DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-13, in the reply filed on 24 November 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 10, the claim recites the limitation "the flow filed plate". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Antecedent basis does exist for “the flow field plate”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0085390 A1 to Buechi et al. (Buechi).
As to claim 1, Buechi teaches an electrolysis cell for electrolyzing water into hydrogen and oxygen (Paragraph 0002) the cell comprising a current collector (bipolar plate), a porous transport layer (PTL) (2) including a surface facing the current collector with a surface morphology and a coating layer (12) deposited on the PTL surface morphology to form contact regions between the current collector and the PTL, the PTL including non-contact regions (i.e. gaps along the length not coated with the coating layer (12)) between the contact regions along the PTL surface morphology, the non-contact regions spaced apart from the current collector (i.e. not in direct contact) (Paragraphs 0031-0034; Figure 2).
As to claims 4 and 5, Buechi teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Buechi further teaches that the coating is platinum or gold, thus a conductive metal configured to resist corrosion (Paragraph 0034).
As to claim 6, Buechi teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Buechi further teaches that the coating has a thickness of, for example, 0.02 microns (Paragraph 0034).
As to claims 8 and 9, Buechi teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Buechi further teaches that the PTL is a porous metal sheet formed from sintered titanium (Paragraph 0043).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0215588 A1 to Schmidt-Hansberg et al. (Schmidt) in view of Buechi.
As to claims 1, 2, 3 and 7, Schmidt teaches an electrolysis cell for water electrolysis comprising a current collector (gas impermeable electronically conductive plate) (20) comprising a flow field plate having lands (8) and channels (7) collectively forming a flow field and a porous transport layer (gas permeable electrically conductive plate) (1) including a surface facing the current collector (20) with a surface morphology, the PTL including contact regions wherein the PTL (1) directly contacts the current collector (20) at the lands (8), and non-contact regions between contact regions wherein the PTL (1) does not directly contact the current collector (20) (Paragraphs 0077 and 0182; Figure 6).
However, Schmidt fails to further teach that the cell comprises a coating deposited on the PTL surface morphology. However, Buechi also discusses water electrolysis cells with porous transport layers and teaches that a protective coating should be formed at the interface between the PTL and the current collector (bipolar plate) in order to decrease ohmic contact resistance (Paragraph 0035). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a protective coating on the contact regions, where the PTL directly contacts the current collector, of Schmidt in order to decrease ohmic contact resistance as taught by Buechi. Thus an apparatus wherein the contact regions alone are provided with a protective coating and the non-contact regions not comprising a protective coating form gaps extending from the current collector to the PTL.
As to claims 4 and 5, the combination of Schmidt and Buechi teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Buechi further teaches that the coating is platinum or gold, thus a conductive metal configured to resist corrosion (Paragraph 0034).
As to claim 6, the combination of Schmidt and Buechi teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Buechi further teaches that the coating has a thickness of, for example, 0.02 microns (Paragraph 0034).
As to claims 8 and 9, the combination of Schmidt and Buechi teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Schmidt further teaches that the PTL is a porous metal sheet formed from sintered titanium (Paragraphs 0016 and 0017).
As to claims 10 and 11, Schmidt teaches an electrolysis cell for water electrolysis comprising a current collector (gas impermeable electronically conductive plate) (20) comprising a flow field plate having lands (8) and channels (7) collectively forming a flow field and a porous transport layer (gas permeable electrically conductive plate) (1) including a surface facing the current collector (20) with a surface morphology, the PTL including contact regions wherein the PTL (1) directly contacts the current collector (20) at the lands (8), and non-contact regions, aligned with the channels (7), between contact regions wherein the PTL (1) does not directly contact the current collector (20) (Paragraphs 0077 and 0182; Figure 6).
However, Schmidt fails to further teach that the cell comprises a coating deposited on the PTL surface morphology. However, Buechi also discusses water electrolysis cells with porous transport layers and teaches that a protective coating should be formed at the interface between the PTL and the current collector (bipolar plate) in order to decrease ohmic contact resistance (Paragraph 0035). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a protective coating on the contact regions, where the PTL directly contacts the current collector, of Schmidt in order to decrease ohmic contact resistance as taught by Buechi. Thus an apparatus wherein the contact regions alone are provided with a protective coating and the non-contact regions not comprising a protective coating form gaps extending from the current collector to the PTL.
As to claims 12 and 13, the combination of Schmidt and Buechi teaches the apparatus of claim 10. Buechi further teaches that the coating is platinum or gold, thus a conductive metal configured to resist corrosion (Paragraph 0034).
Conclusion
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794