DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment filed 08/04/2026 has been entered and made of record. Claim 1 is amended. No New Claims were added. No Claims were cancelled. Claims 1 and 21-39 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 21-39 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection set forth below. The applicant argues on page 1 of the remarks filed the cited prior art of James et al. US PG-Pub(US 20210142052 A1) and Liu et al. (CN 108921058 A does not explicitly teach selecting, based on the data curator scores reflecting importance to training and from among the images to identify a proper subset of images. The Examiner agrees as James and Liu don’t appear to teach this limitation. However, after further search and consideration, the newly discovered art of Xu et al. US PG-Pub (US 20260228308 A1) would disclose this limitation. Please see updated claim rejection under 35 USC § 103 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 and 21-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James et al. US PG-Pub(US 20210142052 A1) in view of Liu et al. (CN 108921058 A) in view of Xu et al. US PG-Pub().
Regarding Claim 1, James teaches a computer-implemented method comprising: receiving aquatic life images that a user has uploaded through an interface (¶[0012], “In a general aspect, a method includes: receiving, by the one or more processors, first media representative of aquatic cargo”, ¶[0012] discloses receiving aquatic cargo images and ¶[0140] discloses a user interface capable of displaying images.); selecting a proper subset of the based on the data curator scores(¶[0073], “the image may be dropped if the cropped representation module 120 is unable to detect the three key elements, even if they exist. In some implementations, the cropped representation module 120 may apply a filter to the high resolution image 118 based on a score of the three elements. The filter may drop one or more images if the score of the three elements is below a predetermined threshold”, ¶[0073] discloses filtering images that are below a certain confidence score.); providing the proper subset of the aquatic life images to one or more data annotators(¶[0075], “the cropped representation module 120 applies a photography technique to the image to filter out images below a certain threshold level of sharpness. For example, the photography technique can include one or more techniques for performing a Laplacian transform, applying a Gaussian smoothing filter, a median filter, or a mean filter on the image. By applying the photography technique to the “fish face” image, the system 100 improves its recognition because the image is sharper than before. The sharp “fish face” 122 is then provided to the embedding generation module 124.”, ¶[0075] discloses once the images are filtered out the images are provided to an embedding generation module.);; receiving annotation data generated by the one or more data annotators for the proper subset of the aquatic life images (¶[0092] “The cluster identification module 128 can then transmit a notification to the fish faces database 130 and/or to a client device indicating that a re-identification of a fish has been found. A user can review the notification and analyze the corresponding embedding, the match, recorded media 114, high resolution image 118, and the cropped image 122 to determine whether an actual match exists. If the user determines a match does not exist, the user may provide feedback, through the client device, to the monitoring server 102 or at the monitoring server 102 to fine tune the CNN embedding model to produce the correct embedding.”, discloses allowing a user to determine if the image contains a fish or not and providing feedback to the machine learning model to produce the correct embedding); andtraining the machine learning model using the annotation data and the proper subset of the aquatic life images. ¶[0124] “The system 300 may receive data from a user or from another external party indicating that the mapping did not correctly map to a particular cluster in the high dimensional space, e.g., the embedding mapped to cluster 1 in the high dimensional space rather than mapping to cluster 2. Additionally, the user may indicate the generated embedding was incorrect or the embedding should not have matched to another embedding, when a re-identification process occurred. [0125] “The system 300 may receive additional positive example data with anchors and additional negative example data for fine tuning the trained neural network model 314. The model trainer 306 may use the newly received positive and negative example data to update the trained neural network model 314.”, ¶[0124] discloses determining from the user if the embedding was incorrect and ¶[0125] discloses retraining the system using positive and negative example data to update the machine learning model to generate the appropriate classification.)
