DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami et al. [US20200076022A1], hereinafter Kawakami, in view of Lee et al. [US20210075071A1], hereinafter Lee.
Regarding Claim 1, Kawakami discloses a fire-spreading prevention battery module comprising:
a plurality of battery cells, each battery cell being formed in a cylinder shape, a top of each battery cell and a bottom of each battery cell being defined as a positive electrode and a negative electrode, respectively [Kawakami 0043, The broadest reasonable interpretation is Kawakami’s batteries 1 is the positive electrode is the top of the battery cell and the negative electrode is the bottom of the battery cell or vice versa.];
an upper battery frame formed in a band shape, the upper battery frame extending in a longitudinal direction, the upper battery frame having a plurality of upper slots vertically penetrating through the upper battery frame [Kawakami 0045-0046 and throughout, Figs. 1-3, Battery holder 2 as the frame with battery accommodating portions 4 and separating walls 5 as the vertical slots penetrating through the frame at windows 7. The front frame 2A in Fig. 3 as the upper battery frame. The battery frame longitudinal direction is left-right in the Fig. 3 view.], a plurality of upper connection arms arranged among the plurality of the upper slots [Kawakami 0049-0051 and throughout, Figs. 1-3, 6-9, boundary walls 2E around and portions of 2 supporting positioning bumps 2F], and a plurality of upper limiting blocks arranged at upper edges of peripheral walls of the plurality of the upper slots [Kawakami 0048 and throughout, Fig. 1, wall 5 is the peripheral wall and the upper limiting block is the portion of holder 2 facing the top of battery cell 1 near electrode terminal 1x or 1y depending on battery orientation. Further, electrode window 7 is smaller than the outer shape of the battery cell.], the plurality of the upper slots being arranged in two longitudinal rows [Kawakami 0046-0047 and throughout, Kawakami discloses a plurality of rows, which reads on two longitudinal rows. The broadest reasonable interpretation of Kawakami’s plurality of rows and columns is any whole number greater than one.], the plurality of the upper slots being arranged in a honeycomb pattern [Kawakami 0046, staggered, zigzag arrangement in Figs. 2-3 and throughout reads on honeycomb pattern];
a plurality of upper electrode plates mounted on an upper surface of the upper battery frame, and the plurality of the upper electrode plates covering the plurality of the upper slots [Kawakami 0049-0052, Fig. 4, and throughout, plurality of bus bars 3 as upper electrode plates];
a lower battery frame formed in the band shape, the lower battery frame extending in the longitudinal direction, the lower battery frame having a plurality of lower slots vertically penetrating through the lower battery frame [Kawakami 0045-0046 and throughout, Figs. 1-3, Battery holder 2 as the frame with battery accommodating portions 4 and separating walls 5 as the vertical slots penetrating through the frame at windows 7. The rear frame 2A in Fig. 3 as the lower battery frame. The battery frame longitudinal direction is left-right in the Fig. 3 view.], a plurality of lower connection arms arranged among the plurality of the lower slots [Kawakami 0049-0051 and throughout, Figs. 1-3, 6-9, boundary walls 2E around and portions of 2 supporting positioning bumps 2F. Note both frames 2A are the same for upper and lower.], and a plurality of lower limiting blocks arranged at lower edges of peripheral walls of the plurality of the lower slots [Kawakami 0048-0049 and throughout, Fig. 1, wall 5 is the peripheral wall and the lower limiting block is the portion of holder 2 facing the bottom of battery cell 1 near electrode terminal 1x or 1y depending on battery orientation. Further, electrode window 7 is smaller than the outer shape of the battery.], the plurality of the lower slots being arranged in two longitudinal rows [Kawakami 0046-0047 and throughout, Kawakami discloses a plurality of rows, which reads on two longitudinal rows. The broadest reasonable interpretation of Kawakami’s plurality of rows and columns is any whole number greater than one.], the plurality of the lower slots being arranged in the honeycomb pattern [Kawakami 0046, staggered, zigzag arrangement in Figs. 2-3 and throughout reads on honeycomb pattern];
a plurality of first lower electrode plates mounted to a middle of a lower surface of the lower battery frame, and the plurality of the first lower electrode plates covering two middles of the two longitudinal rows of the lower slots [Kawakami 0049-0052, Fig. 5, and throughout, plurality of bus bars 3 as lower electrode plates, Kawasaki’s first lower electrode plates are the six middle plates shown in Fig. 5, which cover the middle of the longitudinal rows. The broadest reasonable interpretation of Kawakami’s plurality of rows and columns is any whole number greater than one.]; and
two second lower electrode plates mounted to two ends of the lower surface of the lower battery frame, and the two second lower electrode plates covering two ends of each longitudinal row of the lower slots [Kawakami 0049-0052, Fig. 5, and throughout, the bus bars 3 on the left and right side of the module shown in Fig. 5 as two second lower electrode plates];
wherein the two second lower electrode plates are arranged at the two opposite ends of the lower battery frame, and the plurality of the first lower electrode plates are arranged between the two second lower electrode plates [Kawakami 0049-0052, Fig. 5, and throughout].
