Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (U.S. Patent No. 11.601,789 B2)
1, Panteleev teaches a method of a second device performing sidelink transmission, comprising: receiving, by the second device, receives a signal from a first device, wherein the signal indicates both (i) one or more sets of resources and (ii) at least one of one or more characteristics or one or more characteristic values for the one or more sets of resources and the signal is for inter-device coordination [claim 1, the apparatus comprising: processing circuitry; and memory, the processing circuitry configured to: decode sidelink control information (SCI) received from another UE, the SCI comprising a first SCI format, the first SCI format indicating whether inter-UE coordination information is being provided or is being requested, wherein when the first SCI format indicates that inter-UE coordination information is being provided, the processing circuitry is configured to determine a set of resources for a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission by the UE based on a reference slot indicated by the first SCI format];
in response to the one or more sets of resources indicated by the received signal, determining, by the second device, a set of candidate resources based on: the one or more indicated characteristics for the one or more sets of resources and specific characteristics of a data to be transmitted by the second device, or the one or more indicated characteristic values for the one or more sets of resources and a specific characteristic value of a data to be transmitted by the second device [claim 1, the processing circuitry is configured to: determine a set of resources for a PSSCH transmission by the other UE based on a resource selection window, the resource selection window determined from information in the first SCI format];
and selecting a resource, from the determined set of candidate resources, for performing a sidelink transmission carrying the data [claim 2, determine the set of resources for the PSSCH transmission by the other UE based on the resource selection window, the processing circuitry is to configure the UE to select one or more resources from within the resource selection window based on a measured Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP) of the first SCI format].
2, Panteleev disclose the method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more characteristics is a priority, or the one or more characteristic values is a priority value [ col 10, ln 45-54,col 11, ln 50-63, The PSCCH candidate resource set may be identified using different procedures depending on the SCI format to be transmitted. If the SCI format carries the SR, the PSCCH candidate resources may be selected without any linkage to the PSSCH to be transmitted. The SR may contain the priority of the pending traffic. The priority also may be a ProSe Per-Packet Priority (PPPP) or any sidelink transmission priority level derived based on PPPP. The priority may also be used by the receiving UE to decide the candidate resource set R.sub.2 and/or be used by other UEs to take into account in channel access procedures, e.g., [apply priority-specific RSRP, RSSI thresholds for resource selection and exclusion examiner interprets as characteristic values].
3, Panteleev provide the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more characteristics or the one or more characteristic values is a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) or an RSRP level [col 11, ln 50-63, the SR may contain the priority of the pending traffic. The priority also may be a ProSe Per-Packet Priority (PPPP) or any sidelink transmission priority level derived based on PPPP. The priority may also be used by the receiving UE to decide the candidate resource set R.sub.2 and/or be used by other UEs to take into account in channel access procedures, e.g., [apply priority-specific RSRP, RSSI thresholds for resource selection and exclusion examiner interprets as characteristic values].
4, Panteleev define the method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more characteristics or the one or more characteristic values is at least one of: a geographic distance level, an RSRP level, a Channel Busy Ratio (CBR) range or value, a carrier index, a sidelink resource pool index, a sidelink Bandwidth Part (BWP) index, an entry in an inter-carrier frequency list, a group identity for a group performing groupcast sidelink transmission, one or more L1 or L2 destination identity(s) for indicating identity(s) of one or more device(s), or a member Identity of one or more device(s) in a group for groupcast sidelink transmission[col 12, ln 50-65, In some embodiments, the UE may estimate whether the UE is in proximity of the other UE in the pair. If both UEs consider each other in proximity, the UEs may employ DSM-Cat-1 instead of DSM-Cat-2 because of sets R.sub.1 and R.sub.2 may be highly correlated. The validation of the proximity may be done by at least one or a combination of: a determination that a measured RSRP (e.g., of a reference signal) is above a configured RSRP threshold at both UE1 and UE2; an estimated distance between UE1 and UE2 is below a configured distance threshold at both UE1 and UE2; and candidate resource sets
5, Panteleev conveys the method of claim 1, wherein when the data with a first priority comes in the second device, the determined set of candidate resources is associated with the first priority [col 8, ln 65-67, col 9, ln 1-7, a basic step of channel access procedure may be defined based on identification of a set of least congested PSCCH and PSSCH resources for a given priority of transmission. The set of least congested resources may be identified based on multi-step channel sensing procedures that may depend on multiple higher layer configured parameters, traffic/service types, traffic/service priorities, congestion control functions, etc. The channel sensing procedure defined for LTE V2V communication (sensing channel occupation) may be reused as a baseline for identification of the set of least congested resources].
