DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s communication filed 04/18/2023.
Claim(s) 1-15 have been considered.
- Claim(s) 1-15 are pending.
- Claim(s) 1-15 have been rejected as described below.
- This action is NON-FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
Examiner acknowledges the entry of following Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) document(s) from applicant:
The information disclosure statement(s) filed 04/18/2023 has/have been considered by examiner.
Note, 2 of the references have not been considered from IDS filed 04/18/2023 due to lack of English translation or a concise explanation of relevance.
Also note, reference(s) from IDS has/have been used for prior art rejection in this office action, however, full translation(s) has/have been acquired from other sources such as Google Patents.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made that this application claims priority of or makes reference to being a CON of PCT/KR2021/016166 filed 11/08/2021, which claims priority from application no KR10-2021-0037125 filed 03/23/2021.
Acknowledgment is also made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) from application no KR10-2020-0186742 filed 12/29/2020. The certified copy has been filed in instant application no 18/136,135 on 08/25/2023.
Specification
The disclosure filed 04/18/2023 is objected to due to having below minor informalities:
The title of the disclosure is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Abstract: MPEP 608.01(b)I.C. "The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided." For example, the Abstract includes the term "comprises", which should be replaced with "includes".
Drawings
The drawings filed 04/18/2023 are acknowledged and accepted by the examiner for examination.
Claim Interpretation – 35. USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are in Claim(s) 1 – an inputter configured to receive (a target temperature and a power-saving command); a room temperature detector configured to obtain (a room temperature);
Claim(s) 5 - the room temperature from the room temperature detector;
Claim(s) 7-8 – command input by the user through the inputter.
Inputter has been interpreted in light of the examples such as buttons or keys (and may include a display for displaying control content) for generating basic driving control commands, which can be remote as well, as in specification, [0058-59] and Fig. 9.
See below in “35 U.S.C. 112” sections(s) for the details of examiner’s interpretations of the rest of the abovementioned claim limitations in light of applicant’s specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contain(s) subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As mentioned above in the “Claim Interpretation – 35. USC § 112(f)” section, claim limitation(s) below invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
Claim limitation(s):
Claim(s) 1 – a room temperature detector configured to obtain (a room temperature);
Claim(s) 5 - the room temperature from the room temperature detector.
Based on examiner’s review of the drawings and applicant’s specification, especially [0052], [0057], [0068], [0090], [0119], and Fig. 1, it has been identified that the claimed subject matter in claim 1, and 5 is not properly described in the application as filed, because these portions of the disclosure fail to provide any particular description regarding this room temperature detector’s structural aspect broken down for it to achieve the individual functionalities mentioned above. Meaning, applicant’s disclosure doesn’t particularly provide an algorithm or description in a manner that provides sufficient structure for the room temperature detector to perform each of the claimed functions. Therefore, the specification does not provide sufficient details to specify which structure or structures perform(s) the claimed functions.
The abovementioned features, based on the way they are written, consequently raise doubt as to possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Thus, the rejection is applied to dependent claims 2-9 accordingly.
If applicant believes there is sufficient written description in the disclosure, applicant is advised to point to the portion of the disclosure that describes the structure(s) that perform the abovementioned claimed functionalities.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As mentioned above in the “Claim Interpretation – 35. USC § 112(f)” section, claim limitation(s) below invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
Claim limitation(s):
Claim(s) 1 – a room temperature detector configured to obtain (a room temperature);
Claim(s) 5 - the room temperature from the room temperature detector.
Applicant’s specification, especially [0052], [0057], [0068], [0090], [0119], and Fig. 1 have been reviewed and it has been identified that the claimed subject matter in claim 1, and 5 is not properly described in the application as filed, because these portions of the disclosure fail to provide any particular description regarding this room temperature detector’s structural aspect broken down for it to achieve the individual functionalities mentioned above. Meaning, applicant’s disclosure doesn’t particularly provide an algorithm or description in a manner that provides sufficient structure for the room temperature detector to perform each of the claimed functions. Therefore, the specification does not provide sufficient details to specify which structure or structures perform(s) the claimed functions.
Therefore, claims 1 and 5 is/are indefinite and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
For the purpose of compact prosecution to apply prior art, examiner would interpret the room temperature detector to be any hardware or software or a combination thereof that is/are able to perform the claimed functionalities.
