DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 9/4/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-11, 13-20 and 23-24 remain pending in the application. Claims 2, 12 and 21-22 were cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 3, “claim 2” should be “claim 1”, as claim 2 was cancelled.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krause (US 1731010).
Regarding claim 18, Krause teaches an apparatus (see Figure 1) for punching holes in metal studs, comprising:
a head unit (assembly above 12 in Figure 1)having a proximal end and a distal end (top and bottom end in Figure 1), wherein said head unit includes a die (15) and a punch (22) that are configured to work in conjunction to punch holes in metal studs;
a first pole (11) having a proximal end and a distal end (bottom and top end in Figure 1), wherein said distal end of said first pole is connected to said head unit (see Figure 1);
a second pole (29) having a proximal end and a distal end (bottom and top end in Figure 1), wherein said distal end of said second pole is connected to said head unit (see Figure 1);
wherein said die and said first pole are configured such that a reference line projected distally from the center line of said die and a reference line projected distally from the center line of said first pole interface at a distal location above said apparatus to form an interior angle falling within the range of from 0 degrees to 45 degrees (vertical lines, see Figure 1),
a third pole (30), wherein said third pole connects said proximal end of said first pole to said proximal end of said second pole, and wherein said third pole further includes a handle (tip of the foot pad can be used as a handle, see Figure 1), wherein said third pole is configured to permit a user's hand to actuate said third pole with said handle (a user can use a hand to press the petal instead of foot) in a manner that causes said second pole to move in relation to said first pole so as to enable said apparatus to punch at least one hole in the top plate of a stud (page 1 lines 64-77).
Regarding claim 19, Krause teaches said die is located at said distal end of said heat unit (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 20, Krause teaches said distal end of said first pole is connected to said distal end of said head unit (see Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crapo (US 5101566) in view of Larkin (US 7913400 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Crapo teaches an apparatus (see Figure 1) for punching holes in metal studs (74, see Figures 3-5), comprising:
a head unit (assembly of 12 and 14, see Figures 1-2) having a proximal end (left end on 12 in Figure 2) and a distal end (right end on 14 in Figure 2), wherein said distal end of said head unit includes a die (50, right end on 14), wherein said die includes a proximal end and a distal end (bottom and top end 48 in Figure 1), wherein said proximal end of said head unit includes a punch (38, see Figure 2), and wherein said die and said punch are configured to work in conjunction to punch holes in metal studs;
a first pole (16 on left in Figure 2) having a proximal end and a distal end (left and center end in Figure 2), wherein said distal end of said first pole is connected to said head unit (see Figure 2);
a second pole (16 on right in Figure 2) having a proximal end and a distal end (right and center end in figure 2), wherein said distal end of said second pole is connected to said head unit with a linkage (at 21 with 24), wherein said linkage is configured to permit said punch to move from an unactuated position to an actuated position within said head unit when moving said second pole from a proximal position to a distal position (see Figure 2), while said first pole remains stationary and while said second pole moves in relation to said first pole so as to actuate said punch (as the first pole can be locked in place, while the second pole is moved, thus the limitation is met); and
wherein said apparatus has an overall length that extends proximally in a perpendicular direction from said proximal end of said die (bottom end of tool, which is perpendicular to vertical length, see Figure 4) and interfaces a reference line that extends horizontally from said distal end of said first pole at the proximal end of the said die (horizontal line at the top end in figure 5), wherein such overall length is a unknown value (see Figure 4).
wherein said apparatus is configured to be held by a user while punching said holes in said metal studs and wherein said apparatus is further configured for movement by said user so as to enable said user to readily relocate said apparatus so as to punch multiple of said holes in said metal studs (see Figure 2, 4 and 6).
Crapo fails to teach a third pole, wherein said third pole connects said proximal end of said first pole to said proximal end of said second pole in a manner that permits said second pole to move relative to said first pole, the overall length is at least 24 inches.
Furthermore, with respect to the specific overall length is at least 24/45/70 inches, the courts have held that where the general conditions of the invention are met, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art., In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.04 IV. A. Therefore, it would have been obvious to further modify handle of Crapo to have the specific overall length set forth in the claim to achieve the desired reach with the tool for the end user.
Larkin teaches a tool (see Figure 1B) with a first pole (12A), a second pole (12B) and a third pole (14A), wherein said third pole connects said proximal end of said first pole to said proximal end of said second pole in a manner that permits said second pole to move relative to said first pole (see Figure 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modified the device of Crapo to add the third pole arrangement, as taught by Larkin, in order improve the mechanical advantage of the tool (col. 4 lines 13-24 of Larkin).
Claims 4-10 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crapo (US 5101566) in view of Larkin (US 7913400 B2) and in further view Wang (US 20130185945 A1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Crapo teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 1 above.
Modified Crapo fails to teach said first pole and said second pole are each extendable so as to adjust said overall length of said apparatus.
Wang teaches a cutter with extendable handles that adjust the overall length of said cutter (see Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of modified Crapo to make the handles extendable, as taught by Wang, in order to increase the reach of the tool (abstract and paragraph 0004 of Wang).
