTFE filler bound with the ionomer and the catalyst material in order to modify the mechanical properties of the catalyst layer as taught by Rojas.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 6, 8 and 9 of copending Application No. 18/134,835 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because although additional limitations are claimed in the copending claims all limitations of the present claims are explicitly or inherently claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794