DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/19/2023 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the second simples” in paragraph 0035 should be “the second simplex”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112b
Claims 6, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites variables “ab”, “CabC”, “Cab” , “S-1”, “S”, “λ”. “λ” is not defined. Claim 6 does not differentiate “S1” between “S”. Matrix of “S1” is represented unclearly as a division of values or separate values. “ab”, “CabC”, and “Cab” is unclear as to what they represent. The metes and bounds of the claim is unclear.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the barycentric coordinates" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites “yabc”, “y”, and “ŷ”. The claims do not define how these variables are different or what they entail. The metes and bounds of the claim is unclear
In reference to dependent claims 7 and 10, claims 7 and 10 do not cure the deficiencies noted in the rejection of dependent claims 6, 8 and 9. Therefore, these claims are rejected under the same rationale as claims 6, 8 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In reference to claim 1:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“projecting the new data point on the plurality of neurons;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(c)).
“generating a reconstruction error value between the new data point and the plurality of neurons, the reconstruction error value quantifying the new data point;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)). For example, a person could generate a reconstruction error value between the new data point and the plurality of neurons.
“creating a coactivation matrix for each of the neurons included in the plurality of neurons and the reconstruction error value;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)). For example, a person could create a coactivation matrix for each of the neurons.
“inverting the coactivation matrix;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(1)(a)).
“identifying, from the inverted coactivation matrix, two or three coordinates for each end point of a simplex;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)). For example, a person could identify two or three coordinates from the inverted coactivation matrix.
“generating the simplex from the two or three coordinates identified for each end point of the simplex;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)). For example, a person could generate the simplex within their mind from the two or three coordinates for each end point of the simplex.
“plotting the data structure within the simplex;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)). For example, a person could plot the data structure within the simplex.
“identifying, for each end point, a correspondence value between the data structure and the end point, where the correspondence values for each of the end points add up to 100%;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)). For example, a person could identify a correspondence value between the data structure and the end point.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“A method for generating a simplex from a plurality of neurons, the method comprising: receiving a plurality of neurons, each neuron, included in the plurality of neurons, encoding a data point;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“receiving a new data point;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“receiving a data structure;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“and displaying a pie chart, for the data structure, that includes identifiers for each of the end points and the correspondence values.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“A method for generating a simplex from a plurality of neurons, the method comprising: receiving a plurality of neurons, each neuron, included in the plurality of neurons, encoding a data point;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
“receiving a new data point;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
“receiving a data structure;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
“and displaying a pie chart, for the data structure, that includes identifiers for each of the end points and the correspondence values.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 2:
Claim 2 is directed to a judicial exception from claim(s) depended on and does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 3:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“assigning each data point, included in the plurality of data points, a zero value;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could assign each data point a zero value.
“identify that a first data point, included in the plurality of data points, is not a second data point, included in the plurality of data points;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)). For example, a person could identify a first data point that is not a second data point.
“encode a line segment between the first data point and the second data point;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)). For example, a person could encode a line segment between the first data point and the second data point.
“reconstruct each of the plurality of data points by projecting each of the plurality of data points onto the line segment;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)). For example, a person could project each of the plurality of data point onto the line segment.
“identify that a third data point, included in the plurality of data points, includes a component that is orthogonal to: a first simplex that encodes the first data point; a second simplex that encodes the second data point; a third simplex that encodes the line segment between the first data point and the second data point; and a fourth simplex that encodes zero;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)). For example, a person could identify that a third data point has a component that is orthogonal to a first, second, third, and fourth simplex.
“use the line segment, a second line segment that encodes (the third data point, the first line segment and the third data point) the first simplex, the second simplex, the third simplex and the fourth simplex to form a reconstruction error value;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)). For example, a person could use the line segment, a second line segment, the first, second, third, and fourth simplex to form a reconstruction error value.
“and use the reconstruction error value, the line segment, the second line segment, the third data point, the first simplex, the second simplex, the third simplex and the fourth simplex to generate a two-dimensional simplex.” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)). For example, a person could use the reconstruction error value, the line segment, the second line segment, the third data point, the first, second, third, and fourth simplex to generate a two-dimensional simplex.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“A method for naive tessellation of a topologically continuous subspace, the method comprising: receiving a plurality of data points;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“A method for naive tessellation of a topologically continuous subspace, the method comprising: receiving a plurality of data points;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 4:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“The method of claim 3 wherein each data point, included in the plurality of data points, in a Cartesian two-dimensional space, project onto a reconstruction.” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(1)(c)).
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No
In reference to claim 5:
Claim 5 is directed to a judicial exception from claim(s) depended on and does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 6:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“The method of claim 3 where each of the corners of the two-dimensional simplex are calculated by T^-1 S1 , where S is the simplex, T is a coactivation matrix, a is the first data point, b is the second data point and c is the third data point:
” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(1)(c)).
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No
In reference to claim 7:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“The method of claim 6 further comprising gradient boosting the first simplex, the second simplex, the third simplex and the fourth simplex.” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations and further adds onto the abstract idea of claim 6. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(1)(c)).
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No
In reference to claim 8:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“The method of claim 7 where λ = T-1 S1 calculates the barycentric coordinates from the first simplex, the second simplex, the third simplex and the fourth simplex.” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(1)(c)).
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No
In reference to claim 9:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“where the fifth data point is plotted within the two-dimensional simplex, y = YabcT-1 S1 (x) identifies a quantity y within a space of the two-dimensional simplex.” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(1)(b)).
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“The method of claim 3 further comprising receiving a fifth data point assigned the variable name x,” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“The method of claim 3 further comprising receiving a fifth data point assigned the variable name x,” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 10:
Claim 10 is directed to a judicial exception from claim(s) depended on and does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 11:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a manufacture
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“projecting the new data point on the plurality of neurons;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(c)).