Regarding claim 5, modified Crapo further teaches said first pole and said second pole each comprise at least two telescopic sections (as modified by Wang, 4 and 5, see Figure 6 of Wang).
Regarding claim 6, modified Crapo further teaches said first pole and said second pole each comprise three telescopic sections (as modified by Wang, 2, 4 and 5, see Figure 6 of Wang).
Regarding claim 7, modified Crapo further teaches said distal end of said first pole is connected to said distal end of said head unit with a first connection and said distal end of said second pole is connected to said proximal end of said head unit with a second connection (all the parts are connected to each other at the end, see Figure 2 of Crapo).
Regarding claim 8, modified Crapo further teaches said first connection between said distal end of said first pole and said head unit includes a fixed connection (the bolt 20 is fixed with nut 22, thus meeting the limitation of a fixed connection between the parts, see Figure 2 of Crapo).
Regarding claim 9, modified Crapo further teaches said overall length is at least 45 inches (as modified by Crapo in claim 1, can be change into any length).
Regarding claim 10, modified Crapo further teaches said overall length is at least 70 inches (as modified by Crapo in claim 1, can be change into any length).
Regarding claim 13, Crapo teaches an apparatus for punching holes in metal studs, comprising:
a head unit (assembly of 12 and 14) that includes a die (50) and a punch (40), wherein said die and said punch are configured to work in conjunction with one another to punch holes in metal studs (See Figure 2);
a first pole (16 on right) having a proximal end and a distal end (right and center end in Figure 2), wherein said distal end of said first pole is connected to said head unit (see Figure 2);
a second pole (16 on left) having a proximal end and a distal end (left and center end in Figure 2), wherein said distal end of said second pole is connected to said head unit (see Figure 2);
wherein said first pole is configured to remain stationary while (as the first pole can be locked in place, while the second pole is moved, thus the limitation is met) and said second pole is configured to move relative to said first pole so as to actuate said punch relative to said die (see Figure 2 and 5); and
wherein said apparatus is configured to permit a user to reposition said apparatus along a top plate of a metal stud so as to actuate said punch in order to punch a plurality of holes in said top plate (as the apparatus can be moved, the limitation is met).
Crapo fails to teach wherein said first and second pole are extendable, wherein said first pole further includes a bar that protrudes from said proximal end of said first pole, wherein said bar is configured to rest against a user during operation of said apparatus so as to stabilize said first pole and to permit actuation of said punch by said movement of said second pole.
Larkin teaches a tool with a first pole and a second pole, wherein said first pole further includes a bar (25) that protrudes from said proximal end of said first pole, wherein said bar is configured to rest against a user during operation of said apparatus so as to stabilize said first pole and to permit actuation of said punch by said movement of said second pole (see Figure 1), a third pole (14), wherein said third pole connects said proximal end of said first pole to said proximal end of said second pole in a manner that permits said second pole to move relative to said first pole (see Figure 1A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modified the device of Crapo to add the third pole arrangement and bar, as taught by Larkin, in order improve the mechanical advantage of the tool (col. 4 lines 13-24 of Larkin).
Wang teaches a cutter with extendable handles that adjust the overall length of said cutter (see Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Crapo to make the handles extendable, as taught by Wang, in order to increase the reach of the tool (abstract and paragraph 0004 of Wang).
Regarding claim 14, Crapo teaches an apparatus for punching holes in metal studs, comprising:
a head unit (assembly of 12 and 14) that includes a die (50) and a punch (38), wherein said die and said punch are configured to work in conjunction with one another to punch holes in metal studs (see Figure 2);
a first pole (16 on left in Figure 2) having a proximal end and a distal end, wherein said distal end of said first pole is connected to said head unit (see Figure 2);
a second pole having a proximal end and a distal end, wherein said distal end of said second pole is connected to said head unit(see Figure 2);
wherein said first pole is configured to remain stationary while said second pole is configured to move relative to said first pole so as to actuate said punch relative to said die (see Figure 4);
wherein said apparatus is configured to permit a user to reposition said apparatus along a top plate of a metal stud so as to actuate said punch in order to punch a plurality of holes in said top plate (see Figure 4).
Crapo fails to teach said first pole is extendable, said second pole is extendable, wherein a third pole connects said proximal end of said first pole to said proximal end of said second pole
Larkin teaches a tool (see Figure 1B) with a first pole (12A), a second pole (12B) and a third pole (14A), wherein said third pole connects said proximal end of said first pole to said proximal end of said second pole in a manner that permits said second pole to move relative to said first pole (see Figure 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modified the device of Crapo to add the third pole arrangement, as taught by Larkin, in order improve the mechanical advantage of the tool (col. 4 lines 13-24 of Larkin).
Wang teaches a cutter with extendable handles that adjust the overall length of said cutter (see Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Crapo to make the handles extendable, as taught by Wang, in order to increase the reach of the tool (abstract and paragraph 0004 of Wang).
