DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Amendment
In response to the amendment(s) filed on 6/2/26, amended claim(s) 1, 3, 8-12, and 21 is/are acknowledged. The following new and/or reiterated ground(s) of rejection is/are set forth:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-12 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
For claim 1, the claim language “the plurality of pressure measurements representing a pressure wave caused by cardiac pressure pulses” appears to be new matter. The examiner could not find these exact terms in the specification and, although the exact terms do not need to be used in the specification as in the claims, the examiner could not find any corollaries either. The examiner reviewed Fig. 2 and para [0034]-[0044] and found the term “pressure wave” but could not find where the pressure measurements represent a pressure wave that is specifically caused by cardiac pressure pulses. The examiner respectfully requests Applicant’s assistance in determining where support may be found or have the subject matter deleted from the claims.
Dependent claim(s) 2-12 and 21 fail to cure the deficiencies of independent claim 1, thus claim(s) 1-12 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-12 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination as a whole, do not amount to significantly more than a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea).
Claim 1 is a claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter and therefore meets one of the categorical limitations of 35 U.S.C. 101. However, claim 1 meets the first prong of the step 2A analysis because it is directed to a/an abstract idea, as evidenced by the claim language of “repeatedly receiving a plurality of pressure measurements from the pressure sensor during advancement of the elongate medical device along the vasculature, the plurality of pressure measurements representing a pressure wave caused by cardiac pressure pulses,” “calculating a pressure parameter of the plurality of pressure measurements, the pressure parameter including a magnitude of pressure variation of the plurality of pressure measurements,” “determining a trend of the pressure parameter with respect to positioning of the distal end along the vasculature during advancement,” and “determining a position of the distal end along the vasculature based on the trend of the pressure parameter, wherein the trend includes zero change in the pressure parameter when the elongate medical device is advanced from a first position to a second position.” This claim language, under the broadest, reasonable interpretation, encompasses subject matter that may be performed by a human using mental steps or with pen and paper that can involve basic critical thinking, which are types of activities that have been found by the courts to represents abstract ideas (i.e., the mental comparison in Ambry Genetics, or the diagnosing an abnormal condition by performing clinical tests and thinking about the results in Grams). The claim language also meets prong 2 of the step 2A analysis because the above-recited claim language does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. That is, there appears to be no tangible improvement in a technology, effect of a particular treatment or prophylaxis, a particular machine or manufacture that is integrated, or transformation/reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing as a result of this claimed subject matter. As a result, step 2A is satisfied and the second step, step 2B, must be considered.
With regard to the second step, the claim does not appear to recite additional elements that amount to significantly more. The additional elements are “an elongate medical device configured for advancement along a vasculature of a patient, the elongate medical device comprising a pressure sensor coupled with the elongate medical device, wherein the pressure sensor is configured to determine a pressure adjacent a distal end of the elongate medical device,” and “a system module including a console coupled with the pressure sensor, the console including a processor and a memory having logic stored thereon that, when executed by the processor, performs operations.” However, these elements are not “significantly more” because they are well-known, routine, and/or conventional as evidenced by para [0002] of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20240399106 to Haller et al. (hereinafter “Haller”) (also see Figs. 1-2 of EP 1 970 001 B1) and Alice v. CLS Bank and Bilksi v. Kappos, which held that generic computer structure does not otherwise transform a patent-ineligible claim into a patent-eligible one. Therefore, these elements do not add significantly more and thus the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than a judicial exception.
Additionally, the ordered combination of elements do not add anything significantly more to the claimed subject matter. Specifically, the ordered combination of elements do not have any function that is not already supplied by each element individually. That is, the whole is not greater than the sum of its parts.
In view of the above, independent claim 1 fails to recite patent-eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101. Dependent claim(s) 5-12 and 21 fail to cure the deficiencies of independent claim 1 by merely reciting additional abstract ideas or further limitations on abstract ideas already recited. Dependent claim 2 does not recite “significantly more” in view of para [0002] of Haller (also see para [0002] of EP 1 970 001 B1). Dependent claim 3 does not recite “significantly more” in view of para [0022] of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20150272698 to Rolfes et al. (hereinafter “Rolfes”). Dependent claim 4 does not recite “significantly more” in view of para [0002] of Haller (also see Figs. 1-2 of EP 1 970 001 B1). Thus, claim(s) 1-12 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0080762 to Kassab et al. (hereinafter “Kassab”).
