DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to Amendment filed on 2/06/2026. Claims 71, 73, 75-77, 79, 81, 83,
85-86, and 88 have been amended. Claims 71, 73-81, and 83-88 remain pending in the application.
file provisions of the AIA .
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 2/06/2026 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 2/06/2026 has been entered.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments (page 9-12), filed on 2/06/2026, with respect to the 103 rejections of
claim 1 have been fully considered but are moot because new ground of rejections using a newly introduced reference (Araujo et al. US 2023/0389119 Al) are applied in the current rejection.
Claim Objections
6. Claims 73, 75-78, 83, 85-87 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 73, 75 and 83, in line 2, “the set of band combinations (BCs)” should be replaced by “the set of BCs”.
Claims 73 and 83, in line 4, “and RF capabilities,” should be replaced by “and radio frequency (RF) capabilities,”.
Claims 73 and 83, in line 7, “maximum MIMO layer,” should be replaced by “maximum multiple input multiple output (MIMO) layer,”.
Claims 73 and 83, in line 10, “at least one per component carrier (CC)” should be replaced by “at least one per CC”.
Claim 76, in line 2, “UE capability restriction from a UE,” should be replaced by “user equipment (UE) capability restriction from a UE,”.
Claims 77 and 86, in line 3, “the set of band combinations (BCs)” should be replaced by “the set of BCs”.
Claims 78 and 87, in line 2, “and RF capabilities,” should be replaced by “and radio frequency (RF) capabilities,”.
Claims 78 and 87, in line 5, “maximum MIMO layer,” should be replaced by “maximum multiple input multiple output (MIMO) layer,”.
Claims 78 and 87, in line 8, “at least one per component carrier (CC)” should be replaced by “at least one per CC”.
Claim 85, in line 5, “UE capability restriction from a UE,” should be replaced by “user equipment (UE) capability restriction from a UE,”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 71, 73-81, and 83-88 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergstrom
et al. (US 2022/0408518 Al, hereinafter “Bergstrom”) in view of Park et al. (US 2024/0340853 Al, hereinafter “Park”) and in further view of Araujo et al. (US 2023/0389119 Al, hereinafter “Araujo”).
Regarding claim 71, Bergstrom discloses:
A method for wireless communication, comprising (a method performed by a wireless communication device, Bergstrom: [0009]):
sending, by a user equipment (UE), UE capability restriction to a network (UE is allowed to send multiple capability profiles to the network may be indicated to the UE by the network. UE sends the primary/default capabilities, Bergstrom: [0089], [0092], [0097]),
wherein the UE is equipped with multiple subscriber identity module (MUSIM) and connects with the multiple networks (performed by a wireless communication device having multiple SIMs comprises registering with a first network associated with a first SIM and registering with a second network associated with a second SIM such that the wireless communication device is simultaneously registered with both the first network and the second network, Bergstrom: [0009], [0014]-[0015]), and
the UE capability restriction comprises (capability profiles for the wireless communication device, Bergstrom: [0016]-[0018]):
in response to the UE being at a dual connection (DC) with the network and the UE wanting to connect with another network (wireless communication device adapted to, when simultaneously registered with a first network and a second network, determine that the wireless communication device is to connect to the second network. capability/-ies which may be affected may comprise and/or relate to Dual/Multi-Connectivity and/or Carrier Aggregation (CA) capabilities. a multi-carrier-capable UE is registered with two different PLMNs where communication may occur simultaneously with both PLMNs. performed by a wireless communication device that is simultaneously registered with a first network and a second network, Bergstrom: [0030]-[0031], [0078]-[0079], [0129]),
Bergstrom does not explicitly disclose:
indicating, by the UE, the network to release a second cell group (SCG).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
indicating, by the UE, the network to release a second cell group (SCG) (The purpose of an RRC connection reconfiguration procedure may be to modify an RRC connection, (e.g. to establish, modify and/or release RBs, to perform handover, to setup, modify, and/or release measurements, to add, modify, and/or release SCells and cell groups). If the received RRC Connection Reconfiguration message includes the sCellToReleaseList, the wireless device may perform an SCell release. In multi connectivity, a wireless device may be connected to one master base station and one or more secondary base stations. secondary base station may provide a secondary cell group (SCG) comprising a primary secondary cell (PSCell) and/or one or more secondary cells for a wireless device, Park: Fig. 17, [0203], [0210]-[0212], [0277], [0281]-[0282]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bergstrom in view of Park in order to further modify indicating the network to release a second cell group (SCG) from the teachings of Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may provide enhanced signaling mechanisms for wireless devices that support communications with multiple wireless systems (Park: [0312]).