Regarding claim 15, modified Crapo further teaches said first pole and said second pole each comprise at least two telescopic sections (as modified by Wang, 4 and 5, see Figure 6 of Wang).
Regarding claim 16, modified Crapo further teaches said first pole and said second pole each comprise three telescopic sections (as modified by Wang, 2, 4 and 5, see Figure 6 of Wang).
Regarding claim 17, modified Crapo further teaches said die and said first pole each includes a centerline (the centerline of the die is at least in the center of die with respect to the view in Figure 3, see annotated Figure 2 of Crapo), wherein a reference line projected distally from said centerline of said die is parallel to a reference line project along said centerline of said first pole (see annotated Figure 2 of Crapo).
Claims 1, 3 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krause (US 1731010).
Regarding claim 1, Krause teaches an apparatus (see Figure 1) for punching holes in metal studs (see Figure 1), comprising:
a head unit (assembly above 12, see Figure 1) having a proximal end (top end in Figure 1) and a distal end (bottom end Figure 1), wherein said distal end of said head unit includes a die (15, see Figure 1), wherein said die includes a proximal end and a distal end (top and bottom end in Figure 1), wherein said proximal end of said head unit includes a punch (22, see Figure 1), and wherein said die and said punch are configured to work in conjunction to punch holes in metal studs;
a first pole (11) having a proximal end and a distal end (bottom and top end in Figure 1), wherein said distal end of said first pole is connected to said head unit (see Figure 1);
a second pole (29) having a proximal end and a distal end (bottom and top end in Figure 1), wherein said distal end of said second pole is connected to said head unit with a linkage (26), wherein said linkage is configured to permit said punch to move from an unactuated position to an actuated position within said head unit when moving said second pole from a proximal position to a distal position (see Figure 1), while said first pole remains stationary and while said second pole moves in relation to said first pole so as to actuate said punch (as the first pole can be locked in place, while the second pole is moved, thus the limitation is met); and;
a third pole (30), wherein said third pole connects said proximal end of said first pole to said proximal end of said second pole in a manner that permits said second pole to move relative to said first pole (see Figure 1);
wherein said apparatus has an overall length that extends proximally in a perpendicular direction from said proximal end of said die (vertical length, see Figure 1) and interfaces a reference line that extends horizontally from said distal end of said first pole at the proximal end of the said die (horizontal line at the bottom end in Figure 1), wherein such overall length is a unknown value (see Figure 1),
wherein said apparatus is configured to be held by a user while punching said holes in said metal studs and wherein said apparatus is further configured for movement by said user so as to enable said user to readily relocate said apparatus so as to punch multiple of said holes in said metal studs (as the device is not bolted to the ground and the device can move around to the work piece).
Krause fails to teach the overall length is at least 24 inches.
Furthermore, with respect to the specific overall length is at least 24/45/70 inches, the courts have held that where the general conditions of the invention are met, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art., In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.04 IV. A. Therefore, it would have been obvious to further modify the pole of Krause to have the specific overall length set forth in the claim to achieve the desired reach with the tool for the end user.
Regarding claim 3, modified Krause further teaches said third pole extends in a downward direction from said proximal end of said second pole when said second pole is positioned such that said punch is in said actuated position (as element is stepped down, see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Krause further teaches said overall length is at least 45 inches (as modified by Krause in claim 1, can be change into any length).
Regarding claim 10, modified Krause further teaches said overall length is at least 70 inches (as modified by Krause in claim 1, can be change into any length).
Regarding claim 11, modified Krause further teaches said reference line that extends proximally in a perpendicular direction from said proximal end of said die is parallel to a reference line that extends along the centerline of said first pole (both in the vertical line direction in Figure 1).
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krause (US 1731010) in view of Leavitt (US 620659).
Regarding claims 23-24, Krause teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 1 stated above.
Krause fails to teach said interior angle falls within the range of 8 degrees to 12 degrees (as required by claim 23) and said interior angle is 10 degrees (as required by claim 24).
Leavitt teaches a support pole (A) at angle with respect to the vertical punching direction (see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Krause to have the angled pole, as taught by Leavitt. As one of ordinary skill in the art understand that the angle pole can be more aesthetically pleasing.
Furthermore, with respect to the specific angle of 10 degrees, the courts have held that where the general conditions of the invention are met, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art., In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.04 IV. A. Therefore, it would have been obvious to further modify the pole of Krause to have the specific angle set forth in the claim base on the desired look wanted by the end user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-10 and 13-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to applicant's argument that Krause fails to teach a third pole as claimed. The examiner disagrees and notes that Krause teaches a third pole (30), wherein said third pole connects said proximal end of said first pole to said proximal end of said second pole, and wherein said third pole further includes a handle (tip of the foot pad can be used as a handle, see Figure 1), wherein said third pole is configured to permit a user's hand to actuate said third pole with said handle (a user can use a hand to press the petal instead of foot) in a manner that causes said second pole to move in relation to said first pole so as to enable said apparatus to punch at least one hole in the top plate of a stud (page 1 lines 64-77 of Krause).
Conclusion
/LIANG DONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 9/17/2026