6, Panteleev discloses the method of claim 1, at least one of: wherein the one or more characteristics comprises at least some of a source identity of the first device; wherein the determining the set of candidate resources in response to the one or more sets of resources based on the one or more indicated characteristics and the specific characteristics of the data to be transmitted by the second device comprises excluding a candidate resource from the set of candidate resources, determined in response to the one or more sets of resources, based on a destination identity of the sidelink transmission being the same as the source identity of the first device; or wherein the determining the set of candidate resources in response to the one or more sets of resources based on the one or more indicated characteristics and the specific characteristics of the data to be transmitted by the second device comprises selecting a determining the set of candidate resources, as being within the one or more sets of resources, based on a destination identity of the sidelink transmission being the same as the source identity of the first device [col 6, ln 39-50, col 8, ln 5-21, Note that such new use cases mainly assume groupcast or unicast type of sidelink communication wherein the knowledge of intended message recipients may help in adapting transmitter and receiver behavior to select optimal resources in terms of system capacity and link performance. In response to a successfully detected SR, the second UE (UE-2) (the intended receiver) may between time T2 and time T3 send a scheduling grant (SG) indicating at least transmission parameters for a V2V data transmission. The transmission parameters may include allocated resources for transmission. The first UE, having received the SG, may then send a V2V data transmission between time T2 and time T3. The V2V data transmission may follow the transmission parameters from the SG. This mode enables optimization of TX resources from RX perspective. The SR may indicate intended resources for data TX, which the SG may either overwrite or confirm]
8. Panteleev create the method of claim 1, wherein the signal is transmitted via a broadcast sidelink transmission a groupcast sidelink transmission or a unicast sidelink transmission [col 6, ln 39-44, Note that such new use cases mainly assume groupcast or unicast type of sidelink communication wherein the knowledge of intended message recipients may help in adapting transmitter and receiver behavior to select optimal resources in terms of system capacity and link performance].
9, Panteleev describe the method of claim 1, at least one of: wherein the signal is transmitted via one or more Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Elements (CE);
wherein the signal is transmitted via one or more specific sidelink control information multiplexed with one or more sidelink data transmissions; or wherein the signal comprises at least one of a second stage sidelink control information and/or a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel [abstract, The transmitting UE selects the PSCCH resource and transmits a scheduling request using the PSCCH resource, while the receiving UE selects a PSCCH and the PSSCH resource and transmits a scheduling grant in the PSCCH containing transmission parameters and the PSSCH resource to the transmitting UE. When the scheduling request contains the candidate resources for the PSCCH transmission, the receiving UE uses the intersection of the candidate resources for the PSCCH transmission and the candidate resources for transmission to determine the PSCCH and the PSSCH resource].
10. Panteleev display the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more sets of resources is determined based upon sensing performed by the first device and based on the at least one of the one or more characteristics or the one or more characteristic values [abstract, Systems and methods of providing NR V2V communications are disclosed. Channel sensing is used by both UEs to determine sets of candidate resources, and subsequently select a resource, for PSCCH and PSSCH transmissions. The transmitting UE selects the PSCCH resource and transmits a scheduling request using the PSCCH resource, while the receiving UE selects a PSCCH and the PSSCH resource and transmits a scheduling grant in the PSCCH containing transmission parameters and the PSSCH resource to the transmitting UE].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panteleev et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,601,789 B2) in view of Zhao et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,202,287 B2).
