Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for locking” in claims 2 and 17; “means for filtering or the filtering means” in claims 7-15 and 19-20; “means for retaining” in claim 10; and “means for extending” in claim 20.
Paragraph [0004] discloses the one-piece body may include locking channels that mate with locking tabs on the brew pod. Such a locking means permits the brew pod to be locked securely in place during the brewing process.
Paragraph [0006] discloses the coffee maker may further comprise a gasket disposed between the engagement member and the grounds basket. The coffee maker may also include a means for filtering the brewed coffee after it exits the grounds basket. The filtering means may comprise a metal filter disposed within the engagement member. The filtering means may further comprise a paper filter disposed about the metal filter. With this arrangement, the gasket may include means for retaining the filter means disposed about the engagement member.
Paragraph [0007] discloses the coffee maker may also include means for lifting the one-piece body away from a heat source used during the brewing process. The lifting means preferably comprises a base disposed about the bottom of the one-piece body, a pneumatically actuated piston, a retaining screw in communication with the piston and the base, and a spring disposed about the piston. With this lifting arrangement, the coffee maker preferably includes two or more straws disposed under the grounds basket about the bottom of the one-piece body to allow room for the lifting means. Moreover, with this arrangement, the coffee maker may include a lid disposed about the top of the one-piece body, wherein the lifting means comprises a means for extending the lid away from the one-piece body during the brewing process.
Paragraph [0025] discloses the brew pod 104 includes one or more O-rings 162 that are capable of being seated within channels (not shown) in the interior of the one-piece body 102. When the brew pod 104 is seated within the channels, the brew pod 104 is preferably locked in its vertical position so the pressure from brewing does not push the brew pod 104 up and break the seal created by the O-rings 162. Such locking means may include locking tabs 134 disposed about the brew pod 104 and complementary locking channels 136 formed in the interior of the one-piece body 102. Other variations of the locking means includes screw threads to the inner diameter of the one-piece body 102 and corresponding male threads to the outer diameter of the brew pod 104, or the like. The top hat 116 may optionally include alignment means (not shown) so the user knows if the brew pod 104 is in a locked position or not.
Paragraph [0028] discloses the coffee maker 100 preferably includes a filter means to filter brewed coffee from coffee grounds disposed within the grounds basket 106. The filter means may include a metal filter 126 disposed about the engagement member 114. The metal filter 126 may be integrated into the engagement member 114 or removable from it to permit easy cleaning. The filter means may also include an optional paper filter 128 disposed about the metal filter 126. The addition of the paper filter 128 is advisable as paper filters perform better than metal filters as the former can hold back the undissolved coffee particles that create a more bitter and muddy taste. If the metal filter 126 is removable, it may be held into place by way of the gasket 122. In such case, it is preferable for the gasket 122 to have retaining means 130 for retaining the metal filter 126 inside the engagement member 114. These same retaining means 130 may also be used to retain the paper filter 128 against the metal filter 126.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nolan (US 5,902,620).
Regarding claim 15, Nolan discloses a coffee maker 10 (fig. 1, i.e. a hot beverage maker) for brewing coffee over a heat source (i.e. a microwave oven), the coffee maker comprising:
a one-piece body (12, i.e. called a container) having a top (i.e. the top of the container 12) and an opposing bottom (i.e. the bottom of the container 12);
a brew pod (41, i.e. called a filter assembly including a filter basket 46) removably disposed within the one-piece body (12); and
a means for lifting 32 (i.e. an air gap; see figure 3 indicated by the arrows) the one-piece body (12) away from the heat source (i.e. a microwave oven) during a brewing process (col. 3, lines 8-15; col. 4, lines 1-30).
With respect to claim 17, Nolan discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Nolan further discloses means for locking (i.e. threaded to form a positive connection between the interengaged parts) the brew pod (41) into the one-piece body (12) to permit the brew pod to be locked securely in place during the brewing process (col. 3, lines 46-57).
With respect to claim 18, Nolan discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Nolan further discloses means wherein the snorkel (60, i.e. called a conically-shaped tubular liquid inlet) includes a spout (42), an engagement member (45) disposed under the spout, and a top hat (44) disposed above the spout (42), wherein the engagement member (45) has screw threads (col. 3, lines 32-40), and wherein the grounds basket (46, i.e. a filter basket) has complementary screw threads to permit the engagement member (45) to be removable from the grounds basket (46, i.e. a filter basket).