Kawakami is silent to a plurality of fire-spreading prevention pads, each fire-spreading prevention pad wrapping a peripheral surface of one battery cell.
Lee discloses a fire-spreading prevention battery module, comprising a plurality of battery cells 11 [Lee 0020, Figs. 1-3], each battery cell being forming in a cylinder shape [Lee 0020, Figs. 1-3], a top of each battery cell and a bottom of each battery cell being defined as a positive electrode and a negative electrode, respectively [Lee 0022 The broadest reasonable interpretation of Lee is the positive electrode is the top of the battery cell and the negative electrode is the bottom of the battery cell or vice versa.],
a plurality of fire-spreading prevention pads, each fire-spreading prevention pad wrapping a peripheral surface of one battery cell [Lee 0021-0029, pad 12],
an upper battery frame formed in a band shape, the upper battery frame extending in a longitudinal direction, the upper battery frame having a plurality of upper slots vertically penetrating through the upper battery frame, a plurality of upper connection arms arranged among the plurality of the upper slots, the plurality of the upper slots being arranged in two longitudinal rows, the plurality of the upper slots being arranged in a honeycomb pattern [Lee 0030-0032, Figs 1-2], and
a lower battery frame formed in the band shape, the lower battery frame extending in the longitudinal direction, the lower battery frame having a plurality of lower slots vertically penetrating through the lower battery frame, a plurality of lower connection arms arranged among the plurality of the lower slots, the plurality of the lower slots being arranged in two longitudinal rows, the plurality of the lower slots being arranged in the honeycomb pattern [Lee 0030-0032, Figs 1-2].
It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to combine Lee’s plurality of fire-spreading prevention pads around each of Kawakami’s battery cells 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Lee’s plurality of fire-spreading prevention pads around each of Kawakami’s battery cells 1 for the predictable result of protecting each of the battery cells in Kawakami’s battery module by “avoiding flame propagation and explosion” and “uniform heat transfer and dissipation” through resisting “thermal conductivity of a faulty battery cell” from overheating “normal battery cells adjacent to the faulty battery cell”, thus reducing battery cell failure [Lee 0014].
Regarding Claim 13, modified Kawakami discloses the fire-spreading prevention battery module as claimed in claim 1, wherein top surfaces of the plurality of the upper connection arms of the upper battery frame and the lower connection arms of the lower battery frame has a plurality of positioning bumps [Kawakami 0025, 0061, Figs. 1, 7-9, positioning ribs 2F reads on positioning bumps] the plurality of the upper electrode plates, the plurality of the first lower electrode plates and the two second lower electrode plates define a plurality of positioning holes matched with the plurality of the positioning bumps [Kawakami 0061, Figs. 1, 7-9, positioning holes 3K] , the plurality of the positioning bumps are embedded in the plurality of the positioning holes [Kawakami 0061, Figs. 1, 7-9].
Regarding Claim 14, Kawakami discloses a fire-spreading prevention battery module, comprising:
a plurality of battery cells, each battery cell being formed in a cylinder shape, a top of each battery cell and a bottom of each battery cell being defined as a positive electrode and a negative electrode, respectively [Kawakami 0043, The broadest reasonable interpretation is Kawakami’s batteries 1 is the positive electrode is the top of the battery cell and the negative electrode is the bottom of the battery cell or vice versa.];
an upper battery frame formed in a band shape, the upper battery frame extending in a longitudinal direction, the upper battery frame having a plurality of upper slots vertically penetrating through the upper battery frame [Kawakami 0045-0046 and throughout, Figs. 1-3, Battery holder 2 as the frame with battery accommodating portions 4 and separating walls 5 as the vertical slots penetrating through the frame at windows 7. The front frame 2A in Fig. 3 as the upper battery frame. The battery frame longitudinal direction is left-right in the Fig. 3 view.], a plurality of upper connection arms arranged among the plurality of the upper slots [Kawakami 0049-0051 and throughout, Figs. 1-3, 6-9, boundary walls 2E around and portions of 2 supporting positioning bumps 2F], and a plurality of upper limiting blocks arranged at upper edges of peripheral walls of the plurality of the upper slots [Kawakami 0048 and throughout, Fig. 1, wall 5 is the peripheral wall and the upper limiting block is the portion of holder 2 facing the top of battery cell 1 near electrode terminal 1x or 1y depending on battery orientation. Further, electrode window 7 is smaller than the outer shape of the battery cell.], the plurality of the upper slots being arranged in two longitudinal rows [Kawakami 0046-0047 and throughout, Kawakami discloses a plurality of rows, which reads on two longitudinal rows. The broadest reasonable interpretation of Kawakami’s plurality of rows and columns is any whole number greater than one.], the plurality of the upper slots being arranged in a honeycomb pattern [Kawakami 0046, staggered, zigzag arrangement in Figs. 2-3 and throughout reads on honeycomb pattern];
