DETAILED ACTION
PRODUCT BY PROCESS CLAIM:
“ The subject matter present is regarded as a product by process claim in which a product is introduced by the method in which it is made. It is the general practice of this office to examine the final product described regardless of the method provided by the applicant.”
The above PBP applies to limitations of “…pouring….mixing…applying….” in claims 1-6, as the claims are article claims “ An epoxy methane barrier…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6 13-15, 17-20 is is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moroschan(6974278) in view of Cooke (3935339) and Goodson et al (5494514)
Moroschan shows an epoxy methane barrier(25; col 6 line 21) laid over a subgrade layer (23).
Moroschan does not show the step of (a) pouring at least one hardener into a container; (b) pouring at least one resin into said container; {c) mixing said at least one hardener and said at least one resin to form an epoxy mixture, applying at least one epoxy layer of said mixture over at least one cured concrete/shotcrete surface to prevent flow of methane from a first side to a second side of the at least one cured concrete/shotcrete surface, at least a portion of the at least one cured concrete/shotcrete surface is in direct contact with earth.
Cooke Jr.(col 4lines 27-34; col 4 lines 63-col 5 lines 1-20) discloses the steps of (a) pouring at least one hardener into a container; (b) pouring at least one resin into said container; {c) mixing said at least one hardener and said at least one resin to form an epoxy mixture.
Goodson et al(col 4 lines 20-34) discloses the formation of concrete subgrade material to resist freeze-thaw damage for building subgrade layer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Moroschan’s structure to show the step of (a) pouring at least one hardener into a container; (b) pouring at least one resin into said container; {c) mixing said at least one hardener and said at least one resin to form an epoxy mixture a reasonable expectation of success since pouring the hardener and resin into a container would enable the formation of a premix epoxy for later use as taught by Cooke Jr, and one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Moroschan’s subgrade to show the layer formed of concrete with a reasonable expectation of success in order to resist freeze-thaw damage as taught by Goodson et al.
Per claim 2, Moroschan as modified shows said at least one cured concrete/shotcrete surface is selected from a group consisting of a wall, a blind wall, an interior wall, an exterior wall, a foundation, a foundation slab, a floor, and combinations thereof(col 2 line 11-17).
Per claim 4, Moroschan as modified further shows at least one electromechanical device having at least one mixing means secured thereto is used to mix said at least one hardener and said at least one resin to form said epoxy mixture(the mixture is inherently mixed by a device as the polymer is sprayed out into the hardener to bond to form the mixture).
Per claim 6, Moroschan as modified further shows said at least one layer of said mixture applied over said at least one surface is selected from a group consisting of an inside wall surface, an outside wall surface, an inside cured concrete/shotcrete floor, an inside cured concrete/shotcrete wall surface, an outside cured concrete/shotcrete floor, an outside cured concrete/shotcrete wall surface, and a cured concrete/shotcrete foundation.
Per claim 13, Moroschan as modified further shows a building structure having a methane barrier(25), comprising: (a) a foundation(23), wherein said foundation has top peripheral edges, and a bottom surface, and wherein said bottom surface is directly on top of earth; {b) at least three side walls(buildings inherently has at least three side walls unless circular; however, even circular buildings has east, west, south, north sides), having a top edge, and a bottom edge, and wherein said bottom edge is physically connected, and secured to said top peripheral edges of said foundation to form a room cavity; (c) at least one layer of a methane barrier mixture(25) directly covering at least a portion of said cavity, and wherein said methane barrier mixture comprises at least one hardener, and at least one resin(…hardened foam base); and (d} wherein said at least one layer of said menthane mixture (25) in direct contact with the room cavity prevents the ingress of methane(hardened foam base…such as methane, …natural gas…) from entering said cavity.
Per claims 14-15, Moroschan as modified further shows said foundation is one of concrete and shotcrete(per Goodson et al), wherein said at least three side walls are one of concrete and shotcrete.
Per claim 17, Moroschan as modified further shows at least a portion of said cavity is one of below ground level and at ground level.
Per claim 18, Moroschan as modified further shows at least a portion of said cavity is one of below ground level and at ground level, and wherein said at least one layer of said menthane barrier mixture covering said at least a portion of said cavity is one of below ground level and at ground level.
Per claim 19, Moroschan as modified further shows at least a portion of said cavity is one of below ground level and at ground level, and wherein said at least one layer of said methane barrier mixture covering said at least a portion of said cavity provides a substantially continuous methane barrier.
