DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
This is a final office action in response to applicant's arguments and remarks filed on 04/09/2026.
Status of Rejections
The objections to the drawings are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
The rejection(s) of claim(s) 7, 9-10, 13 and 17-18 is/are obviated by applicant’s cancellation.
All other previous rejections are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
New grounds of rejection are necessitated by applicant’s amendments.
Claims 1-6, 8, 11-12, 14-16 and 19-23 are pending and under consideration for this Office Action.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 21, lines 1, “wherein frequency” should read “wherein the frequency”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 11-12, 14-16 and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (KR 20200125483 A, citations based on translation) in view of Tan et al. (CN 113690938 A, citations based on translation), and further in view of Pmsvvsv (US 20230243055 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a hydrogen generation system (see e.g. Paragraph 0001 and Paragraph 0004, water electrolysis system producing hydrogen) comprising:
a hydrogen generator (see e.g. Fig. 3, electrolysis system 100 producing hydrogen; Paragraphs 0031 and 0034) comprising:
an electrochemical stack producing hydrogen (see e.g. Fig. 3, electrolysis device 120 including electrolysis stack producing hydrogen; Paragraph 0034 and Paragraph 0048, lines 1-2); and
a power source receiving an input power signal from an input energy source and in electrical communication with the electrochemical stack (see e.g. Fig. 3, power conversion 110 receiving power from substation/system 30 via connection point A and providing power to the electrolysis device 120; Paragraphs 0031 and 0033); and
a controller comprising a processor and a non-transitory computer-readable medium encoded with instructions, which when executed by the processor (see e.g. Fig. 3, power management device 130 controlling other devices of the system, particularly by implementation of computer-readable code on a non-transitory computer-readable medium such as disks with a computer system, i.e. processor; Paragraphs 0035 and 0174), cause the processor to:
determine a value of a characteristic of the input power signal received from the input energy source (see e.g. Fig. 3, monitoring device 150 connected to power management device 130 measuring the voltage and grid frequency at connection point A connected to grid 30; Paragraph 0036, lines 1-7);
obtain a pre-determined range of values of the hydrogen generator corresponding to the characteristic of the input power signal, the pre-determined range of values comprising an upper threshold value of the characteristic and a lower threshold value of the characteristic (see e.g. Paragraph 0044, lines 1-2, Paragraph 0135, lines 4-5, Paragraph 0155, lines 1-2, and Paragraph 0158, lines 1-2, predetermined normal ranges and corresponding upper and lower reference values, i.e. thresholds, of voltage and grid frequency); and
alter, based on the value of the characteristic of the input power signal, a consumption of reactive power of the input energy source by the hydrogen generator (see e.g. Fig. 3, power management device 130 controls power conversion device 110 to absorb reactive power from or inject reactive power into grid 30 according to received voltage and frequency; Paragraph 0037, lines 1-5, Paragraph 0039 and Paragraph 0044, lines 1-4), wherein altering the consumption of reactive power of the input energy source by the hydrogen generator is based on a control policy of the controller comprising a relationship between the consumption of reactive power of the input energy source by the hydrogen generator and the value of the characteristic of the input power signal (see e.g. Paragraph 0044, reactive power command value to be injected into or absorbed by system calculated based, in part, on output voltage of energy source).
Park does not explicitly teach the pre-determined range of values being based on historical data of the operation of the hydrogen generator, but does generally teach is being a certain range of difference from a reference value (see e.g. Paragraph 0044, lines 1-2).
Tan teaches a control method for a hydrogen production system (see e.g. Paragraph n0001) wherein an optimal operating range for an electrolyzer is determined based on historical operating information and prior knowledge of the hydrogen production system (see e.g. Paragraphs n0007-n0008).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Park to comprise the range of values corresponding to the characteristic of the input power signal being based on historical operation data of the hydrogen generator as taught by Tan as a suitable means of determining an optimal operating range when controlling a hydrogen production system. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Modified Park does not explicitly teach the relationship between the consumption of reactive power of the input energy source by the hydrogen generator and the value of the characteristic of the input power signal for the control policy being non-linear, but does teach the alteration of the consumption of power, i.e. active and reactive power, based on the monitored grid voltage and frequency being utilized to stabilize the voltage and frequency of the grid (see e.g. Paragraph 0037).