Yet, Bergstrom in view of Park does not explicitly disclose:
a set of band combinations (BCs) combined with maximum component carriers (CCs); and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Araujo teaches:
a set of band combinations (BCs) combined with maximum component carriers (CCs) (including upon having a maximum number of secondary component carriers preference and upon change of its maximum number of secondary component carriers preference, Araujo: [0214]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bergstrom and Park in view of Araujo in order to further modify a set of band combinations combined with maximum component carriers from the teachings of Araujo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the teachings of these embodiments
may improve the signaling overhead and reduce latency, which may provide faster internet access for users (Araujo: [0364]).
Regarding claim 73, Bergstrom-Park-Araujo teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 71 above.
Bergstrom further discloses:
The method according to claim 71, wherein:
the UE capability restriction comprises the set of band combinations (BCs) and a feature set applicable to at least one carrier of one band entry of an associated band combination (capability information comprises information that indicates: (a) a number of carriers supported by the wireless communication device, (b) one or more carrier combinations supported by the wireless communication device, (c) one or more processing capabilities of the wireless communication device, (d) one or more features supported by the wireless communication device, Bergstrom: [0011]-[0015]); and
Bergstrom in view of Araujo does not explicitly disclose:
the feature set comprises baseband and RF capabilities, the feature set comprising at least one of the following:
maximum CCs,
at least one per component carrier (CC) per feature set capabilities.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
the feature set comprises baseband and RF capabilities, the feature set comprising at least one of the following (multi SIM device may use common radio and/or baseband components that may be shared among the multiple SIMs of the multi-SIM device, Park: [0317], [0417], [0420]):
maximum CCs (wireless device may communicate with multiple CCs when configured with CA. Park: [0243]),
at least one per component carrier (CC) per feature set capabilities (gNB may transmit a first type of service to a UE on a first component carrier. The gNB may transmit a second type of service to the UE on a second component carrier. Park: [0243]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bergstrom and Araujo in view of Park in order to further modify the feature set for baseband and RF capabilities comprising maximum CCs and at least one per component carrier (CC) per feature set capabilities from the teachings of Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may provide enhanced signaling mechanisms for wireless devices that support communications with multiple wireless systems (Park: [0312]).
Regarding claim 74, Bergstrom-Park-Araujo teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 71 above.
Bergstrom further discloses:
The method according to claim 71, wherein:
the set of band combinations comprises a band information (if the UE in a multi-SIM scenario has to perform communication with respect to multiple SIMs, the UE will have to share the UE resources (carriers, capabilities, processing, etc.) between these SIMs. capability information comprises information that indicates one or more of the following: a number of carriers supported by the wireless communication device, Bergstrom: [0094], [0097], [0115]).
Regarding claim 75, Bergstrom-Park-Araujo teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 71 above.
Bergstrom further discloses:
The method according to claim 71, wherein:
the UE capability restriction comprises the set of band combinations (BCs) and a feature set applicable to at least one carrier of one band entry of an associated band combination (capability information comprises information that indicates: (a) a number of carriers supported by the wireless communication device, (b) one or more carrier combinations supported by the wireless communication device, (c) one or more processing capabilities of the wireless communication device, (d) one or more features supported by the wireless communication device, Bergstrom: [0011]-[0015]); and
the feature set comprises a feature set per band applicable to a carrier of band entry of associated band combination (If a UE supports X number of carriers in total, it would, if it only considers a single SIM, indicate that it supports X carriers (this in indicated in terms of supported band combinations and a number of carriers within each band in the band combinations), Bergstrom: [0094]).
