Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, corresponding to claims 1-14, in the reply filed on 04/17/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious search burden on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product such as one that does not include a discharge valve provided on the hydrogen supplier to discharge by-products, collected in the hydrogen supplier, outside of the hydrogen supplier.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 04/17/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: reference character “241” in fig. 1. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US-20210135259-A1), hereinafter Park, in view of Han et al. (US-20210151784-A1), hereinafter Han.
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a hydrogen supply system for fuel cells, the hydrogen supply system comprising: a hydrogen supplier fluidically-connected to a hydrogen provider (hydrogen tanks 31; fig. 1; [0043]) through a hydrogen providing line (fig. 1 line between hydrogen tanks 31 and hydrogen supplier) and configured to receive hydrogen from the hydrogen provider through a supply valve connected to the hydrogen providing line and the hydrogen supplier (supply valve 30; [0043]); a supply line fluidically connecting the hydrogen supplier to an inlet of an anode in a fuel cell stack (fig. 1 hydrogen supply line 20); a discharge line fluidically connecting the hydrogen supplier to an outlet of the anode in the fuel cell stack (fig. 1; [0045] recirculation); and a controller electrically connected to the supply valve and configured to set a basic duty of the supply valve based on a basic control map ([0109]-[0111] controlling the opening and closing of the hydrogen supply valve 30; maintaining a target pressure), to set a compensation duty of the supply valve depending on feedback control, and to set a final duty of the supply valve through the basic duty and the compensation duty ([0109]-[0110] controlling the opening and closing of the hydrogen supply valve 30 to a target pressure; the pressure is sensed by a pressure sensor, the valve is opened and closed based on the pressure sensor to compensate the pressure back to the target pressure, and therefore the final duty). While Park does not explicitly state that the control valve is set to the final duty through the basic duty and the compensation duty, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention that the control system of Park is setting a compensation duty to adjust the pressure back to the target pressure.
Park does not explicitly teach that a discharge valve provided on the hydrogen supplier to discharge by-products, collected in the hydrogen supplier, outside of the hydrogen supplier. Instead, Park teaches a purge valve below and connected to the hydrogen supplier ([0089] purge valve 61). However, integrating these is known in the art.
Han is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of fuel cell control systems. Han teaches that a discharge valve provided on the hydrogen supplier to discharge by-products, collected in the hydrogen supplier, outside of the hydrogen supplier(fig. 1 hydrogen supplier 120, known as the fuel ejector, is integrally connected with the purge valve 150 and a fuel drain line valve 180 ([0058]-[0063]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park such that a discharge valve provided on the hydrogen supplier to discharge by-products, collected in the hydrogen supplier, outside of the hydrogen supplier. Doing so is a simple substitution that allows the system to discharge hydrogen electrode condensate water and impurities in the fuel cell stack (Han [0060]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Park also teaches wherein the basic control map of the controller is a data map configured so that a current demand is received as an input thereof and a duty ratio of the supply valve is output therefrom (fig. 3; [0058] duty ratio; [0065; [0096]] current of the fuel cell).
Regarding claim 3, modified Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Park also teaches wherein the controller is configured to set the basic duty of the supply valve to a different value depending on a starting state, a power generating state, or a stopped state of the fuel cell stack ([0054] the target pressure may be varies by the load of an electric component, the charge amount of a high-voltage battery, the pressure in an air supply line; [0068] the target pressure may be varied according to the power generation state of the fuel cell).
Regarding claim 4, modified Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Park also teaches wherein the controller is configured to set the compensation duty of the supply valve so that a current power generation amount of the fuel cell stack follows a target power generation amount ([0064] the power generation is stopped in FC Stop based on the opening and closing control of the hydrogen supply valve; [0065] the power generation is stopped when the output current/voltage falls below a predetermined, or target, current and based on the pressure in the hydrogen supply line; [0068] the target pressure is then varied based on the power generation state of the fuel cell).
Regarding claim 5, modified Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Park also teaches wherein the controller is configured to set the compensation duty of the supply valve depending on operation of the discharge valve. ([0109]-[0110] controlling the opening and closing of the hydrogen supply valve 30 to a target pressure; the pressure is sensed by a pressure sensor, the valve is opened and closed based on the pressure sensor to compensate the pressure back to the target pressure, and therefore the final duty).
Regarding claim 6, modified Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 5. Park also teaches wherein the controller is configured to determine a flow rate of the by-products discharged outside of the hydrogen supplier by opening the discharge valve (purge control; [0018]; [0071] based on concentration in the hydrogen supply line; [0016] the concentration estimating unit, as part of the control system, estimates the purge amount; it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art that the purge amount would equate to a flow rate), and to set the compensation duty of the supply valve through the determined flow rate of the by-products ([0071]the changes in pressure caused by opening the purge control valve causes changes in the pressure in the hydrogen supply line; the hydrogen supply valve is controlled based on the pressure in the hydrogen supply line [0109]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Park also teaches wherein the controller is configured to set the compensation duty of the supply valve so that a current power generation amount of the fuel cell stack follows a target power generation amount, when the discharge valve is closed ([0064] the power generation is stopped in FC Stop based on the opening and closing control of the hydrogen supply valve; [0065] the power generation is stopped when the output current/voltage falls below a predetermined, or target, current and based on the pressure in the hydrogen supply line; [0068] the target pressure is then varied based on the power generation state of the fuel cell), and to set the compensation duty of the supply valve depending on a flow rate of the by-products discharged outside through the discharge valve, when the discharge valve is opened (purge control; [0018]; [0071] based on concentration in the hydrogen supply line; [0016] the concentration estimating unit, as part of the control system, estimates the purge amount; it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art that the purge amount would equate to a flow rate; [0071]the changes in pressure caused by opening the purge control valve causes changes in the pressure in the hydrogen supply line; the hydrogen supply valve is controlled based on the pressure in the hydrogen supply line [0109]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Park also teaches further including a pressure sensor provided on the hydrogen providing line to measure a pressure of hydrogen in the hydrogen providing line (fig. 1 pressure sensor provided in the hydrogen supply line 20).