7, Panteleev disclose the method of claim 1, Panteleev fail to show wherein the second device determines the set of resources associated with a member Identity of the second device in a group,
In an analogous art Zhao show wherein the second device determines the set of resources associated with a member Identity of the second device in a group [claim 1, the first transmission resource comprises: determining, by the first terminal device, the first transmission resource from a first transmission resource set, wherein determining, by the first terminal device, the first transmission resource from a first transmission resource set comprises: determining, by the first terminal device, the first transmission resource from a first transmission resource set according to identifier information of the first terminal device, wherein the identifier information of the first terminal device comprises a member identifier of the first terminal device in the first group],
wherein the group comprises a plurality of devices for performing groupcast sidelink transmission[col 9, ln 44-52, the first indication information can be carried in a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH).The second terminal device can send the first indication information to the first terminal device while transmitting groupcast data to group members. For example, the second terminal device can transmit groupcast data to group members in subframe n and send the first indication information to the first terminal device in subframe n].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Panteleev and Zhao because this would provide a solution for sending, by the group members, to the group header feedback information in response to the groupcast message.[Zhou, col1, ln34-37]
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Panteleev et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,601,789 B2) in view of Hoang et al. (U.S. Pub No. 20190306835 Aft)
11. Panteleev describe a method of a first device performing sidelink transmission, comprising: transmitting, by the first device a first sidelink control information, wherein the first sidelink control information assigns or schedules a first set of sidelink resources [claim 1, An apparatus for a user equipment (UE) configured for vehicle-to-everything (V2X) sidelink communications in a fifth-generation (5G) system (5GS), the apparatus comprising: processing circuitry; and memory, the processing circuitry configured to: decode sidelink control information (SCI) received from another UE];
transmitting by the first device a second sidelink control information to a second device, wherein the second sidelink control information assigns or schedules a second set of sidelink resources[claim 1, the SCI comprising a first SCI format, the first SCI format indicating whether inter-UE coordination information is being provided or is being requested, wherein when the first SCI format indicates that inter-UE coordination information is being provided, the processing circuitry is configured to determine a set of resources for a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission by the UE based on a reference slot indicated by the first SCI format, wherein when the first SCI format indicates that inter-UE coordination information is being requested, the processing circuitry is configured to: determine a set of resources for a PSSCH transmission by the other UE based on a resource selection window]
wherein the second sidelink control information instructs or indicates the second device to perform one or more second sidelink transmissions in one or more sidelink resources assigned or scheduled by the second sidelink control information [claim 1, the processing circuitry is configured to: determine a set of resources for a PSSCH transmission by the other UE based on a resource selection window, the resource selection window determined from information in the first SCI format; encode a second SCI format for transmission to the other UE in response to the first SCI format when the first SCI format indicated that inter-UE coordination information is being requested, the second SCI format encoded to provide the requested inter-UE coordination information including the set of resources determined for a PSSCH transmission by the other UE; and decode the PSSCH transmission from the other UE, the PSSCH transmission comprising data, wherein the memory is configured to store an indication of the set of resources].