Note, claims 2-9 are rejected based on the dependency (of independent claim 1) and so these inherit the above interpretations as well.
In addition:
Claim 12 recites the phrase “… the integrated controller is configured to control the compressor …” in the last line of the additional limitation. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
To promote compact prosecution, examiner will interpret this as to read “… controlling the compressor …”.
Dependent claim(s) 13 is/are rejected for their dependency.
For the 112(f) driven 112(b) rejections above, Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 20030054549 A – Translation provided by Google Patents) in view of Ho-Seon (KR 20020075075 A – Translation provided by Google Patents).
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches:
An air conditioner comprising: (abstract, p2, towards the middle – “2 is a block diagram illustrating the configuration of an air conditioner …. 2, the air conditioner according to the present invention includes an indoor unit 100 and an outdoor unit 200.”
a compressor; (p2, towards the middle - 243: compressor; p2, last 2 paras - operate the compressor 243.)
an inputter (p2, towards the middle - 110: input unit; p2, 7th to last para - The indoor unit 100 includes an input unit 110 for receiving an operation command from a user.) configured to receive a target temperature and a … command …; (Besides above, p3, 3rd to last para - During the power saving operation, the indoor unit controller 150 determines whether a temperature control command is input through the input unit 110 (S230). When it is determined in step S230 that the temperature control command is input through the input unit 110, the indoor unit controller 150 transmits a signal to the outdoor unit controller 210. Accordingly, the outdoor unit controller 210 stops the power saving operation of the compressor 243 currently being operated (S240), and controls the compressor driver 241 to execute the setting control operation according to the temperature input by the user (S250). Also, P2, 4th to last para - 3A and 3B, the indoor unit controller 150 determines whether a driving command is input through the input unit 110 (S110).)
a room temperature detector configured to obtain a room temperature; and (p2, 7th to last para - The indoor unit 100 includes … an indoor temperature sensing unit 120 for detecting an indoor temperature. P2, last para - the indoor unit controller 150 detects the current indoor temperature A through the indoor temperature detector 120 (S150).)
an integrated controller (Figures 2-3b, and p2, 4th to last para - Indoor unit controller 150 that works with the outdoor unit controller 210 to operate the compressor based on various conditions..) configured to set an operating frequency of the compressor based on a difference between the received target temperature and the obtained room temperature, change the operating frequency …, and control the compressor to be driven at the changed operating frequency. (Figures 2-3b, claim 1 and p2 last 3 paras continued to p3 1st 4 paras teach the exemplary control steps such as controlling the compressor driver to operate the compressor at the maximum operating frequency based on a calculated difference between the set temperature and the detected room temperature meeting certain criteria, and then change the frequency to a preset power saving operation frequency upon further determination of the difference of temperatures meeting different criteria. Note, the power saving operation can be stopped or maintained in the further control steps as well.)
While Choi implicitly teaches below by teaching the ability to operate the compressor at the set operating frequency based on a driving command that is input through the input unit (P2, 4th to last para - 3A and 3B, the indoor unit controller 150 determines whether a driving command is input through the input unit 110 (S110). When it is determined in step S110 that a driving command is input through the input unit 110, the indoor unit controller 150 transmits a signal according to the driving command to the outdoor unit controller 210. Accordingly, the outdoor unit controller 210 outputs an operation signal to the compressor driver 241. Accordingly, the compressor driver 241 operates the compressor 243 at the set operating frequency through the inverter unit 242.) and also by teaching power saving operation being part of the overall user input-based control scheme in general that depends on the difference of temperatures (As cited above from last 3 paras continued to p3 1st 4 paras),
Choi does not explicitly disclose the received command to be a power-saving command including a power-saving rate and thus also does not explicitly disclose changing the operating frequency according to the received power-saving rate.
Ho-Seon explicitly teaches the received command to be a power-saving command including a power-saving rate and also explicitly discloses changing the operating frequency according to the received power-saving rate. (Abstract - a power-saving cooling method of the inverter air conditioner, in particular to reduce the power consumption by controlling the interval of the room temperature varying the operating frequency during the cooling operation by the user's selection. … a plurality of operating frequencies of the power saving stage selected by the user in accordance with a desired cooling state may be changed at predetermined room temperature intervals to be operated. Fig. 18-22 described in p2-3, especially in p3, 3rd to last para teaches, “when the power saving mode is selected, the maximum operating frequency is set by using the interval between the indoor temperature and the indoor and outdoor temperature for varying the frequency, and the value corresponding to the difference between the desired temperature and the indoor temperature is read from the ROM table. After the final operating frequency is determined, cooling operation is performed at the final operating frequency.”.)
