DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2013-246364 (henceforth JP ‘364) in view of JP 2017-107004 (henceforth JP ‘004).
JP ‘364 teaches an electrophotographic photoreceptor comprising a conductive support, a photosensitive layer and a protective layer formed sequential on one another (Abstract, [0064]). The photosensitive layer is taught to comprise a hole transport material, however JP ‘364 does no teach whether the difference between a HOMO level and a LUMO level of said hole transport material is greater than 3.6 eV and 4.0 eV or less. In the instant specification the Applicant teaches a hole transport compound have the Formula (F) which is taught to have an energy difference between the HOMO level and the LUMO level of 3.65 (see [0168-169] and [0183], Table 2). JP ‘364 teaches an analogous charge transport layer in photoreceptor of Example 4 that has the following hole transport compound, which is the same as disclosed by the Applicant in Formula (F):
.
As the above compound is the same as the Applicant’s Formula (F) it will inherently possess the same energy difference between the HOMO and LUMO levels. The protective layer of JP ‘364 is taught to comprise a binder resin and inorganic oxide particles such as alumina and silica particles, but HP ’364 does not teach a suitable content of said inorganic particles ([0062]). The photosensitive layer is taught to be a laminate type photosensitive layer comprising a charge generating layer and a charge transporting layer ([0052]). As seen in the formula above, the hole transport compound is an enamine compound that reads on Formula (I) of pending claim 11. The photosensitive layer is further taught to include an electron transport material (radical acceptor compound; [0024]). JP ‘364 does not teach the energy difference between the HOMO and the LUMO of the electron transport material, but does teach the same compounds taught by the Applicant to have a difference in energy of 3.0 eV or less (see [0075] of the instant specification and [0027] of JP ‘364). The content of the electron transport compound is taught to be 0.2 to 30 parts by mass of the charge transport layer ([0025]). The photoreceptor is further taught to be a negatively charging photoreceptor ([0065]). Additionally, JP ‘364 teaches an image forming apparatus and process cartridge for housing the photoreceptor ([0066-81]).
While JP ‘364 teaches a protective layer as the topmost layer of the photoreceptor, JP ‘364 does not teach a photocurable protective layer or a Martens hardness of said protective layer. JP ‘004 teaches a negatively chargeable photoreceptor comprising a protective layer formed on a laminated photosensitive layer (Abstract, [0038-47] and [0097]). The protective layer is taught to comprise a photocurable resin and a metal oxide (abstract). The photocurable resin is further taught to comprise an acryloyl group ([0021]) and polymerization is taught to be effected using a polymerization initiator ([0078]). Additionally, the photoreceptor is taught to have a Martens hardness which in embodiments is above 270 mN ([0050], [0134] and Table 2). The content of the metal oxide particles is taught to be from 1:100 to 100:100 ([0076]). JP ‘004 teaches that the protective layer described above has improved lubricity and thereby reduces the wear of the photoreceptor ([0013]). As such, it would have been obvious to any person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to have utilized the protective layer of JP ‘004 in the photoreceptor layer of JP ‘364.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PETER L VAJDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 11/14/2025