“generating a reconstruction error value between the new data point and the plurality of neurons, the reconstruction error value quantifying the new data point;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)). For example, a person could generate a reconstruction error value between the new data point and the plurality of neurons.
“creating a coactivation matrix for each of the neurons included in the plurality of neurons and the reconstruction error value;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)). For example, a person could create a coactivation matrix for each of the neurons.
“inverting the coactivation matrix;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(1)(a)).
“identifying, from the inverted coactivation matrix, two or three coordinates for each end point of a simplex;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)). For example, a person could identify two or three coordinates from the inverted coactivation matrix.
“generate the simplex from the two or three coordinates identified for each end point of the simplex;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)). For example, a person could generate the simplex within their mind from the two or three coordinates for each end point of the simplex
“plotting the data structure within the simplex;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)). For example, a person could plot the data structure within the simplex.
“identifying, for each end point, a correspondence value between the data structure and the end point, where the correspondence values for each of the end points add up to 100%;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)). For example, a person could identify a correspondence value between the data structure and the end point.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“A system for generating a two-dimensional simplex from a plurality of neurons, the system comprising: a receiver operable to receive:” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“a plurality of neurons, each neuron, included in the plurality of neurons, encoding a data point;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“a new data point;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“a hardware processor operable to:” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“receive a data structure;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“and displaying a pie chart, for the data structure, that includes identifiers for each of the end points and the correspondence values.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“A system for generating a two-dimensional simplex from a plurality of neurons, the system comprising: a receiver operable to receive:” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“a plurality of neurons, each neuron, included in the plurality of neurons, encoding a data point;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
“a new data point;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
“a hardware processor operable to:” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“receive a data structure;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
“and displaying a pie chart, for the data structure, that includes identifiers for each of the end points and the correspondence values.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 12:
Claim 12 is directed to a judicial exception from claim(s) depended on and does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 13:
Claim 13 is directed to a judicial exception from claim(s) depended on and does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 14:
Claim 14 is directed to a judicial exception from claim(s) depended on and does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 15:
Claim 15 is directed to a judicial exception from claim(s) depended on and does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 , and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandan Gope et al; US 20240351472 A1 filed on Apr 12, 2023 (hereinafter “Gope”) in view of Scikit; “Sparse inverse covariance estimation” publicly available on Apr 20, 2021 (hereinafter “Scikit”) in further view of Matthias Preindl et al; US 20250096709 A1 filed on Jan 27, 2023 (hereinafter “Preindl”) in further view of Lifei Zhao et al; US 20240265595 A1 filed on Dec 28, 2021 (hereinafter “Zhao”).
Regarding claim 1, Gope teaches A method for generating a simplex from a plurality of neurons, the method comprising: receiving a plurality of neurons, each neuron, included in the plurality of neurons, encoding a data point; (Gope Paragraph 0008; “the one or more outlier detection machine learning models include a plurality of neurons arranged in a plurality of layers in a neural network. The plurality of neurons may include an input layer of neurons corresponding with a battery node diagnostic data portion” Gope Paragraph 0009; “machine learning models may include a variational autoencoder encoding the input layer of neurons into a latent space layer of neurons” Examiner notes that a plurality of neurons is received from outlier detection machine learning models, each neuron encodes a data point (battery node diagnostic data))
receiving a new data point; (Gope Paragraph 0216; “A request to determine outlier values for a set of battery nodes is received at 902. In some implementations, the request may be generated when a battery pack is placed into a diagnostic mode. When in the diagnostic mode, a variety of data related to battery nodes within the battery pack may be collected.” Examiner notes that new data point (data related to battery nodes) is received)
projecting the new data point on the plurality of neurons; (Gope Paragraph 0218; “Input feature data for each of the battery nodes is determined at 906. According to various embodiments, determining the input feature data may involve performing feature selection on the available data. Any of a variety of feature selection techniques may be used, which may include, but are not limited to: principal component analysis” Examiner notes that principal component analysis is used to project the new data point on the plurality of neurons)
generating a reconstruction error value between the new data point and the plurality of neurons, the reconstruction error value quantifying the new data point; (Gope Paragraph 0132; “outlier values for battery nodes are determined based on the application of one or more machine learning models to battery node diagnostic data. In some embodiments, an outlier value may indicate a degree to which a node or group of nodes deviates from its peers along one or more dimensions. An outlier value may be determined by providing to the trained model input data corresponding to a battery node.” Gope Paragraph 0134; “an outlier value may be a reconstruction error value... The output values may be compared with the input values to determine the reconstruction error, which may be used as the outlier value.” Examiner notes that the reconstruction error value (outlier value) is generated/determined between the new data point (input values) and the plurality of neurons (set of output values produced by plurality of neurons in machine learning model), reconstruction error value quantifying the new data point (quantifies a degree to which the new data point deviates))
creating [a coactivation matrix for each of the neurons included in the plurality of neurons and] the reconstruction error value; (Gope Paragraph 0134; “an outlier value may be a reconstruction error value... The output values may be compared with the input values to determine the reconstruction error, which may be used as the outlier value.” Examiner notes that reconstruction error value (outlier value) is created/determined)
Gope does not teach creating a coactivation matrix for each of the neurons included in the plurality of neurons [and the reconstruction error value;]
inverting the coactivation matrix;
However, Scikit does teach creating a coactivation matrix for each of the neurons included in the plurality of neurons [and the reconstruction error value;] (Scikit Code “Estimate the covariance” shows creating a coactivation matrix (covariance matrix) for each of the neurons included in the plurality of neurons)
inverting the coactivation matrix; (Scikit Paragraph 2; “estimating the precision matrix, that is the inverse covariance matrix” Examiner notes that the coactivation matrix (covariance matrix) is inverted)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Gope and Scikit. Gope teaches a method of using one or more outlier detection machine learning models for battery diagnostic data. Scikit teaches inversing a covariance matrix. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Gope and Scikit to ensure that there is not too much correlation and that now small coefficients cannot be recovered “we ensure that the data is not too much correlated (limiting the largest coefficient of the precision matrix) and that there a no small coefficients in the precision matrix that cannot be recovered.” (Scikit Paragraph 3).
