DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments and Arguments
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments and the arguments. The previous rejections are withdrawn. New rejections are set forth herein.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 8/12/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 11 under Young (US 544,201) in view of White (US 47,157) in view of CZA Z630:19, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Young (US 544,201) in view of White (US 47,157) in view of CZA Z630:19 (from IDS of 6/12/2026, Originally published 12/2019) in view of Slocum (US 4,685,661), as discussed below.
Applicant argues the instant application states in paragraph 41 that flat metal terminal cannot meet the csa standard, and that the u shaped terminal has a fundamentally different approach. The Examiner considers a flat staple to be u shaped. When looking to the specification Paragraph 46 states “The terminal(s) 154 may be made from wire and may be formed in a mold in a "u" like shape. Although a "u" shape is used here as an example, other suitable shapes are contemplated.” So the Examiner is unsure what shapes are considered critical and an improvement on the known art.
Applicant argues the CS does not give proper motivation. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The CSA provides a requirement for Canadian products, giving recognition of this brush is better than other brushes on the market. Getting a CSA appliance or approval would be motivation in itself to manufacture a higher quality brush. Applicant argues the Examiner’s interpretation of the Affidavit of 2/17/2026 is incorrect. As shown below, the test data shows that the bristles were not pulled out until 103.98, 137.23 and 139.94 (N?). Although this passed the test of 89N, the claims language requires “wherein the press machine is further configured to mechanically couple the plurality of bristles to the brush head such that a strength and durability of the plurality of bristles is not compromised when a force of greater than about 89 Newtons is applied”. 103.98N is greater than 89N and the test data shows that the bristles were pulled out and thus the strength and durability of the bristles WAS COMPROMISED. Thus the would need to recite "when a force LESS THAN about 89 N is applied" for the test data to be applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Young (US 544,201) in view of White (US 47,157) in view of CZA Z630:19 (from IDS of 6/12/2026, Originally published 12/2019) in view of Slocum (US 4,685,661)
Regarding claim 1, Young discloses a method for wire bristle tuft attachment, comprising:
clamping a brush head of a grill brush using a fixture (Item O Page 3 Line 72-129);
arranging a plurality of bristles to form a bristle grouping using a terminal formed from wire in a substantially u shaped configuration (referred to as a staple, which commonly is made of metal and of a u shape, u shape shown in Figure 21; metal discussed on page 1 line 10), wherein the plurality of bristles are adjacent and substantially parallel to one another (Page 3 Line 19-42) ;
inserting the terminal and the plurality of bristles into a recess in the brush head (Figure 21); and
pressing the terminal into the recess using a press machine configured to control the applied force to deform the terminal into a bend confined within the recess (Page 3 Line 19-21).
Without arguing what is considered an irregular bend, and what causes an irregular bend, Young fails to explicitly disclose the terminal with an irregular bend, engaging a wall of the recess to mechanically interlock the terminal without penetrating through the head.
White teaches a brush wherein the terminal with an irregular bend, engaging a wall of the recess to mechanically interlock the terminal without penetrating through the head (Item c, Figure 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute the terminal of Young for the terminal of White. White further discusses in column 2 that this terminal configuration is allowed to tighten across the bristle bundle as it is pressed into the handle. Thus, leading one skilled in the art to the predictable result of the bundle of bristles being properly fastened within the brush head.
Young further fails to explicitly disclose the press machine is further configured to mechanically couple the plurality of bristles to the brush head such that a strength and durability of the plurality of bristles is not compromised when a force of greater than about 89 Newtons is applied .
CZA teaches a brush test standard for BBQ brushes wherein, and requires a pull test of up at least 89N (Pages 7-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brush anchoring of Young, such that it can withstand a pullout force of at least 89N as required by CZA. CZA discusses a wire brush can lose wire bristles that can end up on food and then be ingested. Which can cause to health issues (CZA Page 5). Requiring a pull out force of at least 89N would reduce the risk of bristles falling out.
Young fails to explicitly disclose a fixture comprising a fixed clamping finger, an adjustable clamping finger, and a software-controlled actuator configured to apply a clamping force to the adjustable clamping finger.
Slocum teaches a fixture comprising a fixed clamping finger (Item 1j), an adjustable clamping finger (Item 2j), and a software-controlled actuator configured to apply a clamping force to the adjustable clamping finger (Item 41hm; Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Young with the automated clamp of Slocum. Such a modification is viewed as automating a manual activity, which has been held to be of routine by one skilled in the art (see MPEP 2144.04). Further, Slocum discusses the benefit of being able to run a 24 hour production facility without requiring a human operator (Column 1 Lines 25-53).