Accordingly, as Choi and Ho-Seon are directed to user selection based temperature control method of air-conditioner and related technology, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specifically added the feature of utilizing the well-known technology of a plurality of operating frequencies of the power saving stage selected by the user in accordance with a desired cooling state as part of user selected power saving steps, as taught by Ho-Seon to the air-conditioner control system/method with user selection abilities for temperature that also has power saving abilities as taught by Choi. The combination would have been motivated in order to provide a power-saving cooling method of the inverter air conditioner to reduce the power consumption by allowing the user to select the power saving stage during the cooling operation according to the change in the room temperature, as evident in Ho-Seon, abstract, p2 para9, p3, 3rd to last para, etc.
Regarding claim 2, Choi and Ho-Seon teach all the elements of claim 1.
Ho-Seon further teaches:
wherein the integrated controller is configured to set an absolute frequency based on the difference between the received target temperature and the obtained room temperature, and set the operating frequency by changing the absolute frequency based on a driving range of the compressor. (As above, Fig. 18-22 described in p2-3, especially in p3, 3rd to last para teaches, “when the power saving mode is selected, the maximum operating frequency is set by using the interval between the indoor temperature and the indoor and outdoor temperature for varying the frequency, and the value corresponding to the difference between the desired temperature and the indoor temperature is read from the ROM table. After the final operating frequency is determined, cooling operation is performed at the final operating frequency.” Thus, it teaches determining a maximum operation frequency and a final operation frequency according to the difference between room temperature and desired temperature.)
Accordingly, the motivation to combine the teachings is dictated by the similar reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 3, Choi and Ho-Seon teach all the elements of claim 1.
While Choi implicitly teaches this as addressed above (performing a power-saving operation for operating the compressor at a preconfigured operation frequency according to a result of a power-saving operation determination step as in claim 1, and figures 3a-3b and relevant description as cited above),
Ho-Seon further explicitly teaches:
wherein the power-saving command includes selecting a power-saving rate from among a plurality of preset power-saving rates, and the integrated controller is configured to control the compressor by changing the operating frequency according to the selected power-saving rate. (As above, Abstract - … a plurality of operating frequencies of the power saving stage selected by the user in accordance with a desired cooling state may be changed at predetermined room temperature intervals to be operated. Fig. 18-22 described in p2-3, especially in p3, 3rd to last para teaches, “when the power saving mode is selected, the maximum operating frequency is set by using the interval between the indoor temperature and the indoor and outdoor temperature for varying the frequency, and the value corresponding to the difference between the desired temperature and the indoor temperature is read from the ROM table. After the final operating frequency is determined, cooling operation is performed at the final operating frequency.”)
Accordingly, the motivation to combine the teachings is dictated by the similar reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 4, Choi and Ho-Seon teach all the elements of claim 3.
Ho-Seon further teaches:
wherein the integrated controller is configured to drive the compressor by applying the selected power-saving rate to the operating frequency until the driving of the compressor is interrupted or another power-saving command is input after a driving start time of the compressor. (As above, Fig. 18-22 described in p2-3, especially in p3, 3rd to last para teaches, “when the power saving mode is selected, the maximum operating frequency is set by using the interval between the indoor temperature and the indoor and outdoor temperature for varying the frequency, and the value corresponding to the difference between the desired temperature and the indoor temperature is read from the ROM table. After the final operating frequency is determined, cooling operation is performed at the final operating frequency.”, emphasis on exemplary “interval” here. See also last 5 paras of p3 along with the 3rd to last para which teach user selects the interval of room temperature and the maximum operating frequency to become more power-saving cooling for varying the operating frequency at user selected various power saving operation modes (first, second, third, fourth, etc.))
Accordingly, the motivation to combine the teachings is dictated by the similar reasons as stated above. Additionally, such a combination would have also allowed the user to select the interval to set the interval of the room temperature at which the frequency varies by power saving stage since the interval of the room temperature at which the frequency is variable also affects the cooling and comfort of the user due to the reduction of the power consumption of the system and the change of the room average temperature as evident in Ho-Seon, p3, 2nd to last para.
Regarding claim 5, Choi and Ho-Seon teach all the elements of claim 1.