Pmsvvsv teaches a system for operating an electrolyzer connected to an electrical power system (see e.g. Abstract) in which hydrogen generation and power consumption, i.e. reactive and active, of the electrolyzer are adjusted when the frequency or voltage of the electrical power system increases or decreases (see e.g. Paragraphs 0025, 0036 and 0039-0040), thereby supporting stability of the input power network (see e.g. Paragraph 0020), wherein the reduction of hydrogen generation and power consumption can be based on a non-linear relationship curve between the hydrogen generation/power consumption and the frequency or voltage (see e.g. Figs. 2B/C and 5B/C, non-linear frequency or voltage droop curves in relation to electrolyzer power; Paragraph 0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control policy of modified Park to comprise a non-linear relationship between the consumption of power, i.e. active and reactive power, by the hydrogen generation system and the characteristic, i.e. frequency or voltage, of the input power signal as taught by Pmsvvsv as a suitable control curve for adjustment of hydrogen generation and power consumption of an electrochemical hydrogen generator to support stability of a connected electrical power system. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, modified Park teaches the input energy source being a utility grid (see e.g. Park Fig. 3, grid/system 30; Paragraph 0031 and Paragraph 0036, line 7).
Regarding claim 3, modified Park teaches the input energy source comprising a solar panel array or wind farm (see e.g. Park Fig. 3, renewable energy source 10 such as solar or wind power connected to electrolysis system 100; Paragraphs 0002 and 0031).
Regarding claim 4, modified Park teaches the value of the characteristic of the input power signal received from the input energy source being a voltage of the input energy power signal (see e.g. Park Fig. 3, monitoring device 150 connected to power management device 130 measuring the voltage at connection point A connected to grid 30; Paragraph 0036, lines 1-7) and the control policy comprising a voltage control policy (see e.g. Park Paragraph 0044, lines 1-9, calculation of reactive power command value to be injected or absorbed into the system when voltage differs a certain range from reference value).
Regarding claim 5, modified Park teaches altering the consumption of reactive power of the input energy source by the hydrogen generator comprising adjusting the power source to consume reactive power when the voltage of the input power signal is greater than an upper threshold voltage value (see e.g. Park Paragraph 0155, lines 1-9, when received voltage is higher than a predetermined high reference grid voltage value, i.e. upper threshold, power conversion device is controlled to absorb, i.e. consume, reactive power from grid).
Regarding claim 6, modified Park teaches altering the consumption of reactive power of the input energy source by the hydrogen generator comprising adjusting the power source to generate reactive power when the voltage of the input power signal is less than a lower voltage threshold value (see e.g. Park Paragraph 0158, when received voltage is lower than a predetermined low reference voltage value, i.e. lower threshold, power conversion device is controlled to generate reactive power).
Regarding claim 8, modified Park teaches the value of the characteristic of the input power signal received from the input energy source being a frequency of the input power signal (see e.g. Park Fig. 3, monitoring device 150 connected to power management device 130 measuring grid frequency at connection point A connected to grid 30; Paragraph 0036, lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 11, Park as modified by Pmsvvsv teaches altering the consumption of reactive power of the input energy source by the hydrogen generator being based on a frequency control policy of the controller (see e.g. Park Paragraphs 0135 and 0089, equation for calculating active power command value, and thereby accompanying reactive power, according to grid frequency conditions; see e.g. Pmsvvsv Paragraph 0025, power consumption adjusted according to frequency).