Gope in view of Scikit does not teach identifying, from the inverted coactivation matrix, two or three coordinates for each end point of a simplex;
generating the simplex from the two or three coordinates identified for each end point of the simplex;
receiving a data structure;
plotting the data structure within the simplex;
However, Preindl does teach identifying, from the inverted coactivation matrix, two or three coordinates for each end point of a simplex; (Preindl Paragraph 0073; “Here, the transformation matrix may identify the n+1 points that create the simplex” Examiner notes that the two or three coordinates (n+1 points) for each end point of a simplex from the inverted coactivation matrix (transformation matrix))
generating the simplex from the two or three coordinates identified for each end point of the simplex; (Preindl Paragraph 0073; “Here, the transformation matrix may identify the n+1 points that create the simplex, where one selected point (p.sub.0) creates the origin of the simplex, and each of the other points (p.sub.1 to p.sub.n) in the simplex can be expressed as one of N vectors p.sub.x0 relative to the origin (where N=n, and for x=1 to N).” Examiner notes that the simplex is generated from the two or three coordinates)
receiving a data structure; (Preindl Paragraph 0126; “the simplex generation process includes the electronic controller 400 (1) obtaining a data set of current-flux linkage pairs for operational points of the electric motor;” Examiner notes that a data structure (data set of current-flux linkage pairs) is received/obtained)
plotting the data structure within the simplex; (Preindl Paragraph 0096; “a first plot 500 of each of the current simplices generated by the Delaunay triangulation algorithm executed on the example data set is illustrated.” Examiner notes that data structure (data set) is plotted within the simplex using the Delaunay triangulation algorithm)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Gope , Scikit, and Preindl. Gope teaches a method of using one or more outlier detection machine learning models for battery diagnostic data. Scikit teaches inversing a covariance matrix. Preindl teaches a method for utilizing simplices to calculate flux linkage. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Gope, Scikit, and Preindl to apply aspects of the simplices to improve accuracy “Generally, the more operational points selected in the first step, the more simplices generated in the second step, and the larger and/or more complex the PWA map. As the PWA map increases in size and/or complexity, the accuracy of the PWA map may improve until reaching an approximate peak.” (Preindl Paragraph 0104).
Gope in view of Scikit in further view of Preindl does not teach identifying, for each end point, a correspondence value between the data structure and the end point, where the correspondence values for each of the end points add up to 100%;
and displaying a pie chart, for the data structure, that includes identifiers for each of the end points and the correspondence values.
However, Zhao does teach identifying, for each end point, a correspondence value between the data structure and the end point, where the correspondence values for each of the end points add up to 100%; (Zhao Paragraph 0272; “a proportion of the slice with the title of February is 10%, a proportion of the slice with the title of March is 20%, a proportion of the slice with the title of April is 30%, and a proportion of the slice with the title of May is 40%. The pie chart is drawn according to the titles and the proportions of the respective slices.” Zhao Paragraph 0331; “If it is a pie chart, the determined data groups contains the data that corresponds to each object in a one-to-one correspondence” Examiner notes that a correspondence value (proportion of the slice) is identified between the data structure (data groups) and the end point (each object), where the correspondence values for each of the end points add up to 100% (10% + 20% + 40% + 30% = 100%))
and displaying a pie chart, for the data structure, that includes identifiers for each of the end points and the correspondence values. (Zhao Paragraph 0272; “a proportion of the slice with the title of February is 10%, a proportion of the slice with the title of March is 20%, a proportion of the slice with the title of April is 30%, and a proportion of the slice with the title of May is 40%. The pie chart is drawn according to the titles and the proportions of the respective slices.” Zhao Paragraph 0543; “a guide template corresponding to the pie chart is displayed in a display area.” Examiner notes that a pie chart is displayed, for the data structure, that includes identifiers (titles) for each of the end points and the correspondence values)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Gope , Scikit, Preindl, and Zhao. Gope teaches a method of using one or more outlier detection machine learning models for battery diagnostic data. Scikit teaches inversing a covariance matrix. Preindl teaches a method for utilizing simplices to calculate flux linkage. Zhao teaches a method for displaying a chart. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Gope, Scikit, Preindl, and Zhao to improve interactive experience during conference “ At present, one method is to use a hand-drawn graph, which is not only inefficient but also difficult to accurately show the change rules of data group, causing unnecessary deviations for later analysis; the other is to draw a graph on the computer and project the graph on the electronic whiteboard, which is cumbersome to operate and not suitable for use in conference interaction, resulting in poor interactive experience during conference.” (Zhao Paragraph 0004).