James does not explicitly teach generating a data curator score for each aquatic life image that reflects an importance of each aquatic image to training of a machine learning model
Liu teaches generating a data curator score for each aquatic life image that reflects an importance of each aquatic image to training of a machine learning model (Page 3, Paragraph 4, “extracting the image characteristic of the training set fish picture, to generate a characteristic picture, and the characteristic picture is associated with the fish picture; generating network according to the characteristic picture training area, to obtain the probability score of all candidate areas and each candidate area in the characteristic picture; and training the standard model according to the characteristic picture, the candidate area and the probability score of each candidate area.”, as disclosed in this section of the prior art, the features of a fish image are extracted and a confidence score is generated and used to train a machine learning network.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the claimed invention as taught by James with Liu in order to generate a confidence score and train the model based on the score. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify James in this manner in order to realize accurate identification of fish information. (Liu, Abstract)
However, James and Liu do not explicitly teach selecting, based on the data curator scores reflecting importance to training and from among the images to identify a proper subset of images
Xu teaches selecting, based on the data curator scores reflecting importance to training and from among the images to identify a proper subset of images (¶[0066] “In at least one embodiment, GPU 106 then uses said list to identify a subset of training data (e.g., proxy data) 110. In at least one embodiment, a subset of the training images 110 are selected based on importance scores from said list. In at least one embodiment, GPU 106 uses proxy data 110 to estimate 114 what parameters for training”, discloses selecting images based on an importance score from a set of images and using the selected images for training a model.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the claimed invention as taught by James and Liu with Xu in order to select images used to train based on importance score. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify James and Liu in this manner in order to select a subset of training data, based on uniqueness of training data, to estimate parameters used to train one or more neural networks. (Xu, ¶[0002])
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of James, Liu and Xu teach the method of claim 1, where Liu further teaches wherein the importance of each aquatic image is based at least on a confidence associated with the machine learning model. (Page 3, Paragraph 4, “extracting the image characteristic of the training set fish picture, to generate a characteristic picture, and the characteristic picture is associated with the fish picture; generating network according to the characteristic picture training area, to obtain the probability score of all candidate areas and each candidate area in the characteristic picture; and training the standard model according to the characteristic picture, the candidate area and the probability score of each candidate area.”, as disclosed in this section of the prior art, the features of a fish image are extracted and a confidence score is generated and used to train a machine learning network.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the claimed invention as taught by James and Xu with Liu in order to generate a confidence score and train the model based on the score. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify James and Xu in this manner in order to realize accurate identification of fish information. (Liu, Abstract)
Regarding Claim 22, the combination of James, Liu and Xu teach the method of claim 1, where Liu further teaches wherein the importance of each aquatic image is based at least on a species of any fish shown in each aquatic image. (Page 7, Paragraph 2-3, “S107, determining the final fish identification model according to the generalization performance score, and identifying fish according to the final fish identification model. Namely, after determining the final fish identification model, it can be fish identification according to the final fish identification model. Specifically, it can obtain fish picture, and the fish picture input final fish identification model, final fish identification model according to fish picture output fish area and corresponding to the fish information. wherein the fish information comprises but not limited to fish type, type probability”, in this section of the prior art, the fish identification model is trained using the probability score of the fish image to determine a type or species of the fish.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the claimed invention as taught by James and Xu with Liu in order to use the importance score to generate an identification of the fish. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify James and Xu in this manner in order to realize accurate identification of fish information. (Liu, Abstract)
Regarding Claim 23, the combination of James, Liu and Xu teach the method of claim 1, where James further teaches comprising providing an output of the machine learning model to a device of the user in response to receiving the aquatic life images. (¶[0092] discloses transmitting the output of the machine learning model to the user to review the aquatic image.)
Regarding Claim 24, the combination of James, Liu and Xu teach the method of claim 1, where James further teaches comprising discarding any aquatic life images that are not members of the subset. ((¶[0073], “the image may be dropped if the cropped representation module 120 is unable to detect the three key elements, even if they exist. In some implementations, the cropped representation module 120 may apply a filter to the high resolution image 118 based on a score of the three elements. The filter may drop one or more images if the score of the three elements is below a predetermined threshold”, ¶[0073] discloses filtering images that are below a certain confidence score.)