a plurality of upper electrode plates mounted on an upper surface of the upper battery frame, and the plurality of the upper electrode plates covering the plurality of the upper slots [Kawakami 0049-0052, Fig. 4, and throughout, plurality of bus bars 3 as upper electrode plates];
a lower battery frame formed in the band shape, the lower battery frame extending in the longitudinal direction, the lower battery frame having a plurality of lower slots vertically penetrating through the lower battery frame [Kawakami 0045-0046 and throughout, Figs. 1-3, Battery holder 2 as the frame with battery accommodating portions 4 and separating walls 5 as the vertical slots penetrating through the frame at windows 7. The rear frame 2A in Fig. 3 as the lower battery frame. The battery frame longitudinal direction is left-right in the Fig. 3 view.], a plurality of lower connection arms arranged among the plurality of the lower slots [Kawakami 0049-0051 and throughout, Figs. 1-3, 6-9, boundary walls 2E around and portions of 2 supporting positioning bumps 2F. Note both frames 2A are the same for upper and lower.], and a plurality of lower limiting blocks arranged at lower edges of peripheral walls of the plurality of the lower slots [Kawakami 0048-0049 and throughout, Fig. 1, wall 5 is the peripheral wall and the lower limiting block is the portion of holder 2 facing the bottom of battery cell 1 near electrode terminal 1x or 1y depending on battery orientation. Further, electrode window 7 is smaller than the outer shape of the battery.], the plurality of the lower slots being arranged in two longitudinal rows [Kawakami 0046-0047 and throughout, Kawakami discloses a plurality of rows, which reads on two longitudinal rows. The broadest reasonable interpretation of Kawakami’s plurality of rows and columns is any whole number greater than one.], the plurality of the lower slots being arranged in the honeycomb pattern [Kawakami 0046, staggered, zigzag arrangement in Figs. 2-3 and throughout reads on honeycomb pattern];
a plurality of first lower electrode plates mounted to a middle of a lower surface of the lower battery frame, and the plurality of the first lower electrode plates covering two middles of the two longitudinal rows of the lower slots [Kawakami 0049-0052, Fig. 5, and throughout, plurality of bus bars 3 as lower electrode plates, Kawasaki’s first lower electrode plates are the six middle plates shown in Fig. 5, which cover the middle of the longitudinal rows. The broadest reasonable interpretation of Kawakami’s plurality of rows and columns is any whole number greater than one.]; and
two second lower electrode plates mounted to two ends of the lower surface of the lower battery frame, and the two second lower electrode plates covering two ends of each longitudinal row of the lower slots [Kawakami 0049-0052, Fig. 5, and throughout, the bus bars 3 on the left and right side of the module shown in Fig. 5 as two second lower electrode plates], the plurality of the first lower electrode plates being arranged between the two second lower electrode plates [Kawakami 0049-0052, Fig. 5, and throughout].
Kawakami is silent to a plurality of fire-spreading prevention pads, each fire-spreading prevention pad wrapping a peripheral surface of one battery cell, each fire-spreading prevention pad including a gel layer, a plurality of flame-retardant material granules distributed in the gel layer, and an insulation film wrapping an outside of the gel layer.
Lee discloses a fire-spreading prevention battery module, comprising a plurality of battery cells 11 [Lee 0020, Figs. 1-3], each battery cell being forming in a cylinder shape [Lee 0020, Figs. 1-3], a top of each battery cell and a bottom of each battery cell being defined as a positive electrode and a negative electrode, respectively [Lee 0022 The broadest reasonable interpretation of Lee is the positive electrode is the top of the battery cell and the negative electrode is the bottom of the battery cell or vice versa.],
a plurality of fire-spreading prevention pads, each fire-spreading prevention pad wrapping a peripheral surface of one battery cell [Lee 0021-0029, pad 12], each fire-spreading prevention pad includes a gel layer [Lee 023, gel 1211], a plurality of flame-retardant material granules distributed in the gel layer [Lee 0026-0027], and an insulation film wrapping an outside of the gel layer [Lee 0013, 0028, Outer tape layer 122 reads on insulation film since the broadest reasonable interpretation of Lee is the tape would provide some degree of thermal and electrical insulation.]
an upper battery frame formed in a band shape, the upper battery frame extending in a longitudinal direction, the upper battery frame having a plurality of upper slots vertically penetrating through the upper battery frame, a plurality of upper connection arms arranged among the plurality of the upper slots, the plurality of the upper slots being arranged in two longitudinal rows, the plurality of the upper slots being arranged in a honeycomb pattern [Lee 0030-0032, Figs 1-2], and
a lower battery frame formed in the band shape, the lower battery frame extending in the longitudinal direction, the lower battery frame having a plurality of lower slots vertically penetrating through the lower battery frame, a plurality of lower connection arms arranged among the plurality of the lower slots, the plurality of the lower slots being arranged in two longitudinal rows, the plurality of the lower slots being arranged in the honeycomb pattern [Lee 0030-0032, Figs 1-2].