Regarding claim 2, Gope teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the data point corresponds to an experience. (Gope Paragraph 0216; “A request to determine outlier values for a set of battery nodes is received at 902... When in the diagnostic mode, a variety of data related to battery nodes within the battery pack may be collected.” Examiner notes that data point (data related to battery nodes) corresponds to an experience (evidence/knowledge related to battery nodes); Examiner interprets experience as knowledge/evidence)
Regarding claim 11, Gope teaches A system for generating a two-dimensional simplex from a plurality of neurons, the system comprising: a receiver operable to receive: a plurality of neurons, each neuron included in the plurality of neurons encoding a data point; (Gope Paragraph 0008; “the one or more outlier detection machine learning models include a plurality of neurons arranged in a plurality of layers in a neural network. The plurality of neurons may include an input layer of neurons corresponding with a battery node diagnostic data portion” Gope Paragraph 0009; “machine learning models may include a variational autoencoder encoding the input layer of neurons into a latent space layer of neurons” Examiner notes that a plurality of neurons is received from outlier detection machine learning models, each neuron encodes a data point (battery node diagnostic data); input layer is receiver)
a new data point; (Gope Paragraph 0216; “A request to determine outlier values for a set of battery nodes is received at 902. In some implementations, the request may be generated when a battery pack is placed into a diagnostic mode. When in the diagnostic mode, a variety of data related to battery nodes within the battery pack may be collected.” Examiner notes that new data point (data related to battery nodes) is received)
a hardware processor operable to: project the new data point on the plurality of neurons; (Gope Paragraph 0218; “Input feature data for each of the battery nodes is determined at 906. According to various embodiments, determining the input feature data may involve performing feature selection on the available data. Any of a variety of feature selection techniques may be used, which may include, but are not limited to: principal component analysis” Gope Paragraph 0288; “a system uses a processor in a variety of contexts but can use multiple processors while remaining within the scope of the present disclosure unless otherwise noted.” Examiner notes that principal component analysis is used to project the new data point on the plurality of neurons)
generate a reconstruction error value between the new data point and the plurality of neurons, the reconstruction error value quantifying the new data point; (Gope Paragraph 0132; “outlier values for battery nodes are determined based on the application of one or more machine learning models to battery node diagnostic data. In some embodiments, an outlier value may indicate a degree to which a node or group of nodes deviates from its peers along one or more dimensions. An outlier value may be determined by providing to the trained model input data corresponding to a battery node.” Gope Paragraph 0134; “an outlier value may be a reconstruction error value... The output values may be compared with the input values to determine the reconstruction error, which may be used as the outlier value.” Examiner notes that the reconstruction error value (outlier value) is generated/determined between the new data point (input values) and the plurality of neurons (set of output values produced by plurality of neurons in machine learning model), reconstruction error value quantifying the new data point (quantifies a degree to which the new data point deviates))
create [a coactivation matrix for each of the neurons included in the plurality of neurons and] the reconstruction error value; (Gope Paragraph 0134; “an outlier value may be a reconstruction error value... The output values may be compared with the input values to determine the reconstruction error, which may be used as the outlier value.” Examiner notes that reconstruction error value (outlier value) is created/determined)
Gope does not teach create a coactivation matrix for each of the neurons included in the plurality of neurons [and the reconstruction error value;]
inverting the coactivation matrix;
However, Scikit does teach create a coactivation matrix for each of the neurons included in the plurality of neurons [and the reconstruction error value;] (Scikit Code “Estimate the covariance” shows creating a coactivation matrix (covariance matrix) for each of the neurons included in the plurality of neurons)
inverting the coactivation matrix; (Scikit Paragraph 2; “estimating the precision matrix, that is the inverse covariance matrix” Examiner notes that the coactivation matrix (covariance matrix) is inverted)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Gope and Scikit. Gope teaches a method of using one or more outlier detection machine learning models for battery diagnostic data. Scikit teaches inversing a covariance matrix. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Gope and Scikit to ensure that there is not too much correlation and that now small coefficients cannot be recovered “we ensure that the data is not too much correlated (limiting the largest coefficient of the precision matrix) and that there a no small coefficients in the precision matrix that cannot be recovered.” (Scikit Paragraph 3).
Gope in view of Scikit does not teach identify, from the inverted coactivation matrix, two or three coordinates for each end point of a simplex;
generate the simplex from the two or three coordinates identified for each end point of the simplex;
receive a data structure;
plot the data structure within the simplex;
However, Preindl does teach identify, from the inverted coactivation matrix, two or three coordinates for each end point of a simplex; (Preindl Paragraph 0073; “Here, the transformation matrix may identify the n+1 points that create the simplex” Examiner notes that the two or three coordinates (n+1 points) for each end point of a simplex from the inverted coactivation matrix (transformation matrix))
generate the simplex from the two or three coordinates identified for each end point of the simplex; (Preindl Paragraph 0073; “Here, the transformation matrix may identify the n+1 points that create the simplex, where one selected point (p.sub.0) creates the origin of the simplex, and each of the other points (p.sub.1 to p.sub.n) in the simplex can be expressed as one of N vectors p.sub.x0 relative to the origin (where N=n, and for x=1 to N).” Examiner notes that the simplex is generated from the two or three coordinates)
receive a data structure; (Preindl Paragraph 0126; “the simplex generation process includes the electronic controller 400 (1) obtaining a data set of current-flux linkage pairs for operational points of the electric motor;” Examiner notes that a data structure (data set of current-flux linkage pairs) is received/obtained)
plot; (Preindl Paragraph 0096; “a first plot 500 of each of the current simplices generated by the Delaunay triangulation algorithm executed on the example data set is illustrated.” Examiner notes that data structure (data set) is plotted within the simplex using the Delaunay triangulation algorithm)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Gope , Scikit, and Preindl. Gope teaches a method of using one or more outlier detection machine learning models for battery diagnostic data. Scikit teaches inversing a covariance matrix. Preindl teaches a method for utilizing simplices to calculate flux linkage. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Gope, Scikit, and Preindl to apply aspects of the simplices to improve accuracy “Generally, the more operational points selected in the first step, the more simplices generated in the second step, and the larger and/or more complex the PWA map. As the PWA map increases in size and/or complexity, the accuracy of the PWA map may improve until reaching an approximate peak.” (Preindl Paragraph 0104).