Regarding claim 21, Park as modified by Pmsvvsv teaches the frequency control policy of the controller comprising a non-linear relationship of a controlled hydrogen production by the hydrogen generator and the frequency of the input power signal (see e.g. Pmsvvsv Fig. 2B/C, non-linear frequency droop curve with electrolyzer power and corresponding hydrogen generation; Paragraphs 0025 and 0029).
Regarding claim 12, Park teaches a method (see e.g. Paragraph 0016, line 1) comprising:
controlling a reactive power consumed by a hydrogen generator receiving an input power signal from an input energy source (see e.g. Paragraph 0016, power conversion device transmitting power from grid to water electrolysis system producing hydrogen controlled to absorb or inject reactive power), the hydrogen generator comprising:
an electrochemical stack producing hydrogen (see e.g. Fig. 3, electrolysis device 120 including electrolysis stack producing hydrogen; Paragraph 0034 and Paragraph 0048, lines 1-2); and
a power source receiving the input power signal from the input energy source and in electrical communication with the electrochemical stack (see e.g. Fig. 3, power conversion 110 receiving power from substation/system 30 via connection point A and providing power to the electrolysis device 120; Paragraphs 0031 and 0033);
determining a value of a characteristic of the input power signal received from the input energy source (see e.g. Fig. 3, monitoring device 150 connected to power management device 130 measuring the voltage and grid frequency at connection point A connected to grid 30; Paragraph 0036, lines 1-7);
determining a range of values of the hydrogen generator corresponding to the characteristic of the input power signal, the range of values comprising an upper threshold value of the characteristic and a lower threshold value of the characteristic (see e.g. Paragraph 0044, lines 1-2, Paragraph 0135, lines 4-5, Paragraph 0155, lines 1-2, and Paragraph 0158, lines 1-2, predetermined normal ranges and corresponding upper and lower reference values, i.e. thresholds, of voltage and grid frequency); and
transmitting, to the hydrogen generator, one or more instructions to alter, based on the value of the characteristic of the input power signal, a consumption of reactive power of the input energy source by the hydrogen generator (see e.g. Fig. 3, power management device 130 controls power conversion device 110 to absorb reactive power from or inject reactive power into grid 30 according to received voltage and frequency; Paragraph 0037, lines 1-5, Paragraph 0039 and Paragraph 0044, lines 1-4), wherein altering the consumption of reactive power of the input energy source by the hydrogen generator is based on a control policy of the controller comprising a relationship between the consumption of reactive power of the input energy source by the hydrogen generator and the value of the characteristic of the input power signal (see e.g. Paragraph 0044, reactive power command value to be injected into or absorbed by system calculated based, in part, on output voltage of energy source).
Park does not explicitly teach the pre-determined range of values being based on historical data of the operation of the hydrogen generator, but does generally teach is being a certain range of difference from a reference value (see e.g. Paragraph 0044, lines 1-2).
Tan teaches a control method for a hydrogen production system (see e.g. Paragraph n0001) wherein an optimal operating range for an electrolyzer is determined based on historical operating information and prior knowledge of the hydrogen production system (see e.g. Paragraphs n0007-n0008).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Park to comprise the range of values corresponding to the characteristic of the input power signal being based on historical operation data of the hydrogen generator as taught by Tan as a suitable means of determining an optimal operating range when controlling a hydrogen production system. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Modified Park does not explicitly teach the relationship between the consumption of reactive power of the input energy source by the hydrogen generator and the value of the characteristic of the input power signal for the control policy being non-linear, but does teach the alteration of the consumption of power, i.e. active and reactive power, based on the monitored grid voltage and frequency being utilized to stabilize the voltage and frequency of the grid (see e.g. Paragraph 0037).
