DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 4-6,8-11, 14-16, 18-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 rejected as failing to define the invention in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. The claim(s) are narrative in form and replete with indefinite language. The structure which goes to make up the device must be clearly and positively specified. The structure must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operative device. The claim(s) must be in one sentence form only. Note the format of the claims in the patent(s) cited.
Referring to claim 1, “method of controlling fan applied in a heat dissipation device” is unclear. Is the method controlling a fan or fans.
Referring to claim 1, 11, for example, claim 1, last limitation recites the limitation “each of the N boost units”, however the claims previously recites the limitations of “at least one boost unit”, and “comprises N boost units”. Therefore the recitation of “each of the N boost units” in the same or subsequent claim is unclear because it is uncertain which of the boost units was intended (MPEP 2173.05(e)). For purposes of examination, it will be assumed to be any of these.
Referring to claim 1, 11, for example, claim 1, last limitation recites the limitation “at least one of the M rotor units”, however the claims previously recites the limitations of “a plurality of dual-rotor fans, each of the plurality of dual-rotor fans comprising two rotor units”, and “and M rotor units”. Therefore the recitation of “at least one of the M rotor units” in the same or subsequent claim is unclear because it is uncertain which of the rotor units was intended (MPEP 2173.05(e)). For purposes of examination, it will be assumed to be any of these.
Referring to claim 1, the indefinite claim language is “wherein the heat dissipation device comprises N boost units and M rotor units, a first end of each of the N boost units is connected to at least one of the M rotor units of the plurality of dual-rotor fans, a second end of each of the N boost units is connected to the power supply terminal, each of N and M is a positive integer, and N is smaller than M”. This limitation is unclear because this limitation merely states a structure (wherein the heat dissipation device comprises N boost units and M rotor units, a first end of each of the N boost units is connected to at least one of the M rotor units of the plurality of dual-rotor fans, a second end of each of the N boost units is connected to the power supply terminal, each of N and M is a positive integer, and N is smaller than M) without providing any indication about how the structure further limits any of the method steps. The recited structure does not follow from the steps recited in the claim, i.e., the determining, or controlling and it is unclear if the structure refers back to other limitations, so it is unclear whether the structure requires some other step or is simply not limiting of the scope of the method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8-11, 14-16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0396237 to Chen.
1, 11. A heat dissipation device/method comprising:
a plurality of dual-rotor fans, each of the plurality of dual-rotor fans comprising two rotor units (Fig. 2A, paragraphs 39, 42, 47, 48, “the fans that are utilized are dual-rotor fan packs 205 a-n that each include two separate fan motors that each operate separate rotors and impellers.”);
at least one a boost unit, a first end of the boost unit connected to the rotor units of the plurality of dual-rotor fans, a second end of the boost unit connected to a power supply terminal (Fig. 2A, paragraphs 43, “the boost circuit 220 receives the power rail 225 input voltage and delivers the boost voltage 220 a to the selected fan packs.”); and
a control unit, the control unit connected to the boost unit, the control unit connected to the plurality of dual-rotor fans through the boost unit (Fig. 1, 2A, paragraphs 31-36, 41-52, “remote access controller 115 may be configured to detect failures within fan system 120 and may also be configured initiate procedures for compensating for the detected fan failure.”), the control unit is configured to:
determine if the dual-rotor fan with one of the rotor units fails to be a target fan (paragraphs 4-9, 17, 19, 20, 31-53, “the first plurality of boost fans are selected based on whether the failed first fan is a double-rotor fan”);
control the boost unit to increase a voltage of a power supply of the power supply terminal to a first predetermined voltage value, to output the power supply to a normal one of the rotor units of the target fan (paragraphs 4-9, 17, 19, 20, 31-53, “configure a fan failure compensation circuit for delivery of additional power to the first plurality of boost fans; and enable an output voltage by the fan failure compensation circuit, wherein the enabled output voltage boosts the airflow output of the first plurality of boost fans. In additional system embodiments, the output voltage of the fan failure compensation circuit boosts a fan speed of the first plurality of boost fans above the rated fan speed. In additional system embodiments, the output voltage of the fan failure compensation circuit is approximately twenty percent greater than the base voltage of the plurality of fans.”);
wherein the control unit is further configured to controlling the boost unit to increase the voltage of the power supply of the power supply terminal to a second predetermined voltage value, to output the power supply to the rotor units of normal dual-rotor fans (paragraph 40-52);
wherein the first predetermined voltage value is greater than the second predetermined voltage value (paragraph 40-52).
