DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 17, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Gordon et al. (US 5897108 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Gordon discloses:
An apparatus for storing an article, the apparatus comprising:
an article storage rack (10 & 12) including a space for storing a first article (PCB) or a second article (PCB) (Fig. 1) [Column 6 Lines 27-39]; and
a variable alignment device (34 & 54) installed on the article storage rack (Fig. 3a),
wherein the variable alignment device includes at least one first alignment protrusion (54) protrudes outward at a first height to align the first article when the first article is seated [Column 5 Lines 58-67 & Column 6 Lines 1-39], and
wherein the first alignment protrusion is accommodated inward to a second height lower than the first height so that the first alignment protrusion does not interfere with the second article when the second article is seated [Column 5 Lines 65-67 & Column 6 Lines 1-39].
Regarding Claim 2, Gordon discloses:
the variable alignment device further includes:
a base plate (44) formed on a top surface thereof with at least one second alignment protrusion (34 & 82) to align the second article, and including a reception part (18 & 46);
a movable plate (1000) installed in the reception part so as to be freely lifted and lowered, and formed thereon with the at least one first alignment protrusion (Fig. 3); and
at least one elastic spring (22) having a restoring force acting in a direction in which the movable plate is lifted [Column 4 Lines 53-67 & Column 5 Lines 1-67].
Regarding Claim 3, Gordon discloses:
the variable alignment device further include:
three second alignment protrusions that are triangularly arranged to correspond to three alignment grooves formed in a bottom surface of the second article and that are formed on the top surface of the base plate at a periphery of the reception part (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 9, Gordon discloses:
the at least one elastic spring is configured such that a sum of restoring forces is greater than a first weight of the first article and less than a second weight of the second article [Column 4 Lines 53-67 & Column 5 Lines 1-67].
Regarding Claim 10, Gordon discloses:
the variable alignment device further includes:
a fixing plate (14) installed to the base plate while being spaced apart from the base plate by a clearance distance so as to support the at least one elastic spring and allow the movable plate to be lifted and lowered in a separation space (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 11, Gordon discloses:
the first article includes a reticle pod for storing a reticle [as the rack is capable of storing a reticle pod without any structural changes it meets the limitations per MPEP 2114], and
the second article includes a front opening unified pod (FOUP) for storing a plurality of wafers [as the rack is capable of storing a front opening unified pod without any structural changes it meets the limitations per MPEP 2114].
Regarding Claim 12, Gordon discloses:
the second article has a second weight that is greater than a first weight of the first article [Column 4 Lines 53-67 & Column 5 Lines 1-67].
Regarding Claim 13, Gordon discloses:
the article storage rack includes an under track buffer (UTB) (80) or a side track buffer (STB) (58).
Regarding Claim 15, Gordon discloses:
the variable alignment device includes:
a cylinder part (18) formed on the article storage rack, in which the first alignment protrusion including a stopper (1000) is formed on one side of the cylinder part so as to be lifted and lowered [Column 4 Lines 53-67 & Column 5 Lines 1-67]; and
an elastic member (22) installed in the cylinder part (Fig. 3), and having a restoring force formed in a direction in which the first alignment protrusion protrudes [Column 4 Lines 53-67 & Column 5 Lines 1-67].
Regarding Claim 17, Gordon discloses:
A method for storing an article, the method comprising:
(a) seating a first article (PCB) in a space of an article storage rack (10 & 12) by an article transfer device (Fig. 1) [Abstract & Column 2 Lines 62-67 & Column 6 Lines 27-39];
(b) maintaining a state in which at least one first alignment protrusion (54) protrudes outward to align the first article at a first height [Column 5 Lines 58-67 & Column 6 Lines 1-39] by using a variable alignment device (34 & 54) installed in the article storage rack (Fig. 3) [Column 5 Lines 58-67 & Column 6 Lines 1-39];
(c) transferring the first article to another place, and seating a second article in the space of the article storage rack by the article transfer device [Abstract & Column 2 Lines 62-67 & Column 6 Lines 27-39]; and
(d) aligning the second article to at least one second alignment protrusion (34 & 82) by using the variable alignment device installed in the article storage rack (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3), and accommodating the first alignment protrusion inward to a second height lower than the first height so that the first alignment protrusion does not interfere with the second article [Column 5 Lines 65-67 & Column 6 Lines 1-39].
Regarding Claim 18, Gordon discloses:
(e) allowing the at least one first alignment protrusion to protrude outward by the variable alignment device when the second article is transferred to another place [Column 4 Lines 53-67 & Column 5 Lines 1-67].
Regarding Claim 19, Gordon discloses:
in the step (b), at least one elastic spring (22) having a restoring force that is greater than a weight of the first article is used to maintain the state in which the first alignment protrusion protrudes outward [Column 4 Lines 53-67 & Column 5 Lines 1-67], and,
in the step (d), the at least one elastic spring having a restoring force that is less than a weight of the second article is used to accommodate the first alignment protrusion inward so that the first alignment protrusion does not interfere with the second article [Column 4 Lines 53-67 & Column 5 Lines 1-67].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20190206709 A1) in view of Dolker et al. (US 20020011209 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Gordon teaches:
the apparatus is installed in a semiconductor manufacturing factory [Abstract].
Gordon does not explicitly teach:
the article storage rack includes:
a frame installed on at least one of a ceiling, a wall, and a floor of a manufacturing factory in which the apparatus is installed; and
at least one shelf support installed on the frame to support the first article or the second article.