Choi and Ho-Seon further teach:
further comprising a display, wherein the integrated controller is configured to obtain the room temperature from the room temperature detector at preset time intervals from a driving start time of the compressor, (Choi: p2, 7th to last para - The indoor unit 100 includes an input unit 110 for receiving an operation command from a user, an indoor temperature sensing unit 120 for detecting an indoor temperature, an indoor fan driving unit 131 for driving an indoor fan 132. It is provided with a display unit 140 for displaying the operation information, these are controlled by the indoor unit controller 150. Ho-Seon: See last 5 paras of p3 along with the 3rd to last para which teach user selects the interval of room temperature and the maximum operating frequency to become more power-saving cooling for varying the operating frequency at user selected various power saving operation modes (first, second, third, fourth, etc.). Also, p3, 2nd to last para teaches allowing the user to select the interval to set the interval of the room temperature at which the frequency varies by power saving stage since the interval of the room temperature at which the frequency is variable also affects the cooling and comfort of the user due to the reduction of the power consumption of the system and the change of the room average temperature.) and output, to the display, a guide message to guide a change of the power-saving command, based on a change of the difference between the received target temperature and the obtained room temperature, obtained after the driving start time. (As above, Choi, p2, 7th to last para teaches inclusion of an indoor temperature sensing unit and a display unit 140 for displaying the operation information, which among other elements are controlled by the indoor unit controller 150, emphasis on “operation information”. Ho-Seon: Fig. 16-22 described in p2-3, especially in p3 last 8 paras teach when the room temperature is changed at certain intervals, it is judged that it is proper to change the frequency because of the room temperature difference and then teaches the ROM table in which an operating frequency is set and stored according to a difference between an indoor temperature and a temperature set by a user (Note, this is also operation information) and then the ROM table is then used to drive the user selection of various power saving modes, thus it teaches guiding the user to change power saving modes by their selection at various intervals.)
Accordingly, the motivation to combine the teachings is dictated by the similar reasons as stated above. Additionally, such a combination would have also allowed the user to utilize and be guided by the display to select the interval to set the interval of the room temperature at which the frequency varies by power saving stage since the interval of the room temperature at which the frequency is variable also affects the cooling and comfort of the user due to the reduction of the power consumption of the system and the change of the room average temperature as evident in Ho-Seon, p3, 2nd to last para, p3, 8th to last para, etc.
Regarding claim 7, Choi and Ho-Seon teach all the elements of claim 1.
Ho-Seon further teaches:
wherein the integrated controller is configured to set, based on a changed power-saving command input by the user through the inputter after the compressor is driven at the operating frequency, the operating frequency based on the changed power-saving command and a difference between the received target temperature and the obtained room temperature at a time at which the changed power-saving command is input. (As above, Fig. 18-22 described in p2-3, especially in p3, 3rd to last para teaches, “when the power saving mode is selected, the maximum operating frequency is set by using the interval between the indoor temperature and the indoor and outdoor temperature for varying the frequency, and the value corresponding to the difference between the desired temperature and the indoor temperature is read from the ROM table. After the final operating frequency is determined, cooling operation is performed at the final operating frequency.” For the “based on a changed power-saving input” aspect, see the exemplary changes of power saving modes in p3, last 4 paras.)
Accordingly, the motivation to combine the teachings is dictated by the similar reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 8, Choi and Ho-Seon teach all the elements of claim 1.
Ho-Seon further teaches:
wherein the integrated controller is configured to set, based on an automatic power-saving command input by the user through the inputter, an optimization frequency based on a difference between a changed room temperature and the received target temperature, and drive the compressor at the set optimization frequency. (As above, Fig. 18-22 described in p2-3, especially in p3, 3rd to last para teaches, “when the power saving mode is selected, the maximum operating frequency is set by using the interval between the indoor temperature and the indoor and outdoor temperature for varying the frequency, and the value corresponding to the difference between the desired temperature and the indoor temperature is read from the ROM table. After the final operating frequency is determined, cooling operation is performed at the final operating frequency.” Here, the final operating frequency is an optimization frequency as it is the frequency determined allowing the user to select the interval to set the interval of the room temperature at which the frequency varies by power saving stage, as in p3, 2nd to last para.)
Accordingly, the motivation to combine the teachings is dictated by the similar reasons as stated above. In addition, it would have allowed the user to select the interval to set the interval of the room temperature at which the frequency varies by power saving stage, as in Ho-Seon, p3, 2nd to last para.
