DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Amendment
In response to the amendment(s) filed on 1/20/26, amended claim(s) 2 is/are acknowledged. The following new and/or reiterated ground(s) of rejection is/are set forth:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0319118 to Pizzi et al. (hereinafter “Pizzi”).
For claim 1, Pizzi discloses a blood collection assembly couplable to a vascular access device (Abstract), the blood collection assembly comprising:
a blood collection device comprising a first branch (10a) (Fig. 1) (para [0039]), a second branch (5a) (Fig. 1) (para [0034]), a third branch (11) (Fig. 1) (para [0043]), and a channel configured for fluid communication between the first branch, the second branch, and the third branch (unlabeled, but as can be seen in Fig. 3 where all the lumens connect with one another);
a syringe (3) (Fig. 1) (para [0055]) comprising a syringe body (3b) (Fig. 1) (para [0055]), a plunger (3c) (Fig. 1) (para [0055]), and a stopper (3d) (Fig. 3) (para [0055]), wherein the plunger and the stopper are compressible and retractable within the syringe body (para [0055]), and wherein the syringe is coupled to the first branch of the blood collection device (as can be seen in Fig. 3);
a testing sample collection device (5) (Fig. 1) (para [0039]) coupled to the second branch of the blood collection device (as can be seen in Fig. 3); and
an access portion (12) (Fig. 1) (para [0043]) coupled to the third branch of the blood collection device (as can be seen in Fig. 3) and configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) provide fluid communication between the vascular access device and the blood collection device (as can be seen in Fig. 3).
For claim 2, Pizzi further discloses wherein the blood collection device further comprises a valve member (7), wherein rotation of the valve member switches fluid communication of the channel from communication between the first branch and the third branch to communication between the second branch and the third branch (para [0054]).
For claim 3, Pizzi further discloses wherein the channel is a T-shaped channel (as can be seen in Fig. 3).
For claim 4, Pizzi further discloses wherein the valve member is selectively rotatable via a rotatable knob (7a) (para [0037] and [0054]).
For claim 5, Pizzi further discloses wherein the testing sample collection device comprises a luer lock access device (para [0034]).
For claim 7, Pizzi further discloses wherein the access portion comprises flexible tubing (para [0034]) and a luer access connector positioned on a distal end of the flexible tubing.
For claim 13, Pizzi further disclose wherein the syringe comprises an air trap portion (Examiner’s Note: this limitation being construed in view of Fig. 6 of Applicant’s specification) (see the angled portion of 3d in Fig. 3 and how it will trap air when it comes into contact with the flat surface of the inner wall of 3b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pizzi in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0162540 to Walenciak et al. (hereinafter “Walenciak”).
For claim 6, Pizzi further discloses wherein the testing sample collection device comprises a luer connector (para [0034]).
Pizzi does not expressly disclose that the luer connector is a male-male luer connector.
However, Walenciak teaches a male-male luer connector (para [0046]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Pizzi such that the luer connector is a male-male luer connector, in view of the teachings of Walenciak, because such a modification would be the simple substitution of one type of luer connector for another type of luer connector that would lead to the predictable result of being able to connector devices together.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pizzi in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0188985 to Sullivan et al. (hereinafter “Sullivan”).
For claim 8, Pizzi further discloses wherein the syringe is positioned proximate the third branch and in fluid communication with the channel (as can be seen in Fig. 1).
Pizzi does not expressly disclose wherein the syringe is a compressible bulb.
However, Sullivan teaches wherein a compressible bulb can be used alternatively to a syringe (para [0011]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Pizzi wherein the syringe is a compressible bulb, in view of the teachings of Sullivan, because such a modification would be the simple substitution of one fluid delivery device for another fluid delivery device that would lead to the predictable result of delivering fluid.
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pizzi in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0130740 to Levy.
For claim 9, Pizzi further discloses wherein the testing sample collection device is removably coupled to the second branch of the blood collection device (para [0053]).
Pizzi does not expressly disclose that the testing sample collection device is a compressible bulb device.
However, Levy teaches wherein a testing sample collection device is a compressible bulb device (para [0067]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Pizzi such that the testing sample collection device is a compressible bulb device, in view of the teachings of Levy, because such a modification would be the simple substitution of one testing sample collection device for another testing sample collection device that would lead to the predictable result of collecting a test sample.
For claim 10, Pizzi, as modified, further discloses wherein the compressible bulb device comprises a nozzle (see where reference numeral 5a points to in Fig. 5) (also see, for reference, how Levy shows its compressible blub device to have a nozzle in Fig. 1) and a connection interface (see where reference numeral 7c points to in Fig. 5) (Examiner’s Note: Levy’s nozzle can be inserted into 7c the same way Pizzi shows 5a being inserted into 7c), wherein the connection interface is configured to couple the compressible bulb device to an exterior surface of the second branch (as can be seen in Fig. 5) and the nozzle is configured to extend into the second branch so as to be in fluid communication with the channel (as can be seen in Fig. 5).
For claim 11, Pizzi further discloses wherein the blood collection device further comprises a one-way valve positioned within the second branch (para [0044] and [0048]), wherein the one-way valve is configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) close when the compressible bulb device is detached from the blood collection device and to open when the compressible bulb device is attached to the blood collection device (para [0044] and [0048]) (also see Fig. 3 of Levy, which shows the nozzle of the bulb penetrating element 18 to open a pathway through element 18).
For claim 12, Pizzi further discloses wherein the nozzle of the compressible bulb device is configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) penetrate the one-way valve (para [0044] and [0048]) (also see Fig. 3 of Levy, which shows the nozzle of the bulb penetrating element 18 to open a pathway through element 18).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/20/26 have been fully considered.
With respect to the 112 rejection, Applicant’s amendments and arguments are persuasive and thus the rejection is withdrawn.
With respect to the 102 rejection(s), Applicant’s arguments are not commensurate in scope with the claim language. Applicant argues that “automatically operated valve 12 connects to a first collection container” in Pizzi (see page 8 of the response filed 1/20/26). However, claim 1 does not recite “an access portion connected to the vascular access device.” Instead, what claim 1 recites is “an access portion … configured to provide fluid communication between the vascular access device and the blood collection device” (emphasis added). Being configured to provide fluid communication is not the same, and is not give the same patentable weight, as being connected to. The Office action clearly indicates with an Examiner’s Note that the “configured to” language is being treated as functional language such that if the prior art is capable of performing the recited function, then it anticipates the claim language. As Applicant is probably already aware, a functional limitation is construed as having the full breath of its ordinary meaning such that if the prior art is capable of performing the function, then prior art reads on the functional limitation. Innova/Pure Water Inc. v. Safari Water Filtration Sys. Inc., 381 F.3d 1111, 1117-20, 72 USPQ2d 1001, 1020 (Fed. Cir. 2004). Pizzi’s valve 12 is capable of providing fluid communication between a connected vascular access device and a blood collection device because it has a lumen (unlabeled) as can be seen in Fig. 3. That lumen of the valve is the structure that is responsible for being able to perform the function of providing fluid communication if a vascular access device were attached. It is also noted that Applicant argues teaching away, but the rejection is a 102 rejection and teaching away is a concept exclusive to 103 rejections.
The examiner respectfully suggests that Applicant amend the claim language to positively recite something along the lines of the vascular access device actually, physically being connected to the access portion to make Applicant’s arguments more persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL L CERIONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791