Regarding Claim 25, the combination of James, Liu and Xu teach the method of claim 1, where James further teaches wherein the interface comprises an application programming interface (API) (¶[0141], “Embodiments of the invention can be implemented in a computing system that includes a back end component, e.g., as a data server, or that includes a middleware component, e.g., an application server, or that includes a front end component, e.g., a client computer having a graphical user interface or a Web browser through which a user can interact with an implementation of the invention, or any combination of one or more such back end, middleware, or front end components”, ¶[0141] discloses a back end component linked with the graphical interface.).
Regarding Claim 26, the combination of James, Liu and Xu teach the method of claim 1, where James further teaches comprising storing multiple copies of the aquatic life images that are members of the proper subset on different storage devices. (¶0097], “In some implementations, the fish faces database 130 can also store other data associated with the received embedding, the mapped cluster, and the nomenclature. For example, the fish faces database 130 may also provide the recorded media 114, the high resolution image 118, and the square “fish face” 122 associated with a corresponding embedding. By storing photos of fish in the fish faces database based on some criteria, e.g., a typical condition factor for the weight or a fish that has good identification recognition history, then an implementer or designer of the system 100 can generate perception models that may be used to track progression of disease, weight, size, and other criteria of the fish, over time.”, discloses storing multiple fish images pertaining to different type of fish species in a database.)
Regarding Claim 27, the combination of James, Liu and Xu teach the method of claim 1, where James further teaches wherein the annotation data includes species identification data. (¶[0092] “The cluster identification module 128 can then transmit a notification to the fish faces database 130 and/or to a client device indicating that a re-identification of a fish has been found. A user can review the notification and analyze the corresponding embedding, the match, recorded media 114, high resolution image 118, and the cropped image 122 to determine whether an actual match exists. If the user determines a match does not exist, the user may provide feedback, through the client device, to the monitoring server 102 or at the monitoring server 102 to fine tune the CNN embedding model to produce the correct embedding.”, discloses allowing a user to determine if the image contains a fish or not and providing feedback to the machine learning model to produce the correct embedding);
Regarding Claim 28, claim 28 is considered an apparatus claim substantially corresponding to claim 1. Please see the discussion of claim 1 above for a discussion of similar limitations. Furthermore, James teaches a system([0025] FIG. 1 is a diagram of an example configuration of a system for identification of a fish within an aquatic structure.) comprising: one or more computer processors, and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that store instructions which (See ¶[0039]), when executed, cause the one or more computer processors to perform operations (See ¶[0039])
Regarding claim 29, it is substantially similar to claim 21 respectively, and is rejected in the same manner, the same art, and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 30, it is substantially similar to claim 22 respectively, and is rejected in the same manner, the same art, and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 31, it is substantially similar to claim 23 respectively, and is rejected in the same manner, the same art, and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 32, it is substantially similar to claim 34 respectively, and is rejected in the same manner, the same art, and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 33, it is substantially similar to claim 25 respectively, and is rejected in the same manner, the same art, and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 34, it is substantially similar to claim 26 respectively, and is rejected in the same manner, the same art, and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 35, it is substantially similar to claim 27 respectively, and is rejected in the same manner, the same art, and reasoning applying.
Regarding Claim 36, claim 36 is considered an storage medium claim substantially corresponding to claim 1. Please see the discussion of claim 1 above for a discussion of similar limitations. Furthermore, James teaches One or more non-transitory computer-readable media that store instructions which(See ¶[0136]), when executed, cause one or more computer processors to perform operations comprising (See ¶[0136])
Regarding claim 37, it is substantially similar to claim 21 respectively, and is rejected in the same manner, the same art, and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 38, it is substantially similar to claim 22 respectively, and is rejected in the same manner, the same art, and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 39, it is substantially similar to claim 23 respectively, and is rejected in the same manner, the same art, and reasoning applying.
Conclusion
/HAN HOANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661