It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to combine Lee’s plurality of fire-spreading prevention pads around each of Kawakami’s battery cells 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Lee’s plurality of fire-spreading prevention pads around each of Kawakami’s battery cells 1 for the predictable result of protecting each of the battery cells in Kawakami’s battery module by “avoiding flame propagation and explosion” and “uniform heat transfer and dissipation” through resisting “thermal conductivity of a faulty battery cell” from overheating “normal battery cells adjacent to the faulty battery cell”, thus reducing battery cell failure [Lee 0014].
Claim(s) 2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami et al. [US20200076022A1], hereinafter Kawakami, in view of Lee et al. [US20210075071A1], hereinafter Lee, as provide in claim 1 above, in further view of Tong et al. [CN113113596A, dated July 13, 2021, machine translation relied upon provided], hereinafter Tong.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Kawakami discloses the fire-spreading prevention battery module as claimed in claim 1,
wherein each fire-spreading prevention pad includes a gel layer [Lee 023, gel 1211], a plurality of flame-retardant material granules distributed in the gel layer [Lee 0026-0027], and an insulation film wrapping an outside of the gel layer [Lee 0013, 0028, Outer tape layer 122 reads on insulation film since the broadest reasonable interpretation of Lee is that it would provide some degree of thermal and electrical insulation.]. Lee’s gel layer is made of a gummy silicon material [Lee 0008 and throughout] and Lee does not disclose a solvent or the claimed “water as a main solvent”; however, gel materials made with water solvents are known in the battery art. Tong discloses a gel material used for a nickel-zinc cathode [Tong 0001 and throughout] where the gel is made from agar, glucomannan, and water which is subsequently heated form a gel material for use in Tong’s battery [Tong n0039]. Tong’s gel material with water as the main solvent in a battery cathode demonstrates gels with water solvents are art recognized as suitable for use in batteries. See MPEP 2144.07, suitability for an intended use, and MPEP 2143(B) simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to replace Lee’s gummy silicon gel with Tong’s water solvent based gel with the expectation of a gel material for use in a battery application.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Kawakami discloses the fire-spreading prevention battery module as claimed in claim 2, wherein the flame-retardant material granules are selected from materials which are magnesium hydroxides, aluminum hydroxides, zinc borates, glass sands, expanded graphites or a combination of the magnesium hydroxides, the aluminum hydroxides, the zinc borates, the glass sands and the expanded graphites [Lee discloses aluminum hydroxide and magnesium hydroxide [Lee 0011-0012, 0025-0026, and throughout], which reads on magnesium hydroxides, aluminum hydroxides, and a combination of magnesium hydroxides and aluminum hydroxides.].
Regarding Claim 5, modified Kawakami discloses the fire-spreading prevention battery module as claimed in claim 2, wherein the insulation film plays a protection function [Lee 0028, Lee discloses the outer layer of tape pasted on the gel increases the stiffness of the flame-retardant battery sleeve [Lee 0028], which reads on protective function since the gel would require stiffness to adhere to the surface of the battery cell to provide the disclosed flame-retardant protection [Lee 0014 and throughout].].
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami et al. [US20200076022A1], hereinafter Kawakami, in view of Lee et al. [US20210075071A1], hereinafter Lee, in further view of Tong et al. [CN113113596A, dated July 13, 2021, machine translation relied upon provided], hereinafter Tong, as applied to Claim 2 above, as evidenced by Zhang et al., Konjac glucomannan biopolymer as a multifunctional binder to build a solid permeable interface on Na3V2(PO4)3/C cathodes for high-performance sodium ion batteries, Journal of Materials Chemistry A 2021, 9, 9864 and PubChem, compound summary for Glucomannan.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Kawakami discloses the fire-spreading prevention battery module as claimed in claim 2, wherein the gel layer is consisted of sugar, agar, and water [Tong n0039, Tong’s gel is made of agar, water, and glucomannan. Glucomannan is a polysaccharide, as evidence by Zhang [Zhang p. 9866, results and discussion]. Further, as evidenced by PubChem glucomannan has a basic polymeric repeating unit of glucose and mannose, both sugars, and thus reads on claimed sugar.
Claim(s) 6-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami et al. [US20200076022A1], hereinafter Kawakami, in view of Lee et al. [US20210075071A1], hereinafter Lee, as applied to claim 1, in view of Nakasawa et al. [US20190181400A1], hereinafter Nakasawa.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Kawakami discloses the fire-spreading prevention battery module as claimed in claim 1,
wherein each upper electrode plate has an upper body extending in the longitudinal direction [Kawakami Fig. 4, upper plate 3 as upper body extends in longitudinal direction], a plurality of upper terminal contacts protruded downward from the upper body [Kawakami 0050-0054, Figs. 1, 6-9, terminal contacts 3A project downward from base 3B with additional projections 3G from welded portion 3E] , and an upper wire contact [Kawakami Figs. 2-5, 7, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Kawakami Figs. 2-5, 7 is the output connectors for each of the plurality of upper electrode plates can be a wire contact.],
the plurality of the upper terminal contacts contact with the tops of the plurality of the battery cells [Kawakami 0009, 0021, 0049, 0052-0055 and throughout], the plurality of the upper terminal contacts are arranged in two longitudinal rows [Kawakami 0064, Fig. 4 The broadest reasonable interpretation of Kawakami’s plurality of rows and columns is any whole number greater than one, such as two. At least two are shown in Fig. 4.], the plurality of the upper terminal contacts are arranged in the honeycomb pattern [Kawakami Fig. 4], positions of the plurality of the upper terminal contacts are cooperated with positions of the plurality of the upper slots [Kawakami Figs. 1-6 and throughout], the upper wire contact is extended outward and then is extended downward from a lateral edge of the upper body [Kawakami Figs. 2-5, 7, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Kawakami Figs. is the output connectors extends outward from the plate and then downward from the lateral edge since the output connector connect to a circuit board 10 on as lateral edge between the battery holder portions 2A.].