Panteleev fail to show performing by the first device a first sidelink transmission in a first sidelink resource of the second sidelink control information assigns or schedules a second set of sidelink resources
In an analogous art Hoang show performing by the first device a first sidelink transmission in a first sidelink resource of the second sidelink control information assigns or schedules a second set of sidelink resources [abstract, par 0004, par 0166, A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) operating in an autonomous-scheduled mode may select a first resource from a resource pool. The WTRU may determine that the first resource is reserved for at least one sidelink transmission scheduled via a network-scheduled mode. The WTRU may evaluate the availability of resources in the resource pool based on determining that the first resource is reserved for the sidelink transmission. The WTRU may determine that the first resource is reserved for at least one sidelink transmission scheduled via the first sidelink scheduling mode. For example, the WTRU may determine that the first resource is reserved for at least one sidelink transmission scheduled via the first sidelink scheduling mode based on an indication (e.g., an explicit indication) received in SCI. The WTRU may determine that the first resource is reserved for the sidelink transmission based on decoding second SCI. For example, the second SCI may include an indication that the first resource is reserved for the sidelink transmission.]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Panteleev and Hoang because pool sharing between network-scheduled and autonomous-scheduled WTRUs may be used to improve spectral efficiency of a system. [Hoang, Par 0084]
12, Panteleev and Hoang demonstrate the method of claim 11, at least one of: wherein the first sidelink control information is not indicative of a transmitter device switch; wherein the first sidelink control information does not instruct or indicate a receiver device to perform sidelink transmission in a sidelink resource assigned or scheduled by the first sidelink control information[Panteleev, claim 1, the SCI comprising a first SCI format, the first SCI format indicating whether inter-UE coordination information is being provided or is being requested];
wherein the second sidelink control information is indicative of transmitter device switch; or wherein the second sidelink control information comprises at least one of a field, a bit, or a code-point for instructing or indicating the transmitter device switch [col 11, 35-41, . However, to assist in better resource selection, as discussed above, the SR may also include information to convey time-frequency resources of candidate sets R.sub.1, R.sub.1.sub.PSCCH, R.sub.1.sup.PSSCH as a bit-field in SCI according to the CRSI option 1 or option 2].
13. Panteleev and Hoang defines the method of claim 11, Panteleev fail to show at least one of: wherein the one or more sidelink resources assigned or scheduled by the second sidelink control information comprise one or more second sidelink resources of the second set of sidelink resources other than the first sidelink resource; or wherein the first sidelink resource is in the same TTI with transmission of the second sidelink control information; or the first set of sidelink resources is assigned or scheduled by one or more fields in the first sidelink control information and the second set of sidelink resources is assigned or scheduled by the one or more fields in the second sidelink control information.
In an analogous art Hoang show at least one of: wherein the one or more sidelink resources assigned or scheduled by the second sidelink control information comprise one or more second sidelink resources of the second set of sidelink resources other than the first sidelink resource; or wherein the first sidelink resource is in the same TTI with transmission of the second sidelink control information; or the first set of sidelink resources is assigned or scheduled by one or more fields in the first sidelink control information and the second set of sidelink resources is assigned or scheduled by the one or more fields in the second sidelink control information [par 0006, 0170, The WTRU may reselect to a second resource in the resource pool based on the evaluated resource availability. For example, there may be a set of available resources, and the WTRU may choose the second resource from the set of available resources. The WTRU may transmit a second resource reservation message (e.g., via second SCI) indicating a forward booking of the second resource. The WTRU may select a second resource based on the determined availabilities of the resources in the resource pool. For example, the WTRU may reselect to the second resource. The WTRU may transmit a second resource reservation message after selecting the second resource].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Panteleev and Hoang because pool sharing between network-scheduled and autonomous-scheduled WTRUs may be used to improve spectral efficiency of a system. [Hoang, Par 0084]
14. Panteleev and Hoang convey the method of claim 11, at least one of: wherein the first device has a unicast link or connection with the second device; wherein the first device has a groupcast link or connection with the second device; or wherein a sidelink group comprises the first device and the second device [Panteleev, col 6, ln 54-65, The transmitter-based channel sensing scheme, if directly applied for unicast and groupcast operation targeted to be supported by NR V2X, would substantially limit the achievable link reliability and spectrum efficiency due to the same problems of hidden node interference, in-band emissions, and near-far effects. The intended receiver/group of receivers for unicast and groupcast may be assumed to be known due to pre-association, authorization, discovery procedures at least from higher layer perspective].
15, Panteleev and Hoang create the method of claim 11,Pantelev fail to show wherein the first device receives the one or more second sidelink transmissions in the one or more sidelink resources.