Regarding claim 76, Bergstrom discloses:
A method for wireless communication, comprising (a method performed by a wireless communication device, Bergstrom: [0009]):
receiving, by a network, UE capability restriction from a UE (UE indicates two capability sets where different capabilities apply for when the UE is operating only using one SIM and different capabilities apply for when the UE operates using two SIMs, Bergstrom: [0069]-[0072]),
wherein the UE is equipped with multiple subscriber identity module (MUSIM) and connects with the multiple networks (performed by a wireless communication device having multiple SIMs comprises registering with a first network associated with a first SIM and registering with a second network associated with a second SIM such that the wireless communication device is simultaneously registered with both the first network and the second network, Bergstrom: [0009], [0014]-[0015]);
determining, by the network, configuration parameters (obtaining a configuration of one or more services for which the first network is to be used by the wireless communication device, Bergstrom: [0117]); and
sending, by the network, the configuration parameters to the UE (network node (e.g., a base station) sends an indication to the wireless communication device that indicates whether the wireless communication device is allowed to send multiple capability information sets, Bergstrom: [0097]).
wherein: the UE capability restriction comprises (capability profiles for the wireless communication device, Bergstrom: [0016]-[0018])
in response to the UE being at a dual connection (DC) with the network and the UE wanting to connect with another network (wireless communication device adapted to, when simultaneously registered with a first network and a second network, determine that the wireless communication device is to connect to the second network. capability/-ies which may be affected may comprise and/or relate to Dual/Multi-Connectivity and/or Carrier Aggregation (CA) capabilities. a multi-carrier-capable UE is registered with two different PLMNs where communication may occur simultaneously with both PLMNs. performed by a wireless communication device that is simultaneously registered with a first network and a second network, Bergstrom: [0030]-[0031], [0078]-[0079], [0129]),
Bergstrom does not explicitly disclose:
the network is indicated by the UE to release a second cell group (SCG).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
the network is indicated by the UE to release a second cell group (SCG) (The purpose of an RRC connection reconfiguration procedure may be to modify an RRC connection, (e.g. to establish, modify and/or release RBs, to perform handover, to setup, modify, and/or release measurements, to add, modify, and/or release SCells and cell groups). If the received RRC Connection Reconfiguration message includes the sCellToReleaseList, the wireless device may perform an SCell release. In multi connectivity, a wireless device may be connected to one master base station and one or more secondary base stations. secondary base station may provide a secondary cell group (SCG) comprising a primary secondary cell (PSCell) and/or one or more secondary cells for a wireless device, Park: Fig. 17, [0203], [0210]-[0212], [0277], [0281]-[0282]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bergstrom in view of Park in order to further modify indicating by the UE the network to release a second cell group (SCG) from the teachings of Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may provide enhanced signaling mechanisms for wireless devices that support communications with multiple wireless systems (Park: [0312]).
Yet, Bergstrom in view of Park does not explicitly disclose:
the UE capability restriction comprises a set of band combinations (BCs) combined with maximum component carriers (CCs), and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Araujo teaches:
the UE capability restriction comprises a set of band combinations (BCs) combined with maximum component carriers (CCs) (capability profiles for the wireless communication device, Bergstrom: [0016]-[0018]), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bergstrom and Park in view of Araujo in order to further modify a set of band combinations combined with maximum component carriers from the teachings of Araujo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the teachings of these embodiments
may improve the signaling overhead and reduce latency, which may provide faster internet access for users (Araujo: [0364]).
Regarding claim 77, Bergstrom-Park-Araujo teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 76 above.
Bergstrom further discloses:
The method according to claim 76, wherein:
the UE capability restriction comprises at least one of the following items (capability profiles for the wireless communication device, Bergstrom: [0016]-[0018]):
a set of band combinations (BCs) and a feature set applicable to at least one carrier of one band entry of an associated band combination (capability information comprises information that indicates: (a) a number of carriers supported by the wireless communication device, (b) one or more carrier combinations supported by the wireless communication device, (c) one or more processing capabilities of the wireless communication device, (d) one or more features supported by the wireless communication device, Bergstrom: [0011]), or
Regarding claim 78, Bergstrom-Park-Araujo teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 77 above.
Bergstrom in view of Araujo does not explicitly disclose:
The method according to claim 77, wherein:
the feature set comprises baseband and RF capabilities, the feature set comprising at least one of the following:
maximum CCs,
at least one per component carrier (CC) per feature set capabilities.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
the feature set comprises baseband and RF capabilities, the feature set comprising at least one of the following (multi SIM device may use common radio and/or baseband components that may be shared among the multiple SIMs of the multi-SIM device, Park: [0317], [0417], [0420]):
maximum CCs (wireless device may communicate with multiple CCs when configured with CA. Park: [0243]),
at least one per component carrier (CC) per feature set capabilities (gNB may transmit a first type of service to a UE on a first component carrier. The gNB may transmit a second type of service to the UE on a second component carrier. Park: [0243]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bergstrom and Araujo in view of Park in order to further modify the feature set for baseband and RF capabilities comprising maximum CCs and at least one per component carrier (CC) per feature set capabilities from the teachings of Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may provide enhanced signaling mechanisms for wireless devices that support communications with multiple wireless systems (Park: [0312]).