For claim 1, Kassab discloses a medical system (Abstract), comprising:
an elongate medical device (100) (Fig. 1) (para [0087]) configured for (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) advancement along a vasculature of a patient (para [0087]);
a pressure sensor (850) (Fig. 8A) (para [139]) coupled with the elongate medical device (as can be seen in Fig. 8A), wherein the pressure sensor is configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) determine a pressure adjacent a distal end of the elongate medical device (para [0139]); and
a system module including a console (902) (Fig. 9A) (para [129]) coupled with the pressure sensor (para [0107]), the console including a processor and a memory having logic stored thereon that, when executed by the processor, performs operations (“personal computer (PC),” para [0129]) that include:
repeatedly receiving a plurality of pressure measurements from the pressure sensor during advancement of the elongate medical device along the vasculature (para [0139]), the plurality of pressure measurements representing a pressure wave caused by cardiac pressure pulses (para [0141] see “subclavian vein” and “heart”);
calculating a parameter of the plurality of measurements (para [0141], see “phasic measurements,” “peak to a minimum,” and “pulsatility or phasic changes,”), the pressure parameter including a magnitude of variation of the plurality of measurements (para [0141]);
determining a trend of a parameter of the plurality of pressure measurements with respect to positioning of the distal end along the vasculature during advancement (para [0141], see “gradient” and “stepwise changes,”); and
determining a position of the distal end along the vasculature based on the trend of the parameter (para [0141]), wherein the trend includes zero change in the parameter when the elongate medical device is advanced from a first position to a second position (para [0142]).
Kassab does not expressly disclose that the parameter at para [0141] is a pressure parameter and that the variation is a pressure variation. Instead, Kassab teaches that the parameter at para [0141] is conductance or voltage.
However, Kassab teaches that pressure may be a measured parameter in addition to or alternatively to conductance/voltage for the same purpose of providing feedback regarding location (para [0139]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Kassab such that the parameter is pressure parameter and the variation is a pressure variation, in view of the teachings of Kassab, because such a modification is the simple substitution of the type of parameter that is being measured/analyzed that would lead to the same predictable result detecting the location of the device in the patient’s vasculature.
For claim 2, Kassab further discloses wherein the pressure sensor is located adjacent the distal end of the elongate medical device (as can be seen in Fig. 8A).
For claim 4, Kassab further discloses wherein the elongate medical device is a central catheter (para [0087]).
For claim 5, Kassab further discloses wherein the vasculature includes a vein (para [0141]).
For claim 6, Kassab further discloses wherein advancement includes advancement toward a heart of the patient (para [0141]).
For claim 7, Kassab further discloses wherein the position of the distal end within the vasculature includes a cavoatrial junction (para [0039] and [0041]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kassab in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0052862 to Lau et al. (hereinafter “Lau”).
For claim 3, Kassab does not expressly disclose wherein: the elongate medical device includes an optical fiber extending therealong, the optical fiber includes an optical sensor in the form of a fiber optic Bragg grating configured to measure pressure, and the fiber optic Bragg grating defines the pressure sensor.
However, Lau teaches wherein: the elongate medical device includes an optical fiber extending therealong (para [0101]), the optical fiber includes an optical sensor in the form of a fiber optic Bragg grating configured to measure pressure (para [0101]), and the fiber optic Bragg grating defines the pressure sensor (para [0021]) (also see para [0101]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Kassab wherein: the elongate medical device includes an optical fiber extending therealong, the optical fiber includes an optical sensor in the form of a fiber optic Bragg grating configured to measure pressure, and the fiber optic Bragg grating defines the pressure sensor, in view of the teachings of Lau, because a fiber optic Bragg grating is a suitable structure to measure pressure to obtain the pressure data that is disclosed in Kassab.
Claim(s) 8-10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kassab in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0338753 to Gershi et al. (hereinafter “Gershi”).
For claim 8, Kassab does not expressly disclose wherein: the pressure parameter includes an average pressure of the plurality of pressure measurements, and the trend includes a decrease in the average pressure.
However, Gershi teaches wherein: the pressure parameter includes an average pressure of the plurality of pressure measurements (para [0114]), and the trend includes a decrease in the average pressure (para [0120]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Kassab wherein: the pressure parameter includes an average pressure of the plurality of pressure measurements, and the trend includes a decrease in the average pressure, in view of the teachings of Gershi, because such a modification would be the simple substitution of pressure data processing step(s) for another data processing step(s) that would lead to the predictable result of being able to determine the location of the medical device.