Per claim 20, Moroschan as modified further shows at least a portion of a surface of said cavity is prepared to accept at least one coating of said at least one layer of said methane barrier mixture(inherently so).
Claim(s) 3, 16 is is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moroschan in view of Cooke Jr and Goodson et al.
Moroschan as modified shows all the claimed limitations except for at least one layer of mixture covering said at least a portion of said cavity has a thickness of between about 0.125 mm to about 6 mm, said at least one mixture has a thickness of between about 0.125 mm to about 6 mm.
Moroschan further discloses the mixture covering can be as thick as needed to provide the desired insulated value.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Moroschan’s as modified structure to show at least one layer of methane barrier mixture has a thickness of between about 0.125 mm to about 6 mm with a reasonable expectation of success in order to achieve the desired insulating value for the thickness desired; furthermore, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Further, it has been held that by discovering an optimum value of a result, the effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Refer to MPEP § 2144.05; one having ordinary skill in the art thus would have found it obvious to make the covering as thick as needed to provide for the needed insulation and impermeability properties.
Claim(s) 5 is is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moroschan in view of Cooke JR and Goodson et al.
Moroschan as modified shows all the claimed limitations except for at least one electromechanical device having at least one mixing blade secured thereto is used to mix said at least one hardener and said at least one resin to form said epoxy methane barrier mixture.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Moroschan’s as modified structure to show at least one electromechanical device having at least one mixing blade secured thereto is used to mix said at least one hardener and said at least one resin to form said epoxy mixture with a reasonable expectation of success since using a mixing plate to mix epoxy and hardener as needed is well known in the art as it provides for ease mixing and intertwine of the epoxy and hardener together to form the impermeable barrier.
Claim(s) 21, 23 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moroschan(6974278) in view of Cooke (3935339).
Moroschan shows a methane barrier structure (6 line 21) comprising a structure(23) having a first surface, a second surface, wherein at least a portion of the structure is in direct contact with earth, one of the first surface, and said second surface, of said structure is in direct contact with at least one layer of at least one methane barrier layer (25), said at least one layer of said at least one methane barrier layer prevents the entrance of methane gas into the structure, and thus creating a methane barrier.
Moroschan does not show the methane barrier layer comprising at least one hardener.
Cooke Jr.(col 4lines 27-34; col 4 lines 63-col 5 lines 1-20) discloses the steps of (a) pouring at least one hardener into a container; (b) pouring at least one resin into said container; {c) mixing said at least one hardener and said at least one resin to form an epoxy mixture.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Moroschan’s structure to show the methane barrier layer comprising at least one hardener as taught by Cooke Jr with a reasonable expectation of success in order to enable the formation of a premix epoxy with hardener for later use as taught by Cooke Jr.
Per claim 23, Moroschan as modified further shows said at least one methane barrier layer is secured to a surface, wherein said surface is selected form a group consisting of a wall, a blind wall, an interior wall, an exterior wall, a foundation, a foundation slab, a floor and combinations thereof.
Claim(s) 22 is is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moroschan in view of Cooke Jr.
Moroschan as modified shows all the claimed limitations except for said at least one methane barrier layer having at thickness of between about 0.125 mm to about 6 mm.
Moroschan further discloses the mixture covering can be as thick as needed to provide the desired insulated value.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Moroschan’s as modified structure to show said at least one methane barrier layer having at thickness of between about 0.125 mm to about 6 mm with a reasonable expectation of success in order to achieve the desired insulating value for the thickness desired; furthermore, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Further, it has been held that by discovering an optimum value of a result, the effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Refer to MPEP § 2144.05; one having ordinary skill in the art thus would have found it obvious to make the covering as thick as needed to provide for the needed insulation and impermeability properties.
Claim(s) 24-26 is is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moroschan(6974278) in view of Cooke (3935339) as applied to claim 21 above and further in view of Goodson et al (5494514).
Moroschan as modified shows all the claimed limitations except for the surface is a concrete/shotcrete surface, or cured/uncured concrete/shotcrete surface.
Goodson et al(col 4 lines 20-34) discloses the formation of concrete subgrade material to resist freeze-thaw damage for building subgrade layer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Moroschan’s modified structure to show the surface is a concrete/shotcrete surface, or cured/uncured concrete/shotcrete surface a reasonable expectation of success since in order to form a subgrade layer that can resist freeze-thaw damage as taught by Goodson et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 13-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art shows different foundation covering layers.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHI D A/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633