Regarding claim 2 , Young in view of White in view of CZA in view of Slocum disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the terminal has a metal cross-section, and is made of metal (Young Page 1 Line 10).
Regarding claim 3, Young in view of White in view of CZA disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising controlling a height of the plurality of bristles based on a vertical displacement of the fixture (Young Page 3 Line 43-71).
Regarding claim 4, Young in view of White in view of CZA disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising controlling a height of the plurality of bristles by controlling a vertical displacement of a head of the press machine (best shown in Young Figure 2).
Regarding claim 5 , Young in view of White in view of CZA disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising controlling a location of the bristle grouping in the brush head based on controlling at least one of a vertical displacement or a horizontal displacement of the brush head (Young Page 3 Line 83-97).
Regarding claim 23, Young in view of White in view of CZA in view of Slocum disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the brush head comprises a plurality of recesses (Figure 1 shows a plurality of recesses, 75 to be exact), and wherein a larger sized brush head comprises about 165 recesses and a smaller sized brush head comprises about 72 recesses (this limitation is viewed as a range limitation of what size of brush the machine can handle)).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young (US 544,201) in view of White (US 47,157) in view of CZA Z630:19 (from IDS of 6/12/2026, Originally published 12/2019) in view of Slocum (US 4,685,661) in view of Laurence (US 3,425,084).
Regarding claim 7, Young in view of White in view of CZA disclose the method of claim 1. Young fails to explicitly disclose wherein the brush head is made of polypropylene.
Laurence teaches a brush head made of poly propylene (Column 3 Lines 35-57). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brush of Young to be made of plastic material as taught by Laurence. Such a modification is viewed as a change in material, which has been held to be of routine by one skilled in the art (see MPEP 2144.04). Further Laurence discusses how “directly inserting bristles and metal insert into a solid brush back constructed from a foamed plastic material is most convenient in terms of time and equipment required in comparison with prior art processes and produces an excellent lightweight brush” (Column 3 Lines 19-24).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young (US 544,201) in view of White (US 47,157) in view of CZA Z630:19 (from IDS of 6/12/2026, Originally published 12/2019) in view of Slocum (US 4,685,661) in view of Kaneda (US 6,044,514).
Regarding claim 8, Young in view of White in view of CZA disclose the method of claim 1. Young fails to explicitly disclose wherein a diameter of the recess is about 2.5mm.
Kaneda teaches a brush wherein a diameter of the recess is about 2.5mm (Column 6 Lines 53-62). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the diameter of the recesses of Young such that they were about 2.5mm (2.4 is about 2.5 mm) as taught by Kaneda. Such a modification is viewed as a change in size, which has been held to be routine by one skilled in the art (see MPEP 2144.04). The diameter of the recess would depend on the design of the brush, the material of the bristles, and the force they intend to endure.
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young (US 544,201) in view of White (US 47,157) in view of CZA Z630:19 (from IDS of 6/12/2026, Originally published 12/2019) in view of Slocum (US 4,685,661) in view of Liu (US 2023/0210247) in view of Gueret (US 6,176,631)..
Regarding claim 9, Young in view of White in view of CZA disclose the method of claim 1. Young fails to explicitly disclose wherein a length of the terminal is between about 2.2mm to about 2.8mm.
Liu teaches a brush wherein the length of the terminal is between about 2.2mm to about 2.8mm (Paragraph 39). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the length of the staple of Young to be about 2.2mm to about 2.8mm as taught by Liu. The length of the staple depends on the depth of the hole and the dumber of bristles, and the amount of force the bristles are expected to endure. Such a modification is viewed as a change in size, which has been held to be of routine by one skilled in the art (see MPEP 2144.04). As discussed in Paragraph 59 of Liu, such a modification can lead to an improvement of surface retention and examples of the parameters in which they considered improved.
Young fails to explicitly disclose wherein a diameter of the terminal is between about 0.7mm to about 0.8mm.
Gueret teaches a brush wherein a diameter of the terminal is between about 0.7mm to about 0.8mm (Column 5 Line 31-39). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the width of the terminal to be between about 0.7-0.8mm as taught by Gueret. Such a modification is viewed as a change in size, which has been held to be of routine by one skilled in the art (see MPEP 2144.04). The size shape and design of the terminal is depending on the size of the recess and the amount of force the bristles intend to endure.