Pmsvvsv teaches a system for operating an electrolyzer connected to an electrical power system (see e.g. Abstract) in which hydrogen generation and power consumption, i.e. reactive and active, of the electrolyzer are adjusted when the frequency or voltage of the electrical power system increases or decreases (see e.g. Paragraphs 0025, 0036 and 0039-0040), thereby supporting stability of the input power network (see e.g. Paragraph 0020), wherein the reduction of hydrogen generation and power consumption can be based on a non-linear relationship curve between the hydrogen generation/power consumption and the frequency or voltage (see e.g. Figs. 2B/C and 5B/C, non-linear frequency or voltage droop curves in relation to electrolyzer power; Paragraph 0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control policy of modified Park to comprise a non-linear relationship between the consumption of power, i.e. active and reactive power, by the hydrogen generation system and the characteristic, i.e. frequency or voltage, of the input power signal as taught by Pmsvvsv as a suitable control curve for adjustment of hydrogen generation and power consumption of an electrochemical hydrogen generator to support stability of a connected electrical power system. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Regarding claim 14, modified Park teaches the value of the characteristic of the input power signal received from the input energy source being one of a voltage or the input power signal or a frequency of the input power signal (see e.g. Park Fig. 3, monitoring device 150 connected to power management device 130 measuring the voltage and grid frequency at connection point A connected to grid 30; Paragraph 0036, lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 15, modified Park teaches altering the consumption of reactive power of the input energy source by the hydrogen generator comprising adjusting the power source to consume reactive power when the voltage of the input power signal is greater than an upper threshold voltage value (see e.g. Park Paragraph 0155, lines 1-9, when received voltage is higher than a predetermined high reference grid voltage value, i.e. upper threshold, power conversion device is controlled to absorb, i.e. consume, reactive power from grid).
Regarding claim 16, modified Park teaches altering the consumption of reactive power of the input energy source by the hydrogen generator comprising adjusting the power source to generate reactive power when the voltage of the input power signal is less than a lower voltage threshold value (see e.g. Park Paragraph 0158, when received voltage is lower than a predetermined low reference voltage value, i.e. lower threshold, power conversion device is controlled to generate reactive power).
Regarding claim 19, Park teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having computer-executable program instructions stored thereon that when executed by a processor (see e.g. Paragraph 0174, non-transitory computer-readable recording medium such as disks containing computer-readable code for implementing inventive method via a computer system, i.e. processor), cause a computing device to perform:
controlling a reactive power consumed by a hydrogen generator receiving an input power signal from an input energy source (see e.g. Paragraph 0016, power conversion device transmitting power from grid to water electrolysis system producing hydrogen controlled to absorb or inject reactive power), the hydrogen generator comprising:
an electrochemical stack producing hydrogen (see e.g. Fig. 3, electrolysis device 120 including electrolysis stack producing hydrogen; Paragraph 0034 and Paragraph 0048, lines 1-2); and
a power source receiving the input power signal from the input energy source and in electrical communication with the electrochemical stack (see e.g. Fig. 3, power conversion 110 receiving power from substation/system 30 via connection point A and providing power to the electrolysis device 120; Paragraphs 0031 and 0033);
determining a value of a characteristic of the input power signal received from the input energy source (see e.g. Fig. 3, monitoring device 150 connected to power management device 130 measuring the voltage and grid frequency at connection point A connected to grid 30; Paragraph 0036, lines 1-7);
determining a range of values of the hydrogen generator corresponding to the characteristic of the input power signal, the range of values comprising an upper threshold value of the characteristic and a lower threshold value of the characteristic (see e.g. Paragraph 0044, lines 1-2, Paragraph 0135, lines 4-5, Paragraph 0155, lines 1-2, and Paragraph 0158, lines 1-2, predetermined normal ranges and corresponding upper and lower reference values, i.e. thresholds, of voltage and grid frequency); and
transmitting, to the hydrogen generator, one or more instructions to alter, based on the value of the characteristic of the input power signal, a consumption of reactive power of the input energy source by the hydrogen generator (see e.g. Fig. 3, power management device 130 controls power conversion device 110 to absorb reactive power from or inject reactive power into grid 30 according to received voltage and frequency; Paragraph 0037, lines 1-5, Paragraph 0039 and Paragraph 0044, lines 1-4), wherein altering the consumption of reactive power of the input energy source by the hydrogen generator is based on a control policy of the controller comprising a relationship between the consumption of reactive power of the input energy source by the hydrogen generator and the value of the characteristic of the input power signal (see e.g. Paragraph 0044, reactive power command value to be injected into or absorbed by system calculated based, in part, on output voltage of energy source).
