DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yuki et al. [JP 2019-106415A].
Regarding claims 1-2, Yuki et al. discloses a transformer [figures 1-2] comprising:
a core [122a, 122b], wherein the core comprises ferrite;
a first set of windings [N1] encircling a first region [figure 2] around the core;
a second set of windings [N2] encircling a second region [figure 2] around the core, wherein the first region and the second region are not the same [figure 2]; and
at least one insert structure [106/105] comprising low permeability materials [such as resin and ferrite] and positioned between the first set of windings and the second set of windings and thereby separating magnetic flux induced by the first set of windings and the second set of windings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuki et al. in view of Rainer [EP 3584813 A1].
Regarding claims 3-5, Yuki et al. discloses the use of the first and second windings for a transformer and power converter [title].
The specific use and/or arrangement of the first and second windings would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of intended use of the windings and/or devices.
Regarding claim 6, Yuki et al. disclose the insert structure formed of resin and ferrite magnetic material.
The specific magnetic material used for the insert structure would have been an obvious design consideration based on the intended magnetic flux/field and/or controlling different magnetic field/flux [note Rainer used 3D printed magnetic material].
Claim(s) 1-6 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison [US 2014/0313004 A1] in view of Yuki et al. and Rainer.
Regarding claims 1-2, Harrison discloses magnetic component [figures 2-4] comprising:
a core [306, 326], wherein the core comprises ferrite;
a first set of windings [202/204] encircling a first region [figures 3-4] around the core;
a second set of windings 202/204] encircling a second region [figures 3-4] around the core, wherein the first region and the second region are not the same [figure 2]; and
at least one insert structure [312/304/324/350] positioned between the first set of windings and the second set of windings and thereby separating magnetic flux induced by the first set of windings and the second set of windings.
Harrison discloses the instant claimed invention except for the insert structure formed of low permeability materials.
Yuki et al. discloses the use of low permeability materials [resin and ferrite] for the insert structure [106/105, see above].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use low permeability materials for the insert structure of Harrison, as suggested by Yuki et al., for the purpose of controlling magnetic flux/field characteristics.
Regarding claims 3-5, Yuki et al. discloses the use of the first and second windings for a transformer and power converter [title].
The specific use and/or arrangement of the first and second windings would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of intended use of the windings and/or devices.
Regarding claim 6, Yuki et al. disclose the insert structure formed of resin and ferrite magnetic material.
The specific magnetic material used for the insert structure would have been an obvious design consideration based on the intended magnetic flux/field and/or controlling different magnetic field/flux [note Rainer used 3D printed magnetic material].
Regarding claim 21, Harrison further discloses the core positioned on a central region of a base [figure 4], the core comprising: a cylindrical shape; and a limb structure [302/322] positioned at a distal end of the base and extending horizontally away from the core, and wherein the at least one insert is formed on the base [figures 3-4].
Regarding claim 22, Harrison further discloses the at least one insert further comprises a first insert and a second insert, each comprising a semi-circular structure formed on a base of the core [figure 4].
Regarding claim 23, Harrison further discloses the core comprises: a base [figures 3-4]; and a limb structure[302, 322] positioned at a distal end of the base, wherein the second set of windings is positioned in a first region between the at least one insert and the core and wraps in a circular fashion around the first region, and wherein the first set of windings is positioned in a second region between the at least one insert and the limb structure and wraps in a circular fashion around the second region [figures 3-4].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 and 21-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837