Regarding claim 10, Choi teaches:
A method for controlling an air conditioner, comprising: (abstract, p2, towards the middle – “2 is a block diagram illustrating the configuration of an air conditioner …. 2, the air conditioner according to the present invention includes an indoor unit 100 and an outdoor unit 200.”
receiving a target temperature and a … command …; (p2, towards the middle - 110: input unit; p2, 7th to last para - The indoor unit 100 includes an input unit 110 for receiving an operation command from a user; p3, 3rd to last para - During the power saving operation, the indoor unit controller 150 determines whether a temperature control command is input through the input unit 110 (S230). When it is determined in step S230 that the temperature control command is input through the input unit 110, the indoor unit controller 150 transmits a signal to the outdoor unit controller 210. Accordingly, the outdoor unit controller 210 stops the power saving operation of the compressor 243 currently being operated (S240), and controls the compressor driver 241 to execute the setting control operation according to the temperature input by the user (S250). Also, P2, 4th to last para - 3A and 3B, the indoor unit controller 150 determines whether a driving command is input through the input unit 110 (S110).)
obtaining a room temperature; (p2, 7th to last para - The indoor unit 100 includes … an indoor temperature sensing unit 120 for detecting an indoor temperature. P2, last para - the indoor unit controller 150 detects the current indoor temperature A through the indoor temperature detector 120 (S150).)
setting an operating frequency of a compressor based on a difference between the received target temperature and the obtained room temperature; changing the operating frequency …; and controlling the compressor to be driven at the changed operating frequency. (Figures 2-3b, claim 1 and p2 last 3 paras continued to p3 1st 4 paras teach the exemplary control steps such as controlling the compressor driver to operate the compressor at the maximum operating frequency based on a calculated difference between the set temperature and the detected room temperature meeting certain criteria, and then change the frequency to a preset power saving operation frequency upon further determination of the difference of temperatures meeting different criteria. Note, the power saving operation can be stopped or maintained in the further control steps as well.)
While Choi implicitly teaches below by teaching the ability to operate the compressor at the set operating frequency based on a driving command that is input through the input unit (P2, 4th to last para - 3A and 3B, the indoor unit controller 150 determines whether a driving command is input through the input unit 110 (S110). When it is determined in step S110 that a driving command is input through the input unit 110, the indoor unit controller 150 transmits a signal according to the driving command to the outdoor unit controller 210. Accordingly, the outdoor unit controller 210 outputs an operation signal to the compressor driver 241. Accordingly, the compressor driver 241 operates the compressor 243 at the set operating frequency through the inverter unit 242.) and also by teaching power saving operation being part of the overall user input-based control scheme in general that depends on the difference of temperatures (As cited above from last 3 paras continued to p3 1st 4 paras),
Choi does not explicitly disclose the received command to be a power-saving command including a power-saving rate and thus also does not explicitly disclose changing the operating frequency according to the power-saving rate.
Ho-Seon explicitly teaches the received command to be a power-saving command including a power-saving rate and also explicitly discloses changing the operating frequency according to the power-saving rate. (Abstract - a power-saving cooling method of the inverter air conditioner, in particular to reduce the power consumption by controlling the interval of the room temperature varying the operating frequency during the cooling operation by the user's selection. … a plurality of operating frequencies of the power saving stage selected by the user in accordance with a desired cooling state may be changed at predetermined room temperature intervals to be operated. Fig. 18-22 described in p2-3, especially in p3, 3rd to last para teaches, “when the power saving mode is selected, the maximum operating frequency is set by using the interval between the indoor temperature and the indoor and outdoor temperature for varying the frequency, and the value corresponding to the difference between the desired temperature and the indoor temperature is read from the ROM table. After the final operating frequency is determined, cooling operation is performed at the final operating frequency.”.)
Accordingly, as Choi and Ho-Seon are directed to user selection based temperature control method of air-conditioner and related technology, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specifically added the feature of utilizing the well-known technology of a plurality of operating frequencies of the power saving stage selected by the user in accordance with a desired cooling state as part of user selected power saving steps, as taught by Ho-Seon to the air-conditioner control system/method with user selection abilities for temperature that also has power saving abilities as taught by Choi. The combination would have been motivated in order to provide a power-saving cooling method of the inverter air conditioner to reduce the power consumption by allowing the user to select the power saving stage during the cooling operation according to the change in the room temperature, as evident in Ho-Seon, abstract, p2 para9, p3, 3rd to last para, etc.
