DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits, in response to the claims received 4/17/2023. Claims 1-18 are pending for prosecution below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) file on 4/17/2023 has been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KAWAMOTO et al, (Kawamoto), (USNO.20190372335).
As for claim 1, Kawamoto discloses and shows in Fig. 2 a control box for charging, the control box comprising: a first connector (via power side connector) provided at a first end of a supply cable (via ref’s connector cable) configured to be connected to an external power source; a second connector (via power plug cable) disposed at a first end of the control box (via power feed control device) for charging and configured to be coupled to the first connector; and a controller configured to monitor or control a state- of-charge (SOC) in a vehicle (via control circuit), depending on whether the first connector and the second connector are completely coupled, wherein the second connector includes a plurality of terminals in which a plurality of connection pins provided at the first connector are inserted, respectively, and at least some of which are different in length, and wherein the controller determines whether the first connector and the second connector are completely coupled based on whether the terminals, at least some of which are different in length, and the plurality of connection pins are in contact (via ref’s pilot signal) with each other (par.[0045,0057-0060]).
As for claim 2, Kawamoto discloses and shows in Fig. 2 an output cable configured to provide power from the external power source
to the vehicle is always connected to a second end of the control box for charging.
As for claim 3, Kawamoto discloses and shows in Fig. 2 plurality of terminals includes: an alternating current (AC) terminal to which AC power
is input; and a signal terminal configured to transmit a power input
signal or a communication signal, wherein a protruding length of the AC terminal is longer than a protruding length of the signal terminal
As for claim 4, Kawamoto discloses and shows in Fig. 2 the controller determines complete coupling only when the AC terminal and the signal terminal are all in contact with the plurality of
connection pins.
As for claim 5, Kawamoto discloses and shows in Fig. 2 the controller determines whether the AC terminal and the signal terminal are all in contact with the plurality of connection pins based on voltages at the AC terminal and the signal terminals.
As for claim 6, Kawamoto discloses and shows in Fig. 2 the controller determines an incomplete coupling state and outputs determination information when the first connector and the second connector are not completely coupled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamoto in view of OHMURA et al, (OHMURA), (USNO.2016/0020555)
As for claim 7, Kawamoto discloses a control box for charging, the control box comprising: a first connector (via power side connector) provided at a first end of a supply cable configured to be connected to an external power source; a second connector (via power plug cable) disposed at a first end of the control box (via power feed control device) for charging and configured to be coupled to the first connector (par.[0045,0057-0060]).
Kawamoto discloses all limitations, but differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a retainer configured to prevent separation of the first connector when the first connector and the second connector are completely coupled wherein a top of the control box is open at a position corresponding to the second connector, and wherein the retainer is inserted through the open top and moved up and down
Ohmura discloses and Figs. 2-3 a retainer (ref’s locking claw) configured to prevent separation of the first connector when the first connector and the second connector are completely coupled wherein a top of the control box is open at a position corresponding to the second connector, and wherein the retainer is inserted through the open top and moved up and down (par.[0030-0032,0040])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have modified the teachings of Kawamoto by using a retainer configured to prevent separation of the first connector when the first connector and the second connector are completely coupled wherein a top of the control box is open at a position corresponding to the second connector, and wherein the retainer is inserted through the open top and moved up and down for advantages such as providing connector fit engagement (par.[0040]) , as taught by Ohmura.
As for claim 8, Kawamoto in view Ohmura discloses and Figs. 2-3 a stopper (via latching groove) configured to prevent up-down movement of the retainer when the first connector and the second connector are completely coupled.
As for claim 9, Kawamoto in view Ohmura discloses and Figs. 2-3 stopper has a spring therein and is moved forward by the spring and coupled to the retainer when the first connector and the second connector are completely coupled, thereby preventing up-down movement of the retainer (par.[0041])
As for claim 10, Kawamoto in view Ohmura discloses and Figs. 2-3 retainer includes: a cover configured to cover the open top when the first connector and the second connector are completely coupled; and legs extending downward from ends of both sides of the cover and having respective guide holes in which the first connector is moved and fixed when the first connector and the second connector are coupled
As for claim 11, Kawamoto in view Ohmura discloses and Figs. 2-3 the cover has an internal space open rearward, and wherein a stopper configured to prevent up-down movement of the retainer is inserted in the internal space when the first connector and the second connector are completely coupled
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 12: the retainer includes: a cover configured to cover the open top when the first
connector and the second connector are completely coupled; and
legs extending downward from ends of both sides of the cover and having respective guide holes in which the first connector is moved and fixed when the first connector and the second connector are coupled, in combination with the remaining limitations of independent claims
Claim 16: protrusions are formed on an outer surface of the first connector and are inserted in and moved through the guide holes divided into a plurality of sections, whereby the first connector and the second connector are completely coupled, in combination with the remaining limitations of independent claims
Contact Information
/ARUN C WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859