With respect to claim 20, Nolan discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Nolan further discloses a lid (68, i.e. called a cap) disposed about the top of the one-piece body (12), wherein the lifting means 32 (i.e. an air gap; see figure 3 indicated by the arrows) comprises a means for extending the lid (68) away from the one-piece body (12) during the brewing process (i.e. the brewing cycle/operation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nolan (US 5,902,620) in view of Cardoso (US 20140106036).
Regarding claim 1, Nolan discloses a coffee maker 10 (fig. 1, i.e. a hot beverage maker) comprising:
a one-piece body (12, i.e. called a container) having a top (i.e. the top of the container 12) and an opposing bottom (i.e. the bottom of the container 12); and
a brew pod removably (41, i.e. called a filter assembly) disposed within the one-piece body (12), the brew pod comprising: a grounds basket (46, i.e. a filter basket) for holding coffee grounds (i.e. coffee grinds) to be brewed during a brewing process (i.e. the brew cycle/operation); and
a snorkel 60 (i.e. called a conically-shaped tubular liquid inlet) removably disposed above the grounds basket (46, i.e. a filter basket) about the top of the one- piece body (12), wherein the snorkel (60) permits brewed coffee to exit (i.e. exiting through openings 64) from the grounds basket (46) and then flow into the one-piece body (12).
Nolan discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above, except for one or more straws disposed under the grounds basket about the bottom of the one-piece body.
However, Cardoso teaches one or more straws 130 (fig. 1, i.e. called supporting elements) disposed under the grounds basket (140) about the bottom of the one-piece body (100) (¶ 0029).
The combination of references are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of preparing a beverage. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Nolan and Cardoso before him or her, to include such supports/legs of Cardoso because a beverage additive disposed between a surface of the container and the pod for spacing apart the pod from the surface of the container. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it provides a pod for containing a substance from which a beverage can be extracted (¶ 0007).
With respect to claim 2, Nolan in view of Cardoso discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Nolan further discloses means for locking (i.e. threaded to form a positive connection between the interengaged parts) the brew pod (41) into the one- piece body (12, i.e. called a container) to permit the brew pod (41) to be locked securely in place during the brewing process (i.e. the brewing cycle/operation).
With respect to claim 3, Nolan in view of Cardoso discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Nolan further discloses wherein the snorkel 60 (i.e. called a conically-shaped tubular liquid inlet) includes a spout (42), an engagement member (45) disposed under the spout (42), and a top hat (44, i.e. called a flange) disposed above the spout (42).
With respect to claim 4, Nolan in view of Cardoso discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Nolan further discloses wherein the one-piece body (12) includes locking channels (56, i.e. called a slot), and wherein the engagement member (45) includes complementary locking tabs that mate with the locking channels (56) to permit the brew pod (41) to be locked securely in place during the brewing process (i.e. the brewing cycle/operation).
With respect to claim 5, Nolan in view of Cardoso discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Nolan further discloses wherein the engagement member (45) has screw threads, and wherein the grounds basket (46) has complementary screw threads to permit the engagement member (45) to be detachably removable from the grounds basket (46).
With respect to claim 6, Nolan in view of Cardoso discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Nolan further discloses a gasket (54) disposed between the engagement member (45) and the grounds basket (46).
With respect to claim 7, Nolan in view of Cardoso discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Nolan further discloses means for filtering (50, i.e. called a filter sieve) the brewed coffee after it exits (i.e. through the openings 64) the grounds basket (46).
With respect to claim 8, Nolan in view of Cardoso discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Nolan further discloses wherein the filtering means (50, i.e. called a filter sieve) comprises a metal filter (i.e. the filter basket 46 made from aluminum) disposed within the engagement member (45) (col. 3, lines 21-23).
With respect to claim 9, Nolan in view of Cardoso discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Cardoso further discloses wherein the filtering means further comprises a paper filter (12) disposed about the metal filter (col. 2, lines 62-65).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Nolan and Cardoso before him or her, to include such filter materials of Cardoso because a filter that efficiently removes impurities with a low resistance to flow so that the impurities may be filtered out of the water without increasing the time required to brew a pot of coffee. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it provides a pod for containing a substance from which a beverage can be extracted (¶ 0007).
With respect to claim 10, Nolan in view of Cardoso discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Nolan further discloses means for filtering (50, i.e. called a filter sieve) the brewed coffee, wherein the filtering means (50, i.e. called a filter sieve) is disposed about the engagement member (45), and wherein the gasket (54) includes means for retaining the filter means (50, i.e. called a filter sieve) disposed about the engagement member (45).
With respect to claim 11, Nolan in view of Cardoso discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Nolan further discloses means for lifting 32 (i.e. an air gap; see figure 3 indicated by the arrows) the one-piece body (12, i.e. called a container) away from a heat source (i.e. a microwave oven) used during the brewing process (col. 3, lines 8-15; col. 4, lines 1-30).
