DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-11, in the reply filed on 24 September 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2024/0068115 A1 to Desmaris et al. (Desmaris).
As to claim 1, Desmaris teaches an electrolysis cell (400) for electrolyzing water into hydrogen and oxygen, the cell (400) comprising a polymer electrolyte membrane (PEM) (430), a porous transport layer (PTL) (not shown in the figure, but located between conductive element (423) and elongated nanostructures (221)) including a surface facing the PEM (430) and including some sort of surface morphology, and an anode catalyst layer (221/222) deposited on the PTL surface morphology to form a porous transport electrode on the PTL surface including contact regions between the PEM and the PTL (i.e. the regions wherein contact between the PTL and PEM is made with the catalyst (221/222)) and non-contact regions wherein the PEM is spaced from the PTL without an intervening catalyst (i.e. the gaps between the catalysts (221/222)) (Paragraphs 0001, 0055 and 0114-0121; Figure 4).
As to claim 2, Desmaris teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Desmaris teaches that the non-contact regions form gaps extending from the PEM (430) to the PTL (Figure 4).
As to claim 3, Desmaris teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Desmaris further teaches that the anode catalyst layer (221/222) only resides in the contact regions (Figure 4).
As to claims 5 and 6, Desmaris teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Desmaris further teaches that the anode catalyst layer (221/222) comprises an anode catalyst (222) comprising, for example, iridium (Paragraphs 0079 and 0115; Figure 4).
As to claim 7, Desmaris teaches the apparatus of claim 5. The limitation of amorphous, crystalline or a combination thereof covers all options for iridium, i.e. amorphous, crystalline, partially amorphous or partially crystalline, and thus is taught by Desmaris.
As to claims 8 and 9, Desmaris teaches the apparatus of claim 5. Desmaris further teaches that the anode catalyst layer (221/222) includes an anode catalyst support (221) comprising, for example, titanium (Paragraphs 0093 and 0115; Figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desmaris as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2022/0307141 A1 to Hegge et al. (Hegge).
As to claim 4, Desmaris teaches the apparatus of claim 1. However, Desmaris fails to further teach that the porous transport layer surface comprises a microporous layer. However, Hegge also discusses water electrolysis and teaches that a microporous layer between the catalytic layer and the porous transport layer can improve conduction and resistance (Paragraphs 0008 and 0213). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Desmaris such that the surface of the porous transport layer comprises a microporous layer in order to improve conduction and resistance as taught by Hegge.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desmaris in view of Hegge.
As to claim 10, Desmaris teaches an electrolysis cell (400) for electrolyzing water into hydrogen and oxygen, the cell (400) comprising a polymer electrolyte membrane (PEM) (430), a porous transport layer (PTL) (not shown in the figure, but located between conductive element (423) and elongated nanostructures (221)) including a surface facing the PEM (430) and an anode catalyst layer (221/222) deposited on the PTL (Paragraphs 0001, 0055 and 0114-0121; Figure 4).
However, Desmaris fails to further teach that the apparatus includes a microporous layer between the porous transport layer and the catalyst layer. However, Hegge also discusses water electrolysis and teaches that a microporous layer between the catalytic layer and the porous transport layer can improve conduction and resistance (Paragraphs 0008 and 0213). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Desmaris with a microporous layer between the porous transport layer and the catalyst layer in order to improve conduction and resistance as taught by Hegge.
The combination thus forming the catalyst layer on the surface morphology of the microporous layer (MPL) to form a porous transport electrode on the surface including contact regions between the PEM and the MPL (i.e. the regions wherein contact between the MPL and PEM is made with the catalyst (221/222)) and non-contact regions wherein the PEM is spaced from the MPL without an intervening catalyst (i.e. the gaps between the catalysts (221/222)) (Paragraphs 0001, 0055 and 0114-0121; Figure 4).
As to claim 11, the combination of Desmaris and Hegge teaches the apparatus of claim 10. Desmaris teaches that the non-contact regions form gaps extending from the PEM (430) to the MPL (Figure 4).
Conclusion
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794