DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 21-33 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: the newly added claims are directed to a base station and wireless device, while previous claims were drawn to a central unit and each device is different. For example, the CU does not have direct communication to an AMF, nor receive radio resource control (RRC) release message. Thereby, each device is patentably distinct
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 21-33 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim 20220303946 in view of Liu 20220272767.
As to claim 1, Kim discloses discloses a method comprising:
receiving [1503,1603], by a first central unit (CU) of a base station [eNB-CU] from an entity [MME], a first radio access network (RAN) paging message [S1-AP] (see par. 0014), for a wireless device in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state (see par. 0005, 0153), comprising: a first parameter indicating a small data transmission (SDT) procedure for a wireless device [MT-EDT indicator]; a second parameter indicating a data size for the SDT procedure [DL data size] (see par. 0252, 0278); and a third parameter indicating a RAN user equipment (UE) paging identity [EDT-RNTI, RNTI, Resume ID] (see par. 0256);
transmitting [1504,1604], by the first CU to a first distributed unit (DU) of the base station, a second paging message comprising a field indicating the SDT procedure for the wireless device (see par. 0253, 0279); and the third parameter indicating the RAN UE paging identity state (see par. 0005, 0153, 0311); and receiving, by the first CU and via the first DU from the wireless device in the RRC inactive state, an RRC Resume request message comprising the RAN UE paging identity [resume ID] (see par. 0153, 0199, 0306, 0336).
If there is an uncertainty if the Resume ID identifies the UE, in an analogous art, Liu discloses an RRC Resume request message comprising the RAN UE paging identity (see par. 0069). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the parameters in a single message and to repeat the steps for other devices such as a second base station for the simple purpose of repeating the steps during a handover and allowing small data transmission for a quick transmission of data.
As to claim 2, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, from the wireless device, a radio resource control (RRC) request message for the SDT procedure (see par. 0170, 0264).
As to claim 3, Kim discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the RRC request message is received via the first DU (see par. 0155-0156).
As to claim 4, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the RRC request message comprises a cause parameter indicating that the RRC request message is for the SDT procedure (see par. 0155-0156, 0199).
As to claim 5, Kim discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising determining, by the first CU and based on the cause parameter, whether to accept or reject the RRC request (see par. 0155).
As to claim 6, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the RRC request message comprises at least one of:
an RRC early data transmission (EDT) request; and an RRC resume request message indicating a mobile-terminated early data transmission (MT-EDT) (see par. 0197); and an RRC setup request message indicating the MT-EDT (see par. 0170-0171).
As to claim 7, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first paging message comprises a radio access network (RAN) paging message (see par. 0120).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647