In an analogous art Hoang show wherein the first device receives the one or more second sidelink transmissions in the one or more sidelink resources [par 0003, A WTRU may be configured to operate in a second sidelink scheduling mode (e.g., an autonomous-scheduled mode). For example, a WTRU operating in the second sidelink scheduling mode may autonomously select sidelink resources for sidelink transmissions].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Panteleev and Hoang because pool sharing between network-scheduled and autonomous-scheduled WTRUs may be used to improve spectral efficiency of a system. [Hoang, Par 0084]
16, Panteleev discloses a method of a second device performing sidelink transmission, comprising: receiving by the second device a second sidelink control information from a first device, wherein the second sidelink control information assigns or schedules a second set of sidelink resources[claim 1, the resource selection window determined from information in the first SCI format; encode a second SCI format for transmission to the other UE [second device] in response to the first SCI format when the first SCI format indicated that inter-UE coordination information is being requested, the second SCI format encoded to provide the requested inter-UE coordination information including the set of resources determined for a PSSCH transmission by the other UE; and decode the PSSCH transmission from the other UE, the PSSCH transmission comprising data, wherein the memory is configured to store an indication of the set of resources].
performing, by and the second device one or more second sidelink transmissions in one or more sidelink resources assigned or scheduled by the second sidelink control information [claim 2, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein to determine the set of resources for the PSSCH transmission by the other UE [second device] based on the resource selection window, the processing circuitry is to configure the UE to select one or more resources from within the resource selection window based on a measured Reference Signal Receive Power].
Panteleev fail to show receiving by the second device a first sidelink transmission in a first sidelink resource of the second set of sidelink resources assigned or scheduled by the second sidelink control information;
In an analogous art Hoang show receiving by the second device a first sidelink transmission in a first sidelink resource of the second set of sidelink resources assigned or scheduled by the second sidelink control information[abstract, par 0004, par 0166, A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) operating in an autonomous-scheduled mode may select a first resource from a resource pool. The WTRU may determine that the first resource is reserved for at least one sidelink transmission scheduled via a network-scheduled mode. The WTRU may evaluate the availability of resources in the resource pool based on determining that the first resource is reserved for the sidelink transmission. The WTRU may determine that the first resource is reserved for at least one sidelink transmission scheduled via the first sidelink scheduling mode. For example, the WTRU may determine that the first resource is reserved for at least one sidelink transmission scheduled via the first sidelink scheduling mode based on an indication (e.g., an explicit indication) received in SCI. The WTRU may determine that the first resource is reserved for the sidelink transmission based on decoding second SCI. For example, the second SCI may include an indication that the first resource is reserved for the sidelink transmission.]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Panteleev and Hoang because pool sharing between network-scheduled and autonomous-scheduled WTRUs may be used to improve spectral efficiency of a system. [Hoang, Par 0084]
17, Panteleev and Hoang create the method of claim 16, at least one of: wherein the second sidelink control information instructs or indicates the second device to perform the one or more second sidelink transmissions in the one or more sidelink resources assigned or scheduled by the second sidelink control information [Panteleev, claim 1, the SCI comprising a first SCI format, the first SCI format indicating whether inter-UE coordination information is being provided or is being requested];
wherein the second sidelink control information is indicative of transmitter device switch; or wherein the second sidelink control information comprises at least one of a field, a bit, or a code-point for instructing or indicating the transmitter device switch[col 11, 35-41, . However, to assist in better resource selection, as discussed above, the SR may also include information to convey time-frequency resources of candidate sets R.sub.1, R.sub.1.sub.PSCCH, R.sub.1.sup.PSSCH as a bit-field in SCI according to the CRSI option 1 or option 2].
18. Panteleev and Hoang define the method of claim 16, Panteleev fail to show at least one of: wherein the one or more sidelink resources assigned or scheduled by the second sidelink control information comprise one or more second sidelink resources of the second set of sidelink resources other than the first sidelink resource; wherein the first sidelink resource is in the same TTI with reception of the second sidelink control information; or wherein the second set of sidelink resources is assigned or scheduled by one or more fields in the second sidelink control information.