wherein the heat dissipation device comprises N boost units and M rotor units, a first end of each of the N boost units is connected to at least one of the M rotor units of the plurality of dual-rotor fans, a second end of each of the N boost units is connected to the power supply terminal, each of N and M is a positive integer, and N is smaller than M (Figs. 2A, 2B, paragraph 40-45).
Applicant argues Chen fails to teach wherein the heat dissipation device comprises N boost units and M rotor units, a first end of each of the N boost units is connected to at least one of the M rotor units of the plurality of dual-rotor fans, a second end of each of the N boost units is connected to the power supply terminal, each of N and M is a positive integer, and N is smaller than M. The examiner disagrees. Chen teaches the boost circuit 220 receives the power rail 225 input voltage and delivers the boost voltage 220 a to the selected fan packs, and further teaches the fans that are utilized are dual-rotor fan packs 205 a-n that each include two separate fan motors that each operate separate rotors and impellers, wherein one boost circuit 220 is a positive integer and two rotors is a positive integer and 1 is less than 2 (Figs. 2A, 2B, paragraph 40-45; Fig. 2A, paragraphs 43, “the boost circuit 220 receives the power rail 225 input voltage and delivers the boost voltage 220 a to the selected fan packs.”; Fig. 2A, paragraphs 39, 42, 47, 48, “the fans that are utilized are dual-rotor fan packs 205 a-n that each include two separate fan motors that each operate separate rotors and impellers.”), which reads on wherein the heat dissipation device comprises N boost units and M rotor units, a first end of each of the N boost units is connected to at least one of the M rotor units of the plurality of dual-rotor fans, a second end of each of the N boost units is connected to the power supply terminal, each of N and M is a positive integer, and N is smaller than M.
Chen teaches configuring “the boost circuit 220 for delivery of one of a set of predefined boost voltages that are supported by the boost circuit 220. For instance, the signals transmitted by a remote access controller via pathway 230 may result in the configuration of a voltage multiplier within boost circuit 220 that supports a specific set of voltage outputs that are generated by multiplying the base voltage of power rail 225. ” (paragraph 43), and Chen goes on to provide different numerical values of the boost voltage of 14-15 volts and further teach that greater or smaller boost voltages could be used (paragraph 52), which reads on boosting to increase the voltage to two different voltages, with one being greater than the other, which reads on a first one being greater than a second one.
Additionally, the examiner submits that any increase from the base voltage to the boost voltage (paragraph 42-43) would, at least momentarily, have a voltage in between, and therefore this would also read on boosting to increase the voltage to two different voltages, with one being greater than the other.
4, 14. The heat dissipation device of claim 11, wherein the control unit is further configured to: detect a rotate speed of each of the rotor units of the plurality of dual-rotor fans; and determine the dual-rotor fan whose rotate speed of one of the rotor units is smaller than a predetermined rotate speed value as the target fan (paragraph 47-52).
5, 15. The heat dissipation device of claim 11, wherein the control unit is further configured to control the boost unit to switch off the connection between the rotor units of the plurality of dual-rotor fans and the power supply terminal (Figs. 2A, 2B, paragraph 40-45).
6, 16. The heat dissipation device of claim 11, wherein the heat dissipation device comprises a plurality of boost units, a first end of each of the plurality of boost units is connected to a corresponding rotor unit of the plurality of dual-rotor fans, a second end of each of the plurality of boost units is connected to the power supply terminal (Figs. 2A, 2B, paragraph 40-45).