Claims 11-16, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Young (US 544,201) in view of White (US 47,157) in view of CZA Z630:19 (from IDS of 6/12/2026, Originally published 12/2019) in view of Slocum (US 4,685,661) in view of White (US 85,193) herein referenced as White B.
Regarding claim 11, Young discloses a system for wire bristle tuft attachment, comprising:
a press machine (Figure 1) comprising and a hopper (Item B) configured to feed a plurality of bristles (Page 1 Lines 81-89) to a recess of a brush head, the press machine configured to mechanically couple a plurality of bristles (“tuft” or “bristles”) to a brush head of a grill brush (Item p) by:
inserting a terminal (“staple”) formed in a substantially u shaped configuration and the plurality of bristles into a recess in the brush head (Figure 21); and
applying, under a controlled force, pressure to the terminal to form deform the terminal into an irregular bend confined within the recess (Item L); and
a fixture (Item o) disposed on the press machine, the fixture configured to clamp and position the brush head during the mechanical coupling of the plurality of bristles to the brush head.(Page 3 Line 19-42 and Line 72-129);
Without arguing what is considered an irregular bend, and what causes an irregular bend, Young fails to explicitly disclose the terminal with an irregular bend, engaging a wall of the recess to mechanically interlock the terminal without penetrating through the head.
White teaches a brush wherein the terminal with an irregular bend, engaging a wall of the recess to mechanically interlock the terminal without penetrating through the head (Item c, Figure 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute the terminal of Young for the terminal of White. White further discusses in column 2 that this terminal configuration is allowed to tighten across the bristle bundle as it is pressed into the handle. Thus, leading one skilled in the art to the predictable result of the bundle of bristles being properly fastened within the brush head.
Young further fails to explicitly disclose the press machine is further configured to mechanically couple the plurality of bristles to the brush head such that a strength and durability of the plurality of bristles is not compromised when a force of greater than about 89 Newtons is applied .
CZA teaches a brush test standard for BBQ brushes wherein, and requires a pull test of up at least 89N (Pages 7-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brush anchoring of Young, such that it can withstand a pullout force of at least 89N as required by CZA. CZA discusses a wire brush can lose wire bristles that can end up on food and then be ingested. Which can cause to health issues (CZA Page 5). Requiring a pull out force of at least 89N would reduce the risk of bristles falling out.
Young fails to explicitly disclose a fixture comprising a fixed clamping finger, an adjustable clamping finger, and a software-controlled actuator configured to apply a clamping force to the adjustable clamping finger.
Slocum teaches a fixture comprising a fixed clamping finger (Item 1j), an adjustable clamping finger (Item 2j), and a software-controlled actuator configured to apply a clamping force to the adjustable clamping finger (Item 41hm; Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Young with the automated clamp of Slocum. Such a modification is viewed as automating a manual activity, which has been held to be of routine by one skilled in the art (see MPEP 2144.04). Further, Slocum discusses the benefit of being able to run a 24 hour production facility without requiring a human operator (Column 1 Lines 25-53).
Young fails to explicitly disclose a forming head configured to form terminals from wire
White B teaches a system for making a brush wherein a forming head configured to form terminals from wire (Page 2 Column 2 second half starting with “The wire to form staples is fed…”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute the premade staple magazine of Young with the staple making means as taught by White B. Whether the terminal/staples are preformed and held by a magazine or if the brush making machine forms the terminal/staple by forming it out of wire, one of ordinary skill in the art would arrive at the predictable result of the machine would be able to deliver a staple to the brush to secure the bristle.
Regarding claim 12, Young in view of White in view of CZA in view of Slocum in view of White B disclose the method of claim 11, further comprising forming a terminal from a wire, wherein the wire has a metal cross-section, and wherein the terminal is made of metal (Young Page 1 Line 10).
Regarding claim 13, Young in view of White in view of CZA in view of Slocum in view of White B disclose the method of claim 11, further comprising controlling a height of the plurality of bristles based on a vertical displacement of the fixture (Young Page 3 Line 43-71).
Regarding claim 14, and 20, Young in view of White in view of CZA in view of Slocum in view of White B disclose the method of claim 11, further comprising controlling a height of the plurality of bristles by controlling a vertical displacement of a head of the press machine (best shown in Young Figure 2).