In an analogous art Hoang show at least one of: wherein the one or more sidelink resources assigned or scheduled by the second sidelink control information comprise one or more second sidelink resources of the second set of sidelink resources other than the first sidelink resource; wherein the first sidelink resource is in the same TTI with reception of the second sidelink control information; or wherein the second set of sidelink resources is assigned or scheduled by one or more fields in the second sidelink control information[par 0006, 0170, The WTRU may reselect to a second resource in the resource pool based on the evaluated resource availability. For example, there may be a set of available resources, and the WTRU may choose the second resource from the set of available resources. The WTRU may transmit a second resource reservation message (e.g., via second SCI) indicating a forward booking of the second resource. The WTRU may select a second resource based on the determined availabilities of the resources in the resource pool. For example, the WTRU may reselect to the second resource. The WTRU may transmit a second resource reservation message after selecting the second resource].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Panteleev and Hoang because pool sharing between network-scheduled and autonomous-scheduled WTRUs may be used to improve spectral efficiency of a system. [Hoang, Par 0084]
19. Panteleev and Hoang provide the method of claim 16, at least one of: wherein the second device has a unicast link or connection with the first device; wherein the second device has a groupcast link or connection with the first device; or wherein a sidelink group comprises the second device and the first device[Panteleev, col 6, ln 54-65, The transmitter-based channel sensing scheme, if directly applied for unicast and groupcast operation targeted to be supported by NR V2X, would substantially limit the achievable link reliability and spectrum efficiency due to the same problems of hidden node interference, in-band emissions, and near-far effects. The intended receiver/group of receivers for unicast and groupcast may be assumed to be known due to pre-association, authorization, discovery procedures at least from higher layer perspective].
20. Panteleev and Hoang create the method of claim 16, further comprising: receiving by second device a first sidelink control information, wherein the first sidelink control information assigns or schedules a first set of sidelink resources, and the first sidelink control information does not instruct or indicate the second device to perform sidelink transmission in a sidelink resource assigned or scheduled by the first sidelink control information[claim 1, the resource selection window determined from information in the first SCI format; encode a second SCI format for transmission to the other UE [second device] in response to the first SCI format when the first SCI format indicated that inter-UE coordination information is being requested, the second SCI format encoded to provide the requested inter-UE coordination information including the set of resources determined for a PSSCH transmission by the other UE; and decode the PSSCH transmission from the other UE, the PSSCH transmission comprising data, wherein the memory is configured to store an indication of the set of resources];
Panteleev fail to show receiving by the second device one or more first sidelink transmissions in the first set of sidelink resources assigned or scheduled by the first sidelink control information.
In an analogous art Hoang show the second device receives one or more first sidelink transmissions in the first set of sidelink resources assigned or scheduled by the first sidelink control information [abstract, par 0004, par 0166, A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) operating in an autonomous-scheduled mode may select a first resource from a resource pool. The WTRU may determine that the first resource is reserved for at least one sidelink transmission scheduled via a network-scheduled mode. The WTRU may evaluate the availability of resources in the resource pool based on determining that the first resource is reserved for the sidelink transmission. The WTRU may determine that the first resource is reserved for at least one sidelink transmission scheduled via the first sidelink scheduling mode. For example, the WTRU may determine that the first resource is reserved for at least one sidelink transmission scheduled via the first sidelink scheduling mode based on an indication (e.g., an explicit indication) received in SCI. The WTRU may determine that the first resource is reserved for the sidelink transmission based on decoding second SCI. For example, the second SCI may include an indication that the first resource is reserved for the sidelink transmission.]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Panteleev and Hoang because pool sharing between network-scheduled and autonomous-scheduled WTRUs may be used to improve spectral efficiency of a system. [Hoang, Par 0084]
Response to Arguments
Notably, Panteleev seems to be silent as to in response to the one or more sets of resources indicated by the received signal, determining, by the second device, a set of candidate resources based on: the one or more indicated characteristics for the one or more sets of resources and specific characteristics of a data to be transmitted by the second device, or the one or more indicated characteristic values for the one or more sets of resources and a specific characteristic value of a data to be transmitted by the second device.
The examiner respectfully disagrees in Panteleev col 11, ln 50-58, col 12, ln 1-5, the SR may contain the priority of the pending traffic. The priority also may be a ProSe Per-Packet Priority (PPPP) or any sidelink transmission priority level derived based on PPPP. The priority may also be used by the receiving UE to decide the candidate resource set R2 and/or be used by other UEs to take into account in channel access procedures, e.g., apply priority-specific RSRP, RSSI thresholds for resource selection and exclusion.