Park does not explicitly teach the pre-determined range of values being based on historical data of the operation of the hydrogen generator, but does generally teach is being a certain range of difference from a reference value (see e.g. Paragraph 0044, lines 1-2).
Tan teaches a control method for a hydrogen production system (see e.g. Paragraph n0001) wherein an optimal operating range for an electrolyzer is determined based on historical operating information and prior knowledge of the hydrogen production system (see e.g. Paragraphs n0007-n0008).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the executed instructions of Park to comprise the range of values corresponding to the characteristic of the input power signal being based on historical operation data of the hydrogen generator as taught by Tan as a suitable means of determining an optimal operating range when controlling a hydrogen production system. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Modified Park does not explicitly teach the relationship between the consumption of reactive power of the input energy source by the hydrogen generator and the value of the characteristic of the input power signal for the control policy being non-linear, but does teach the alteration of the consumption of power, i.e. active and reactive power, based on the monitored grid voltage and frequency being utilized to stabilize the voltage and frequency of the grid (see e.g. Paragraph 0037).
Pmsvvsv teaches a system for operating an electrolyzer connected to an electrical power system (see e.g. Abstract) in which hydrogen generation and power consumption, i.e. reactive and active, of the electrolyzer are adjusted when the frequency or voltage of the electrical power system increases or decreases (see e.g. Paragraphs 0025, 0036 and 0039-0040), thereby supporting stability of the input power network (see e.g. Paragraph 0020), wherein the reduction of hydrogen generation and power consumption can be based on a non-linear relationship curve between the hydrogen generation/power consumption and the frequency or voltage (see e.g. Figs. 2B/C and 5B/C, non-linear frequency or voltage droop curves in relation to electrolyzer power; Paragraph 0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control policy of modified Park to comprise a non-linear relationship between the consumption of power, i.e. active and reactive power, by the hydrogen generation system and the characteristic, i.e. frequency or voltage, of the input power signal as taught by Pmsvvsv as a suitable control curve for adjustment of hydrogen generation and power consumption of an electrochemical hydrogen generator to support stability of a connected electrical power system. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Regarding claim 20, modified Park teaches the input energy source being a utility power grid (see e.g. Park Fig. 3, grid/system 30; Paragraph 0031 and Paragraph 0036, line 7).
Regarding claims 22-23, Park as modified by Pmsvvsv teaches the value of the characteristic of the input power signal received from the input energy source being a frequency of the input power signal (see e.g. Park Fig. 3, monitoring device 150 connected to power management device 130 measuring grid frequency at connection point A connected to grid 30; Paragraph 0036, lines 1-7), and altering the consumption of reactive power of the input energy source by the hydrogen generator being based on a frequency control policy of the controller (see e.g. Park Paragraphs 0135 and 0089, equation for calculating active power command value, and thereby accompanying reactive power, according to grid frequency conditions; see e.g. Pmsvvsv Paragraph 0025, power consumption adjusted according to frequency), the frequency control policy of the controller comprising a non-linear relationship of a controlled hydrogen production by the hydrogen generator and the frequency of the input power signal (see e.g. Pmsvvsv Fig. 2B/C, non-linear frequency droop curve with electrolyzer power and corresponding hydrogen generation; Paragraphs 0025 and 0029).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-11, filed 04/09/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 12 and 19 under 35 USC 102 over Park, particularly regarding the control policy comprising a non-linear relationship between reactive power consumption and the value of the characteristic of the input power signal, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Park, Tan and Pmsvvsv.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1795
/LUAN V VAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1795