Regarding claim 79, Bergstrom-Park-Araujo teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 76 above.
Bergstrom further discloses:
The method according to claim 76, wherein:
the set of band combinations comprises a band information (if the UE in a multi-SIM scenario has to perform communication with respect to multiple SIMs, the UE will have to share the UE resources (carriers, capabilities, processing, etc.) between these SIMs. capability information comprises information that indicates one or more of the following: a number of carriers supported by the wireless communication device, Bergstrom: [0094], [0097], [0115]).
Regarding claim 80, Bergstrom-Park-Araujo teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 77 above.
Bergstrom further discloses:
The method according to claim 77, wherein:
the feature set comprises a feature set per band applicable to a carrier of band entry of associated band combination (If a UE supports X number of carriers in total, it would, if it only considers a single SIM, indicate that it supports X carriers (this in indicated in terms of supported band combinations and a number of carriers within each band in the band combinations), Bergstrom: [0094]).
Regarding claim 81, Bergstrom discloses:
A user equipment (UE) comprising (wireless communication device includes one or more modules, Bergstrom: Fig. 9, [0110]):
a memory storing instructions (function(s) are implemented in software that is stored, e.g., in the memory, Bergstrom: [0103]); and
a processor in communication with the memory, wherein, when the processor executes the instructions, the processor is configured to cause the UE to perform (executed by the one or more processors, Bergstrom: [0103], [0106], [0109]):
sending UE capability restriction to a network (UE is allowed to send multiple capability profiles to the network may be indicated to the UE by the network. UE sends the primary/default capabilities, Bergstrom: [0089], [0092], [0097]),
wherein the UE is equipped with multiple subscriber identity module (MUSIM) and connects with the multiple networks (performed by a wireless communication device having multiple SIMs comprises registering with a first network associated with a first SIM and registering with a second network associated with a second SIM such that the wireless communication device is simultaneously registered with both the first network and the second network, Bergstrom: [0009], [0014]-[0015]),
and the UE capability restriction comprises (capability profiles for the wireless communication device, Bergstrom: [0016]-[0018]):
in response to the UE being at a dual connection (DC) with the network and the UE wanting to connect with another network (wireless communication device adapted to, when simultaneously registered with a first network and a second network, determine that the wireless communication device is to connect to the second network. capability/-ies which may be affected may comprise and/or relate to Dual/Multi-Connectivity and/or Carrier Aggregation (CA) capabilities. a multi-carrier-capable UE is registered with two different PLMNs where communication may occur simultaneously with both PLMNs. performed by a wireless communication device that is simultaneously registered with a first network and a second network, Bergstrom: [0030]-[0031], [0078]-[0079], [0129]),
Bergstrom does not explicitly disclose:
indicating the network to release a second cell group (SCG).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
indicating the network to release a second cell group (SCG) (The purpose of an RRC connection reconfiguration procedure may be to modify an RRC connection, (e.g. to establish, modify and/or release RBs, to perform handover, to setup, modify, and/or release measurements, to add, modify, and/or release SCells and cell groups). If the received RRC Connection Reconfiguration message includes the sCellToReleaseList, the wireless device may perform an SCell release. In multi connectivity, a wireless device may be connected to one master base station and one or more secondary base stations. secondary base station may provide a secondary cell group (SCG) comprising a primary secondary cell (PSCell) and/or one or more secondary cells for a wireless device, Park: Fig. 17, [0203], [0210]-[0212], [0277], [0281]-[0282]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bergstrom in view of Park in order to further modify indicating the network to release a second cell group (SCG) from the teachings of Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may provide enhanced signaling mechanisms for wireless devices that support communications with multiple wireless systems (Park: [0312]).