Modified Kawakami is silent to a plurality of upper pressure relieving holes and therefore does not disclose the plurality of the upper pressure relieving holes are disposed among the plurality of the upper terminal contacts, when internal pressures of the plurality of the battery cells are too high, the plurality of the upper pressure relieving holes release the pressures of the plurality of the battery cells.
Nakasawa discloses a battery module 10, a plurality of cylindrical batteries 12 [Nakasawa 0019, Fig. 1], a top of each battery and a bottom of each battery cell being defined as a positive and negative electrode, respectively, [Nakasawa 0028, Fig. 6], an upper battery frame formed in a band shape, the upper frame extending in a longitudinal direction [Nakasawa 0020, Fig. 1, upper frame 13, length direction is longitudinal], the upper frame having a plurality of upper slots vertically penetrating through the battery frame [Nakasawa 0040, Fig. 4, slots are accommodating portions 32], a plurality of connection arms arranged among the plurality of upper slots, and a plurality of upper limiting blocks arranged at upper edges of peripheral walls of the plurality of upper slots [Nakasawa Fig. 4, connection arms are spacings between holes 32c, peripheral wall 32a, blocks 32b], the plurality of upper slots being arranged in two longitudinal rows [Nakasawa 0022, Fig. 1, at least two rows are shown], the plurality of upper slots being arranged in a honeycomb pattern [Nakasawa 0049, Fig. 1], plurality of electrode plates mounting on an upper surface of the upper battery frame, the plurality of upper plates covering the plurality of upper slots [Nakasawa 0023, Fig. 1, terminal plates 4, two are shown], a lower battery frame formed in the band shape, the lower battery frame extending in the longitudinal direction Nakasawa 0020-0022, Fig. 1, lower frame 13, length direction is longitudinal], the lower battery having a plurality of lower slots vertically penetrating through the lower battery frame [Nakasawa 0040, Fig. 4, slots are accommodating portions 33], a plurality of lower connection arms arranged among the plurality of lower slots, and a plurality of lower limiting blocks arrange at lower edges of peripheral walls of the plurality of lower slots [Nakasawa 0053, Fig. 4, connection arms are spacings between holes 33c, peripheral wall 33a, blocks 33b], the plurality of lower slots being arranged in longitudinal rows, the plurality of lower slots being arranged in the honeycomb pattern [Nakasawa 0022, Fig. 2, at least two rows are shown], and a plurality of first lower electrode plates [Nakasawa 0023, Fig. 2, plates 5]. Nakasawa further discloses an upper body of the electrode plate 14 [Nakasawa 0023, Figs. 1 and 4, upper body 14] and a plurality of upper terminal contacts protruded downward from the upper body [Nakasawa 0023, Figs. 1 and 4, terminal contacts 16], and an upper wire contact [Nakasawa 0036, distal end of busbar 41 with throughholes 43], the upper body defines a plurality of upper pressure relieving holes, the plurality of the upper pressure relieving holes are disposed among the plurality of the upper terminal contacts [Nakasawa 0024, 0048-0049, Fig. 4, Openings 42 in plate 14 and adjacent to contacts 16 overlap hole 32 c, which vents battery gas, and therefore reads on “the plurality of upper pressure relieving holes are disposed among the plurality of upper contacts], when internal pressures of the plurality of the battery cells are too high [Nakasawa 0031] , the plurality of the upper pressure relieving holes release the pressures of the plurality of the battery cells [Nakasawa 0031, 0024, 0048-0049, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Nakasawa’s venting system where battery gas is released through safety vent 50 to hole 32c and then directly out of the battery holder without affecting nearby battery cells reads on the limitations regarding upper pressure relieving holes releasing the pressure of the battery cells. It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to combine Nakasawa’s teachings with modified Kawakami’s battery since it would be expected that Kawakami’s battery cells may vent or discharge gas or may be provided with a vent as taught [Nakasawa 0031]. Since Nakasawa discloses the gas may vent through holes in the upper electrode plate 4 as described above, it would be expected that that a venting gas from Nakasawa’s battery cells substituted in modified Kawakami’s battery module would vent through the holes/gap 3F [Kawakami 0053, Fig. 4] in the terminal contact areas shown in Kawakami Fig. 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Nakasawa’s teachings about venting gas to relieve pressure within a battery through holes in the battery module bus bar with modified Kawakami’s battery with the predictable result of a battery module where the direction of the venting of the battery cells is controlled into a space provided for vented gas [Nakasawa 0058].
