DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9, 11-18, and 20 are pending and under consideration for this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Itoi et al (WO 2019189501 A1).
Claim 13: Itoi discloses a method for producing hydrogen (see e.g. abstract), the method comprising:
obtaining a current cost of power (see e.g. page 6, paragraph starting with “The planning device…update unit that updates”);
obtaining a predicted cost of power (see e.g. page 6, paragraph starting with “The planning device…a predicted power price using a power price prediction model” and page 36, paragraph starting with “The power price prediction model generation unit 1030 may generate”);
obtaining a current value of hydrogen (see e.g. connecting paragraph of pages 5 and 6);
obtaining a predicted value of hydrogen (see e.g. page 16, paragraph starting with “Also, the constraint”);
determining a rate for an electrolyzer to produce hydrogen based on the current cost of power, the predicted cost of power, the current value of hydrogen, and the predicted value of hydrogen (via the planning device, see e.g. pages 5-7);
controlling operations of the electrolyzer such that the electrolyzer produces hydrogen at substantially the determined rate (see e.g. page 7, paragraph starting with “In a seventh aspect of the present invention, a control device”);
determining to store a first amount of hydrogen based on the current cost of power, the predicted cost of power, the current value of hydrogen, and the predicted value of hydrogen (see e.g. page 6, paragraph starting with “The hydrogen production system”);
directing the first amount of hydrogen to a hydrogen storage (see e.g. page 6, paragraph starting with “The hydrogen production system”);
determining to remove a second amount of hydrogen from the hydrogen storage based on the current cost of power, the predicted cost of power, the current value of hydrogen, and/or the predicted value of hydrogen (see e.g. page 30, paragraph staring with “The storage amount”; page 9, paragraph starting with “The power generation apparatus 100; page 20, paragraph starting with “The simulation”); and
directing the second amount of hydrogen from the hydrogen storage (see e.g. page 9, paragraph starting with “The power generation apparatus”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoi in view of Li et al (CN 113572158 A).
Claim 1: Itoi discloses a method for producing hydrogen (see e.g. abstract), the method comprising:
obtaining a current cost of power (see e.g. page 6, paragraph starting with “The planning device…update unit that updates”);
obtaining historical power-cost data indicative of historical costs of power (see e.g. page 36, paragraph starting with “The power price prediction model generation unit 1030 may generate”);
determining a predicted cost of power based on the historical power-cost data (see e.g. page 6, paragraph starting with “The planning device…a predicted power price using a power price prediction model” and page 36, paragraph starting with “The power price prediction model generation unit 1030 may generate”);
obtaining a request for hydrogen (see e.g. page 26, paragraph starting with “Here, the demand”);
determining a current value of hydrogen based on the request for hydrogen (see e.g. connecting paragraph of pages 5 and 6);
obtaining historical hydrogen-value data indicative of historical values of hydrogen (see e.g. page 16, paragraph starting with “Also, the constraint”);
determining a predicted value of hydrogen based on the historical hydrogen- value data (see e.g. page 16, paragraph starting with “Also, the constraint”);
determining a rate for an electrolyzer to produce hydrogen based on the current cost of power, the predicted cost of power, the current value of hydrogen, and the predicted value of hydrogen (via the planning device, see e.g. pages 5-7); and
controlling operations of the electrolyzer such that the electrolyzer produces hydrogen at substantially the determined rate (see e.g. page 7, paragraph starting with “In a seventh aspect of the present invention, a control device”).
Itoi does not explicitly teach obtaining a priority request for hydrogen and including the priority request for hydrogen in determining a rate for an electrolyzer to produce hydrogen. Li teaches a method of controlling hydrogen production (see e.g. abstract) wherein priority (different time periods) is included with requests for hydrogen and is used to determine a rate for an electrolyzer to produce hydrogen (see e.g. page 9, paragraph starting with “Further, considering). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the method of Itoi to include a priority request for hydrogen and including the priority request for hydrogen in determining a rate for an electrolyzer to produce hydrogen as taught in Li to ensure that sufficient hydrogen is provided depending on the time period and demands.
Claim 2: Itoi in view of Li discloses determining an amount of hydrogen to store based on the current value of hydrogen and the predicted value of hydrogen (see e.g. page 6, paragraph starting with “The hydrogen production system”).
Claim 3: Itoi in view of Li discloses determining a storage capacity of a hydrogen storage (see e.g. page 14, paragraph starting with “Fig. 4”).
Claim 4: Itoi in view of Li discloses directing the amount of hydrogen to a hydrogen storage (see e.g. page 9, paragraph starting with “The power generation apparatus 100”).
Claim 5: Itoi in view of Li discloses determining an amount of hydrogen to remove from a hydrogen storage based on the current value of hydrogen and the predicted value of hydrogen (see e.g. page 30, paragraph staring with “The storage amount”; page 9, paragraph starting with “The power generation apparatus 100; page 20, paragraph starting with “The simulation”).
Claim 6: Itoi in view of Li discloses determining an amount of hydrogen to store based on the current cost of power and the predicted cost of power (see e.g. page 6).
Claim 7: Itoi in view of Li discloses determining a storage capacity of a hydrogen storage (see e.g. page 9, paragraph starting with “The power generation apparatus 100”).
Claim 8: Itoi in view of Li discloses directing the amount of hydrogen to a hydrogen storage (see e.g. page 9, paragraph starting with “The power generation apparatus 100”).
Claim 9: Itoi in view of Li discloses determining an amount of hydrogen to remove from a hydrogen storage based on the current value of hydrogen and the predicted value of hydrogen (see e.g. page 30, paragraph staring with “The storage amount”; page 9, paragraph starting with “The power generation apparatus 100; page 20, paragraph starting with “The simulation”).