Gope in view of Scikit in further view of Preindl does not teach identify, for each end point, a correspondence value between the data structure and the end point, where the correspondence values for each of the end points add up to 100%;
However, Zhao does teach identifying, for each end point, a correspondence value between the data structure and the end point, where the correspondence values for each of the end points add up to 100%; (Zhao Paragraph 0272; “a proportion of the slice with the title of February is 10%, a proportion of the slice with the title of March is 20%, a proportion of the slice with the title of April is 30%, and a proportion of the slice with the title of May is 40%. The pie chart is drawn according to the titles and the proportions of the respective slices.” Zhao Paragraph 0331; “If it is a pie chart, the determined data groups contains the data that corresponds to each object in a one-to-one correspondence” Examiner notes that a correspondence value (proportion of the slice) is identified between the data structure (data groups) and the end point (each object), where the correspondence values for each of the end points add up to 100% (10% + 20% + 40% + 30% = 100%))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Gope , Scikit, Preindl, and Zhao. Gope teaches a method of using one or more outlier detection machine learning models for battery diagnostic data. Scikit teaches inversing a covariance matrix. Preindl teaches a method for utilizing simplices to calculate flux linkage. Zhao teaches a method for displaying a chart. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Gope, Scikit, Preindl, and Zhao to improve interactive experience during conference “ At present, one method is to use a hand-drawn graph, which is not only inefficient but also difficult to accurately show the change rules of data group, causing unnecessary deviations for later analysis; the other is to draw a graph on the computer and project the graph on the electronic whiteboard, which is cumbersome to operate and not suitable for use in conference interaction, resulting in poor interactive experience during conference.” (Zhao Paragraph 0004).
Regarding claim 12, Gope does not teach The system of claim 11 wherein the hardware processor is further operable to display a pie chart, for the data structure, that includes identifiers for each of the end points and the correspondence values.
However, Zhao does teach The system of claim 11 wherein the hardware processor is further operable to display a pie chart, for the data structure, that includes identifiers for each of the end points and the correspondence values. (Zhao Paragraph 0272; “a proportion of the slice with the title of February is 10%, a proportion of the slice with the title of March is 20%, a proportion of the slice with the title of April is 30%, and a proportion of the slice with the title of May is 40%. The pie chart is drawn according to the titles and the proportions of the respective slices.” Zhao Paragraph 0543; “a guide template corresponding to the pie chart is displayed in a display area.” Examiner notes that a pie chart is displayed, for the data structure, that includes identifiers (titles) for each of the end points and the correspondence values)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Gope , Scikit, Preindl, and Zhao. Gope teaches a method of using one or more outlier detection machine learning models for battery diagnostic data. Scikit teaches inversing a covariance matrix. Preindl teaches a method for utilizing simplices to calculate flux linkage. Zhao teaches a method for displaying a chart. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Gope, Scikit, Preindl, and Zhao to improve interactive experience during conference “ At present, one method is to use a hand-drawn graph, which is not only inefficient but also difficult to accurately show the change rules of data group, causing unnecessary deviations for later analysis; the other is to draw a graph on the computer and project the graph on the electronic whiteboard, which is cumbersome to operate and not suitable for use in conference interaction, resulting in poor interactive experience during conference.” (Zhao Paragraph 0004).
Regarding claim 13, Gope teaches The system of claim 11, wherein the neurons are received from an artificial intelligence neural network. (Gope Paragraph 0008; “In some embodiments, the one or more outlier detection machine learning models include a plurality of neurons arranged in a plurality of layers in a neural network.”)
Regarding claim 14, Gope teaches The system of claim 11, wherein each of the neurons included in the plurality of neurons correspond to an experience. (Gope Paragraph 0216; “A request to determine outlier values for a set of battery nodes is received at 902... When in the diagnostic mode, a variety of data related to battery nodes within the battery pack may be collected.” Examiner notes that data point (data related to battery nodes) corresponds to an experience (evidence/knowledge related to battery nodes); Examiner interprets experience as knowledge/evidence)
Regarding claim 15, Gope teaches The system of claim 11 wherein the new data point corresponds to a new experience. (Gope Paragraph 0216; “A request to determine outlier values for a set of battery nodes is received at 902... When in the diagnostic mode, a variety of data related to battery nodes within the battery pack may be collected.” Examiner notes that data point (data related to battery nodes) corresponds to an experience (evidence/knowledge related to battery nodes); Examiner interprets experience as knowledge/evidence); collected data is new data)
Claim(s) 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandan Gope et al; US 20240351472 A1 filed on Apr 12, 2023 (hereinafter “Gope”) in view of Ziyue Xu et al; US 20240303504 A1 filed on Mar 22, 2024 (hereinafter “Xu”) in further view of Sunshine; “(Projected) Point on Line (2D) Algorithm” publicly available on Oct 29, 2022 (hereinafter “Sunshine”) in further view of Matthias Preindl et al; US 20250096709 A1 filed on Jan 27, 2023 (hereinafter “Preindl”).
Regarding claim 3, Gope teaches A method for naive tessellation of a topologically continuous subspace, the method comprising: receiving a plurality of data points; (Gope Paragraph 0216; “A request to determine outlier values for a set of battery nodes is received at 902. In some implementations, the request may be generated when a battery pack is placed into a diagnostic mode. When in the diagnostic mode, a variety of data related to battery nodes within the battery pack may be collected.” Examiner notes that new data points (data related to battery nodes) is received)
reconstruct each of the plurality of data points by projecting each of the
plurality of data points onto the line segment; (Gope Paragraph 0218; “Input feature data for each of the battery nodes is determined at 906. According to various embodiments, determining the input feature data may involve performing feature selection on the available data. Any of a variety of feature selection techniques may be used, which may include, but are not limited to: principal component analysis” Examiner notes that principal component analysis is used to reconstruct each of the plurality of data points (input feature data) by projecting each of the plurality of data points onto the line segment (Principal component analysis can be used to project data points onto a lower-dimensional subspace, such as a line))
Gope does not teach assigning each data point, included in the plurality of data points, a zero value;
However, Xu does teach assigning each data point, included in the plurality of data points, a zero value; (Xu Paragraph 0064; “global update 152 represents a model generated using different initializing techniques (e.g., zero initialization” Examiner notes that assigning each data point a zero value is zero initialization)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Gope and Xu. Gope teaches a method of using one or more outlier detection machine learning models for battery diagnostic data. Xu teaches techniques to train/use one or more neural networks. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Gope and Xu to improve neural network training and inferencing “techniques and systems described and suggested herein provide various advantages to optimize neural network training and inferencing” (Xu Paragraph 107).