Regarding Claim 7, modified Kawakami discloses the fire-spreading prevention battery module as claimed in claim 6 but is silent to wherein each upper pressure relieving hole is an I shape, each upper pressure relieving hole is disposed transversely. However, modifying the shape of modified Kawakami’s pressure relieving hole would not change its function of relieving gas and would be considered a design choice dependent on the shape of the contact potion and the location of the vent hole in the battery cell. Such modifications are obvious per MPEP 2144.04 I, aesthetic design changes, and or MPEP 2144.0 4IV, B, since such alterations to modified Kawakami would not change the function of the pressure relieving hole. Further, disposing the upper pressure relieving hole transversely would not change its function of relieving gas and would be considered a design choice dependent on the shape of the contact potion and the location of the vent hole in the battery cell. Such modifications are obvious per MPEP 2144.04 I, aesthetic design changes, and or MPEP 2144.04 VI, C, rearrangement of parts.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Kawakami discloses the fire-spreading prevention battery module as claimed in claim 1, wherein each first lower electrode plate has a first lower body extending in the longitudinal direction [Kawakami Fig. 5, the middle 6 first electrode lower plate 3 as first lower body extends in longitudinal direction], a plurality of first lower terminal contacts protruded upward from the first lower body [Kawakami 0050-0054, Figs. 1, 5-9, terminal contacts 3A project upward from base 3B with additional projections 3G from welded portion 3E], and a first lower wire contact [Kawakami Figs. 2-5, 7, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Kawakami Figs. 2-5, 7 is the output connectors for each of the plurality of lower electrode plates can be a wire contact.], the plurality of the first lower terminal contacts contact with the bottoms of the plurality of the battery cells [Kawakami 0009, 0021, 0049, 0052-0055 and throughout], the plurality of the first lower terminal contacts are arranged in two longitudinal rows, the plurality of the first lower terminal contacts are arranged in the honeycomb pattern rows [Kawakami 0064, Fig. 5 The broadest reasonable interpretation of Kawakami’s plurality of rows and columns is any whole number greater than one, such as two. At least two are shown in Fig. 5.], positions of the plurality of the first lower terminal contacts are cooperated with positions of the plurality of the lower slots [Kawakami Figs. 1-6 and throughout], the first lower wire contact is extended outward and then is extended upward from a lateral edge of the first lower body [Kawakami Figs. 2-5, 7, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Kawakami Figs. is the output connectors extends outward from the plate and then upward from the lateral edge since the output connector connect to a circuit board 10 on as lateral edge between the battery holder portions 2A.].
Modified Kawakami is silent to the plurality of the first lower pressure relieving holes are disposed among the plurality of the first lower terminal contacts, when internal pressures of the plurality of the battery cells are too high, the plurality of the first lower pressure relieving holes release the pressures of the plurality of the battery cells. Nakasawa teaches pressure relieving holes disposed among terminal contacts [Nakasawa 0024, 0048-0049, Fig. 4, Openings 42 in plate 14 and adjacent to contacts 16 overlap hole 32 c, which vents battery gas, and therefore reads on a plurality of pressure relieving holes are disposed among the plurality of contacts. Nakasawa’s teachings for the upper contacts can be applied to first lower contacts since a person of ordinary skill in the art knows batteries can be designed to vent from either or both ends and can be electrically connected such that battery cells of opposite polarity are adjacent.], when internal pressures of the plurality of the battery cells are too high [Nakasawa 0031] , the plurality of the first lower pressure relieving holes release the pressures of the plurality of the battery cells, [Nakasawa 0031, 0024, 0048-0049, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Nakasawa’s venting system where battery gas is released through safety vent 50 to hole 32c and then directly out of the battery holder without affecting nearby battery cells reads on the limitations regarding first lower pressure relieving holes releasing the pressure of the battery cells.] It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to combine Nakasawa’s teachings with modified Kawakami’s battery since it would be expected that Kawakami’s battery cells may vent or discharge gas or may be provided with a vent as taught [Nakasawa 0031]. Since Nakasawa discloses the gas may vent through holes in the electrode plate 4 as described above, it would be expected that that a venting gas from Nakasawa’s battery cells substituted in modified Kawakami’s battery module would vent through the holes/gap 3F [Kawakami 0053, Fig. 5] in the first lower terminal contact areas shown in Kawakami Fig. 5. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Nakasawa’s teachings about venting gas to relieve pressure within a battery through holes in the battery module bus bar with modified Kawakami’s battery with the predictable result of a battery module where the direction of the venting of the battery cells is controlled into a space provided for vented gas [Nakasawa 0058].