Regarding claim 11, Choi and Ho-Seon teach all the elements of claim 10.
Ho-Seon further teaches:
further comprising setting an absolute frequency based on the difference between the received target temperature and the obtained room temperature,wherein the setting of the operating frequency of the compressor comprises setting the operating frequency by changing the absolute frequency based on a driving range of the compressor. (As above, Fig. 18-22 described in p2-3, especially in p3, 3rd to last para teaches, “when the power saving mode is selected, the maximum operating frequency is set by using the interval between the indoor temperature and the indoor and outdoor temperature for varying the frequency, and the value corresponding to the difference between the desired temperature and the indoor temperature is read from the ROM table. After the final operating frequency is determined, cooling operation is performed at the final operating frequency.” Thus, it teaches determining a maximum operation frequency and a final operation frequency according to the difference between room temperature and desired temperature.)
Accordingly, the motivation to combine the teachings is dictated by the similar reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 12, Choi and Ho-Seon teach all the elements of claim 10.
While Choi implicitly teaches this as addressed above (performing a power-saving operation for operating the compressor at a preconfigured operation frequency according to a result of a power-saving operation determination step as in claim 1, and figures 3a-3b and relevant description as cited above),
Ho-Seon further explicitly teaches:
wherein the power-saving command includes selecting a power-saving rate from among a plurality of preset power-saving rates, and the integrated controller is configured to control the compressor by changing the operating frequency according to the selected power-saving rate. (See the 112(b) rejection above; As above, Abstract - … a plurality of operating frequencies of the power saving stage selected by the user in accordance with a desired cooling state may be changed at predetermined room temperature intervals to be operated. Fig. 18-22 described in p2-3, especially in p3, 3rd to last para teaches, “when the power saving mode is selected, the maximum operating frequency is set by using the interval between the indoor temperature and the indoor and outdoor temperature for varying the frequency, and the value corresponding to the difference between the desired temperature and the indoor temperature is read from the ROM table. After the final operating frequency is determined, cooling operation is performed at the final operating frequency.”)
Accordingly, the motivation to combine the teachings is dictated by the similar reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 13, Choi and Ho-Seon teach all the elements of claim 12.
Ho-Seon further teaches:
further comprising driving the compressor by applying the selected power-saving rate to the operating frequency until the driving of the compressor is interrupted or another power-saving command is input after a driving start time of the compressor. (As above, Fig. 18-22 described in p2-3, especially in p3, 3rd to last para teaches, “when the power saving mode is selected, the maximum operating frequency is set by using the interval between the indoor temperature and the indoor and outdoor temperature for varying the frequency, and the value corresponding to the difference between the desired temperature and the indoor temperature is read from the ROM table. After the final operating frequency is determined, cooling operation is performed at the final operating frequency.”, emphasis on exemplary “interval” here. See also last 5 paras of p3 along with the 3rd to last para which teach user selects the interval of room temperature and the maximum operating frequency to become more power-saving cooling for varying the operating frequency at user selected various power saving operation modes (first, second, third, fourth, etc.))
Accordingly, the motivation to combine the teachings is dictated by the similar reasons as stated above. Additionally, such a combination would have also allowed the user to select the interval to set the interval of the room temperature at which the frequency varies by power saving stage since the interval of the room temperature at which the frequency is variable also affects the cooling and comfort of the user due to the reduction of the power consumption of the system and the change of the room average temperature as evident in Ho-Seon, p3, 2nd to last para.
Regarding claim 14, Choi and Ho-Seon teach all the elements of claim 10.
