DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/20/26 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 13-15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2023/0156553 A1) in view of Kumar et al. (US 2021/0136721 A1).
Consider claim 1, Kim teaches a method (abstract) comprising:
determining that a user equipment (UE) device connected to a first cellular radio access network is in an area covered by both the first cellular radio access network and a second cellular radio access network (Fig. 13 and paragraph 207, the UE is in the coverage area of both the 1st PLMN and 2nd PLMN and paragraph 53-54, the UE connects to the home base station),
wherein the first cellular radio access network is operated by a first service provider and the second cellular radio access network is operated by a second service provider (the 1st PLMN belongs to the 1st operator and the 2nd PLMN belongs to the 2nd operator);
identifying, at the UE device, that the second cellular radio access network is broadcasting an identifier associated with the first service provider (Fig. 13, step 0 and paragraph 175, 210 and 209, the SIB include information of the 1st PLMN); and
performing a handover of the UE device from the first cellular radio access network to the second cellular radio access network using the identifier associated with the first service provider (Fig. 13, step 1 and paragraph 210, the UE sends a registration request to the 2nd PLMN).
Kim does not teach determining that the identifier is included in a list of candidate identifiers stored at the UE device; and wherein other identifiers included in the list of candidate identifiers are associated with the first service provider and are broadcasted by other service providers that operate other cellular radio access networks.
Kumar further teaches determining that the identifier is included in a list of candidate identifiers stored at the UE device; and wherein other identifiers included in the list of candidate identifiers are associated with the first service provider and are broadcasted by other service providers that operate other cellular radio access networks (paragraph 138 and 141, the UE stores a list of BS capable of EN-DC and the identifier and capability of the BS received in the broadcasted SIB would match the list in order for the UE to connect to the BS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify and utilize the above teachings for the purposes of effectively handover to the correct BS for proper communication.
Consider claims 13 and 20, claims 13 and 20 having similar limitations as claim 1, therefore, claims 13 and 20 are rejected for the same reasons claim 1 is rejected.
Consider claims 2, Kim also teaches wherein the UE device is subscribed to the first service provider (Fig. 13, step 2 and paragraph 211, the UE is subscribed to the 1st PLMN).
Consider claims 3 and 14, Kim also teaches identifying, at the second cellular radio access network, that the UE device is subscribed to the first service provider rather than the second service provider based on the identifier (paragraph 176-179, the UE is subscribed to the 1st PLMN not the 2nd PLMN and the 2nd PLMN knows about the subscription).
Consider claims 4 and 15, Kim also teaches wherein the identifier is a multi-operator core networks (MOCN) PLMN (paragraph 209, the SIB including information of the 1st PLMN).
Claim(s) 11 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2023/0156553 A1) in view of Kumar et al. (US 2021/0136721 A1) and further in view of Chun (US 2022/0272651 A1).
Consider claims 11 and 18, Kim and Kumar do not teach reestablishing a connection of the UE device with the first cellular radio access network subsequent to performing the handover of the UE device from the first cellular radio access network to the second cellular radio access network.
Chun further teaches reestablishing a connection of the UE device with the first cellular radio access network subsequent to performing the handover of the UE device from the first cellular radio access network to the second cellular radio access network (Fig. 9, steps 2-8 and paragraph 278, after the PLMN A recovers the PLMN A notifies the PLMN B in turn to notifies the UE to reconnect back to the PLMN A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify and utilize the above teachings for the purposes of continue serving the UE via the PLMN A which the UE subscribes to.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 12, 17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644 4/24/26