Regarding Claim 9, modified Kawakami discloses the fire-spreading prevention battery module as claimed in claim 8 but is silent to wherein each first lower pressure relieving hole is an I shape, each first lower pressure relieving hole is disposed transversely. However, modifying the shape of modified Kawakami’s pressure relieving hole would not change its function of relieving gas and would be considered a design choice dependent on the shape of the contact potion and the location of the vent hole in the battery cell. Such modifications are obvious per MPEP 2144.04 I, aesthetic design changes, and or MPEP 2144.0 4IV, B, since such alterations to modified Kawakami would not change the function of the pressure relieving hole. Further, disposing the pressure relieving hole transversely would not change its function of relieving gas and would be considered a design choice dependent on the shape of the contact potion and the location of the vent hole in the battery cell. Such modifications are obvious per MPEP 2144.04 I, aesthetic design changes, and or MPEP 2144.04 VI, C, rearrangement of parts.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Kawakami discloses the fire-spreading prevention battery module as claimed in claim 8, wherein each second lower electrode plate has a second lower body extending in the longitudinal direction [Kawakami Fig. 5, the second electrode lower plate 3 on each left right end of the battery module shown in Fig. 5 as second lower body extends in longitudinal direction], a plurality of second lower terminal contacts protruded upward from the second lower body [Kawakami 0050-0054, Figs. 1, 5-9, terminal contacts 3A project upward from base 3B with additional projections 3G from welded portion 3E], the plurality of the second lower terminal contacts contact with the bottoms of the plurality of the battery cells [Kawakami 0009, 0021, 0049, 0052-0055 and throughout], the plurality of the second lower terminal contacts are arranged in two longitudinal rows [Kawakami 0064, Fig. 5 The broadest reasonable interpretation of Kawakami’s plurality of rows and columns is any whole number greater than one, such as two. At least two are shown in Fig. 5.], the two longitudinal rows of the second lower terminal contacts are aligned with the two longitudinal rows of the first lower terminal contacts [Kawakami Fig. 5], the plurality of the second lower terminal contacts are arranged in the honeycomb pattern [Kawakami Fig. 5], positions of the plurality of the second lower terminal contacts are cooperated with positions of the plurality of the lower slots[Kawakami Figs. 1-6 and throughout].
Modified Kawakami discloses a first lower wire contact, the first lower wire contact is extended outward, then is extended upward and is further extended outward from a lateral edge of the first lower body as described in claim 8 above but is silent to a second lower wire contact, the second lower wire contact is extended outward, then is extended upward and is further extended outward from a lateral edge of the second lower body. However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to duplicate Kawakami’s first lower wire contact on the second lower body such that the second lower body has a second lower wire contact, the second lower wire contact is extended outward, then is extended upward and is further extended outward from a lateral edge of the second lower body if required for the electrical design of the battery module. Such duplication is obvious per MPEP 2144.04 VI, B, duplication of parts.
Modified Kawakami is silent to
the second lower body defines a plurality of second lower pressure relieving holes, the plurality of the second lower pressure relieving holes are disposed among the plurality of the second lower terminal contacts, when the internal pressures of the plurality of the battery cells are too high, the plurality of the second lower pressure relieving holes release the pressures of the plurality of the battery cells.
Nakasawa teaches pressure relieving holes disposed among terminal contacts [Nakasawa 0024, 0048-0049, Fig. 4, Openings 42 in plate 14 and adjacent to contacts 16 overlap hole 32 c, which vents battery gas, and therefore reads on a plurality of pressure relieving holes are disposed among the plurality of contacts. Nakasawa’s teachings for the upper contacts can be applied to second lower contacts since a person of ordinary skill in the art knows batteries can be designed to vent from either or both ends and can be electrically connected such that battery cells of opposite polarity are adjacent.], when internal pressures of the plurality of the battery cells are too high [Nakasawa 0031] , the plurality of the second lower pressure relieving holes release the pressures of the plurality of the battery cells, [Nakasawa 0031, 0024, 0048-0049, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Nakasawa’s venting system where battery gas is released through safety vent 50 to hole 32c and then directly out of the battery holder without affecting nearby battery cells reads on the limitations regarding the second lower pressure relieving holes releasing the pressure of the battery cells.] It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to combine Nakasawa’s teachings with modified Kawakami’s battery since it would be expected that Kawakami’s battery cells may vent or discharge gas or may be provided with a vent as taught [Nakasawa 0031]. Since Nakasawa discloses the gas may vent through holes in the electrode plate 4 as described above, it would be expected that that a venting gas from Nakasawa’s battery cells substituted in modified Kawakami’s battery module would vent through the holes/gap 3F [Kawakami 0053, Fig. 5] in the second lower terminal contact areas shown in Kawakami Fig. 5. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Nakasawa’s teachings about venting gas to relieve pressure within a battery through holes in the battery module bus bar with modified Kawakami’s battery with the predictable result of a battery module where the direction of the venting of the battery cells is controlled into a space provided for vented gas [Nakasawa 0058].