Claim 14: Itoi discloses a system for producing hydrogen (see e.g. abstract), the system comprising:
one or more electrolyzers configured to receive power and to produce hydrogen (see e.g. abstract); and
a controller (see e.g. page 60, paragraph starting with “Fig 13”) configured to:
obtain a current cost of the power (see e.g. page 6, paragraph starting with “The planning device…update unit that updates”);
obtain historical power-cost data indicative of historical costs of power (see e.g. page 36, paragraph starting with “The power price prediction model generation unit 1030 may generate”);
determine a predicted cost of power based on the historical power-cost data (see e.g. page 6, paragraph starting with “The planning device…a predicted power price using a power price prediction model” and page 36, paragraph starting with “The power price prediction model generation unit 1030 may generate”);
obtain a request for hydrogen (see e.g. page 26, paragraph starting with “Here, the demand”);
determine a current value of hydrogen based on the request for hydrogen; (see e.g. connecting paragraph of pages 5 and 6);
obtain historical hydrogen-value data indicative of historical values of hydrogen (see e.g. page 16, paragraph starting with “Also, the constraint”);
determine a predicted value of hydrogen based on the historical hydrogen-value data (see e.g. page 16, paragraph starting with “Also, the constraint”);
determine a rate for the one or more electrolyzers to produce hydrogen based on the current cost of power, the predicted cost of power, the current value of hydrogen, and the predicted value of hydrogen (via the planning device, see e.g. pages 5-7); and
control operations of the one or more electrolyzers such that the one or more electrolyzers produces hydrogen at substantially the determined rate (see e.g. page 7, paragraph starting with “In a seventh aspect of the present invention, a control device”).
Itoi does not explicitly teach obtaining a priority request for hydrogen and including the priority request for hydrogen in determining a rate for an electrolyzer to produce hydrogen. Li teaches a method of controlling hydrogen production (see e.g. abstract) wherein priority (different time periods) is included with requests for hydrogen and is used to determine a rate for an electrolyzer to produce hydrogen (see e.g. page 9, paragraph starting with “Further, considering). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the method of Itoi to include a priority request for hydrogen and including the priority request for hydrogen in determining a rate for an electrolyzer to produce hydrogen as taught in Li to ensure that sufficient hydrogen is provided depending on the time period and demands.
Claim 15: Itoi in view of Li discloses that the controller is further configured to determine an amount of hydrogen to store based on the current value of hydrogen, the predicted value of hydrogen, the current cost of power, and the predicted cost of power (see e.g. page 6, paragraph starting with “The hydrogen production system”).
Claim 16: Itoi in view of Li discloses determining a storage capacity of a hydrogen storage (see e.g. page 14, paragraph starting with “Fig. 4”).
Claim 17: Itoi in view of Li discloses directing the amount of hydrogen to a hydrogen storage (see e.g. page 9, paragraph starting with “The power generation apparatus 100”).
Claim 18: Itoi in view of Li discloses determining an amount of hydrogen to remove from a hydrogen storage based on the current value of hydrogen and the predicted value of hydrogen (see e.g. page 30, paragraph staring with “The storage amount”; page 9, paragraph starting with “The power generation apparatus 100; page 20, paragraph starting with “The simulation”).
Claim(s) 11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoi in view of Li as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Kitaura et al (WO 2020196889 A1).
Claim 11: Itoi in view of Li does not explicitly teach that obtaining the current cost of power comprises selecting the current cost of power from among two or more costs of power from two or more respective power providers. Kitaura teaches a method of reduction the product cost of an electrolyzer (see e.g. abstract) wherein method includes using a planning device that predicts the rates of electricity by including multiple electricity sources (see e.g. page 2, paragraph starting with “In order”) to reduce manufacturing cost (see e.g. connecting paragraph of pages 4 and 5). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the method of Itoi by obtaining the current cost of power comprises selecting the current cost of power from among two or more costs of power from two or more respective power providers as taught in Kitaura to reduce manufacturing costs.
Claim 20: Itoi in view of Li does not explicitly teach that obtaining the current cost of power comprises selecting the current cost of power from among two or more costs of power from two or more respective power providers. Kitaura teaches a method of reduction the product cost of an electrolyzer (see e.g. abstract) wherein method includes using a planning device that predicts the rates of electricity by including multiple electricity sources (see e.g. page 2, paragraph starting with “In order”) to reduce manufacturing cost (see e.g. connecting paragraph of pages 4 and 5). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the method of Itoi by obtaining the current cost of power comprises selecting the current cost of power from among two or more costs of power from two or more respective power providers as taught in Kitaura to reduce manufacturing costs.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoi in view of Li as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Beskwick et al (“Does the Green Hydrogen Economy Have a Water Problem?”, ACS Energy Lett., 2021, 6, 3167−3169).
Claim 12: Itoi in view of Li does not explicitly teach obtaining a current cost of water, wherein determining the rate for the electrolyzer to produce hydrogen is further based on the current cost of water. However, Itoi does disclose incorporating operating costs as part of their method (see e.g. page 47, paragraph starting with “Further”). Beswick teaches that the source of water can have an impact on the cost of producing hydrogen via electrolysis (see e.g. 3169) as freshwater only makes up 1% of the planets water and desalination is a likely requirement for providing an adequate amount of water (see e.g. page 3168, “2. Desalination of Saltwater”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the method of Itoi by obtaining a current cost of water as a part of the operating costs to make sure the total cost of producing hydrogen is accurately calculated.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALEXANDER W KEELING whose telephone number is (571)272-9961. The examiner can normally be reached 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Luan Van can be reached at 571-272-8521. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALEXANDER W KEELING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795