8, 18. The heat dissipation device of claim 11, wherein the boost unit is arranged on a first cable that connected between the rotor units of the plurality of dual-rotor fans and the power supply terminal; when the rotor units of the plurality of dual-rotor fans work normally, the boost unit is configured to conduct the power supply; when one of the rotor units of the plurality of dual-rotor fans fails, the boost unit starts and increases the voltage that transmitted from the first cable to the rotor units to the first predetermined voltage value, to increase a working speed of the rest of the rotor units of the plurality of dual-rotor fans (paragraph 40-52; additionally claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed (MPEP 2111.04). The claimed condition of “in a case that…” is made optional by the terminology used in the claim because the claims do not require the condition to occur).
9, 19. The heat dissipation device of claim 18, wherein the boost unit is arranged on a second cable that connected between the rotor units of the plurality of dual-rotor fans and the power supply terminal; when the rotor units of the plurality of dual-rotor fans work normally, the boost unit is configured to switch off the connection between the rotor units of the plurality of dual-rotor fans and the power supply terminal by the second cable, the rotor units of the plurality of dual-rotor fans receive the power supply from the power supply terminal through the first cable; when one of the rotor units of the plurality of dual-rotor fans fails, the first cable is switched off, the boost unit starts and increases the voltage that transmitted from the second cable to the rotor units to the first predetermined voltage value, to increase the working speed of the rest of the rotor units of the dual-rotor fans (paragraph 40-52; additionally claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed (MPEP 2111.04). The claimed condition of “in a case that…” is made optional by the terminology used in the claim because the claims do not require the condition to occur).
10, 20. The heat dissipation device of claim 11, wherein the boost unit comprises a charge pump and a boost circuit for increasing voltages (Figs. 2A, 2B, paragraph 40-45).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Chen fails to teach wherein the heat dissipation device comprises N boost units and M rotor units, a first end of each of the N boost units is connected to at least one of the M rotor units of the plurality of dual-rotor fans, a second end of each of the N boost units is connected to the power supply terminal, each of N and M is a positive integer, and N is smaller than M. The examiner disagrees. Chen teaches the boost circuit 220 receives the power rail 225 input voltage and delivers the boost voltage 220 a to the selected fan packs, and further teaches the fans that are utilized are dual-rotor fan packs 205 a-n that each include two separate fan motors that each operate separate rotors and impellers, wherein one boost circuit 220 is a positive integer and two rotors is a positive integer and 1 is less than 2 (Figs. 2A, 2B, paragraph 40-45; Fig. 2A, paragraphs 43, “the boost circuit 220 receives the power rail 225 input voltage and delivers the boost voltage 220 a to the selected fan packs.”; Fig. 2A, paragraphs 39, 42, 47, 48, “the fans that are utilized are dual-rotor fan packs 205 a-n that each include two separate fan motors that each operate separate rotors and impellers.”), which reads on wherein the heat dissipation device comprises N boost units and M rotor units, a first end of each of the N boost units is connected to at least one of the M rotor units of the plurality of dual-rotor fans, a second end of each of the N boost units is connected to the power supply terminal, each of N and M is a positive integer, and N is smaller than M.
Applicant argues Chen fails to teach plural boots units not only one boost unit. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., plural boots units not only one boost unit; the M rotor units of the plurality of dual-rotor fans are separately controlled by the N boost units, not by the only one boost unit.) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., according to the arrangement of each of the N boost units connected to one or more rotor unit of the M rotor units, a quantity of the boost units is flexibly adjustable, one boost unit can be connected to a plurality of rotor units, and each boost unit can be connected to different numbers of rotor units. The one or more rotor units connected to a same boost unit may receive a same input voltage, the rotor units connected to different boost units may receive different input voltages, which is convenient for management of corresponding heat dissipation areas of the electronic equipment applying the heat dissipation device.) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the rotor units connected to a same boost unit receive a same input voltage, the rotor units connected to different boost units may receive different input voltages from different boost units) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
/Sean Shechtman/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896