For claim 9, Kassab, as modified, further discloses wherein determining a position of the distal end along the vasculature based on the trend includes determining a minimum of the average pressure in accordance with the trend (para [0160] of Gershi).
For claim 10, Kassab further discloses wherein: the subset is received with the distal end disposed at a location within the vasculature (para [0141]), and the trend includes an increase in the magnitude of pressure variation as the distal end is advanced along the vasculature away from the location (para [0141]).
For claim 12, Kassab, as modified, further discloses wherein determining a position of the distal end within the vasculature based on the trend includes determining a maximum of the pressure variation in accordance with the trend (see the top, flat, plateu in time window 42 of the graph in Fig. 5).
Kassab does not expressly disclose wherein determining the position of the distal end within the vasculature based on the trend includes determining the minimum of the average pressure.
However, Gershi teaches wherein determining the position of the distal end within the vasculature based on the trend includes determining the minimum of the average pressure in combination with determining the maximum of the magnitude of pressure variation (para [0114] and [0160]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Kassab wherein determining the position of the distal end within the vasculature based on the trend includes determining the minimum of the average pressure in combination with determining the maximum of the magnitude of pressure variation, in view of the teachings of Gershi, because such a modification would be the simple substitution of pressure data processing step(s) for another data processing step(s) that would lead to the predictable result of being able to determine the location of the medical device.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kassab in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0261861 to Sonck et al. (hereinafter “Sonck”).
For claim 11, Kassab, as modified, further discloses wherein determining a position of the distal end within the vasculature based on the trend includes determining a maximum of the pressure variation in accordance with the trend (see the top, flat, plateu in time window 42 of the graph in Fig. 5).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kassab in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0309844 to Jang et al. (hereinafter “Jang”).
For claim 21, Kassab does not expressly disclose wherein the magnitude of pressure variation includes a standard deviation of the plurality of pressure measurements.
However, Jang teaches wherein a magnitude of pressure variation includes a standard deviation of pressure measurements (para [0057]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Kassab wherein the magnitude of pressure variation includes a standard deviation of the plurality of pressure measurements, in view of the teachings of Jang, because standard deviation is an objective measure of variation in a parameter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 6/2/26 have been fully considered.
With respect to the 112 rejection(s), Applicant’s amendments and arguments are persuasive and thus the rejection(s) is/are withdrawn.
With respect to the 101 rejection(s), Applicant’s arguments do not appear commensurate in scope with the claim language. Specifically, the claim language is still broad enough to encompass subject matter that can be performed in the human mind. Sure, the claim language of “repeatedly receiving a plurality of pressure measurements” no longer can encompass just two pressure measurements because the “plurality” is not repeated (at least once). But repeating the receiving of a plurality of measurements now encompasses a minimum of four measurements (i.e., two are required for a “plurality” and repeating it at least once would be 2 + 2 = 4). But even 4 measurements can be performed in the human mind, especially without any time constraint. The claim language does not specify any time constraint that the “receiving,” “calculating” or “determining” steps must be performed in. If a person had an entire day by which to receive, calculate, and determine 4 measurements, that would seem doable within one’s own mind or with pen and paper. The examiner also understands that “representing a pressure wave caused by cardiac pressure pulses” was also added, but again, 4 data points can represent a wave. The examiner is looking for claim language that clearly demonstrates computation beyond what a human is capable of. For example, sampling at 128 Hz is beyond human computation. Performing a calculation on 4 data points per second for an entire hour is beyond human computation. Other claim language is possible, but these are just examples that are hopefully helpful in crafting claim language that can overcome 101.
With respect to the 102/103 rejections, Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not address the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments presented in the response filed 6/2/26. Kassab teaches the newly amended claim language at para [0142] because a “constant increase and/or a constant decrease” does not vary between increasing or decreasing (i.e., it is constantly one or the other). With respect to claim 3, Lau discloses that the sensor may be a “pressure sensor” (para [0021]). With respect to claim 9, para [0114] of Gershi is relied upon as well in the rejection. Or to be more specific, claim 8, from which claim 9 depends from and further limits, cites para [0114]. Therefore, when looking at claim 9, looking at claim 8 (from which it depends) and the citation for claim 8 gives context for claim 9. Para [0160] is still the correct citation for claim 9, but to understand what the generic terms such as “values,” “elements,” or “group,” in para [0160] mean, para [0114] is consulted to give context for what those values, elements, and group is/are. Therefore, solely arguing para [0160] in a vacuum doesn’t address the entire rejection of record.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL L CERIONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791