Gope in view of Xu does not teach identify that a first data point, included in the plurality of data points, is not a second data point, included in the plurality of data points;
encode a line segment between the first data point and the second data point;
identify that a third data point, included in the plurality of data points,
However, Sunshine does teach identify that a first data point, included in the plurality of data points, is not a
second data point, included in the plurality of data points; (Sunshine Graph and Introduction; “we have following input data: two points v1 and v2 which define the line to against. In particular, this implies that both points lie on this line of course.” Examiner notes that first data point (V1) is not a second data point (V2), included in the plurality of data points is identified (having different x and y coordinates))
encode a line segment between the first data point and the second data point; (Examiner refers to previous mapping to show that a line segment (line) is encoded/defined between the first data point and the second data point (points v1, and v2))
identify that a third data point, included in the plurality of data points, includes a component that is orthogonal to: [a first simplex that encodes] the first data point; [a second simplex that encodes] the second data point; [a third simplex that encodes] the line segment between the first data point and the second data point; and [a fourth simplex that encodes] zero; (Sunshine Section 4; “In this chapter an algorithm is presented to test if the projected point p' of the point p onto the line e1 lies on inside the closed line segment.The projected point p' is the nearest point to p that lies on the given line.”
Examiner notes that section 4 shows how to identify that a third data point (point p), included in the plurality of data points, includes a component (line e1) that is orthogonal to the first data point (v1), the second data point (v2), the line segment between the first data point and the second data point (close line segment), zero (zero vector is always present in vector space; a zero vector is orthogonal to itself and all other vectors))
use the line segment, a second line segment that encodes (the third data
point, the first line segment and the third data point) the first simplex, the second simplex, the third simplex and the fourth simplex to form a reconstruction error value; (Sunshine Section 5 Graph and “At first let's calculate angle α using the dot product. We know that DP(e1, e2) = |e1| * |e2| * cos(α).”; shows line segment (e1), a second line segment (blue line in figure) that encodes the third data point (p), the first line segment (e1) and the projected third data point (p’), the first simplex (v1), the second simplex (v2), the third simplex (p) and the fourth simplex (zero vector is always present in vector space); one could perform various trigonometric operations to obtain length of blue line as the reconstruction error value)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Gope, Xu, and Sunshine. Gope teaches a method of using one or more outlier detection machine learning models for battery diagnostic data. Xu teaches techniques to train/use one or more neural networks. Sunshine teaches different algorithms about the relation of a given point to a given line in the two-dimension case. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Gope, Xu, and Sunshine to overcome the disadvantages of only using the x-intercept form and to better understand the relation of the components “The most significant disadvantage: The x-intercept form cannot represent all lines. It is not possible to define a vertical line because it's slope would be infinite. This case would have to be handled in a special which makes this approach quite unattractive (note however that this case can be easily identified: the x-coordinate of both points are equal for vertical lines.) Another point to think about is the precision of floating point numbers. bt would never be perfectly equal to b, so an epsilon value must be used when testing for equality. However, finding such a epsilon is not easy and depends e.g. on the slope because the calculation error increaes with a larger slope, especially if the line converges to the vertical case.” (Sunshine Section 1).
Gope in view of Xu in further view of Sunshine does not teach includes a component that is orthogonal to: a first simplex that encodes the first data point;
a second simplex that encodes the second data point;
a third simplex that encodes the line segment between the first data point and the second data point;
and a fourth simplex that encodes zero;
and use the reconstruction error value, the line segment, the second line segment,
the third data point, the first simplex, the second simplex, the third simplex and the fourth simplex to generate a two-dimensional simplex.
However, Preindl does teach includes a component that is orthogonal to:
a first simplex that encodes the first data point; (Preindl Paragraph 0073; “the input current does reside on the simplex. Here, the transformation matrix may identify the n+1 points that create the simplex” Examiner notes that a first simplex encodes the first data point (input))
a second simplex that encodes the second data point; (Examiner refers to previous mapping to show that a second simplex encodes the first data point (input))
a third simplex that encodes the line segment between the first data point and the second data point; (Preindl Paragraph 0073; “Here, the transformation matrix may identify the n+1 points that create the simplex, where one selected point (p.sub.0) creates the origin of the simplex, and each of the other points (p.sub.1 to p.sub.n) in the simplex can be expressed as one of N vectors p.sub.x0 relative to the origin (where N=n, and for x=1 to N)” Examiner notes that a third simplex encodes the line segment (vector) between the first data point (selected point) and the second data point (other point))
and a fourth simplex that encodes zero; (Preindl Paragraph 0073; “the input current does reside on the simplex. Here, the transformation matrix may identify the n+1 points that create the simplex” Examiner notes that a fourth simplex encodes zero (input))
and use the reconstruction error value, the line segment, the second line segment,
the third data point, the first simplex, the second simplex, the third simplex and the fourth simplex to generate a two-dimensional simplex. (Preindl Paragraph 0073; “Here, the transformation matrix may identify the n+1 points that create the simplex, where one selected point (p.sub.0) creates the origin of the simplex, and each of the other points (p.sub.1 to p.sub.n) in the simplex can be expressed as one of N vectors p.sub.x0 relative to the origin (where N=n, and for x=1 to N).” Examiner notes that the third data point, the first simplex, the second simplex, the third simplex and the fourth simplex are identified points that create the simplex; the line segment and the second line segment that encodes reconstruction error value are the vectors used to express the simplex)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Gope, Xu, Sunshine, and Preindl. Gope teaches a method of using one or more outlier detection machine learning models for battery diagnostic data. Xu teaches techniques to train/use one or more neural networks. Sunshine teaches different algorithms about the relation of a given point to a given line in the two-dimension case. Preindl teaches a method for utilizing simplices to calculate flux linkage. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Gope, Xu, Sunshine, and Preindl to apply aspects of the simplices to improve accuracy “Generally, the more operational points selected in the first step, the more simplices generated in the second step, and the larger and/or more complex the PWA map. As the PWA map increases in size and/or complexity, the accuracy of the PWA map may improve until reaching an approximate peak.” (Preindl Paragraph 0104).