The SR may also include resource reservation information—e.g. periodicity of the requested resources and/or reservation time. This may also be a part of BSR field as this information relates to traffic characteristics. The columns show the receiving device determining, by the second device, a set of candidate resources based on: the one or more indicated characteristics for the one or more sets of resources sent in a scheduling rest.
In an Panteleev abstract shows, Channel sensing is used by both UEs to determine sets of candidate resources, and subsequently select a resource, for PSCCH and PSSCH transmissions. When the scheduling request contains the candidate resources for the PSCCH transmission, the receiving UE uses the intersection of the candidate resources for the PSCCH transmission and the candidate resources for transmission to determine the PSCCH and the PSSCH resource.
The abstract shows each device have the ability to determines resources for transmission to determine the PSCCH and the PSSCH resource.
Panteleev does not seem to provide for a received signal indicating sets of resources triggering the joint consideration of those sets' characteristics and the characteristics (or values) of the data to be transmitted in determining candidate resources. Instead, Panteleev appears to discusses traffic characteristics in a broad sense (e.g., latency, service type), not specific attributes/values of the actual data payload, and relies on intersections, overlap percentages, or environmental measurements, not a dual-factor basis including data attributes.
The examiner respectfully disagrees the applicant claim doesn’t the traffic characteristics have to be in regards of a dual-factor basis including data attributes. In an Panteleev abstract shows, Channel sensing is used by both UEs to determine sets of candidate resources, and subsequently select a resource, for PSCCH and PSSCH transmissions. When the scheduling request contains the candidate resources for the PSCCH transmission, the receiving UE uses the intersection of the candidate resources for the PSCCH transmission and the candidate resources for transmission to determine the PSCCH and the PSSCH resource. The abstract shows each device have the ability to determines resources for transmission to determine the PSCCH and the PSSCH resource.
Panteleev, does not teach receiving, by the second device, a signal from a first device, wherein the signal indicates both (i) one or more sets of resources and (ii) at least one of one or more characteristics or one or more characteristic values for the one or more sets of resources and the signal is for inter-device coordination; in response to the one or more sets of resources indicated by the received signal, determining, by the second device, a set of candidate resources based on: the one or more indicated characteristics for the one or more sets of resources and specific characteristics of a data to be transmitted by the second device, or the one or more indicated characteristic values for the one or more sets of resources and a specific characteristic value of a data to be transmitted by the second device; and selecting a resource, from the determined set of candidate resources, for performing a sidelink transmission carrying the data as provided for by independent claim 1. It is thus respectfully submitted that independent claim 1 and the remaining claims that depend therefrom are not taught by the reference cited, and allowance of the same is therefore respectfully requested. Therefore, withdrawal of the rejection and allowance of the pending claims is respectfully requested.
It is respectfully submitted that the references cited fail to teach and/or suggest at least these features. The Office Action acknowledges that Panteleev fails to teach at least some of these features (e.g., page 12 of the Office Action). Hoang is believed to fail to make up for the deficiencies of Panteleev.
The examiner respectfully disagrees in Panteleev col 11, ln 50-58, col 12, ln 1-5, the SR may contain the priority of the pending traffic. The priority also may be a ProSe Per-Packet Priority (PPPP) or any sidelink transmission priority level derived based on PPPP. The priority may also be used by the receiving UE to decide the candidate resource set R2 and/or be used by other UEs to take into account in channel access procedures, e.g., apply priority-specific RSRP, RSSI thresholds for resource selection and exclusion.
The SR may also include resource reservation information—e.g. periodicity of the requested resources and/or reservation time. This may also be a part of BSR field as this information relates to traffic characteristics. The columns show the receiving device determining, by the second device, a set of candidate resources based on: the one or more indicated characteristics for the one or more sets of resources sent in a scheduling rest.