Regarding claim 15, Young in view of White in view of CZA in view of Slocum in view of White B disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising controlling a location of the bristle grouping in the brush head based on controlling at least one of a vertical displacement or a horizontal displacement of the brush head (Young Page 3 Line 83-97).
Regarding claim 16, Young in view of White in view of CZA in view of Slocum in view of White B disclose the system of claim 11, wherein the press machine is further configured to control the applied force to deform the terminal in the recess of the brush head (the staple would deform based on the force applied to it while its being pressed into the head. There is nothing stopping the staple from deforming in its own direction).
Regarding claim 22 , Young in view of White in view of CZA in view of Slocum disclose the method of claim 1. Young fails to disclose wherein the terminal is formed in a mold prior to insertion into the recess.
White B teaches a brush manufacturing machine wherein the terminal is formed in a mold prior to insertion into the recess . (Page 2 Column 2 second half starting with “The wire to form staples is fed…”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute the premade staple magazine of Young with the staple making means as taught by White B. Whether the terminal/staples are preformed and held by a magazine or if the brush making machine forms the terminal/staple by forming it out of wire, one of ordinary skill in the art would arrive at the predictable result of the machine would be able to deliver a staple to the brush to secure the bristle.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young (US 544,201) in view of White (US 47,157) in view of CZA Z630:19 (from IDS of 6/12/2026, Originally published 12/2019) in view of Slocum (US 4,685,661) in view of White B (US 85,193) in view of Liu (US 2023/0210247) in view of Gueret (US 6,176,631) in view of Kaneda (US 6,044,514).
Regarding claim 17, Young in view of White in view of CZA disclose the method of claim 1. Young fails to explicitly disclose wherein a length of the terminal is between about 2.2mm to about 2.8mm.
Liu teaches a brush wherein the length of the terminal is between about 2.2mm to about 2.8mm (Paragraph 39). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the length of the staple of Young to be about 2.2mm to about 2.8mm as taught by Liu. The length of the staple depends on the depth of the hole and the dumber of bristles, and the amount of force the bristles are expected to endure. Such a modification is viewed as a change in size, which has been held to be of routine by one skilled in the art (see MPEP 2144.04). As discussed in Paragraph 59 of Liu, such a modification can lead to an improvement of surface retention and examples of the parameters in which they considered improved.
Young fails to explicitly disclose wherein a diameter of the terminal is between about 0.7mm to about 0.8mm.
Gueret teaches a brush wherein a diameter of the terminal is between about 0.7mm to about 0.8mm (Column 5 Line 31-39). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the width of the terminal to be between about 0.7-0.8mm as taught by Gueret. Such a modification is viewed as a change in size, which has been held to be of routine by one skilled in the art (see MPEP 2144.04). The size shape and design of the terminal is depending on the size of the recess and the amount of force the bristles intend to endure.
Young fails to explicitly disclose wherein a diameter of the recess is about 2.5mm.
Kaneda teaches a brush wherein a diameter of the recess is about 2.5mm (Column 6 Lines 53-62). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the diameter of the recesses of Young such that they were about 2.5mm (2.4 is about 2.5 mm) as taught by Kaneda. Such a modification is viewed as a change in size, which has been held to be routine by one skilled in the art (see MPEP 2144.04). The diameter of the recess would depend on the design of the brush, the material of the bristles, and the force they intend to endure.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young (US 544,201) in view of White (US 47,157) in view of CZA Z630:19 (from IDS of 6/12/2026, Originally published 12/2019) in view of Slocum (US 4,685,661) in view of White B (US 85,193) in view of Sommer (DE102018109862A1)
Regarding claim 21, Young in view of White in view of CZA in view of Slocum in view of White B disclose the system of claim 11. Young fails to disclose wherein the press machine further comprises a control interface configured to set a Z-axis displacement of the press machine to control a depth of insertion of the terminal and the plurality of bristles into the recess of the brush head.
Sommer teaches a brush making machine wherein a control interface configured to set a Z-axis displacement of the press machine to control a depth of insertion of the terminal and the plurality of bristles into the recess of the brush head (Item 11, Paragraphs 9-10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Young with the height adjusting means and display as taught by Sommer. In the event a different terminal is supplied, the display would allow a user to adjust the insertion of the terminal. This is beneficial when changing types of terminals or changing between different types of brushes. Thus Sommer would allow one skilled in the art to quickly manufacture different types of brushes on a single machine.
Conclusion
/TOM RODGERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723