DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made to Applicant’s claim amendments received 29 May 2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending, of which claims 12-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the raised PTL portions”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Acknowledgment is made to Applicant’s claim amendments received 29 May 2026. The rejections to the claims presented under 35 USC 102 in the Office Action of 30 January 2026 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0401214 A1 to Duran et al. (Duran) in view of WO 2024/126714 A1 to Mandl et al. (Mandl).
As to claims 1, 3 and 4, Duran teaches an electrolysis cell, capable of operating for the electrolysis of water into hydrogen and oxygen, the cell comprising a polymer electrolyte membrane (123), a porous transport layer (127) including a PTL surface comprising a microporous layer (133), the surface having a surface morphology having raised portions and recessed portions formed by the natural porosity of the surface and an anode catalyst layer (121) deposited on the surface forming a porous transport electrode including contact regions on the raised portions and non-contact regions on the recessed portions (i.e. where a pore does not directly contact the PTL) (Paragraphs 0045, 0064 and 0065; Figure 1B).
However, Duran fails to teach that the anode catalyst layer is selectively deposited on the raised portions. However, Duran does further discuss minimizing catalyst loading (Paragraph 0051 and 0065).
Mandl also discusses PEM electrolysis cell and teaches that catalyst loading can be significantly reduced by selectively coating the catalyst at contact regions between the PEM and the PTL (gas diffusion layer) only (Paragraphs 0010 and 0011). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to selectively deposit the catalyst of Duran on to only the contacting raised portions of the PTL surface in order to significantly reduce the amount of catalytic material required as taught by Mandl.
As to claim 2, the combination of Duran and Mandl teaches the apparatus of claim 1. As discussed above, the non-contact regions are not coated and spaced form the surface of the PEM thus forming gaps extending from the PEM to the PTL.
As to claims 5 and 6, the combination of Duran and Mandl teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Duran further teaches that the anode catalyst layer includes an anode catalyst material such as iridium or ruthenium (Paragraph 0159).
As to claim 7, the combination of Duran and Mandl teaches the apparatus of claim 5. The limitations of crystalline, amorphous or a combination thereof covers substantially all possible embodiments for the catalyst material and thus is taught by Duran.
As to claims 8 and 9, the combination of Duran and Mandl teaches the apparatus of claim 5. Duran further teaches that the anode catalyst layer comprises an anode catalyst support such as titanium particles (Paragraph 0159).
As to claim 10, Duran teaches an electrolysis cell, capable of operating for the electrolysis of water into hydrogen and oxygen, the cell comprising a polymer electrolyte membrane (123), a porous transport layer (127), a microporous layer (133) contacting the porous transport layer (127), the microporous layer (133) having a surface having a surface morphology having raised portions and recessed portions formed by the natural porosity of the surface and an anode catalyst layer (121) deposited on the surface forming a porous transport electrode including contact regions on the raised portions and non-contact regions on the recessed portions (i.e. where a pore does not directly contact the PTL) (Paragraphs 0045, 0064 and 0065; Figure 1B).
However, Duran fails to teach that the anode catalyst layer is selectively deposited on the raised portions. However, Duran does further discuss minimizing catalyst loading (Paragraph 0051 and 0065).
Mandl also discusses PEM electrolysis cell and teaches that catalyst loading can be significantly reduced by selectively coating the catalyst at contact regions between the PEM and the PTL (gas diffusion layer) only (Paragraphs 0010 and 0011). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to selectively deposit the catalyst of Duran on to only the contacting raised portions of the PTL surface in order to significantly reduce the amount of catalytic material required as taught by Mandl.
As to claim 11, the combination of Duran and Mandl teaches the apparatus of claim 10. As discussed above, the non-contact regions are not coated and spaced form the surface of the PEM thus forming gaps extending from the PEM to the PTL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794