Regarding claim 4, Gope teaches The method of claim 3 wherein each data point, included in the plurality of data points, in a Cartesian two-dimensional space, project onto a reconstruction. (Gope Paragraph 0218; “Input feature data for each of the battery nodes is determined at 906. According to various embodiments, determining the input feature data may involve performing feature selection on the available data. Any of a variety of feature selection techniques may be used, which may include, but are not limited to: principal component analysis” Examiner notes that principal component analysis is used to project each of the plurality of data points (input feature data) onto a reconstruction (available data/prior experience))
Regarding claim 5, Gope does not teach The method of claim 3 wherein the corners of the two-dimensional simplex are the first data point, the second data point and the third data point.
However, Preindl does teach The method of claim 3 wherein the corners of the two-dimensional simplex are the first data point, the second data point and the third data point. (Preindl Paragraph 0073; “Here, the transformation matrix may identify the n+1 points that create the simplex, where one selected point (p.sub.0) creates the origin of the simplex, and each of the other points (p.sub.1 to p.sub.n) in the simplex can be expressed as one of N vectors p.sub.x0 relative to the origin (where N=n, and for x=1 to N).” Examiner notes that the first, second, and third data points (identified points) are the corners that form the two-dimensional simplex)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Gope, Xu, Sunshine, and Preindl. Gope teaches a method of using one or more outlier detection machine learning models for battery diagnostic data. Xu teaches techniques to train/use one or more neural networks. Sunshine teaches different algorithms about the relation of a given point to a given line in the two-dimension case. Preindl teaches a method for utilizing simplices to calculate flux linkage. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Gope, Xu, Sunshine, and Preindl to apply aspects of the simplices to improve accuracy “Generally, the more operational points selected in the first step, the more simplices generated in the second step, and the larger and/or more complex the PWA map. As the PWA map increases in size and/or complexity, the accuracy of the PWA map may improve until reaching an approximate peak.” (Preindl Paragraph 0104).
Claim(s) 6, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandan Gope et al; US 20240351472 A1 filed on Apr 12, 2023 (hereinafter “Gope”) in view of Ziyue Xu et al; US 20240303504 A1 filed on Mar 22, 2024 (hereinafter “Xu”) in further view of Sunshine; “(Projected) Point on Line (2D) Algorithm” publicly available on Oct 29, 2022 (hereinafter “Sunshine”) in further view of Matthias Preindl et al; US 20250096709 A1 filed on Jan 27, 2023 (hereinafter “Preindl”) in further view of UCIC; “Cartesian and Barycentric Coordinates” publicly available on Jan 30, 2023 (hereinafter “UCIC”).
Regarding claim 6, Gope in view of Xu in further view of Sunshine in further view of Preindl does not teach The method of claim 3 where each of the corners of the two-dimensional simplex are calculated by T^-1 S1 , where S is the simplex, T is a coactivation matrix, a is the first data point, b is the second data point and c is the third data point:
However, UIUC does teach The method of claim 3 where each of the corners of the two-dimensional simplex are calculated by T^-1 S1 , where S is the simplex, T is a coactivation matrix, a is the first data point, b is the second data point and c is the third data point:
(UIUC Section “Barycentric Coordinates” Subsection “Comment”; “Let A=(a1,a2) ,B=(b1,b2) ,C=(c1,c2) be three given distinct and non-collinear points in the Cartesian plane and P=(p1,p2) an arbitrary point. Then the 3 linear equations above can be written in one matrix equation” Examiner notes that person having ordinary skill in the art would substitute aspects of the matrix equation to fit the simplex, coactivation matrix, and data points a, b, and c; further perform matrix operations to obtain “λ”/corners of the two-dimensional simplex)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Gope, Xu, Sunshine, Preindl, and UIUC. Gope teaches a method of using one or more outlier detection machine learning models for battery diagnostic data. Xu teaches techniques to train/use one or more neural networks. Sunshine teaches different algorithms about the relation of a given point to a given line in the two-dimension case. Preindl teaches a method for utilizing simplices to calculate flux linkage. UIUC teaches a formula relating Barycentric coordinates to Cartesian coordinates. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Gope, Xu, Sunshine, Preindl, and UIUC to use Barycentric coordinates based on motivated use case “Barycentric coordinates are motivated by the problem of finding the center of gravity” (UIUC Section “Barycentric Coordinates”).
Regarding claim 9, Gope teaches The method of claim 3 further comprising receiving a fifth data point assigned the variable name x, (Gope Paragraph 0216; “A request to determine outlier values for a set of battery nodes is received at 902. In some implementations, the request may be generated when a battery pack is placed into a diagnostic mode. When in the diagnostic mode, a variety of data related to battery nodes within the battery pack may be collected.” Examiner notes that new data points (data related to battery nodes) is received)
Gope does not teach where the fifth data point is plotted within the two-dimensional simplex, y = YabcT-1 S1 (x) identifies a quantity y within a space of the two-dimensional simplex.