Regarding claim 13, modified Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Park also teaches wherein the controller is configured to maintain the final duty of the supply valve above a minimum value, when a pressure of the hydrogen providing line is less than a reference value and a difference between a current duty of the supply valve and the basic duty of the supply valve is less than a set value ([0053] the hydrogen supply valve is controlled to follow a target pressure with a predetermined hysteresis of the hydrogen supply line formed in the target pressure, such that the supply valve is controlled to be opened at the lower limit of the hysteresis).
Regarding claim 14, modified Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Park also teaches wherein the controller is configured to maintain the final duty of the supply valve below a maximum value, when a pressure of the hydrogen providing line is greater than a reference value and a difference between a current duty of the supply valve and the basic duty of the supply valve is greater than a set value ([0053] the hydrogen supply valve is controlled to follow a target pressure with a predetermined hysteresis of the hydrogen supply line formed in the target pressure, such that the supply valve is controlled to be closed at the upper limit of the hysteresis).
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Han as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US-20200303751-A1), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 8, modified Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Park fails to explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to set the final duty of the supply valve through a temperature of the anode in the fuel cell stack or a temperature of a coolant, the basic duty and the compensation duty.
Lee is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of control systems in fuel cells ([0002]). Lee teaches wherein the controller is configured to set the final duty of the supply valve through a temperature of the anode in the fuel cell stack or a temperature of a coolant, the basic duty and the compensation duty ([0041] the fuel supply controller is configured to execute opening and closing of the fuel supply valve based on a target pressure and temperature in the fuel supply line; fig. 1 fuel supply line 20 recirculates hydrogen from the exit of the fuel cell stack, meaning the temperature would include an outlet temperature indicating the temperature of the fuel cell stack anode; [0057] opening and closing the fuel supply valve based on the temperature and pressure; [0060] the temperature may be included in the mapped output signal map). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to have modified Park such as to include temperature monitoring in the fuel supply control system in order to adjust the amount of fuel to be supplied from the fuel tank to the fuel supply line (Lee [0057]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Park does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to set a duty gain depending on a temperature of the anode in the fuel cell stack or a temperature of a coolant, and to set the final duty through the duty gain, the basic duty and the compensation duty.
Lee is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of control systems in fuel cells ([0002]). Lee teaches wherein the controller is configured to set a duty gain depending on a temperature of the anode in the fuel cell stack or a temperature of a coolant, and to set the final duty through the duty gain, the basic duty and the compensation duty ([0041] the fuel supply controller is configured to execute opening and closing of the fuel supply valve based on a target pressure and temperature in the fuel supply line; fig. 1 fuel supply line 20 recirculates hydrogen from the exit of the fuel cell stack, meaning the temperature would include an outlet temperature indicating the temperature of the fuel cell stack anode; [0057] opening and closing the fuel supply valve based on the temperature and pressure; [0060] the temperature may be included in the mapped output signal map). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to have modified Park such as to include temperature monitoring in the fuel supply control system in order to adjust the amount of fuel to be supplied from the fuel tank to the fuel supply line (Lee [0057]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 9. Park does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to set the final duty by multiplying the basic duty by the duty gain and then adding the compensation duty thereto, and is configured to control the supply valve based on the set final duty. However, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art that a final duty would equate to the basic duty, or target pressure, adjusted by the duty gain of the actual system ([0109]-[0110] controlling the opening and closing of the hydrogen supply valve 30 to a target pressure; the pressure is sensed by a pressure sensor, the valve is opened and closed based on the pressure sensor to compensate the pressure back to the target pressure, and therefore the final duty).
Regarding claim 11, modified Park teaches all of the limitations of claim 9. Park fails to explicitly teach wherein the controller includes a temperature map configured so that a temperature is received as an input thereof and the duty gain is output, and is configured to set the duty gain by inputting the temperature of the anode or the temperature of the coolant to the temperature map.
Lee is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of control systems in fuel cells ([0002]). Lee teaches wherein the controller includes a temperature map configured so that a temperature is received as an input thereof and the duty gain is output, and is configured to set the duty gain by inputting the temperature of the anode or the temperature of the coolant to the temperature map ([0041] the fuel supply controller is configured to execute opening and closing of the fuel supply valve based on a target pressure and temperature in the fuel supply line; fig. 1 fuel supply line 20 recirculates hydrogen from the exit of the fuel cell stack, meaning the temperature would include an outlet temperature indicating the temperature of the fuel cell stack anode; [0057] opening and closing the fuel supply valve based on the temperature and pressure; [0060] the temperature may be included in the mapped output signal map). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park such as to include temperature monitoring in the fuel supply control system in order to adjust the amount of fuel to be supplied from the fuel tank to the fuel supply line (Lee [0057]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20100015484 A1 teaches a fuel cell system including a fuel supply flow passage and a control system for controlling the valve body of the injector ([0015]) through a control map including the fuel cell current, target purge amount, power generation, hydrogen consumption, and target pressure (figs. 2-3);
CN 112510224 A teaches a system and method for hydrogen supply and recycling in fuel cells ([0001]);
US-20160355101-A1 teaches a method for controlling a fuel cell including calculating the amount of hydrogen consumed by the fuel cell.
/M.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722