Choi and Ho-Seon further teach:
wherein the obtaining of the room temperature comprises obtaining the room temperature at preset time intervals from a driving start time of the compressor, and the method further comprising outputting, to a display, (Choi: p2, 7th to last para - The indoor unit 100 includes an input unit 110 for receiving an operation command from a user, an indoor temperature sensing unit 120 for detecting an indoor temperature, an indoor fan driving unit 131 for driving an indoor fan 132. It is provided with a display unit 140 for displaying the operation information, these are controlled by the indoor unit controller 150. Ho-Seon: See last 5 paras of p3 along with the 3rd to last para which teach user selects the interval of room temperature and the maximum operating frequency to become more power-saving cooling for varying the operating frequency at user selected various power saving operation modes (first, second, third, fourth, etc.). Also, p3, 2nd to last para teaches allowing the user to select the interval to set the interval of the room temperature at which the frequency varies by power saving stage since the interval of the room temperature at which the frequency is variable also affects the cooling and comfort of the user due to the reduction of the power consumption of the system and the change of the room average temperature.) a guide message to guide a change of the power-saving command, based on a change of a difference between the received target temperature and the obtained room temperature, obtained after the driving start time. (As above, Choi, p2, 7th to last para teaches inclusion of an indoor temperature sensing unit and a display unit 140 for displaying the operation information, which among other elements are controlled by the indoor unit controller 150, emphasis on “operation information”. Ho-Seon: Fig. 16-22 described in p2-3, especially in p3 last 8 paras teach when the room temperature is changed at certain intervals, it is judged that it is proper to change the frequency because of the room temperature difference and then teaches the ROM table in which an operating frequency is set and stored according to a difference between an indoor temperature and a temperature set by a user (Note, this is also operation information) and then the ROM table is then used to drive the user selection of various power saving modes, thus it teaches guiding the user to change power saving modes by their selection at various intervals.)
Accordingly, the motivation to combine the teachings is dictated by the similar reasons as stated above. Additionally, such a combination would have also allowed the user to utilize and be guided by the display to select the interval to set the interval of the room temperature at which the frequency varies by power saving stage since the interval of the room temperature at which the frequency is variable also affects the cooling and comfort of the user due to the reduction of the power consumption of the system and the change of the room average temperature as evident in Ho-Seon, p3, 2nd to last para, p3, 8th to last para, etc.
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 20030054549 A – Translation provided by Google Patents) in view of Ho-Seon (KR 20020075075 A – Translation provided by Google Patents) in further view of Enomoto (US 20160339767 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Choi and Ho-Seon teach all the elements of claim 1.
However, Choi and Ho-Seon do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the integrated controller is configured to turn off the driving of the compressor based on the target temperature being higher than the obtained room temperature.
Enomoto further teaches:
wherein the integrated controller is configured to turn off the driving of the compressor based on the target temperature being higher than the obtained room temperature. (0345 teaches controller 70 controls the operations to switch to the compressor-off mode when the outside-air temperature is less than the predetermined temperature (i.e., target temperature is higher than obtained temperature) and thus when the temperature of outside air is low, the thermal management system is switched to the compressor-off mode, thereby enabling power saving.)
Accordingly, as Choi, Ho-Seon and Enomoto are directed to temperature control method of air-conditioner and related technology, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specifically added the feature of utilizing the well-known technology of conditional configuration of a compressor-off mode thereby enabling power saving, as taught by Enomoto to the air-conditioner control system/method with condition based user selection abilities for temperature and power saving modes as taught by Choi and Ho-Seon. As Choi and Ho-Seon’s combined system/method is already able to control the compressor based on various temperature and power saving related conditions utilizing user selection abilities, the combination with Enomoto would have been motivated in order to implement a well-known way of enabling power saving by following the exemplary configuration of switching to a compressor-off mode, as evident in Enomoto, 0345, etc.
Regarding claim 15, Choi and Ho-Seon teach all the elements of claim 10.
However, Choi and Ho-Seon do not explicitly disclose:
further comprising turning off the driving of the compressor based on the target temperature being higher than the obtained room temperature.
Enomoto further teaches:
further comprising turning off the driving of the compressor based on the target temperature being higher than the obtained room temperature. (0345 teaches controller 70 controls the operations to switch to the compressor-off mode when the outside-air temperature is less than the predetermined temperature (i.e., target temperature is higher than obtained temperature) and thus when the temperature of outside air is low, the thermal management system is switched to the compressor-off mode, thereby enabling power saving.)
Accordingly, as Choi, Ho-Seon and Enomoto are directed to temperature control method of air-conditioner and related technology, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specifically added the feature of utilizing the well-known technology of conditional configuration of a compressor-off mode thereby enabling power saving, as taught by Enomoto to the air-conditioner control system/method with condition based user selection abilities for temperature and power saving modes as taught by Choi and Ho-Seon. As Choi and Ho-Seon’s combined system/method is already able to control the compressor based on various temperature and power saving related conditions utilizing user selection abilities, the combination with Enomoto would have been motivated in order to implement a well-known way of enabling power saving by following the exemplary configuration of switching to a compressor-off mode, as evident in Enomoto, 0345, etc.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 20030054549 A – Translation provided by Google Patents) in view of Ho-Seon (KR 20020075075 A – Translation provided by Google Patents) in further view of Brahme (US 20210025610 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Choi and Ho-Seon teach all the elements of claim 1.