Notably, Hoang seems to be silent as to performing, by the first device, a first sidelink transmission in a first sidelink resource of the second set of sidelink resources assigned or scheduled by the second sidelink control information, wherein the second sidelink control information instructs or indicates the second device to perform one or more second sidelink transmissions in one or more sidelink resources assigned or scheduled by the second sidelink control information.
The Huang para 0004, 0103, 0165, show The WTRU may transmit a first resource reservation message (e.g., via first SCI) indicating a forward booking of the first resource, for example after selecting the first resource.
For example, even though the resource may have been reserved by the SCI, the RSRP being less than a threshold may indicate the WTRU for which the resource is reserved is far enough away that interference may not be significant and/or the other WTRU has finished using the resource.
The WTRU may select a first resource for transmission of a packet. The WTRU may transmit a first resource reservation message after selecting the first resource. The first resource reservation message may be sent via first SCI.
Hoang does not seem to provide for the first device actively performing a sidelink transmission in a resource from the second set assigned/scheduled by second SCI, and the same second SCI both (i) assigning resources in which the first device transmits, and (ii) instructing the second device to perform one or more transmissions in assigned resources, and the second SCI controlling both devices' transmissions.
It is respectfully submitted that a WTRU detecting that a resource is reserved and the detecting WTRU avoids or reselects away from it, and a second SCI being used as an indicator that a resource is already reserved by another WTRU, as provided for by Hoang, does not teach transmitting, by the first device, a first sidelink control information, wherein the first sidelink control information assigns or schedules a first set of sidelink resources; performing, by the first device, one or more first sidelink transmissions in the first set of sidelink resources assigned or scheduled by the first sidelink control information; transmitting, by the first device, a second sidelink control information to a second device, wherein the second sidelink control information assigns or schedules a second set of sidelink resources; and performing, by the first device, a first sidelink transmission in a first sidelink resource of the second set of sidelink resources assigned or scheduled by the second sidelink control information, wherein the second sidelink control information instructs or indicates the second device to perform one or more second sidelink transmissions in one or more sidelink resources assigned or scheduled by the second sidelink control information as provided for by independent claim 11, and as similarly provided for by independent claim 16, at least in part. It is thus respectfully submitted that independent claims 11 and 16 and the remaining claims that depend therefrom are not taught by the suggested combination, and allowance of the same is therefore respectfully requested. Therefore, withdrawal of the rejection and allowance of the pending claims is respectfully requested.
The examiner respectfully disagrees in Hoang disclose in [abstract, par 0004, par 0166, A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) operating in an autonomous-scheduled mode may select a first resource from a resource pool. The WTRU may determine that the first resource is reserved for at least one sidelink transmission scheduled via a network-scheduled mode. The WTRU may evaluate the availability of resources in the resource pool based on determining that the first resource is reserved for the sidelink transmission. The WTRU may determine that the first resource is reserved for at least one sidelink transmission scheduled via the first sidelink scheduling mode. For example, the WTRU may determine that the first resource is reserved for at least one sidelink transmission scheduled via the first sidelink scheduling mode based on an indication (e.g., an explicit indication) received in SCI. The WTRU may determine that the first resource is reserved for the sidelink transmission based on decoding second SCI. For example, the second SCI may include an indication that the first resource is reserved for the sidelink transmission.]
The citations show the first device performing a sidelink transmission from a resource from a pool of resources based on decoding second SCI. For example, the second SCI may include an indication that the first resource is reserved for the sidelink transmission.
In Panteleev claim 1, the processing circuitry is configured to: determine a set of resources for a PSSCH transmission by the other UE based on a resource selection window, the resource selection window determined from information in the first SCI format; encode a second SCI format for transmission to the other UE in response to the first SCI format when the first SCI format indicated that inter-UE coordination information is being requested, the second SCI format encoded to provide the requested inter-UE coordination information including the set of resources determined for a PSSCH transmission by the other UE; and decode the PSSCH transmission from the other UE, the PSSCH transmission comprising data, wherein the memory is configured to store an indication of the set of resources, the claim shows the second SCI encoded to provide the requested inter-UE coordination information including the set of resources determined for a PSSCH transmission by the other UE.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468