Regarding Claim 11, modified Kawakami discloses the fire-spreading prevention battery module as claimed in claim 10, wherein a quantity of the second lower terminal contacts of each second lower body is half of a quantity of the first lower terminal contacts of each first lower body [Kawakami Fig. 5, There are eight second lower terminal contacts on each second lower body shown in Fig. 5. There are sixteen first lower terminal contacts on each first lower body shown in Fig. 5. Thus, the limitation is met. However, the number of contacts in the first lower terminal plate and second lower terminal plate would be a design choice dependent on the size and requirements of the battery module, which is obvious per MPEP 2144.04 I. Further, changing the number of contacts in either plate would be obvious per MPEP 2144.04 IV since the contacts all have the same function and the number required depends on the number of battery cells required for the application.], a quantity of the second lower pressure relieving holes of each second lower body is half of a quantity of the first lower pressure relieving holes of each first lower body [Kawakami Fig. 5, With Kawakami modified by Nakasawa, there would be one pressure relieving hole in each contact of the first and second lower body. Thus, there are eight second lower terminal contacts and pressure relieving holes (one for each battery cell) on each second lower body shown in Fig. 5. There are sixteen first lower terminal contacts and pressure relieving holes (one for each battery cell) on each first lower body shown in Fig. 5. Thus, the limitation is met. However, the number of pressure relieving holes in the first lower terminal plate and second lower terminal plate would be a design choice dependent on the size and requirements of the battery module, which is obvious per MPEP 2144.04 I. Further, changing the number of pressure relieving holes in either plate would be obvious per MPEP 2144.04 IV since the pressure relieving holes all have the same function and the number required depends on the number of battery cells required for the application.].
Regarding Claim 12, modified Kawakami discloses the fire-spreading prevention battery module as claimed in claim 10 but is silent to wherein each second lower pressure relieving hole is an I shape, each second lower pressure relieving hole is disposed transversely. However, modifying the shape of modified Kawakami’s pressure relieving hole would not change its function of relieving gas and would be considered a design choice dependent on the shape of the contact potion and the location of the vent hole in the battery cell. Such modifications are obvious per MPEP 2144.04 I, aesthetic design changes, and or MPEP 2144.0 4IV, B, because such alterations to modified Kawakami would not change the function of the pressure relieving hole. Further, disposing the pressure relieving hole transversely would not change its function of relieving gas and would be considered a design choice dependent on the shape of the contact potion and the location of the vent hole in the battery cell. Such modifications are obvious per MPEP 2144.04 I, aesthetic design changes, and or MPEP 2144.04 VI, C, rearrangement of parts.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami et al. [US20200076022A1], hereinafter Kawakami, in view of Lee et al. [US20210075071A1], hereinafter Lee, in view of Nakasawa et al. [US20190181400A1], hereinafter Nakasawa.
Regarding Claim 15, Kawakami discloses a fire-spreading prevention battery module, comprising:
a plurality of battery cells, each battery cell being formed in a cylinder shape, a top of each battery cell and a bottom of each battery cell being defined as a positive electrode and a negative electrode, respectively [Kawakami 0043, The broadest reasonable interpretation is Kawakami’s batteries 1 is the positive electrode is the top of the battery cell and the negative electrode is the bottom of the battery cell or vice versa.];
an upper battery frame formed in a band shape, the upper battery frame extending in a longitudinal direction, the upper battery frame having a plurality of upper slots vertically penetrating through the upper battery frame [Kawakami 0045-0046 and throughout, Figs. 1-3, Battery holder 2 as the frame with battery accommodating portions 4 and separating walls 5 as the vertical slots penetrating through the frame at windows 7. The front frame 2A in Fig. 3 as the upper battery frame. The battery frame longitudinal direction is left-right in the Fig. 3 view.], a plurality of upper connection arms arranged among the plurality of the upper slots [Kawakami 0049-0051 and throughout, Figs. 1-3, 6-9, boundary walls 2E around and portions of 2 supporting positioning bumps 2F], and a plurality of upper limiting blocks arranged at upper edges of peripheral walls of the plurality of the upper slots [Kawakami 0048 and throughout, Fig. 1, wall 5 is the peripheral wall and the upper limiting block is the portion of holder 2 facing the top of battery cell 1 near electrode terminal 1x or 1y depending on battery orientation. Further, electrode window 7 is smaller than the outer shape of the battery cell.], the plurality of the upper slots being arranged in two longitudinal rows [Kawakami 0046-0047 and throughout, Kawakami discloses a plurality of rows, which reads on two longitudinal rows. The broadest reasonable interpretation of Kawakami’s plurality of rows and columns is any whole number greater than one.], the plurality of the upper slots being arranged in a honeycomb pattern [Kawakami 0046, staggered, zigzag arrangement in Figs. 2-3 and throughout reads on honeycomb pattern];
a plurality of upper electrode plates mounted on an upper surface of the upper battery frame, and the plurality of the upper electrode plates covering the plurality of the upper slots [Kawakami 0049-0052, Fig. 4, and throughout, plurality of bus bars 3 as upper electrode plates];
each upper electrode plate has an upper body extending in the longitudinal direction [Kawakami Fig. 4, upper plate 3 as upper body extends in longitudinal direction], and a plurality of upper terminal contacts protruded downward from the upper body [Kawakami 0050-0054, Figs. 1, 6-9, terminal contacts 3A project downward from base 3B with additional projections 3G from welded portion 3E] [Kawakami 0009, 0021, 0049,