However, UIUC does teach where the fifth data point is plotted within the two-dimensional simplex, y = YabcT-1 S1 (x) identifies a quantity y within a space of the two-dimensional simplex. (UIUC Section “Barycentric Coordinates” Subsection “Comment”; “Let A=(a1,a2) ,B=(b1,b2) ,C=(c1,c2) be three given distinct and non-collinear points in the Cartesian plane and P=(p1,p2) an arbitrary point. Then the 3 linear equations above can be written in one matrix equation” Examiner notes that person having ordinary skill in the art would substitute aspects of the matrix equation to plot the fifth data point and identify a quantity y within a space of the two-dimension simplex)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Gope, Xu, Sunshine, Preindl, and UIUC. Gope teaches a method of using one or more outlier detection machine learning models for battery diagnostic data. Xu teaches techniques to train/use one or more neural networks. Sunshine teaches different algorithms about the relation of a given point to a given line in the two-dimension case. Preindl teaches a method for utilizing simplices to calculate flux linkage. UIUC teaches a formula relating Barycentric coordinates to Cartesian coordinates. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Gope, Xu, Sunshine, Preindl, and UIUC to use Barycentric coordinates based on motivated use case “Barycentric coordinates are motivated by the problem of finding the center of gravity” (UIUC Section “Barycentric Coordinates”).
Regarding claim 10, Gope does not teach The method of claim 9 wherein the quantity y is a low dimensional solution of a high dimensional problem.
However, Preindl does teach The method of claim 9 wherein the quantity y is a low dimensional solution of a high dimensional problem. (Preindl Paragraph 0268; “First, the motor controller 120 identifies on which simplex (or domain) of the PWA map the current value resides. Second, the motor controller 120 uses the particular affine function associated with the identified simplex to calculate the flux linkage.” Examiner notes that the quantity y (current value) is a low dimensional solution (current value is projected on the simplex) of a high dimensional problem (calculating the flux linkage))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Gope, Xu, Sunshine, and Preindl. Gope teaches a method of using one or more outlier detection machine learning models for battery diagnostic data. Xu teaches techniques to train/use one or more neural networks. Sunshine teaches different algorithms about the relation of a given point to a given line in the two-dimension case. Preindl teaches a method for utilizing simplices to calculate flux linkage. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Gope, Xu, Sunshine, and Preindl to apply aspects of the simplices to improve accuracy “Generally, the more operational points selected in the first step, the more simplices generated in the second step, and the larger and/or more complex the PWA map. As the PWA map increases in size and/or complexity, the accuracy of the PWA map may improve until reaching an approximate peak.” (Preindl Paragraph 0104).
Claim(s) 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandan Gope et al; US 20240351472 A1 filed on Apr 12, 2023 (hereinafter “Gope”) in view of Ziyue Xu et al; US 20240303504 A1 filed on Mar 22, 2024 (hereinafter “Xu”) in further view of Sunshine; “(Projected) Point on Line (2D) Algorithm” publicly available on Oct 29, 2022 (hereinafter “Sunshine”) in further view of Matthias Preindl et al; US 20250096709 A1 filed on Jan 27, 2023 (hereinafter “Preindl”) in further view of UCIC; “Cartesian and Barycentric Coordinates” publicly available on Jan 30, 2023 (hereinafter “UCIC”) in further view of Sarkhan Badirli et al; “Gradient Boosting Neural Networks: GrowNet” publicly on Jun 14, 2020 (hereinafter “Badirli”).
Regarding claim 7, Gope in view of Xu in further view of Sunshine in further view of Preindl in further view of UIUC does not teach The method of claim 6 further comprising gradient boosting the first simplex, the second simplex, the third simplex and the fourth simplex.
However, Badirli does teach The method of claim 6 further comprising gradient boosting the first simplex, the second simplex, the third simplex and the fourth simplex. (Badirli Page 3 Paragraph 4; “The key idea in gradient boosting is to take simple, lower-order models as weak learners and use them as fundamental building blocks to build a powerful, higher-order model by sequential boosting using first or second order gradient statistics.” Examiner notes that first, second, third, and fourth simplices are lower-order models that are gradient boosted together)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Gope, Xu, Sunshine, Preindl, UIUC, and Badirli. Gope teaches a method of using one or more outlier detection machine learning models for battery diagnostic data. Xu teaches techniques to train/use one or more neural networks. Sunshine teaches different algorithms about the relation of a given point to a given line in the two-dimension case. Preindl teaches a method for utilizing simplices to calculate flux linkage. UIUC teaches a formula relating Barycentric coordinates to Cartesian coordinates. Badirli teaches a novel gradient boosting framework. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Gope, Xu, Sunshine, Preindl, UIUC, and Badirli to use build a powerful, higher-order model “The key idea in gradient boosting is to take simple, lower-order models as weak learners and use them as fundamental building blocks to build a powerful, higher-order model by sequential boosting using first or second order gradient statistics.” (Badirli Page 3 Paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 8, Gope does not teach The method of claim 7 where λ = T-1 S1 calculates the barycentric coordinates from the first simplex, the second simplex, the third simplex and the fourth simplex.
However, UIUC does teach The method of claim 7 where λ = T-1 S1 calculates the barycentric coordinates from the first simplex, the second simplex, the third simplex and the fourth simplex. (UIUC Section “Barycentric Coordinates” Subsection “Comment”; “Let A=(a1,a2) ,B=(b1,b2) ,C=(c1,c2) be three given distinct and non-collinear points in the Cartesian plane and P=(p1,p2) an arbitrary point. Then the 3 linear equations above can be written in one matrix equation” Examiner notes that matrix equation can be manipulated using matrix operations to obtain barycentric coordinates from the first simplex, the second simplex, the third simplex and the fourth simplex)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Gope, Xu, Sunshine, Preindl, and UIUC. Gope teaches a method of using one or more outlier detection machine learning models for battery diagnostic data. Xu teaches techniques to train/use one or more neural networks. Sunshine teaches different algorithms about the relation of a given point to a given line in the two-dimension case. Preindl teaches a method for utilizing simplices to calculate flux linkage. UIUC teaches a formula relating Barycentric coordinates to Cartesian coordinates. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Gope, Xu, Sunshine, Preindl, and UIUC to use Barycentric coordinates based on motivated use case “Barycentric coordinates are motivated by the problem of finding the center of gravity” (UIUC Section “Barycentric Coordinates”).
Conclusion
/D.D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2147
/VIKER A LAMARDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2147