With respect to claim 16, Nolan in view of Cardoso discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Nolan further discloses wherein the brew pod (41, i.e. called a filter assembly) comprises a grounds basket (46) for holding coffee grounds (i.e. coffee grinds) to be brewed; and a snorkel (60, i.e. called a conically-shaped tubular liquid inlet) removably disposed above the grounds basket (46) about the top of the one-piece body (12), wherein the snorkel (60, i.e. called a conically-shaped tubular liquid inlet) permits brewed coffee to exit (i.e. exiting through openings 64) from the grounds basket (46), except for two or more straws disposed under the grounds basket about the bottom of the one-piece body.
However, Cardoso teaches two or more straws 130 (fig. 1, i.e. called supporting elements) disposed under the grounds basket (140) about the bottom of the one-piece body (100) (¶ 0029).
The combination of references are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of preparing a beverage. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Nolan and Cardoso before him or her, to include such supports/legs of Cardoso because a beverage additive disposed between a surface of the container and the pod for spacing apart the pod from the surface of the container. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it provides a pod for containing a substance from which a beverage can be extracted (¶ 0007).
Claim(s) 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nolan (US 5,902,620) in view of Cardoso (US 20140106036) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Schneeberger (US 5,492,054).
Regarding claim 12, Nolan in view of Cardoso discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above, except for wherein the lifting means comprises a pneumatically actuated piston.
However, Schneeberger teaches wherein the lifting means comprises a pneumatically actuated piston (8) (col. 4, lines 66 – col. 5, lines 27).
The combination of references are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of a coffee maker. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Nolan in view of Cardoso and Schneeberger before him or her, to include such a piston of Schneeberger because this relative displacement of the extraction cup and the piston with respect to each other is performed by complex electronic controls and corresponding hydraulic or electric motor-driven displacement devices. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it provides a simply and cost-effectively way than corresponding coffee makers for the other means (col. 1, lines 25-27).
With respect to claim 13, Nolan in view of Cardoso and Schneeberger discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Nolan further discloses wherein the lifting means 32 (i.e. an air gap; see figure 3 indicated by the arrows) further comprises a base (28) disposed about the bottom of the one-piece body (12), except for a retaining screw in communication with the piston and the base.
However, Schneeberger teaches a retaining screw (45, i.e. an adjustment spindle) in communication with the piston (8) and the base (col. 4, lines 66 – col. 5, lines 27).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Nolan in view of Cardoso and Schneeberger before him or her, to include such an adjustment spindle of Schneeberger because this relative displacement of the extraction cup and the piston with respect to each other is performed by complex electronic controls and corresponding hydraulic or electric motor-driven displacement devices. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it provides a simply and cost-effectively way than corresponding coffee makers for the other means (col. 1, lines 25-27).
With respect to claim 14, Nolan in view of Cardoso and Schneeberger discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Schneeberger further discloses wherein the lifting means further includes a spring (47) disposed about the piston (8).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Nolan in view of Cardoso and Schneeberger before him or her, to include such a spring of Schneeberger because this relative displacement of the extraction cup and the piston with respect to each other is performed by complex electronic controls and corresponding hydraulic or electric motor-driven displacement devices. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it provides a simply and cost-effectively way than corresponding coffee makers for the other means (col. 1, lines 25-27).
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nolan (US 5,902,620) in view of in view of Schneeberger (US 5,492,054).
Regarding claim 19, Nolan discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above including wherein the lifting means 32 (i.e. an air gap; see figure 3 indicated by the arrows) comprises a base (28) disposed about the bottom of the one-piece body (12), except for a pneumatically actuated piston, and a retaining screw in communication with the piston and the base.
However, Schneeberger teaches a pneumatically actuated piston (8), and a retaining screw (45, i.e. an adjustment spindle) in communication with the piston (8) and the base (col. 4, lines 66 – col. 5, lines 27).
The combination of references are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of a coffee maker. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Nolan and Schneeberger before him or her, to include such a piston and an adjustment spindle of Schneeberger because this relative displacement of the extraction cup and the piston with respect to each other is performed by complex electronic controls and corresponding hydraulic or electric motor-driven displacement devices. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it provides a simple and cost-effective way than corresponding coffee makers for the other means (col. 1, lines 25-27).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shao (US 7,661,354). Jung (US 20240349931). Koslow et al. (US 6,103,116). Piazza (US 5.586,484).
Conclusion
/KET D DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761