Choi further teaches:
further comprising a diplay, … (p2, 7th to last para - The indoor unit is provided with a display unit 140 for displaying the operation information, these are controlled by the indoor unit controller 150.)
However, Choi and Ho-Seon do not explicitly disclose:
… wherein the integrated controller is configured to identify an accumulated driving time of the compressor, and output an error message to the display based on the accumulated driving time exceeding a preset time.
Brahme further teaches:
… wherein the integrated controller is configured to identify an accumulated driving time of the compressor, and output an error message to the display based on the accumulated driving time exceeding a preset time. (0034 teaches, during an initial period of time after system startup, the superheat signal 132 is monitored by the controller 154 to determine whether the HVAC system has reached steady state, or approximately steady state, operation. For example, steady state operation may correspond to conditions in which, after the compressor 106 has operated for a threshold period of time (e.g., 10 minutes or longer), the mean superheat value changes by less than or equal to a threshold percentage (e.g., of about 2%) during the initial period of time after compressor operation is established. As an example, after an initial compressor runtime, a steady state may be determined if the 5-point moving average of the superheat value deviates from the previously determined 5-point moving average of the superheat value by less than or equal to 2%. The controller 154 may also or alternatively determine whether the superheat value is within a range associated with normal system operation. If the superheat value is outside a range defined by a maximum or minimum value and/or if the superheat value fails to reach a steady state, the HVAC system 100 may be under a fault condition. For example, the expansion valve 120 may be faulty. Accordingly, in response to either or both of these conditions, the controller 154 may transmit an alert signal (e.g., to display an alert message on a display of the thermostat 148) indicating a possible system fault.)
Accordingly, as Choi, Ho-Seon and Brahme are directed to temperature control method of air-conditioner and related technology, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specifically added the feature of utilizing the well-known technology of controller’s ability to display an alert message conditionally, such as when the compressor has operated for a threshold period of time or longer, as taught by Brahme to the air-conditioner control system/method with condition based user selection abilities for temperature and power saving modes which includes a display as taught by Choi and Ho-Seon. As Choi and Ho-Seon’s combined system/method is already able to control the compressor based on various temperature and power saving related conditions utilizing user selection abilities on a display, the combination with Brahme would have been motivated in order to account for the effects of various properties and system parameters to more accurately and effectively detect system faults in a system-specific manner with fewer false positives, thereby improving the operation of HVAC systems, as evident in Brahme, 0005, 0034, etc.
It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009,158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). Further, a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert, denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (reference disclosing optional inclusion of a particular component teaches compositions that both do and do not contain that component); Celeritas Technologies Ltd. v. Rockwell International Corp., 150 F.3d 1354, 1361, 47 USPQ2d 1516, 1522-23 (Fed. Cir. 1998).
Pertinent Art(s)
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Jeong (US 6171185 B1) relates to a power saving operational control method of an air conditioner adapted to maintain a room space at a pleasant state regardless of a distance from an indoor unit and size of the room space, thereby increasing a power saving effect, the method comprising the steps of: turning on or turning off a compressor according to a comparative result between a set-up temperature input by a user and room temperature to maintain the room temperature at the set-up temperature; discriminating whether a power saving operation signal is input; swinging the vertical/horizontal vanes vertically and horizontally to adjust directions of discharged air to the entire area of the room when it is discriminated at the signal input discriminate step that the power saving operation signal is input; discriminating whether the compressor is rendered active when it is discriminated at the signal input discrimination step that the power saving operation signal is input; calculating a power saving set-up temperature according to the room temperature and set-up temperature at the time of the compressor being rendered active when it is discriminated at the compressor activation discriminating step that the compressor is rendered active; and turning on or turning off the compressor according to a comparative result between the power saving set-up temperature calculated at the power saving set-up temperature calculating step to thereby maintain the room temperature at a power saving set-up temperature.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MARZIA T MONTY whose telephone number is (571)272-5441. The examiner can normally be reached on M-R: 11am -5pm (approximately). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MARZIA T MONTY/Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117