Yet, Bergstrom in view of Park does not explicitly disclose:
a set of band combinations (BCs) combined with maximum component carriers (CCs); and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Araujo teaches:
a set of band combinations (BCs) combined with maximum component carriers (CCs) (including upon having a maximum number of secondary component carriers preference and upon change of its maximum number of secondary component carriers preference, Araujo: [0214]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bergstrom and Park in view of Araujo in order to further modify a set of band combinations combined with maximum component carriers from the teachings of Araujo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the teachings of these embodiments
may improve the signaling overhead and reduce latency, which may provide faster internet access for users (Araujo: [0364]).
Regarding claim 83, Bergstrom-Park-Araujo teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 81 above.
Bergstrom further discloses:
The UE according to claim 81, wherein:
the UE capability restriction comprises the set of band combinations (BCs) and a feature set applicable to at least one carrier of one band entry of an associated band combination (capability information comprises information that indicates: (a) a number of carriers supported by the wireless communication device, (b) one or more carrier combinations supported by the wireless communication device, (c) one or more processing capabilities of the wireless communication device, (d) one or more features supported by the wireless communication device, Bergstrom: [0011]-[0015]); and
Bergstrom in view of Araujo does not explicitly disclose:
the feature set comprises baseband and RF capabilities, the feature set comprising at least one of the following:
maximum CCs,
at least one per component carrier (CC) per feature set capabilities.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
the feature set comprises baseband and RF capabilities, the feature set comprising at least one of the following (multi SIM device may use common radio and/or baseband components that may be shared among the multiple SIMs of the multi-SIM device, Park: [0317], [0417], [0420]):
maximum CCs (wireless device may communicate with multiple CCs when configured with CA. Park: [0243]),
at least one per component carrier (CC) per feature set capabilities (gNB may transmit a first type of service to a UE on a first component carrier. The gNB may transmit a second type of service to the UE on a second component carrier. Park: [0243]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bergstrom and Araujo in view of Park in order to further modify the feature set for baseband and RF capabilities comprising maximum CCs and at least one per component carrier (CC) per feature set capabilities from the teachings of Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may provide enhanced signaling mechanisms for wireless devices that support communications with multiple wireless systems (Park: [0312]).
Regarding claim 84, Bergstrom-Park-Araujo teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 81 above.
Bergstrom further discloses:
The UE according to claim 81, wherein:
the set of band combinations comprises a band information (if the UE in a multi-SIM scenario has to perform communication with respect to multiple SIMs, the UE will have to share the UE resources (carriers, capabilities, processing, etc.) between these SIMs. capability information comprises information that indicates one or more of the following: a number of carriers supported by the wireless communication device, Bergstrom: [0094], [0097], [0115]).
Regarding claim 85, Bergstrom discloses:
A network comprising (network node may be a radio access node such as a base station, Bergstrom: Fig. 5, [0103]):
a memory storing instructions (function(s) are implemented in software that is stored, e.g., in the memory, Bergstrom: [0103]); and
processor in communication with the memory, wherein, when the processor executes the instructions, the processor is configured to cause the network to perform (executed by the one or more processors, Bergstrom: [0103], [0106], [0109]):
receiving UE capability restriction from a UE (UE indicates two capability sets where different capabilities apply for when the UE is operating only using one SIM and different capabilities apply for when the UE operates using two SIMs, Bergstrom: [0069]-[0072]),
wherein the UE is equipped with multiple subscriber identity module (MUSIM) and connects with the multiple networks (performed by a wireless communication device having multiple SIMs comprises registering with a first network associated with a first SIM and registering with a second network associated with a second SIM such that the wireless communication device is simultaneously registered with both the first network and the second network, Bergstrom: [0009], [0014]-[0015]);
determining configuration parameters (obtaining a configuration of one or more services for which the first network is to be used by the wireless communication device, Bergstrom: [0117]); and
sending the configuration parameters to the UE (network node (e.g., a base station) sends an indication to the wireless communication device that indicates whether the wireless communication device is allowed to send multiple capability information sets, Bergstrom: [0097]),
wherein: the UE capability restriction comprises (capability profiles for the wireless communication device, Bergstrom: [0016]-[0018])