Dolker teaches:
An apparatus for storing an article, the apparatus comprising:
an article storage rack (5) including a space for storing a first article (3a) or a second article (3b) (Fig. 4) [0044 & 0045 & 0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050]; and
a variable alignment device (9) installed on the article storage rack (Fig. 4 & Fig. 5),
wherein the variable alignment device includes at least one first alignment protrusion (9) protrudes outward at a first height to align the first article when the first article is seated [0037 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049], and
wherein the first alignment protrusion is accommodated inward to a second height lower than the first height (Fig. 6 & Fig. 7) [0041 & 0042];
the article storage rack includes:
a frame (2000) installed on at least one of a ceiling, a wall, and a floor of a manufacturing factory in which the apparatus is installed (Fig. 1) [0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0041 & 0042]; and
at least one shelf support installed on the frame to support the first article or the second article (Fig. 1) [0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0039 & 0041 & 0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the article storage apparatus taught by Gordon with the article storage apparatus having a storage rack including a frame installed on at least one of a ceiling, a wall, and a floor of a manufacturing factory in which the apparatus is installed, and at least one shelf support installed on the frame to support the first article or the second article taught by Dolker in order to provide a support with a means of providing a support which stabilizes the apparatus thereby preventing movement of the apparatus in a manner which could dislodge the article.
Regarding Claim 16, Gordon does not teach:
in operation detection device for detecting an operation state of the variable alignment device, and applying a detection signal to a control unit.
Dolker teaches:
An apparatus for storing an article, the apparatus comprising:
an article storage rack (5) including a space for storing a first article (3a) or a second article (3b) (Fig. 4) [0044 & 0045 & 0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049 & 0050]; and
a variable alignment device (9) installed on the article storage rack (Fig. 4 & Fig. 5),
wherein the variable alignment device includes at least one first alignment protrusion (9) protrudes outward at a first height to align the first article when the first article is seated [0037 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044 & 0045 & 0046 & 0047 & 0048 & 0049], and
wherein the first alignment protrusion is accommodated inward to a second height lower than the first height (Fig. 6 & Fig. 7) [0041 & 0042];
in operation detection device for detecting an operation state of the variable alignment device, and applying a detection signal to a control unit [0016 & 0018 & 0036].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the article storage apparatus taught by Gordon with the article storage apparatus having a detection device for detecting an operation state of the variable alignment device, and applying a detection signal to a control unit taught by Dolker in order to provide a means for sensing the state of the alignment device in order to prevent improper operation of the device and preventing damage to the article.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The art of record fails to render obvious the claimed combination of: “An apparatus for storing an article, the apparatus comprising: an article storage rack including a space for storing a first article or a second article; and a variable alignment device installed on the article storage rack, wherein the variable alignment device includes at least one first alignment protrusion protrudes outward at a first height to align the first article when the first article is seated, and wherein the first alignment protrusion is accommodated inward to a second height lower than the first height so that the first alignment protrusion does not interfere with the second article when the second article is seated, wherein the variable alignment device further includes: a base plate formed on a top surface thereof with at least one second alignment protrusion to align the second article, and including a reception part; a movable plate installed in the reception part so as to be freely lifted and lowered, and formed thereon with the at least one first alignment protrusion; and at least one elastic spring having a restoring force acting in a direction in which the movable plate is lifted, wherein the movable plate includes: a movable plate body substantially having a flat plate shape; three first alignment protrusions formed on a top surface of the movable plate body, and triangularly arranged to correspond to three alignment grooves formed in a bottom surface of the first article; and a stopper formed on one side surface of the movable plate body, and protruding in a lateral direction to prevent the movable plate body from being separated from the reception part.”, as recited in Claim 4 specifically:
the structural and operative relationship between the article storage rack, first article, second article, variable alignment device, first alignment protrusions, base plate, second alignment protrusion, reception part, movable plate, elastic spring, movable plate body, alignment grooves, and stopper. Especially as it relates to the relationship between the article storage rack, first article, second article, variable alignment device, first alignment protrusions, base plate, second alignment protrusion, reception part, movable plate, elastic spring, movable plate body, alignment grooves, and stopper.
Claim 20 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The art of record fails to render obvious the claimed combination of: “An apparatus for storing an article, the apparatus comprising: an article storage rack including a space for storing a first article or a second article; and a variable alignment device installed on the article storage rack, in which at least one first alignment protrusion protrudes outward at a first height to align the first article when the first article is seated, and the first alignment protrusion is accommodated inward to a second height lower than the first height so that the first alignment protrusion does not interfere with the second article when the second article is seated, wherein the variable alignment device includes: a base plate formed on a top surface thereof with at least one second alignment protrusion to align the second article, and including a reception part; a movable plate installed in the reception part so as to be freely lifted and lowered, and formed thereon with the at least one first alignment protrusion; at least one elastic spring having a restoring force acting in a direction in which the movable plate is lifted; and a fixing plate installed to the base plate while being spaced apart from the base plate by a clearance distance so as to support the at least one elastic spring and allow the movable plate to be lifted and lowered in a separation space, and the movable plate includes: a movable plate body substantially having a flat plate shape; three first alignment protrusions formed on a top surface of the movable plate body, and triangularly arranged to correspond to three alignment grooves formed in a bottom surface of the first article; a stopper formed on one side surface of the movable plate body, and protruding in a lateral direction to prevent the movable plate body from being separated from the reception part; and a guide formed on the top surface of the movable plate body, and having a top surface higher than a top surface of the first alignment protrusion to protect the first alignment protrusion.”, as recited in Claim 20 specifically:
the structural and operative relationship between the article storage rack, first article, second article, variable alignment device, first alignment protrusions, base plate, second alignment protrusion, reception part, movable plate, elastic spring, movable plate body, alignment grooves, stopper, and guide. Especially as it relates to the relationship between the article storage rack, first article, second article, variable alignment device, first alignment protrusions, base plate, second alignment protrusion, reception part, movable plate, elastic spring, movable plate body, alignment grooves, stopper, and guide.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1, 2, 3, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 19 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652