in response to the UE being at a dual connection (DC) with the network and the UE wanting to connect with another network (wireless communication device adapted to, when simultaneously registered with a first network and a second network, determine that the wireless communication device is to connect to the second network. capability/-ies which may be affected may comprise and/or relate to Dual/Multi-Connectivity and/or Carrier Aggregation (CA) capabilities. a multi-carrier-capable UE is registered with two different PLMNs where communication may occur simultaneously with both PLMNs. performed by a wireless communication device that is simultaneously registered with a first network and a second network, Bergstrom: [0030]-[0031], [0078]-[0079], [0129]),
Bergstrom does not explicitly disclose:
the network is indicated by the UE to release a second cell group (SCG).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
the network is indicated by the UE to release a second cell group (SCG) (The purpose of an RRC connection reconfiguration procedure may be to modify an RRC connection, (e.g. to establish, modify and/or release RBs, to perform handover, to setup, modify, and/or release measurements, to add, modify, and/or release SCells and cell groups). If the received RRC Connection Reconfiguration message includes the sCellToReleaseList, the wireless device may perform an SCell release. In multi connectivity, a wireless device may be connected to one master base station and one or more secondary base stations. secondary base station may provide a secondary cell group (SCG) comprising a primary secondary cell (PSCell) and/or one or more secondary cells for a wireless device, Park: Fig. 17, [0203], [0210]-[0212], [0277], [0281]-[0282]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bergstrom in view of Park in order to further modify the network indicated by the UE to release a second cell group (SCG) from the teachings of Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may provide enhanced signaling mechanisms for wireless devices that support communications with multiple wireless systems (Park: [0312]).
Yet, Bergstrom in view of Park does not explicitly disclose:
a set of band combinations (BCs) combined with maximum component carriers (CCs); and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Araujo teaches:
a set of band combinations (BCs) combined with maximum component carriers (CCs) (including upon having a maximum number of secondary component carriers preference and upon change of its maximum number of secondary component carriers preference, Araujo: [0214]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bergstrom and Park in view of Araujo in order to further modify a set of band combinations combined with maximum component carriers from the teachings of Araujo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the teachings of these embodiments
may improve the signaling overhead and reduce latency, which may provide faster internet access for users (Araujo: [0364]).
Regarding claim 86, Bergstrom-Park-Araujo teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 85 above.
Bergstrom further discloses:
network according to claim 85, wherein:
the UE capability restriction comprises (capability profiles for the wireless communication device, Bergstrom: [0016]-[0018]):
The set of band combinations (BCs) and a feature set applicable to at least one carrier of one band entry of an associated band combination (capability information comprises information that indicates: (a) a number of carriers supported by the wireless communication device, (b) one or more carrier combinations supported by the wireless communication device, (c) one or more processing capabilities of the wireless communication device, (d) one or more features supported by the wireless communication device, Bergstrom: [0011]), or
Regarding claim 87, Bergstrom-Park-Araujo teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 86 above.
Bergstrom does not explicitly disclose:
The network according to claim 86, wherein:
the feature set comprises baseband and RF capabilities, the feature set comprising at least one of the following:
maximum CCs,
at least one per component carrier (CC) per feature set capabilities.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
the feature set comprises baseband and RF capabilities, the feature set comprising at least one of the following (multi SIM device may use common radio and/or baseband components that may be shared among the multiple SIMs of the multi-SIM device, Park: [0317], [0417], [0420]):
maximum CCs (wireless device may communicate with multiple CCs when configured with CA. Park: [0243]),
at least one per component carrier (CC) per feature set capabilities (gNB may transmit a first type of service to a UE on a first component carrier. The gNB may transmit a second type of service to the UE on a second component carrier. Park: [0243]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bergstrom and Araujo in view of Park in order to further modify the feature set for baseband and RF capabilities comprising maximum CCs and at least one per component carrier (CC) per feature set capabilities from the teachings of Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may provide enhanced signaling mechanisms for wireless devices that support communications with multiple wireless systems (Park: [0312]).
Regarding claim 88, Bergstrom in view of Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 85 above.
Bergstrom further discloses:
The network according to claim 85, wherein:
the set of band combinations comprises a band information (if the UE in a multi-SIM scenario has to perform communication with respect to multiple SIMs, the UE will have to share the UE resources (carriers, capabilities, processing, etc.) between these SIMs. capability information comprises information that indicates one or more of the following: a number of carriers supported by the wireless communication device, Bergstrom: [0094], [0097], [0115]).
Conclusion
directed to SANG C LEE whose telephone number is (703)756-1461. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00AM-5:00PM EST.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/HASSAN A PHILLIPS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2467